Hi-Fi Audiophile Bookshelf Speaker: X-LS Encore, Rated 5-star from audiofi.net

carcrazy
post Nov 18 2014, 04:23 PM

189 posts

did an upgrade on the XLS encore passive. was ask by a good fren to assist him.
overall speaker has a good built. bracing on sides, dampen, thick MDF constructions.
12/12db xover with tweeter attenuation + RC contour to give more 'airyness' and parallel resistor to dampen the impedance peak on tweeter

upgraded to sonic gen I caps and Mills resistor using 4% silver solder. parts supplied by curve.
sound: i like what i hear..

carcrazy
post Nov 20 2014, 12:18 AM

189 posts

Definitely big difference. In fact i posion the owner to upgrade further to flat copper foil inductor soak in wax for more harmonics n separation..hehe
i have removed the tweeter bypass cap 0.1uf as its not needed since the new main value caps are of similar grade unless its a sonic teflon caps.

the speaker will be at my place in PJ till this sat only. Owner taking them back. Ur welcome to drop by for an audition

carcrazy
post Nov 20 2014, 12:25 AM

189 posts

Speaker is excellent. But din like the cardboard make for the rear port..but then again at its price, cant complain much lar..
carcrazy
post Nov 21 2014, 11:44 AM

189 posts

quaza
call me lar...but u cum so late. need to pick up my kids leh
carcrazy
post Nov 21 2014, 05:04 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 21 2014, 03:18 PM)
And Chance GRABBED!

The Speaker sounds... FANTASTIC

For THAT price range and the size the sound is AMAZING!!!

The detail, VERY TRANSPARENT!!!!

I am sure the setup had something to do with that...

Now that I have the chance to listen to the "upgraded" version, I really look forward to hearing it before the upgrade.

MR LIM!!! When is your set arriving!!!!

Seriously people, especially the ones who are looking for your first pair of Hifi speakers, seriously consider this!!!

My Two Sen
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
carcrazy
post Nov 22 2014, 10:00 AM

189 posts

Mov freak,
Thank you. We need to share so give ppl more options.
rather than depending on reviews whic sometimes is not accurate
carcrazy
post Nov 22 2014, 12:08 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Nov 22 2014, 10:42 AM)
I have listened to your line array at klav 2014.  I thought it was really good in construction and sound.

Unfortunately, I didn't have a chance to listen to your Aphologee(sorry if I spelled it wrongly).
u shd have intro urself. so i know who is the big boss.
2015 KLIAV, i will do differently..pls come. i think you will like it

carcrazy
post Nov 22 2014, 12:09 PM

189 posts

speaker owner is here now...bringing me for a nice yummy lunch..hehe
carcrazy
post Nov 24 2014, 12:47 PM

189 posts

Quazacolt,
u dun need a speaker, u need a S2000...lol