post Oct 1 2016, 09:29 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Oct 1 2016, 05:03 PM)
Nobody replaces carbon bushes for radiator fan motors here,
not even wiremen, I believe.

You could look for a generic one like those Taiwanese ones,
probably won't cost more than $100.
The ones for the Proton Saga are about $60.
Replaced before on my older audi when the 2-speed radiator fan only spin slowly after push by hand, took the wireman a few hours to complete it.
But... it only lasts for few days then jammed. So ended-up trade-in the fan with new 1, the wireman deduct back the labour charges... Process is too delicate as radiator fan's carbon brush etc are more smaller...
voscar
post Oct 25 2016, 12:43 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(ralfvi @ Oct 25 2016, 09:43 AM)
thats one honest wireman seriously.
people like this are slowly but surely dying in this world.sad thing sweat.gif
Yes agreed.
voscar
post Jul 20 2017, 06:24 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(propusers @ Jul 20 2017, 10:37 AM)
my mom kancil 13 years old. Sometime engine dead after start engine and run the car for a few meters only. Need to start the engine again.

ask mechanical check many times but this problem still occur. Even have changed to new battery.

Not sure is it alternator problem?
More likely carburetor, ignition timing, ignition component related fault.. if alternator faulty you will see the battery icon lit and battery goes flat after a period..
voscar
post Nov 14 2018, 01:42 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Nov 13 2018, 05:41 PM)
Jerk and sometimes come to full stop. Wait then start to drive again.
If on AC car jerk and stop faster.

Bad news now is even after the alternator can provide stable Voltage, the same symptoms returned.
Can anyone suggest what could be worth checking? Spark plugs have been replaced to new set.
i guess could be when they working on the alternator, they disconnected the battery terminals. After that the ECU need to relearn the settings again and more obvious jerking when come to traffic stop.
used to drive older gen Toyota Altis and Perodua Kelisa, both exhibits same behavior after battery disconnect and reconnect. Need at least 1-2 months of driving to get rid of this irritate jerking...
voscar
post Nov 23 2019, 08:20 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Nov 23 2019, 08:10 PM)
I hv a question, if the alternator is having prob, can u still drive the car to the workshop?
Possible if workshop is near, off aircond off aircond fan, don't use lamp if possible (don't drive at night). When wait at traffic light use handbrake instead (foot brake have rear brake lamps).
Your car's electricity is solely dependant on battery, so need to conserve as much possible...

0.0127sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:21 PM