Streamyx Streamyx 4Mbps Club V5

thpace
post Jan 15 2013, 08:20 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jan 15 2013, 07:50 PM)
If your line can't support 4Mbps they don't suggest you to upgrade, if they said it's supported then it should be.  biggrin.gif
funny thing if line good enough for 4mbps, why 8mbps can? since it their requirement to be 1.5km form nearest dlsam
thpace
post Jan 15 2013, 08:39 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jan 15 2013, 08:27 PM)
Probably DSLAM issue. IINM our area is already fibre ready, just waiting for the unifi to come here.
Even now my 4Mbps is running ADSL_G.dmt, not ADSL2+. Attainable rate is around 10Mbps, that's really stretching the capabilities of non ADSL2+ mode. So far, I can assume that its hardware limitation.

edit : I was wrongly capped before, 5Mbps/1Mbps (attainable 10Mbps/1Mbps), I used my upload bandwidth up 70kB/s and my connection went haywire, ping shoot up to 2k MS to local sites, could not load anything.
Fiber? at where oo?

i at taman kerjasama didnt see any fiber cable hanging at TM pole? hmm.gif

just check my modem status, yes it running ADSL 2plus

ADSL Firmware Version: FwVer:3.12.8.31_TC3086 HwVer:T14.F7_7.0
Line State: Showtime
Modulation: ADSL2 PLUS
Annex Mode: ANNEX_A

Downstream Upstream 
SNR Margin:  31.3            25.9db
Line Attenuation: 10.9  8.9  db
Data Rate: 5120  511  kbps
Max Rate: 23584  1135  kbps
CRC: 1 0

This post has been edited by thpace: Jan 15 2013, 08:43 PM
thpace
post Jan 15 2013, 08:54 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jan 15 2013, 08:46 PM)
Can check here : http://sams.tm.net.my/MarketingCenter/search.asp
Put your streamyx login @ customer login.
Look at "J" column, if the result is F, means its fibre infrastructure, if result is "ticked" means its copper infrastructure.
Source : A guy working with TM posted this in this thread lots of pages ago.
meaning fiber coming to our area? smile.gif

but my 4mbps is since 2009, and the status have a "F" sign.. 2009 got fiber ad meh? or just some bull crap hahaha tongue.gif
thpace
post Jan 15 2013, 09:03 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 15 2013, 08:56 PM)
Mine is F all the while since 2010, from what I've been told by someone that the interstate fibre network by TM available in my kampung area, but the purpose is not to serve the local and yes the nearest TM cabinet I can see the printed code started with V (VDSL?). I assumed I am getting good speed with my previous 1mbps, 4mbps and current 8mbps are due to this, copper line from house to cabinet and tumpang fibre to the rest.
this i can confrim

last time before i always walk past the an empty slot, One day TM come and install a DSLAM server at that empty area. So every day otw to class i see what they do. Once i saw they take a fiber cable and connect to the servers install inside.

How to know it fiber? Well there a special techniques used to connect fiber cable and a special equipments, one small box and there two cable end will be put together into the machine. Viola, the cable is join. Plus the distinctive bright yellow cable normally associate with fiber cable
thpace
post Jan 18 2013, 09:39 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

not really, the modulation just effect what the max speed your line can obtain

ADSL2+ Max around 25Mbps
G.DMT Max around 15Mbps

This can be seen on the Max Rate on your modem stat.

thpace
post Aug 17 2013, 01:56 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Aug 16 2013, 05:13 PM)
So what's your point now? Are you disputing the fact now that HSBB project did not aim for areas with high demand and people with income groups that can afford it?

What else are you implying? If it's not for the rural areas, not the high economic/tourism activity areas, not specifically for affluent rich areas, then what?

Race specific and politically motivated areas?

We need to query Idris Jala on this about his PEMANDU objectives.

Why is Penang CBD, Georgetown left out from HSBB coverage list.
Tourist going to subscript to unifi? Rich area must got unifi?
I have asked a few manager that come to my house why there no unifi (Not your normal technician, but TM managers with badges that come my house after i complain kau kau why 8mbps not available in my place whistling.gif )

Have your place been installed a new DSLAM server in the past 5 years? If yes, then TM chances will not come put unifi there. Their update policy is if there a new dslam, no need unifi coz the new DSLAM one can support up to 8mbps speed. Putting a brand new fiber infrastructure is not profitable.

Next if your condo/apartment is new, then chances unifi also tak ada. Because it up to the building contractor to install the fiber network on the building according to TM design. TM will oversea the plan but the installation work is done by the apartment's contractor. Like electricity, all wiring ready, then TNB just come install meter. It saves cost instead of TM have to do everything.

Next then potential customer. Here a what they say "Compare an area got high demand but potential network congestion like students or rich ppl area (download, torrent 24/7), then another area with moderate demand but less network congestion. We will go for the later because;
1st) there sufficient demand to be profitable

2nd) More ppl can subscript in future as network are not as congested

3rd) we dont have to increase bandwidth over time because there less bandwidth hogger" (Minus rural area, coz where got kampung ppl need such high speed?)

A cake shared by 10 which pay RM20 each or A same size cake shared by 100 each but paying cheaper RM10/pax. RM200 vs RM1000, which is better?

They analyses based on streamyx subscription and see how the network there. If streamyx hog, unifi will not come

Government office already have their own fiber network. U think only TM got fiber? There are also enterprise fiber provider or isp that provide fiber network for big organization. They carter specifically for big company or organization but they dont do advertizing. Any fiber installation is based on tender process, so a few companies including TM will bid but all behind close door.

So in the end, TM is still a company that want to earn as much profit while spending as little as possible like any other company. Just because you are rich, not necessary TM must serve you. Who are you? Your are rich but we dont want serve you what can you do? Lost you one subscriber but gain a hundred more in future. Now days companies no longer practice "customer is always right" especially by company that willing to lost a little but earn better in the future (More subscriber)

QUOTE(theberry @ Aug 17 2013, 01:05 AM)
40kbps download speed maximum at youtube  mad.gif
Streamyx throttle .flv file

try changing to 480p or 720p which is in .mp4 file. You can see the speed different biggrin.gif
It been going on for a long time already

thpace
post Feb 21 2014, 06:55 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Feb 21 2014, 06:12 PM)
halo

im the new member of Stimmix 4Mbps starting this month.

please count me in rclxms.gif

waiting next month 1st bill, then go TMpoint to redeem my free modem and cordless phones.

get this offer before CNY by phone call, RM130 for 4Mbps contract 1 year, because my area no Unifi yet, so i subscribed.

please advise my upload speed. mad.gif

normal upload speed for streamyx

dont expect it t be higher than 0.4mbps since u are capped at 512kbps upload even for 4mbps

but 4mbps u getting full speed so it should be good
thpace
post Mar 3 2014, 12:20 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Mar 3 2014, 12:16 AM)
I don't need the BB deal RM110 for 1mbps which i had fedup with the slow speed as i'm currently on it.. I prefer the student package 4mbps old plan .. so is it possible to transfer?? does it need any processing fee and how much?  smile.gif
that plan is long gone

Plus, after 2 years TM revert back to BB package mean it not cheap forever
thpace
post Mar 3 2014, 12:26 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Mar 3 2014, 12:20 AM)
i waiting to those who know well about streamyx to answer my question  sad.gif
tat plan is gone. 4mbps at rm88 if i not mistaken. After 2 years, TM put it back to under streamyx combo which was rm160

Just get the 8mbps package. Quite good actually but then again the price is a little high
thpace
post Mar 3 2014, 12:42 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Mar 3 2014, 12:35 AM)
I know that plan is gone... but currently my sis using that plan but she willing to give it to me IF can transfer to my place... so i'm asking transfer to my place is applicable and how much need to be charge? NOT that i'm signing a new plan like what my sis did or what i'm getting to sign up new plan.... shakehead.gif
The answer is most likely NO.. TM is especially strict on this. First depend on your place can support 4mbps, second if your sis is still under contract? If yes, most likely no transfer is allowed until contract term is over

You have to cancel your current plan and resubscribe to the new plan. Seriously, this is how TM does plan transfer, you can call TM and ask if this is true
thpace
post Mar 3 2014, 01:50 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(FeiZai_5155 @ Mar 3 2014, 01:38 AM)
my sis finish contract long time ago...  i'm willing to cancel my current plan, account , and phone line so it will be FULLY transfer to my home.. between we both still stay in penang but i'm at mainland she at island. my place can support 4mbps as i know some of my neighbor using 4mbps some using unifi ad. smile.gif
here the catch.. after u cancel/terminate your current plan and resubscribe your new plan there a waiting period of 2 weeks iinm
For that 2 week, u are basically left without internet and phone, then you reapply new plan or transfer process sad.gif

That is why ppl just go for upgrade method rather than cancel and resubscribe. Upgrade method, no cut line laugh.gif

I guessing this your first time dealing with TM laugh.gif

This is what happen when i tried to transfer my line from melaka to KL. In end, i just go for upgrade path to save me the trouble but this is like 5 years ago. Maybe it different now but i cant be sure
thpace
post Jun 15 2014, 03:01 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(AssassinXGamer @ Jun 14 2014, 07:10 PM)
hey guy i'm on 1mbps
today my line always get disconnected
do you think that i should call tm to change the copper from the pole
good luck

i took me almost 2 month of constant complain and email
before they agree

i even change my house copper line
thpace
post Jun 15 2014, 12:42 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 15 2014, 03:14 AM)
Or you submit complain to SKMM once they ignore your 2nd email.
did that

they come check, say it ok. Then close report rolleyes.gif

i was when i finally contact a contractor and he willing to escalate the complain and change my line

0.0456sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:44 PM