wat are the pros and cons of using MAC and PC?, i.e., when it comes to designing works

TSninelives1980
post Feb 23 2006, 10:50 AM, updated 20y ago

680 posts

i've never used a MAC b4 in my entire life. Only had a chance to play around with it for a few minutes the most.

The line is blurring among PC and MAC in terms of its performance when being used for designing [graphics, animation, 2D, 3D works, and other similar works]; would I be right to say this?

Since o'er the recent years, the PC has really improved in terms of hardware; graphic cards, sound cards, RAM, processor, hard disks are now so powerful beyond our furthest imagination compared to what we have few years ago.

My concern would be, what do I have to lose if I use a PC in this case, and what do I get to gain if I'm using MAC instead? Or even their pros and cons when used for designing works for that matter.

azxel
post Feb 23 2006, 11:15 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

On a Mac, you'd find these are much better. Things like fonts, robust interface, better mouse tracking (without spending tonnes of money on a good mouse), no Blue Screen, no Virus, and the blardy OS know which type of app opens which type of file. i.e on a PC, the stupid system doesn't know that an Illustrator EPS file should be open by Illustrator while a Photoshop EPS file should be open on Photoshop. On my current Dell, the whole EPS files and some other files are screwed up. TGA which should be open on Photoshop now runs FormZ (3D software that uses TGA format) On a Mac, I've never encounter such a stupid problem.

Performance wise is pretty much the same. Those my machine is 0.05 seconds faster than your machine isn't going to help you that much. Color management is easier on a Mac.

Once you use a Mac for designing, you might understand. I've used both platforms and I can say for sure that the whole interface feel and 'something I quite can't explain' is different. Plus the Mac doesn't have that stupid 'Windows Start' key on the keyboard.

What does design gotta do with graphic card and sound card?
momochi zabuza
post Feb 23 2006, 12:00 PM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

IMHO..i think design also gotta do with graphics cards ( in 3D la ) since graphic card will help to boost up perfomance while rendering and also when modeling. i've experienced differenece modeling maya in geforce fx 5200 and ati radeon 9600 pro.. both of them deliver different output and the powerful card will render faster ( i mean when playblast, when u want to see the actual output when modeling it at the same time. ) it's my experience la i donno others how..

i think the screw up file maybe extension conflict when u install new software.. like when installing acdsee .. they tend to force all files can be opened through acdsee viewer.maybe lah. since till now i din hv any chance using a mac.. i cant say anything about mac.. but would love to have one biggrin.gif:D
jayhan
post Feb 23 2006, 01:19 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

MAC - much much powerful and much much faster when handling large designs (RAM eating), but hv to get used to that one-button-mouse. But MAC is not so common and file supports also not that variety (like wma, wmv, rm... but still can use videolan to watch thou)

PC - more familiar, but get lag pretty quickly, rendering process much slower compare to MAC

in the end, MAC --> damn classy, wish to hv one hehehe

etsuko
post Feb 23 2006, 05:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

the only reason I'd invest in a Mac, an iBook or PowerBook to be exact is cause I'm too lazy to use those existing websites for platform testing. I'd use Safari very often to test websites and having a mobile PC would be good for me since I don't have one. tongue.gif

other than that, I don't see any difference other than video and yes, typeface.
TSninelives1980
post Feb 23 2006, 11:35 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Feb 23 2006, 05:50 PM)
the only reason I'd invest in a Mac, an iBook or PowerBook to be exact is cause I'm too lazy to use those existing websites for platform testing. I'd use Safari very often to test websites and having a mobile PC would be good for me since I don't have one. tongue.gif

other than that, I don't see any difference other than video and yes, typeface.
so, better performance in MAC in terms of video and typeface as compared to PC.
hope i'm gettin' you rite o'er here.

thanks all!
fansoption
post Feb 24 2006, 11:09 AM

3,065 posts

mac and pc also same, dun tell me mac colour is good, is my pc using sony monitor, also same that y nothing speical and mac slow
etsuko
post Feb 24 2006, 11:38 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Feb 23 2006, 11:35 PM)
so, better performance in MAC in terms of video and typeface as compared to PC.
hope i'm gettin' you rite o'er here.

thanks all!
yup.. that's what I meant. the typeface difference is very noticeable when working with either applications like Quark Xpress or Adobe InDesign..and some others.

for video, can't guarantee because there has been rumour of the Intel rendering them better. but if you ask about hollywood, *shrug* because they don't use Premiere or After Effects much.. they use stuff like Shake and other high-end programs. smile.gif
andriel
post Feb 24 2006, 02:57 PM

Justin Jibber
623 posts

Anyone care to elaborate how Mac's color is better than PC?

And how about color calibration(monitor and printer), are the Macs readily calibrated ?

One thing i know about Mac is that the anti-aliasing is better than PC, do u guys notice it or isit just me ?

My college has a few Macs, and it works pretty much the same as PCs, except that the mouse is slower and some program lacks the right click button. Its quite an good machine, but not really my cup of tea

0.0128sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:44 PM