Any new VW Passat owners here?, Thinking of buying one
cybermaster98
Oct 16 2012, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Oct 16 2012, 01:08 PM) Camry big and spacious and executive feel and many nice servis centre free wifi and drinks friendly.sa friendly sc.pretty recep The big and spacious tag has been matched equally by other cars. Executive feel was the previous model not this one. I dont see how anybody could feel 'executive' surrounded by cheapo plastics and a worse design than the outgoing model. The only thing i see as a clear positive is the refinement of the engine and gearbox (2.5V model).
Gary1981
Oct 16 2012, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 16 2012, 12:46 PM) Ure expecting a D segment Camry to be priced cheaper than the 2L Civic and Altis?  hmmm...trying to hint the new camry does not worth Rm150k by ignore civic and altis exists...  Size of camry and passat not much difference... Added on October 16, 2012, 1:29 pmOwn an altis 2006. The late model of all toyotas model give feel plastic surgery interior which can find in hyundai cars. But of course, different ppl have differ taste of car of choice... This post has been edited by Gary1981: Oct 16 2012, 01:29 PM
cybermaster98
Oct 16 2012, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Oct 16 2012, 01:26 PM) hmmm...trying to hint the new camry does not worth Rm150k by ignore civic and altis exists...  Size of camry and passat not much difference... Own an altis 2006. The late model of all toyotas model give feel plastic surgery interior which can find in hyundai cars. But of course, different ppl have differ taste of car of choice... Well ure right. The Camry isnt worth its price tag. The plasticky interior is also found in current models. Check out the door panels of the Camry 2.0 and ull see. Even the mid section of the dashboard is cheapo materials. Same goes for the new Civic. That dash has gotta be among the worst ive seen to date.
Gary1981
Oct 16 2012, 01:58 PM
Toyota and honda still got time to rethink their strategy, due to have strong 3S service. I believe VW, Peugeot and Mazda will look into 3S service once their car volume achieved similiar par to japanese car which currently seeing the peak of these model of car....
TSokyjace
Oct 17 2012, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 12 2012, 02:36 PM) Can you tell us the OTR prices (minus the taxes) of the various CKD models you have researched? Below are the prices I have received so far before any further negotiations. Camry 2.5L 125K Passat 1.8L 142K BMW 320d 170K BMW 520d 242K Merc C180 154K Merc E200 259K Haven't managed to test drive the 5-series or E-class yet. But for me the 3-series and C-class are just a little too small after having a very close look at them today. In terms of interior space, I'd say they're more comparable to a Civic/Altis. It's the kind of cars I would consider if I already had a big SUV as the main family car - or if I was in my mid-20s with cash to burn.
zweimmk
Oct 18 2012, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Oct 17 2012, 09:25 PM) Below are the prices I have received so far before any further negotiations. Camry 2.5L 125K Passat 1.8L 142K BMW 320d 170K BMW 520d 242K Merc C180 154K Merc E200 259K Haven't managed to test drive the 5-series or E-class yet. But for me the 3-series and C-class are just a little too small after having a very close look at them today. In terms of interior space, I'd say they're more comparable to a Civic/Altis. It's the kind of cars I would consider if I already had a big SUV as the main family car - or if I was in my mid-20s with cash to burn. At 125k, I won't mind buying the Camry 2.5L for the offered performance, safety, reliability and features. It's till 17k worth of savings minimal compared to the Passat. For 17k less You have 2 less airbags No Vehicle Stability Control and Traction Control System No Cornering lights No Rain sensing wipers Overall, I would consider the Camry a good buy and arguably best bang for the buck at that price point and ONLY if it's at that price or less.
cybermaster98
Oct 18 2012, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Oct 17 2012, 09:25 PM) Below are the prices I have received so far before any further negotiations.
Camry 2.5L 125K Passat 1.8L 142K BMW 320d 170K BMW 520d 242K Merc C180 154K Merc E200 259K
Haven't managed to test drive the 5-series or E-class yet. But for me the 3-series and C-class are just a little too small after having a very close look at them today. In terms of interior space, I'd say they're more comparable to a Civic/Altis. It's the kind of cars I would consider if I already had a big SUV as the main family car - or if I was in my mid-20s with cash to burn. How is it that the Passat price is 20K more than the Camry since the original price of the Passat is about 6K cheaper? Are these OTR prices for CKD models? This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 18 2012, 08:33 AM
zweimmk
Oct 18 2012, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 18 2012, 08:32 AM) How is it that the Passat price is 20K more than the Camry since the original price of the Passat is about 6K cheaper? Are these OTR prices for CKD models? I wonder if he typed it up wrongly but nevertheless, at 125k - it's a no brainer. Nevermind if it has less safety, it's arguably still a good deal.
TSokyjace
Oct 18 2012, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 18 2012, 09:32 AM) How is it that the Passat price is 20K more than the Camry since the original price of the Passat is about 6K cheaper? Are these OTR prices for CKD models? Yup, I found that strange myself. But I didn't pursue the matter with the agent as I am not particularly keen on the car (no sense wasting time). The prices quoted exclude insurance. I was told by some agents that the insurance is based on the selling price, so the annual premium might be lower in my case. However, I haven't tried to get a quote to confirm that.
cybermaster98
Oct 18 2012, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Oct 18 2012, 10:38 AM) Yup, I found that strange myself. But I didn't pursue the matter with the agent as I am not particularly keen on the car (no sense wasting time). The prices quoted exclude insurance. I was told by some agents that the insurance is based on the selling price, so the annual premium might be lower in my case. However, I haven't tried to get a quote to confirm that. Im quite sure thr's something wrong. I think the error could be with the Passat price. But this is the problem which i was refering to the other day. These car dealers dont actually reveal the exact excise duty. Assuming the excise duty is 40K, they only reduce by 30K so the balance 10K goes into their pocket. Which is why you need to get official prices from the respective HQ's.
TSokyjace
Oct 19 2012, 01:08 PM

Test drove the Peugeot 508 yesterday which I learnt is also CKD, however, I came away feeling quite unimpressed by the experience. The lack of storage space makes the car less practical for me. Hardly any space for things like coins, spare glasses, Smarttag, etc. Although the car is priced quite keenly, it's such a waste to know that I'd be paying for useless heated seats and a built in GPS that cannot be enabled. Turbo lag was quite noticeable.
zweimmk
Oct 31 2012, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(kenso77 @ Oct 30 2012, 11:24 PM) Don't entirely agree with certain parts of your review and personal style too overboard for my taste but still a decent write up nevertheless.
chizzu
Jan 23 2013, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Oct 19 2012, 01:08 PM) Test drove the Peugeot 508 yesterday which I learnt is also CKD, however, I came away feeling quite unimpressed by the experience. The lack of storage space makes the car less practical for me. Hardly any space for things like coins, spare glasses, Smarttag, etc. Although the car is priced quite keenly, it's such a waste to know that I'd be paying for useless heated seats and a built in GPS that cannot be enabled. Turbo lag was quite noticeable. So in the end what car you went for with the REP incentive? Did you find out what is the price they offered for Pug 508 with the incentive?
teikseng
Jan 24 2013, 02:33 PM

no worry about DSG issue in VW cars?
TSokyjace
Feb 5 2013, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jan 23 2013, 08:33 PM) So in the end what car you went for with the REP incentive? Did you find out what is the price they offered for Pug 508 with the incentive? Sorry for the long silence and inactivity. I have been busy with buying a place to stay and renovation work, so I put the car purchase on hold. But happy to say that I've finally done the admin stuff with Talentcorp and am planning to pick a car very soon. In case anyone is interested, I have found out that there will be some taxes to pay when I sell the car. However, these taxes willl be based on its second hand value at the time. So the savings with the REP incentive is still significant, but not as great as it could be. It seems that the longer I keep the car, the greater the value of the REP incentive. The best price I have received so far is a myr10K discount on the 2.5L Camry, if I go with a 2012 make car. Hence for an upfront cost of myr115K, I'm sorely tempted. Will probably go check out the Passat again. There are rumours online of CKD versions of the Mazda6 and CX5 coming. Anyone here has a firmer idea of the timeline for this?
chizzu
Feb 6 2013, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Feb 5 2013, 11:58 PM) Sorry for the long silence and inactivity. I have been busy with buying a place to stay and renovation work, so I put the car purchase on hold. But happy to say that I've finally done the admin stuff with Talentcorp and am planning to pick a car very soon. In case anyone is interested, I have found out that there will be some taxes to pay when I sell the car. However, these taxes willl be based on its second hand value at the time. So the savings with the REP incentive is still significant, but not as great as it could be. It seems that the longer I keep the car, the greater the value of the REP incentive. The best price I have received so far is a myr10K discount on the 2.5L Camry, if I go with a 2012 make car. Hence for an upfront cost of myr115K, I'm sorely tempted. Will probably go check out the Passat again. There are rumours online of CKD versions of the Mazda6 and CX5 coming. Anyone here has a firmer idea of the timeline for this? CKD Mazda CX5 is set to launch middle of the year. Don't think Mazda 6 will be CKD but I think there will be a new version of Mazda 3 that will be CKD towards end of the year. You can check out this thread where some of us who applied for REP shared the details
ericwen
Feb 6 2013, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Oct 17 2012, 09:25 PM) Below are the prices I have received so far before any further negotiations. Camry 2.5L 125K Passat 1.8L 142K BMW 320d 170K BMW 520d 242K Merc C180 154K Merc E200 259K Haven't managed to test drive the 5-series or E-class yet. But for me the 3-series and C-class are just a little too small after having a very close look at them today. In terms of interior space, I'd say they're more comparable to a Civic/Altis. It's the kind of cars I would consider if I already had a big SUV as the main family car - or if I was in my mid-20s with cash to burn. but i saw the price of bmw 2013, min 3 series rm241k.. how come yours so cheap one? recond ke?
chuakz
Feb 6 2013, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(ericwen @ Feb 6 2013, 01:28 PM) but i saw the price of bmw 2013, min 3 series rm241k.. how come yours so cheap one? recond ke? REP or MM2H programme entitled to no excise duty for CKD cars...
ericwen
Feb 7 2013, 07:49 AM
sorry what is REP? but how can malaysian get into mm2h leh