The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

FameMoon
post Mar 8 2022, 12:42 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 7 2022, 01:21 PM)
I always go to Central-I-City Shah Alam when I want to watch big budget films such as those from Marvel, Star Wars, etc

Onyx definitely and undoubtedly offers the best picture quality as it is very close to OLED/QLED picture quality with very deep blacks. However the downside is that the screen size is usually on the smaller side but if you want the biggest ONYX screen in Malaysia, go to TGV ONYX at Central City Shah Alam. (I'm not sure if the just opened GSC Onyx in Tropicana Gardens is bigger or not)

TGV IMAX, Central City on the other hand holds the biggest cinema screen title in Malaysia beating Sunway Velocity IMAX, correct me if I'm wrong. However, picture quality wise is totally no where near ONYX level but the high seating arrangement and the huge screen does add to the experience.

ericling Bro, since you go to Central City, check out TGV's Onyx there smile.gif
Although Central I-City is newer, in actuality, Velocity has the bigger screen at 19.4m x 25.9m versus 13.8m x 24.4m..but seating arrangements on Velocity sucks monkey balls as everyone pointed out.
FameMoon
post Apr 25 2022, 11:54 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(rideverest @ Apr 15 2022, 02:45 PM)
I've always been a fan of audio over video. But it's about time cinemas in Malaysia upgrade their projectors. I understand it can be costly for cinemas, but the lack of competitions only slows down the improvements. GSC taking over MBO reduces the competition. Right now, GSC is riding on MBOs previous cinemas. TGV has been pretty silent post pandemic in terms of upgrades etc. Given that GSC is almost monopolising the industry in Malaysia, fingers crossed for any quick improvements over time.

I'm gonna bring my sound meter to IMAX next time to see if the dB is in the recommend range or not 🤣
New TGV cineplex is coming soon in the IOI City Mall after the extensions is completed. Estimated Q4 2022.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cinem...aysia#Putrajaya
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TGV_Cinemas#Putrajaya

They're gonna use 2 floors! Hope that they will use 4K dual laser projector for IMAX, a big ass curved screen and steep theatre hall(coz you know, 2 floors). Hope they can open it before Thor : Love and Thunder. Fingers crossed!

This post has been edited by FameMoon: Apr 25 2022, 12:02 PM
FameMoon
post May 9 2022, 11:43 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ May 1 2022, 09:14 AM)
This is pretty great for me since IOI City Mall is the closest mall to me with unique cinema halls (GSC MAXX DA, 4DX etc.). However, considering TGV just increased the price for IMAX tickets, RM 30 to RM 33, I am less inclined to visit them anymore. TBH, there isn't a major difference in visual quality between IMAX and MAXX from my experience; both have contrast issues and pales in comparison to BigScreen and Onyx, and honestly, I prefer Dolby Atmos over IMAX due to the latter being uncomfortably loud for me (could be movie to movie basis, as well as different IMAX halls having different configurations.  I'm basing this from my experience with The Batman in 1U IMAX vs IOI City MAXX DA.

Hopefully this new outlet will have 4k laser but I highly doubt it considering there hasn't been a great push for tech improvements in Malaysia's cinema industry. Unless there are specific movies that are highly recommended to be watched in IMAX, TGV upgrades their IMAX halls to 4k laser or better pricing for the tickets, I will mostly stick to GSC for better value.

I am more excited for the GSC opening in the Lalaport mall though, which is also stated to be done by Q4 2022. They advertised to have IMAX, Onyx and THX-DA halls. GSC has an IMAX hall in Johor (Mid Valley Southkey) and a ticket there cost RM 27, so definitely a win in value proposition. Yes, TGV IMAX tickets can cost RM27 with their Maybank card promotion, but it is only for Friday and weekends and I don't have a Maybank card.

*Source: "Bukit Bintang City Centre... Opening in Q4 2022, Located in the Entertainment Hub of BBCC. It will feature IMAX, Dolby Atmos, THX, and Onyx Hall," Wikipedia list of cinemas in Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur (I can't post links due to my account being on probation).

Side-note, one thing that GSC loses against TGV though is the popcorn. The new GSC gourmet one is meh compared to TGV's Royale.
My go to cinema is IOI City Mall too. Good that having two best options in one place closest to me. For IMAX, I only go to IMAX hall if the movie is shot entirely on IMAX(like Doctor Strange 2). For Thor 4, they only have some scene for the IMAX, so going to IMAX hall is kinda not worth it. I definitely waiting for the TGV's INFINITY ATMOS hall that are currently only available in TGV Toppen. Would like to see if there's a picture quality difference between GSC's MAXX DA and that hall. INFINITY ATMOS is using Christie 4k laser projector. I have no info on what projector that GSC is using for their MAXX DA hall, whether it is 2K or 4K.
FameMoon
post May 24 2022, 11:23 AM

151 posts

Hi guys..I bought Top Gun Maverick with a wrong showtime of my choice. Anyone interested in buying it? Selling it for RM25. Original price is RM33.

FameMoon
post Jun 24 2022, 10:49 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(FameMoon @ Apr 25 2022, 11:54 AM)
New TGV cineplex is coming soon in the IOI City Mall after the extensions is completed. Estimated Q4 2022.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cinem...aysia#Putrajaya
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TGV_Cinemas#Putrajaya

They're gonna use 2 floors! Hope that they will use 4K dual laser projector for IMAX, a big ass curved screen and steep theatre hall(coz you know, 2 floors). Hope they can open it before Thor : Love and Thunder. Fingers crossed!
Hi guys..a little update..as per link I provided above, apparently there will be no TGV inside the IOI City Mall expansion..instead it will be another GSC as shown in the brochure here on the page 13.

It will have IMAX but knowing GSC, I bet it will be 2K dual xenon projector a.k.a LIEMAX lol.
FameMoon
post Jun 30 2022, 10:17 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Jun 30 2022, 08:33 AM)
Planning to watch IMAX TopGun.

TGV 1U still the best ?

How does Sunway Pyramid IMAX TGV compare ?
go to Central I-City, Velocity or 1U..pyramid's IMAX is the most meh IMAX in malaysia

This post has been edited by FameMoon: Jun 30 2022, 10:17 AM
FameMoon
post Oct 28 2023, 09:40 AM

151 posts

Hi guys..best row for IMAX Pavi BJ? Going there for the first time..advance sales for The Marvel already started

0.0450sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:51 PM