weird policy

TSkonstrain
post Oct 8 2012, 04:11 PM, updated 14y ago

over the weekend, i tried to purchase a 64gb ipad from machines in jusco, tebrau city, johor and was asked to show my IC for verification purposes. i wasn't buying the ipad with a contract, so i'm surprised with this.
reason being, they need to see if I was from another country that wasn't selling the new iPad.

after showing my IC, i was told that the warranty will be international for 1 year etc.. the usual standard stuffs, however, the staff also mentioned that upon inspection, if there are any scratches or physical defects, they will not open another set. they also added that the physical defects does not impair the performance of the ipad.

at the end, i didn't not purchase anything from the store and left empty-handed.

did any bros out there faced the same thing?
funnyTONE
post Oct 8 2012, 04:32 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Hell no. That kind of notice would have me leave the store too. Although it is quite logic to why they are concern of buyers purchasing the iPad here to sell off abroad. If you consider the conversion rate, we're selling ipad cheaper by $300 compared to Singapore set. They're probably helping their Machines counterparts in Singapore.
TSkonstrain
post Oct 8 2012, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(SerbaSerbi)
yes, same procedures here in kl and the ipad did have some minor physical defects but the protective cover added will cover it & no impact to operations as mentioned by staff after checking my IC

why did u not goahead w the purchase?
i didn't want to purchase something that's expensive and might have defects. not everyone can make rm2499 every week.. so i had to make sure the goods i buy are in good condition.

after all, i'm the one that is going to be using it for a long period of time.

@funnyTONE, yea i could understand that. the staff was a bit shocked to see me handing him a MyKad instead of a red coloured IC.

This post has been edited by konstrain: Oct 8 2012, 04:40 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 8 2012, 04:49 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

err got scratches canot change new one? then dont pay lah
khtan2000
post Oct 8 2012, 06:35 PM

Lurkerz
1,553 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 8 2012, 04:49 PM)
err got scratches canot change new one? then dont pay lah
from Switch store experience, after you pay then only you open the box, not before paying....so can't open first.

mine come with some dusty behind the screen, annoying at first but then everything works so didnt return.

but now my volume button spoilt (or something, volume keep turning down randomly) , so claiming for warranty.

beanbeanchong
post Oct 13 2012, 02:40 AM

445 posts

i not understand why apple retail store in malaysia not as good as apple official store in term of customer service.
Hai....
johnny82
post Oct 13 2012, 05:06 AM

831 posts

maybe we should write to apple international and complain bout it

0.0166sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:25 AM