iPhone 5 or Galaxy Note 2

LaskarCinta
post Oct 15 2012, 11:01 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(cheehing @ Oct 15 2012, 10:23 PM)
r u sure??
previously im android user but piss off with the OS thn change to iPhone, had 4, 4s n ipad 2.
im really proud to hv iOS device because of the best mobile OS.
but iPhone 5 really disappointed me alot n Galaxy note 2 do impress me.
i'm a heavy user on mobile device. multitasking in note 2 is really a good option.
2GB Ram i think is a minimum for android to run smooth but cant confirm can defeat iOS, i think at least can nearly on par.

so i think i will jump to Galaxy note 2, will wait for apple better product to impress me
Well, maybe the larger screen of Samsung's latest impresses you, but the latest Exynos SoC is such a letdown to me.

Even Apple A6 dualcore rivals the performance of quadcore chip in Exynos powering latest Galaxy series, and that's also while the iOS isn't as resource-hungry as Android. It's just a rehashed design based on Cortex A9 reference coupled with ARM Mali GPU that again just a reference design. Not only purely reference-based, but also a pretty ancient one since everybody else are gearing towards Cortex A15 or custom design that implements good attributes from A15. And oh, about the GPU, this year's Exynos Quad only rivalled the performance of the ones powering Apple A5, of which is more than 1.5 years older already.

About the memory, RAM alone isn't the determining factor for performance. Memory interface on the SoC plus the memory bandwidth itself is much faster on Apple A6 compared to Exynos 4 Quad. It's 8.5 GB/s vs 6.4 GB/s. What good the bigger memory gonna serve while it's on a much slower side? Yes, bigger RAM is also preferred along the speed increase, but Android platform gonna need that humongous RAM size a lot to begin with.

Based on some tidbits and numbers above, I'd say Note 2 can be somewhat disappointing to me. But then, both don't really exists in the same segment though. Both got their very own reason of existence, and both gonna do very well. So I'd say this poll is totally irrelevant.

And oh, before I leave, I'd say for this year, better go for Snapdragon S4 Krait-based devices if Android is your flag. Exynos 4 Quad does sounds like a very bad idea to start with. I mean, really really really bad. Ask those people on the Android thread and they'll also agree on that.

LaskarCinta
post Oct 16 2012, 12:31 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(amind27 @ Oct 15 2012, 11:38 PM)
U jelly ipongpan
Not jelly. Explain this.

Android Smartphones Suffer From Purple Haze Problem Too

Btw, you don't need to resort to such personal attack or calling names, since that's really immatured. In fact, I'm the one who said that this topic is irrelevant, since both products are really from different category.

Please grow up, this is not kopitiam. Btw, you've just further discredit your points.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 16 2012, 12:34 AM
LaskarCinta
post Oct 16 2012, 02:23 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(Malaun @ Oct 16 2012, 02:16 PM)
I agree with ur statement. Im an iphone4 user. I wont change to ip5 since its just a minor upgrade. I definitely will go for Note 2 this time. Don't get me wrong i love my iphone & the iOS but this time its not worth it for me.
Well, if iPhone 5 seems to be minor upgrade compared to iPhone 4, same can be said with Note II.

What I do really mean is that both are actually substantial upgrade, but then people just really love blowing off the water.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 16 2012, 02:28 PM
LaskarCinta
post Oct 16 2012, 02:25 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Oct 16 2012, 01:37 PM)
Frankly speaking, I've moved from the Android Froyo to iPhone 4 and never look back since.

Software perspective, Apply win hands down. Hardware perspective, yes Android have more options but rather short lived life because newer Android OS is not supported on older hardware, thus making your only option the custom ROMs which can be quite unstable.

Looking at Apple these past years, I have noticed that 4S was a minor upgrade and a major disappointment. iPhone 5 is also a minor upgrade but a major disappointment.
Errr... Not really. Both 4S and 5 do have the biggest leap in internal upgrade especially its SoCs, even compared to other generations in the same family. Overall, 5 is even much better performing overall compared to the one powering S3 and Note 2. Tech enthusiasts and news outlet do agree on that a lot.

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Oct 16 2012, 01:37 PM)
This makes me feel like switching over to Note 2 due to lots of tempting feature but I am not sure where are we in the OS level.

Question here is, has Android OS matured yet? Or is it still going through upgrades and enhancements?
Very wrong place to ask, since certain person are gonna accuse people here of bias.

But then, I'll tell you my personal experience on JellyBean. It's much smoother than its predecessor, but then it's nowhere near the level of smoothness on iOS or even Windows Phone 7. And WP7 does also run smooth even when being run on ancient hardware. You see, Windows Phone is gearing towards a more serious competitor for iOS starting WP8.

Btw for the Android camp, I'd say betting on Exynos 4 Quad chip such the one used in Note II is a wrong gamble late this year. Graphics performance of Exynos 4 Quad is only on par with the ones from iPhone 4S, which is 1.5 year older already. If you're checking with the real Android pundits, better wait for the ones equipped with quadcore Krait such as the upcoming LG Nexus device. I'm saying this since I'm also using Android device alongside my iDevices, and Samsung can be total disappointing with their OS upgrade roadmap. Waiting time for Android update on Sammy's devices can be brutal, just ask other original Note users tongue.gif

QUOTE(amind27 @ Oct 16 2012, 02:22 PM)
even more matured than somehurt who got butthurt from insults towards their favourite brand....lol grow up...its just a phone...not ur parents or ur religion
Zzzz....please grow up. This is not kopitiam thread.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 16 2012, 02:47 PM
LaskarCinta
post Oct 17 2012, 02:49 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Oct 16 2012, 08:21 PM)
Hello there, thanks for your feedback.

Overall performance improvement is not a feature. It can be faster, lighter, thinner, taller but then it doesnt give much value back in terms of new technology breakthrough. Yes, in terms of user experience, you can say it's more responsive but that's not what people are looking for these days. People want something that can make them go "WOW! That's new!!" Not like "Wow, it's faster..." It's ONLY faster.
Hi there, thanks to you too.

About the overall performance, I'm sorry if I was wrong but isn't that what regular Android-only users are raving about models-to-models now and then? Just a glance on Android thread, and sometimes in Garage Sales thread, it's so apparent. It's absolutely a feature. If that's not, well, I'd say it will be pointless for them to upgrade from original Galaxy Note anyway. Better stick with the older model, much economical too.

And if you'd think that improved performance only showcase the snappiness for existing apps then you're absolutely wrong. You see, apps and games development on iOS do mimic the ones from game consoles, only that the transition is much faster by being annually. So as the newer apps are made available, it will be missing much feature while being ran on older devices. It's not just a question on how fast it gonna load.

People expectation from a market leader like Apple is to bring in new innovation, as for Samsung and other Android devices, I think too many people focus too much on hardware. The iOS and Android can be quite similar to PS3 and Xbox. PS3 (iOS) has many exclusive games made, it's best for RPG lovers, for it while Xbox (Android) has great processing capabilities, almost like a PC but lack on the software side (yes, you have shooters!)
Well, I don't see the XBox vs PS3 analogy to be appropriately applied for this iOS vs Android situation. On the fallacy, you're saying on how Xbox (Android) has great processing capability, while in reality it's the iPhone that does have the trait of better performance compared to other Android phones to date. And oh, abit out of topic, I'm also an avid Xbox player and I do love shooters, so I do know that they also got much exclusive titles, not counting the semi-exclusive ones like CODs and Bethesda titles.

Back on the topic, I'd say apart from increasing the performance and graphics of iPhone 5 by twofold, it's not like Apple is not innovating on the OS at all. Most of them are actually on the inclusion of new APIs for developers to tap into. In fact, WWDC does span in one week to outline those, and it's being done annually. By the new improvement being made behind-the-curtain, doesn't mean they're doing nothing at all.

With regards to the hardware you spoke of, it's all new to me. I dont know them and they dont know me but yes, I am very tempted see Jelly Bean in action. smile.gif
Well, JellyBean is the biggest upgrade that happened to Android since, like, ever. You should try that since its vanilla interface (eg Nexus 7) isn't a mess like last time I've tried GB and HC (dunno if manufacturer's custom skins gonna be terrible, mind you), while it's less laggy than that of ICS. But just for the sake of comparison, WP7 is far smoother interface-wise.

But then, referring back to what I've mentioned above, it's all about app development. Using an Android device, I can't help to not notice that most of apps in Play store are optimised for up to 2.3.x. I mean come on, even games from big studios are targeting Gingerbread devices. Not that it wont run on JB at all (while some gonna break compatibility), but all the improvement which are OS-specific are gonna lost in translation. Well, I can't blame the developers though, since upgrade roadmap of the OS on devices themselves can get pretty messy.

Btw, back on the thread's topic, I'd still say the poll is irrelevant. Both devices are clearly made to cater different markets, so don't be surprised if both do quite well. You see, people don't mix C-segment cars with B-cars right? That's just how irrelevant this poll was.

LaskarCinta
post Oct 18 2012, 05:38 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Oct 18 2012, 12:11 AM)
Hi there, your post is really long and informative, thanks for responding and sharing!

I understand your post about speed matters as it affects the application / game as a whole and not just load times. With better speed, we probably get better games. I see your point but on my personal level, I don't see the value.

The first smartphone I ever used was the HTC Desire on Eclair / Froyo. Over time, as Android OS develops, it stopped being backward compatible. OTA update was pretty limited and our only option at that time was to head over to xda-developer and try custom ROM. I tried several custom ROM but it was mostly buggy. I was pretty disappointed and made the switch to Apple - iPhone 4, which I am still using today.

To me, it was the right move. iOS was offering good user experience, I like the software and everything seem more organized. Till today, with iOS 6, it's still good. The difference between Apple and Google is that Apple takes care of older hardware but Google abandoned them.
Thanks to you too. Glad that can have some healthy discussion with fellow LYN members.

Ok, about the better performance, I do understand on how you view it as something of not much significant although given that you've already understand some of my points. But personally, I'd say it's more about future-proofing (not really the correct term, though) over the course of the phone's first year span. Initially, all people can see is that it's faster and with potential of expanding further, but that's not the end.

So you may ask why the above. Just take example of some gaming app, FIFA13 and Sky Gamblers : Air Supremacy and get them onto previous devices pre-4S. Run them and all you gonna get is Sky Gamblers Lite. Run FIFA13 on iPhone 4 and it tends to have its animation lag (most likely gonna resolved in future through the "Lite" route, if you catch the drill).

To make it short, they make sure that the extra oomph in their hardware doesn't left untapped for the device's premiering year. And they're not throwing out new specs just for the sake of telling us "Wow, that's fast".

But still, if significant performance increase is still negligible for you, then I'd say the original Galaxy Note should already suffice. It also falls into JellyBean rollout, which makes more than enough for new buyers. Also if you do really notice, the upgrade from Note - Note II is actually a reenactment of iPhone 4S - iPhone 5 upgrade situation. Roughly twice the performance, while being physically taller. I'm not joking.

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Oct 18 2012, 12:11 AM)
So, I was using iPhone 4 for a year, then 4S came. Not much innovation except for Siri. Then Steve Jobs died and many said Apple went with him. I defended Apple against all my Android friends. Another year passed, and now iPhone 5, not much innovation again except it's longer. At this point, got bored of iOS, and Jelly Bean caught my interest and I'm tempted to look what's changed on the Android side of things.

I need something which can impress me and am curious about the progress Android has made. I am not looking for processing power. I know iPhone 5 have better camera (which I use a lot) and am used to the layout. I know iPhone 5 is faster and performs better, lighter, loo more premium (as compared to Note 2 plastic case). Somehow, they just don't appeal to me anymore cause Android got me curious.

I like the features offered by Note 2. The stylus, the multi-window, the notes you can scribble while on the phone with somebody, etc. But, you just made me pull the handbrake... I'm a little skeptical cause you said on PlayStore, most of the app are optimized for 2.3.x.

I am not a very technical person so my understanding failed me in some of the things you've wrote. Nevertheless, I appreciate your post. Sorry you have to read my story. I still think PS3 is the fair representation of iPhone and Xbox as Android. I'm not sure why I think this way but I just do. And Kinect is like Jelly Bean.
As for Note or Note II, it's still a solid device to own. What I'm just trying to outline here is that both falls under very different category. It's not like a good thing to make a poll on how a van fares compared to a lorry.

So my rumblings aside, judging from my personal view on performance, your current iPhone 4 is so much due for an upgrade, no matter for iOS or Android's latest. But then, going straight to either latest device will only further proves my point. And yup, either side do have their own pros and cons for sure.

But, if writing and drawing is your main priority then you may not even need to head to Play Store at all. Preloaded apps are already great to showcase its unique selling point. btw, apps being optimised for GingerBread doesn't mean it can't be run on newer devices though, so that doesn't sound so bad. It's just that newer improvement that are OS-specific aren't making way to the app, so they're not going for its total potential, while it's 100% working fine on the same time.

About physical appearance, this round it won't matter much. Since both aluminium and plastic are supposedly scratched-off easily, both will end up in cases most of time anyway.

So yup, go ahead and get the Note II if you might. It is the most powerful Android phone available on our shores to date. That tempted me to replace my current Android device (hey, I do droid too!) but then I'll be better off wait for the next Nexus device. I'm just not really convinced with manufacturer's own tinkering to the OS, but that's just me. Apart from the Exynos 4 Quad stuff that I've mention previously, though. And another thing I do despise is its charging time, especially if travelling only with its USB cable.

Still, my most likely numero uno going-to device will be an iPhone 5. Well, each to their own. No devices are made equal, me guess?

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 18 2012, 05:44 AM

0.0679sec    0.92    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:52 PM