Star Citizen, First playable content will be out soon.

TSCheesenium
post Jun 26 2013, 04:59 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 26 2013, 04:36 PM)
Read about how they treat death and injury in-game. How you walked into the office to register your "beneficiary", how you can walk in 1st person and see how battle-hardened another player is with his scars and stuff, how people can shoot your escape pod and you have few seconds to eject your pod. All sound complicated and too good to be true. Hopefully they can deliver. Freelancer is the only space flight sim I enjoyed very much. Even Dark Star One was meh compared to it.
Well, if you looked at other crowd funded games, each of them are very much as ambitious as Star Citizen. For examples on the crowd funded games, like Planetary Annihilation, Project CARS, Project Eternity, Wasteland 2, Limit Theory(similar to Star Citizen) and so on, are equally ambitious.

The only difference is, Star Citizen gets the highest funding from the community but not less ambitious than any other crowd funded projects. I dont mind backing them, as those are the games i wanted to see and it feels good to see that consumers have the power to decide whether a game gets to be made or not.

Still, I think that the FPS part in Star Citizen is a bit overambitious.

Dark Star One kinda sucked, though, even Galaxy on Fire 2 is better than it.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jun 26 2013, 05:09 PM
TSCheesenium
post Jun 26 2013, 05:14 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 26 2013, 05:11 PM)
Only thing I liked about Dark Star One, is aliens lolol
But the flying kinda sucked. Didnt play much at the end. Whats so interesting about the aliens?
TSCheesenium
post Jun 26 2013, 05:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 26 2013, 05:27 PM)
Sucks horribly lolol. Because Freelancer mostly humans?  brows.gif  Then you find out the face of the pilots were reused so many times lolol
lol, but at the end, its space ships that matters the most. Have you played Freespace 2? Heard its really good.
TSCheesenium
post Jun 26 2013, 06:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Jun 26 2013, 06:14 PM)
I played Descent:Freespace and Freespace 2, man it's an epic space sim ever! Love the space battle especially in Freespace 2.
You should try it at least once.For me the graphic,story is the best since Wing commander series.

I bought it from GOG recently but havent try yet. Maybe i'll give it a shot when its possible.
TSCheesenium
post Jun 28 2013, 12:13 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Jun 28 2013, 11:29 AM)
Kinda expected to see around that price to make a ship asset, considering how much detail, movable parts, detailed cockpit view and customisation on each ship. On top of the fact that each ship has 2-4 load models to 9 in Forza 4

TSCheesenium
post Jun 28 2013, 12:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Jun 28 2013, 12:29 PM)
at this rate they will run out of money before making the main game  sweat.gif
Probably wont as they only have 10 or so ships with a massive budget of 10 million plus an unknown amount from investors.

Project CARS had 30+ high detailed models now and they are still doing more or less ok. Except that feature creep problem.
TSCheesenium
post Jun 28 2013, 04:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Jun 28 2013, 04:03 PM)
hmm.. I think investors r also eyeing them since the player base so big now plus all got buying power ..
Star Citizen already have investors as far as i know but there are definitely other investors out there eying at the game.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 5 2013, 10:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Jul 5 2013, 12:17 PM)
They all either flop or overhypped.

Because PC gamers are hoping for a game to do their PC justice and these companies just show up as a savior claim they hold the throne to revive PC.
PC gaming doesn't need revival, it is what it is.

Wasteland 2, I do not have high hopes but hoping to play it as a sequel to wasteland and being the stepping stone for fallout, not because its a PC game. If it releases on console, id get the console version instead of PC.
After all, inxile doesn't disappoint me. Obsidian on the other hand, doubtful.

Nuff said, trying to misuse the hope of PC gamers to make their game justified is dead wrong.
So, you are saying that PC should stay and be the platform where consoles dump their ports while we cannot develop our own "exclusives" that is designed for our platforms. Should we stay this way? No, we arent because some developers and PC gamers are sick of all these shallow games designed for console that only have slightly more than a dozens buttons while games like Project Eternity, Wasteland 2, Project CARS, Star Ctizen or some random guy who is making a space game will never be funded by these man in suits who only cared about short term profits and widest appeal with games that has barely any depth. Or seeing talented developers getting paid peanuts. Or seeing their bonus being forfeited because their metacritic score is 1 point lower than agreed.

Instead, I rather give an opportunity to independent development studios to develop a game with its fan than seeing them going to large publishers that only care about making generic crap. Whether they are successful or not, i rather risk my money so that these people have a shot to stay independent than work with a major publisher that pretty much always demands that their game has to be designed for the widest possible audience with a depth of peddling pool.

So what if Wasteland 2 turn out to be a smaller game, then so be it then because one should never expect it to turn out to be some Fallout 3 sort of epic game. I rather have short, sweet and deep games, than shallow nonsense that appeared because the console market wants shallow crap. Also, InXile will get another shot to stay indie than working with publishers to make boring games like Hunted.

Since you think that console gaming are superior so why bother posting here and try to make PC gamers look like idiots? IMO, i say PC is better than where it was a few years back because we are getting games that take far more creativity risks to explore new genre and gameplay than sticking to the tried and true boring nonsense that is commonly seen on consoles because some companies want to play it safe. No doubt there are interesting console games but very much all of them are published by Sony or exist on PS.

Anyone who pledged for a kickstarter should know that they should pledging the games with their disposable income as kickstarter is not an investment or pre-order platform but it is equivalent to planting a seed in the ground where the seed might never sprout or turned out to be shit or it might sprout to a glorious plant. So what if Star Citizen failed, there are still tonnes of space games from Enemy Starfighter to Void Destroyer out there might turn out to be a hit. As mentioned before, I rather take the risk than leaving up to major publisher to revive the space game genre.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 5 2013, 11:43 PM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 10 2013, 03:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Please correct me if im wrong but I actually dont see the point of buying so many ships that early. Even a 300i is enough for now, considering that you havent even played the game yet or even see how the ships fly outside videos and some concept artwork. On top of that, we have no idea how will the final game turn out where it can be amazing or a piece of crap. So, why is there so many people putting so much money on ships after seeing a video or a concept artwork?

Arent you afraid that Star Citizen end up like Code Heroes or Broken Age at some point where the funds are finished? Or the game hit the Valley of Despair where the devs having problems with the design then got delayed and delayed? Game development is risky, while this is not an investment to begin with nor an option to pull out is given.

I am very excited for the game, even just the hanger module but isnt it a bit too much to buy a few ships at the pre-production stage of the game? Chris Robberts is a very experienced developer but giving him that much confidence isnt that good in my honest opinion. I really hope that you are spending your disposable income on this.

Given the fact that people are getting really angry with Double Fine's Broken Age just because the game is delayed and it is split to 2 parts, I hope you know what are you doing with your money as most people are clueless on game development and expect everything to be smooth sailing all the way.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 10 2013, 04:01 PM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 10 2013, 08:29 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(neonash @ Jul 10 2013, 04:00 PM)
I have taken a 2nd mortgage on my house.
I hope you are not taking a second mortgage just to buy virtual space ships. sweat.gif
TSCheesenium
post Sep 6 2013, 11:09 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Sep 5 2013, 10:05 PM)
Just get the cheapest... Quite cheap
If i were you, better hold back.

I am having a bit buyer's remorse now while none of my other Kickstarter projects made me felt this horrible.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 13 2014, 03:25 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Feb 13 2014, 01:01 PM)
http://www.thehighguild.com.au/SC_Fleet2.png

if u see note they wrote ..  u can steal ppl ship and  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
so we are really need strong organization  to help us later ..
Seriously? Dont tell me that I need an organisation to even play this game without someone stealing my ships.

Is it really that difficult to create another single player friendly sandbox game without all the multiplayer forced on everyone? Not everyone is keen to join an organisation to begin with as I cant keep up with the organisation schedules or activities.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 13 2014, 04:08 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Feb 13 2014, 03:35 PM)
one more thing u need to know

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/comm-lin...h-Of-A-Spaceman

try read all and FAQ ..  we really need strong organization .. i scare if got strong pirate organization out there 

chris roberts  try to make SC as realistic as possible    .. u can hijack ppl ship.  player can die  and many more  rclxub.gif
No thanks, I am not interested in joining any organisation. I do not have the time to pour into a game to treat it like my second life. I did not backed a single player unfriendly game.

At very least, Elite 4 will at least allow you to turn off the player invasion but still have the living economy running.
TSCheesenium
post Feb 13 2014, 04:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Feb 13 2014, 04:25 PM)
still can play offline in SQ42
No offence, i want the open world exploration, not just confined to some scripted mission in Squadron 42.

Looks like this is another turd among my KS project.

TSCheesenium
post Mar 25 2014, 06:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Mar 22 2014, 07:42 AM)
I don't understand how they want to sell this game.
You have to buy the game, then the ship with real money? Is there monthly fee? What if my ship us destroy? Need to pay for another one again?
I would advise you to hold back your purchase at the moment as Star Citizen is giving me absolutely zero confidence on the project progress due to lack of transparency or just have not progressed much since the main crowd funding has ended. The Hanger Module does not put much confidence in the game while I have no idea when will the playable dog fighting module will be out as it just keep getting pushed back. At this point, it feels like Star Citizen has bloated to the point that it just have way too many features that is difficult to implement them all. At the same time, having overly pricey so-called "pledge" ships just feel like a money grab as people are paying $40 to thousands of dollars for some ships in a video game without any tangible or practical benefits. Games should not be this expensive, despite these pledge ships are "optional" to have, according to some people. If not, it just the developers are terrible in updating the backers who does not check the forums religiously.

It is difficult to see whether a game that is in development will succeed or fail after release, as game development is changing rapidly literally daily but at the moment, I do not have much confidence in Star Citizen due to lack of progress in gameplay elements.

At the same time, I had backed plenty of other projects, where most of my KS projects have either have in game footage to actually playable builds with part or almost completed content. Star Citizen is the only one so far that has absolutely nothing other than the Hanger Module.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Mar 25 2014, 07:22 PM
TSCheesenium
post Mar 29 2014, 11:04 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(takuyaSH @ Mar 26 2014, 02:12 PM)
While there's not much tangible products to present, I believe you may alter your opinions a bit if you'd at least watch some of their dev videos on their Youtube channel. Most of them actually dictate the developmental work placed into the game.

The only playable component that is out now is the hangar; which does feature accessible ship compartments, a shower, a few vehicles and even a target range to test your weapons. This in fact may also seem not as much, but I believe this may slowly change over the course of the next few months. The citizens of the game are now looking forward to the first iteration of the Dogfighting Module (a simulation of space combat in-game), so you don't have to worry about getting your ships destroyed etc.
Devs videos do not show enough actual footage or actual progress. All they show most of the time are just concepts or some 3D rendering which is quite worrying that the game isnt even half way yet. Is that even enough after a year+ of development? I dont mind if they show me a pink box flying in space to showcase the game's physics or implemented features. Development can be slow at the beginning as they are still prototyping features, considering people paid 40 million+ collectively, they should be much more transparent to at least those high paying backers.

Having just the hanger module till now really do not give me much confidence in the project while the massively ballooned project scope made it look impossible to be completed on time. I dont even know why do I want a working shower in a space flight sim. Chris Roberts does have a history of overpromising in a game where you need someone else to control the amount of feature creep this game is having. This time, there is no Microsoft to control the feature creep that it is having where Star Citizen might still be in early development when other AAA level crowd funded games like Elite 4, Kingdom Come or Project CARS are already released.

Even Elite who started crowd funding much later are getting much further than Star Citizen in terms of development.
TSCheesenium
post Apr 21 2014, 09:52 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Apr 20 2014, 10:56 PM)
ohh crap.. sudah lambat want buy... dem.
Took time to upgrade gpu
You might have just dodged the bullet.

Star Citizen is a mess to follow its development while there arent much tangible development done so far.

Adding on the fact that this is a very complex AAA game that might take more than 3 years to develop if not end up as vaporware, I say its better to hold on first until it reaches Beta or late Alpha with many features implemented. Charging ridiculous amount of money for so-called pledge ships to even individual module access is just ridiculous.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Apr 21 2014, 10:06 AM
TSCheesenium
post Apr 29 2014, 06:48 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Selling my 300i for $80. PM me if interested.
TSCheesenium
post Apr 30 2014, 07:58 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(pyre @ Apr 29 2014, 06:59 PM)
LTI? and with package? Digital BH package?
300i with LTI from the Kickstarter campaign.
TSCheesenium
post Apr 30 2014, 08:22 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Apr 30 2014, 09:00 AM)
Yo Cheesy, why you selling? You upgrading?
2 reasons:
1. No confidence in the developer. 2 years of development and all I got is a ship model viewer that run like crap while most of my other kickstarter have given out playable builds to some if not all the backers, including AAA level projects. Not to forget constant feature creep with stretch goals every million. It feels like the game development isn't managed properly that resulted a lot of delays.
2. Star Cirizen isn't the game I wanted to back after a while. I am not interested in a game that is too multiplayer focus for my liking because I don't have the time to put into a MMO these days. Seems like its gonna be very single player unfriendly with emphasis on real time economy to massive ships that is impossible to fly alone.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0336sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:36 PM