Why Malaysia's house expensive?, low RPGT (Real Property Gains Tax)

TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM, updated 14y ago

15 posts

Real Property Gains Tax (RPGT) is one of the capital gains tax imposed in Malaysia. RPGT is charged on gains arising from the disposal of real property. RPGT is a move to stop the real estate market speculators.

Our country had RPGT in the tax system many years ago until 31 March 2007, when the government abolished RPGT to attract foreigners to invest in Malaysia, but resulting in the disparity between the rich and the poor of the country more serious.

However, RPGT is re-imposed since 1 January 2010 at the rate of 5% on gains arising from disposals of chargeable assets. And the latest RPGT is revised to the following:

Properties held and disposed within 2 years, RPGT = 10%
Properties held and disposed after 2 years & up to 5 years , RPGT = 5%
Properties held and disposed after 5years, RPGT = 0%

The revised RPGT has hardly made the house price lower or stop the market speculators, because most of the construction takes time to complete, normally 2-3 years.

Low RPGT encourage rich people buy properties and sell it out to make fast money, resulting the price of the properties hike.

The government should revise the RPGT in Budget 2013, and charge a very high rate of profit tax if the owner of the property sell in a short time or is just using back the Real Property Gains Tax Act 1976 (Schedule 5)

sakthis7
post Sep 27 2012, 09:14 PM

117 posts

Why oh? I don't understand liao.
TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 27 2012, 09:24 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sakthis7 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:14 PM)
Low RPGT encourage rich people buy properties and sell it out to make fast money, resulting the price of the properties hike.
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 10:11 PM

5,857 posts

Tons of affordable houses in the market, because of RPGT, Malaysia house price is one of the cheapest in the region.
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 10:51 PM

7,446 posts

Sometimes I just dont get it. There are abundance of affordable houses in semenyih, bukit beruntung, seri kembangan etc. why dont buy those? coz developer lousy la, township not nice la, no G&G la. but still cheap what? Those nice township by very good developers are surely not cheap. you cant pay perodua price for a lamborghini, right? People should just stop complaining. Wanna buy lamborghini but dont want to pay for it? Hmmmm
oxm8
post Sep 27 2012, 11:13 PM

1,458 posts

there is a lot of flats and apartment under 200k. in setapak we have genting court, teratai mewah, danau kota flat. idaman suria etc..... but well most of 'them' want landed houses. worst part they dont have enough cash to pay for 10%. end up they rent.... mmmm.just find affordable house for u
realcyma
post Sep 27 2012, 11:17 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM)
Why Malaysia's house expensive?
I also don't get
Why people say Malaysia's house expensive?
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 11:18 PM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Sep 27 2012, 11:13 PM)
there is a lot of flats and apartment under 200k. in setapak we have genting court, teratai mewah, danau kota flat. idaman suria etc..... but well most of 'them' want landed houses. worst part they dont have enough cash to pay for 10%. end up they rent.... mmmm.just find affordable house for u
ya lor. want landed house but wanna pay reban ayam price. how can la.
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 27 2012, 10:51 PM)
Sometimes I just dont get it. There are abundance of affordable houses in semenyih, bukit beruntung, seri kembangan etc. why dont buy those? coz developer lousy la, township not nice la, no G&G la. but still cheap what? Those nice township by very good developers are surely not cheap. you cant pay perodua price for a lamborghini, right? People should just stop complaining. Wanna buy lamborghini but dont want to pay for it? Hmmmm
Almost every township in KV all these type of affordable houses can also be spotted.

Perhaps they think those are not for human to live one, those who are living there are not humans LOL ..
Dream Lamborghini okay, want Lamborghini don't dream and sitting still if one hasn't been there yet, proton can't drive?

Is Malaysia "middle-income" group waiting for gomen bailout (not poverty group), ashame?

My 0.00002 cents.

This post has been edited by ecin: Sep 27 2012, 11:26 PM
Helius
post Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM

1,423 posts

If tomoro budget still not much increase RPTG, mean propert price will come
Another wave......

Most likely will break 900psf for new launched condo...
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 11:28 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(Helius @ Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM)
If tomoro budget still not much increase RPTG, mean propert price will come
Another wave......

Most likely will break 900psf for new launched condo...
Whatever, nobody should be worrying, affordable sub-sales houses are still everywhere.

This post has been edited by ecin: Sep 27 2012, 11:29 PM
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 11:41 PM

7,446 posts

The affordable non-lamborghini houses are everywhere. try checking them. Go buy them. smile.gif
koht04
post Sep 28 2012, 12:00 AM

290 posts

malaysia house is not that expensive compared to indonesia and thailand. ( dont compared to singapore )

Reason being, the bumiputera quota imposed by the government. Those house price hiked so much are all under non bumiputera title.

But, think about it, How high can it goes just relying on non-bumiputera population with less than 30% in the country.

37 Exposures
post Sep 28 2012, 03:22 AM

1,593 posts

No matter how much Real Property Gains Tax (RPGT) increase tomorrow, eventually will add up back to the selling price. Is not that easy to solve the problem.

Instead of increase the RPGT, I prefer increase in salary, increase in purchasing power. More money flow in the market, not only in property.

This post has been edited by 37 Exposures: Sep 28 2012, 03:26 AM
learn2earn8
post Sep 28 2012, 05:12 AM

546 posts

badawi era policies was only few moons ago. any of u remember how bleak things were? prop prices dun move much, all complain govt no good & etc. so badawi put in place policy to attract more funds, if rich rakyat dun invest, how r things going to improve? u think rick rakyat put money into FD or savings help the bolehland grow meh doh.gif

all policies take few years to materialize. even u fuk, u dun expect a kid the next day la doh.gif brows.gif so the policy work wonderfully as prices of props went up, I happy. but those who sell and expect bubble not happy. those sitting at sidelines and never buy also not happy? so how la? whose fault?
evilchong
post Sep 28 2012, 07:48 AM

90 posts

malaysia properties are expensive? compare to Bangladesh, Kenya or Sudan?
SUStikaram
post Sep 28 2012, 08:33 AM

10,722 posts

Malaysia property price, majority was not expensive if you ask someone who invested for the last 10 year before the 01.1. 2010

After 01.01.2010 until now. it start to become very expensive.

telling what i noticed.

This post has been edited by tikaram: Sep 28 2012, 08:34 AM
SUSmemekfalui
post Sep 28 2012, 08:41 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Sep 28 2012, 08:33 AM)
Malaysia property price, majority was not expensive if you ask someone who invested for the last 10 year before the 01.1. 2010

After 01.01.2010 until now.  it start to become very expensive.

telling what i noticed.
announcement of greater KL public transport transformation
C31
post Sep 28 2012, 09:05 AM

225 posts

ppl want to stay in landed in Bangsar, ttdi, one u, desapark city for less than 400k. so complaint expensive lah
Helius
post Sep 28 2012, 09:26 AM

1,423 posts

I bought 1 unit bangsar south condo at 600psf for my 8 mths old baby, but I would say is cheap... I settle 30% as downpayment and monthly installment only 2.6K... Is still very cheap to me... Y everybody say expensive??

Everybody say expensive because no have no money to buy or just envy me?
AMINT
post Sep 28 2012, 09:41 AM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(Helius @ Sep 28 2012, 09:26 AM)
I bought 1 unit bangsar south condo at 600psf for my 8 mths old baby, but I would say is cheap... I settle 30% as downpayment and monthly installment only 2.6K... Is still very cheap to me... Y everybody say expensive??

Helius, you are spot on. I envy you. Please tell me your secret that you could buy bangsar south for your 8 months old baby.
peri peri
post Sep 28 2012, 09:50 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

malaysia house expensive?

But i still noticed, pahang, seremban, melaka, terengganu, kelantan and many other area price still so cheap cheap

Dont need look so far, rawang, ijok, puncak alam, semenyih, salak tinggi, dengkil also got a lot cheap cheap.

u r talking malaysia or KV? Dont mislead here

Added on September 28, 2012, 9:51 am
QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 28 2012, 09:41 AM)
Helius, you are spot on. I envy you. Please tell me your secret that you could buy bangsar south for your 8 months old baby.
he work hard and he deserve it

This post has been edited by peri peri: Sep 28 2012, 09:51 AM
ryder_78
post Sep 28 2012, 09:52 AM

2,029 posts

Misterleaf, property gain tax is a pertinent point that most of us have known. The increase in RPGT will definitely help curb speculation of properties. As a matter of fact, current speculators who have bought quite a few units may not be able to sell off the properties too easily with some conditions imposed by the government, which will be revealed shortly in a few more hours.

Just 2 weeks ago, received news from a dad's friend that a house in Bandar Puteri Klang was reduced from RM450k to RM360k for a quick sale. Some have been desperate to unload units before the upcoming budget announcement as the fear of not being able to secure a sale is high.

Think the market will stabilise a bit with this budget announcement with less speculators and foreign investors driving up property prices.
ecin
post Sep 28 2012, 10:14 AM

5,857 posts

envy envy biggrin.gif

Added on
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Sep 28 2012, 09:52 AM)
Misterleaf, property gain tax is a pertinent point that most of us have known. The increase in RPGT will definitely help curb speculation of properties. As a matter of fact, current speculators who have bought quite a few units may not be able to sell off the properties too easily with some conditions imposed by the government, which will be revealed shortly in a few more hours.

Just 2 weeks ago, received news from a dad's friend that a house in Bandar Puteri Klang was reduced from RM450k to RM360k for a quick sale. Some have been desperate to unload units before the upcoming budget announcement as the fear of not being able to secure a sale is high.

Think the market will stabilise a bit with this budget announcement with less speculators and foreign investors driving up property prices.
Like what you shared, since gomen already done enough to curb speculation and price already drop (asking price? by the way), so should gomen kick in exemption order to cancel RPGT, right? Or else, the already cheap housing price in Malaysia will become even cheaper.

This post has been edited by ecin: Sep 28 2012, 10:15 AM
TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 28 2012, 10:26 AM

15 posts

ok, friends here are with good salary or income.

Do you know With RM 5000 monthly only get a house loan about RM 300 K from the banker? There are many people are having low salary.

The monthly repayment is more than RM 1500.

Don't think we have to buy house at Pahang or Gunung Tahan, because we are living and working in Klang Valley, not the real valley.

If the gap between rich and poor is more, the social crime will be more.

High RPGT can reduce the market flipping.

This is my personal opinion. No offense.
SUStikaram
post Sep 28 2012, 10:33 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 28 2012, 10:41 AM)
if invested in REIT

600K with 6% dividen for 20 years getting at least 1.9 million

is the investment 1.5mil good @ 20 years later?

hahaha. What a joke!

0 600,000.00 636,000.00
1 636,000.00 674,160.00
2 674,160.00 714,609.60
3 714,609.60 757,486.18
4 757,486.18 802,935.35
5 802,935.35 851,111.47
6 851,111.47 902,178.16
7 902,178.16 956,308.84
8 956,308.84 1,013,687.38
9 1,013,687.38 1,074,508.62
10 1,074,508.62 1,138,979.14
11 1,138,979.14 1,207,317.88
12 1,207,317.88 1,279,756.96
13 1,279,756.96 1,356,542.37
14 1,356,542.37 1,437,934.92
15 1,437,934.92 1,524,211.01
16 1,524,211.01 1,615,663.67
17 1,615,663.67 1,712,603.49
18 1,712,603.49 1,815,359.70
19 1,815,359.70 1,924,281.28
20 1,924,281.28 2,039,738.16

brianccg
post Sep 28 2012, 10:34 AM

3,024 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Sep 28 2012, 10:26 AM)
ok, friends here are with good salary or income.

Do you know With RM 5000 monthly only get a house loan about RM 300 K from the banker? There are many people are having low salary. 

The monthly repayment is more than RM 1500.

Don't think we have to buy house at Pahang or Gunung Tahan, because we are living and working in Klang Valley, not the real valley.

If the gap between rich and poor is more, the social crime will be more.

High RPGT can reduce the market flipping. 

This is my personal opinion. No offense.
This is what happened now, crime everywhere......and ppl all G&G and giving developers to have good selling point on their property launch G&G, security etc etc etc, then charge you high price....end up, developers are the gainer....
JustNobody
post Sep 28 2012, 10:40 AM

2,004 posts

Do you know why gov still not want to make the RPGT back to the way it is? Gov need to make the economy report more nicely and push Malaysia becomes high income country as per wawasan 2020 stated... Recent years, Malaysia economy is pushing by this property segment. You have any idea the growth it make Malaysia report card look like?

Just my 2 C... Don't shoot me.. Hehe.. tongue.gif
amilism
post Sep 28 2012, 10:41 AM

19 posts

now developer very smart.they sell their house to their other developer friend.then their friend up the prices for public.Thats how going today in Malaysia.Thats why we asking for vacancy lot, their answer no vacancies left.
wwwcomment
post Sep 28 2012, 10:55 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(amilism @ Sep 28 2012, 10:41 AM)
now developer very smart.they sell their house to their other developer friend.then their friend up the prices for public.Thats how going today in Malaysia.Thats why we asking for vacancy lot, their answer no vacancies left.
wah really?
this is like insiders trading to make the stock market high.
SUStikaram
post Sep 28 2012, 10:58 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(JustNobody @ Sep 28 2012, 11:40 AM)
Do you know why gov still not want to make the RPGT back to the way it is? Gov need to make the economy report more nicely and push Malaysia becomes high income country as per wawasan 2020 stated... Recent years, Malaysia economy is pushing by this property segment. You have any idea the growth it make Malaysia report card look like?

Just my 2 C... Don't shoot me.. Hehe.. tongue.gif
possible la.

price up, wealth up ( on paper )
amilism
post Sep 28 2012, 11:01 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Sep 28 2012, 10:55 AM)
wah really?
yup..that the reality now.but many people didnt realize this.

Added on September 28, 2012, 11:03 am
QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Sep 28 2012, 10:55 AM)
wah really?
yup..that the reality now.but many people didnt realize this.

Added on September 28, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(tikaram @ Sep 28 2012, 10:58 AM)
possible la.

price up, wealth up ( on paper )
gov should control this developer.also control the land price.

This post has been edited by amilism: Sep 28 2012, 11:04 AM
ecin
post Sep 28 2012, 11:30 AM

5,857 posts

Go sub-sales lal, plenty, what's wrong ..

For new ones, does that mean for those who bought in Rawang (and elsewhere) and settled down there since years ago, are they stupid? doh.gif
theedi
post Sep 28 2012, 11:49 AM

48 posts

Malaysia property price is quite affordable already. Truely expensive property price is at places like hong kong, shanghai & etc where
even high income professionals struggling to buy a good property.

Like everything, there must be a balance. Too much control and you destroy the market and the economy will be seriously affected.
All these taxes, stamping fees increment & ect are not effective solution. At the end these money will goes to government
and the cost will be shift back to the buyers.

Seriously, learn to adapt to the market instead of crying for market to adapt to you.
Be more productive and earn more money to catch up. Every time want to ask for handicap so forever become a weak sauce.
ecin
post Sep 28 2012, 11:52 AM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(theedi @ Sep 28 2012, 11:49 AM)
Malaysia property price is quite affordable already. Truely expensive property price is at places like hong kong, shanghai & etc where
even high income professionals struggling to buy a good property.

Like everything, there must be a balance. Too much control and you destroy the market and the economy will be seriously affected.
All these taxes, stamping fees increment & ect are not effective solution. At the end these money will goes to government
and the cost will be shift back to the buyers.

Seriously, learn to adapt to the market instead of crying for market to adapt to you.
Be more productive and earn more money to catch up. Every time want to ask for handicap so forever become a weak sauce.
+10
dampen MY economic
TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 28 2012, 01:15 PM

15 posts

Do you think poor people cos of lazy?
Do you think poor study result cos of stupid?

Not everyone can earn much money or get good result even they do hard already. Sometimes they even use the same method but not getting the same result.

You are lucky, but please think about other people.
Helius
post Sep 28 2012, 01:35 PM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Sep 28 2012, 01:15 PM)

Not everyone can earn much money or get good result even they do hard already. Sometimes they even use the same method but not getting the same result.

If same method, same school, same teacher, same class, same effort but result still below others, blame who??

Blame urself... No high IQ and EQ...

Don't expect others to feed u la... This is not fair to those smarter... Hehe...
ecin
post Sep 28 2012, 01:49 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM)
Almost every township in KV all these type of affordable houses can also be spotted.

Perhaps they think those are not for human to live one, those who are living there are not humans LOL ..
Dream Lamborghini okay, want Lamborghini don't dream and sitting still if one hasn't been there yet, proton can't drive?

Is Malaysia "middle-income" group waiting for gomen bailout (not poverty group), ashame?

My 0.00002 cents.
37 Exposures
post Sep 28 2012, 01:50 PM

1,593 posts

Never heard people complain LV, Gucci, Chanel are so expensive!
amco
post Sep 28 2012, 01:56 PM

785 posts

Malai property is damn cheap because of medium quality. If you coimplain property is expensive, then you are poor fellow.

Malaysia is poor in comparative to Singapore, HK and number of wealthy population in Indonesia, Thailand & China.

Malaysia salary in negative inflation for the past 20 years. Hence, we are poor... including me ^^
chrisw
post Sep 28 2012, 01:56 PM

Stay hungry, stay foolish
1,275 posts

QUOTE(37 Exposures @ Sep 28 2012, 01:50 PM)
thumbup.gif
Gary1981
post Sep 28 2012, 01:57 PM

1,610 posts

Don't worry, government plan for house built below rm300k, here u go the chance. I wish my salary below rm3k.
JustNobody
post Sep 28 2012, 01:58 PM

2,004 posts

QUOTE(37 Exposures @ Sep 28 2012, 01:50 PM)
I wonder you are guy or girl.. As a guy and among all the guy I know... We DO ALWAYS complain they are BLOODY expensive...
vmad.gif
wwwcomment
post Sep 28 2012, 01:58 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Helius @ Sep 28 2012, 01:35 PM)
If same method, same school, same teacher, same class, same effort but result still below others, blame who??

Blame urself... No high IQ and EQ...

Don't expect others to feed u la... This is not fair to those smarter... Hehe...
you can feel good if you are smart and gifted, but do not make fun of or belittle those who are not so gifted.
understand?

what happen for those are smarter than you but they do not have equal chance becasue they need to take care of sick families members, etc? Not everyone is as lucky as you who is so smart and lucky.
again, understand?

when u r smart and gifted, u shud be grateful, not look down on others.
learn2earn8
post Sep 28 2012, 02:04 PM

546 posts

LV, Gucci, Chanel, Breguet , Blancpain are so expensive, I demand for a msssive RPGT or GST on them vmad.gif
chrisw
post Sep 28 2012, 02:12 PM

Stay hungry, stay foolish
1,275 posts

why would you hope to get your life harder..?

probably you would be the one who suffer in the end? rolleyes.gif
dRwh0
post Sep 28 2012, 02:18 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(wwwcomment @ Sep 28 2012, 01:58 PM)
you can feel good if you are smart and gifted, but do not make fun of or belittle those who are not so gifted.
understand?

what happen for those are smarter than you but they do not have equal chance becasue they need to take care of sick families members, etc? Not everyone is as lucky as you who is so smart and lucky.
again, understand?

when u r smart and gifted, u shud be grateful, not look down on others.
I like your comment..those who can afford houses doesnt have to be mean to others..
37 Exposures
post Sep 28 2012, 02:33 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(JustNobody @ Sep 28 2012, 01:58 PM)
I wonder you are guy or girl.. As a guy and among all the guy I know... We DO ALWAYS complain they are BLOODY expensive...
vmad.gif
If they sell cheap will people buy?
SUSmemekfalui
post Sep 28 2012, 03:16 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(37 Exposures @ Sep 28 2012, 02:33 PM)
you are saying if property developer selling their units @ region of 200k around greater kl, will the rakyat buy it??
JustNobody
post Sep 28 2012, 03:28 PM

2,004 posts

QUOTE(37 Exposures @ Sep 28 2012, 02:33 PM)
Yes, I will! tongue.gif
Why not?
theedi
post Sep 28 2012, 07:13 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Sep 28 2012, 01:15 PM)

Sorry but whoever thinking like this is already a weak sauce loser. 90% of the time one cannot be success is because they don't believe they can.
They just simply gave up and find excuses. Over time a lazy genius can lose to a hardworking idiot.

Imagine, every time you lose a badminton game you demand to change the rules for you. This goes forever and you will only become weaker because
instead of improving yourself you're trying to gain handicap so you can cope with it.

If you want to stay in the game, improve yourself and push to the limit until you can cope with it. Otherwise just don't play the game aka don't
enter property market, simple. Or don't enter the market you cannot cope with, improve until you can.

In Malaysia, there are properties price ranging from cheap flat costing RM80k to RM200k medium cost, 500K luxury & etc etc.
The choices are there but you don't want to choose the one you can afford, you want the better option
BUT... you want it cheaper, you want handicap given to you, you want the market swing to your favor.

In hong kong a low cost apartment few hundred sqf size cost a couple million. That is a legitimate concern.
In Malaysia, hell no!

dRwh0
post Sep 28 2012, 08:00 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(theedi @ Sep 28 2012, 07:13 PM)
Sorry but whoever thinking like this is already a weak sauce loser. 90% of the time one cannot be success is because they don't believe they can.
They just simply gave up and find excuses. Over time a lazy genius can lose to a hardworking idiot.

Imagine, every time you lose a badminton game you demand to change the rules for you. This goes forever and you will only become weaker because
instead of improving yourself you're trying to gain handicap so you can cope with it.

If you want to stay in the game, improve yourself and push to the limit until you can cope with it. Otherwise just don't play the game aka don't
enter property market, simple. Or don't enter the market you cannot cope with, improve until you can.

In Malaysia, there are properties price ranging from cheap flat costing RM80k to RM200k medium cost, 500K luxury & etc etc.
The choices are there but you don't want to choose the one you can afford, you want the better option
BUT... you want it cheaper, you want handicap given to you, you want the market swing to your favor.

In hong kong a low cost apartment few hundred sqf size cost a couple million. That is a legitimate concern.
In Malaysia, hell no!
Being humble doesn't mean u r weak man..correct me if im wrong..

Seremban_2
post Sep 28 2012, 08:00 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(sakthis7 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:14 PM)
coz malaysian greedy lo. They put a high price tag and say take it or leave it.
ecin
post Sep 28 2012, 08:32 PM

5,857 posts

In general, personally, I rate this as Good Budget.
All are good things for low-middle income groups (tax reduce, exemption, cash $$, affordable houses, 50% stamp duty, my 1st home scheme, higher RPGT, etc), nothing to complain already.

The only concern is the country deficit will definitely be widen.
xyyap
post Sep 28 2012, 09:33 PM

5,219 posts

Real Property Gains Tax (RPGT) is one of the capital gains tax imposed in Malaysia. RPGT is charged on gains arising from the disposal of real property. RPGT is a move to stop the real estate market speculators.

Our country had RPGT in the tax system many years ago until 31 March 2007, when the government abolished RPGT to attract foreigners to invest in Malaysia,  but resulting in the disparity between the rich and the poor of the country more serious.

However, RPGT is re-imposed since 1 January 2010 at the rate of 5% on gains arising from disposals of chargeable assets. And the latest RPGT is revised to the following:

The revised RPGT has hardly made the house price lower or stop the market speculators, because most of the construction takes time to complete, normally 2-3 years.

The government should revise the RPGT in Budget 2013, and charge a very high rate of profit tax if the owner of the property sell in a short time or is just using back the Real Property Gains Tax Act 1976 (Schedule 5)
Weak RM is the problem.

humble_tot
post Sep 28 2012, 09:38 PM

706 posts

In Malaysia, hell no!
+1 thumbup.gif
theedi
post Sep 28 2012, 09:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(dRwh0 @ Sep 28 2012, 08:00 PM)
Being humble doesn't mean u r weak man..correct me if im wrong..
I think being humble means not bragging about how good you are, being humble does not means you see yourself cannot
compete fairly and deserve given handicap for something you want.

If truely want to be humble then pick the right opponent you can handle (flat, apartment, condo, terraced, bungalow).
In malaysia they are still choices.

You can only afford flat then you want to buy condo, instead of trying to earn more money you want the market goes
down. The world moves on, some day in malaysia a flat will cost a condo's price or more. Mind you, in economic sense this
property price progression over a steady period is perfectly normal and healthy.
If you do not move on then blame the market and the earth goes round and wait for durian jatuh.

Anyway, back to topic i don't think all these taxes and fees will make more affordable houses. Instead the money will goes
to the government and the cost will shift back to buyer. I think government need to build or give subsidies to build more affordable
houses.
scng
post Sep 28 2012, 10:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Sep 28 2012, 10:33 AM)
if invested in REIT

600K with 6% dividen for 20 years getting  at least 1.9 million

is the investment 1.5mil good @ 20 years later?
hahaha. What a joke!
0  600,000.00  636,000.00
1  636,000.00  674,160.00
2  674,160.00  714,609.60
3  714,609.60  757,486.18
4  757,486.18  802,935.35
5  802,935.35  851,111.47
6  851,111.47  902,178.16
7  902,178.16  956,308.84
8  956,308.84  1,013,687.38
9  1,013,687.38  1,074,508.62
10  1,074,508.62  1,138,979.14
11  1,138,979.14  1,207,317.88
12  1,207,317.88  1,279,756.96
13  1,279,756.96  1,356,542.37
14  1,356,542.37  1,437,934.92
15  1,437,934.92  1,524,211.01
16  1,524,211.01  1,615,663.67
17  1,615,663.67  1,712,603.49
18  1,712,603.49  1,815,359.70
19  1,815,359.70  1,924,281.28
20  1,924,281.28  2,039,738.16
Bro, your idea worth considering. Which counter you recommend?
Seremban_Guy123
post Sep 28 2012, 11:58 PM

580 posts

Setapak flat and apartment so expensive liao. still worth to invest
or not?

Added on September 29, 2012, 12:00 am

Nobody envy you. You just talking yourself here only. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Seremban_Guy123: Sep 29 2012, 12:00 AM
Seremban_2
post Sep 29 2012, 12:26 AM

1,491 posts

Expensive in a way suppose to be RM1 and reasonable to afford. Now it is become RM1.5 or RM2.

Goverment Should Tax Rich People like me.
BrandsOutlet
post Sep 29 2012, 12:46 AM

74 posts

In Malaysia, hell no!
+1
humble_tot
post Sep 29 2012, 12:55 AM

706 posts

Wow, 30% dp shakehead.gif
Woww, installment only 2.6K shocking.gif
Wowww, for 8m old bb drool.gif

I really feel envious & jelly of u cry.gif
FlyingJoy
post Sep 29 2012, 01:29 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(scng @ Sep 28 2012, 10:25 PM)
agreed. possible share the counter with me too? :-)
cheraspeople
post Sep 29 2012, 02:18 AM

756 posts

In Malaysia, hell no!
You got the point! i like your statement. We really need to work harder or/and smarter to earn more. I do not have high qualification but i am leading a group of people with MBA certificate. It is not because i am smarter or luckier than them, it is because the strategy i used to get things done in the way that bosses like it. The environment will not change for you, is you to adapt or use the right strategies to alleviate the impact and survive from there. Keep complaining (i see it as releasing the negative energy) is useless, tell urself can do it ( i see it as positive energy) then one day you can do it too even when a normal condo reach 1mil or higher you can still afford it. This is what i always tell me wife, don't complain this and that because i do not need your negative energy.

Added on September 29, 2012, 2:24 am

i did similar things for my son too but i will not let him know and would like to see him earning his first house without asking for my support.

This post has been edited by cheraspeople: Sep 29 2012, 02:24 AM
FlyingJoy
post Sep 29 2012, 03:09 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(cheraspeople @ Sep 29 2012, 02:18 AM)
You got the point! i like your statement. We really need to work harder or/and smarter to earn more. I do not have high qualification but i am leading a group of people with MBA certificate. It is not because i am smarter or luckier than them, it is because the strategy i used to get things done in the way that bosses like it. The environment will not change for you, is you to adapt or use the right strategies to alleviate the impact and survive from there. Keep complaining (i see it as releasing the negative energy) is useless, tell urself can do it ( i see it as positive energy) then one day you can do it too even when a normal condo reach 1mil or higher you can still afford it. This is what i always tell me wife, don't complain this and that because i do not need your negative energy.

Agreed! +1 thumbup.gif
AMINT
post Sep 29 2012, 08:22 AM

7,446 posts

Totally agreed with cheraspeople 110%
xyyap
post Sep 29 2012, 10:22 AM

5,219 posts

QUOTE(cheraspeople @ Sep 29 2012, 02:18 AM)

i did similar things for my son too but i will not let him know and would like to see him earning his first house without asking for my support.
U must have high EQ.

Can I work under u when I back to Malaysia 2015/2016?

I am just a IT degree holder.

SUStikaram
post Oct 1 2012, 09:20 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(scng @ Sep 28 2012, 11:25 PM)
Any reit la.

try avoid the govt link company reit.
SUSUFO-ET
post Oct 1 2012, 10:10 AM

6,747 posts

Our country had RPGT in the tax system many years ago until 31 March 2007, when the government abolished RPGT to attract foreigners to invest in Malaysia,  but resulting in the disparity between the rich and the poor of the country more serious.

IMO not much to do with RPGT, root caused is "urbanization"
oxm8
post Oct 1 2012, 09:31 PM

1,458 posts

goood or not depend on u laa..
my recommendation is for own stay & if buyer on limited budget, just buy it laa..if got extra budget then buy PV...
ryder_78
post Oct 3 2012, 07:32 AM

2,029 posts

There is quite a bit of misconception here on prices of property in Malaysia. Firstly, there are few scenarios involved here. Most here seem to be harping on the financial capability of a person in owning a home. Of course this is a valid point, otherwise we would see everyone from the lower-income group owning RM1 million properties.

It is prudent to say that there are other factors driving the prices of properties up. Hard-core speculators who buy 10 units or more upon launching and releasing them at a high mark-up 1-2 years later when construction of the building is completed, or investors who bought much fewer units but still contribute to the effect. This phenomena is quite evident for the past 2-3 years especially for properties below RM500k, less common with those in the higher price bracket.

Apart from local speculators who some of them rely on this type of buy/self for a living or side-income, foreign investors too play a part due to the weak Ringgit. Singaporeans find our properties cheap whilst other foreign investors have played a part as well in driving up the prices of properties here. This pattern was seen in other parts of the countries as well, especially Singapore when mainland Chinese investors have driven property prices in Singapore to a very high level.

In the recent budget announced by the government, it appears that they have taken all aspects into consideration. ALthough the government are aware that all this property speculation is an issue, the interest of developers and other players in the industry would be important too, since some of them are their allies, apart from the fact that the property/construction industry is one of the big factors that contribute to the growth of the economy.
kiddyinvestor
post Oct 3 2012, 09:11 AM

447 posts

Perhaps if the RPGT change to something like this:

Properties held and disposed within 4 years, RPGT = 10%
Properties held and disposed after 4 years & up to 6 years , RPGT = 5%
Properties held and disposed after 6 years, RPGT = 0%

Then i guess it really would make a big different.

Despite the announcement of Budget 2013, i saw some upcoming new plan launches still at new high price.....
fei_singh
post Oct 3 2012, 09:30 AM

112 posts

vmad.gif
thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

Added on October 3, 2012, 9:30 am
vmad.gif
thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fei_singh: Oct 3 2012, 09:32 AM
TSMisterLeaf
post Oct 6 2012, 07:18 PM

15 posts

Budget 2013:

Properties held and disposed within 2 years, RPGT = 15%
Properties held and disposed after 2 years & up to 5 years , RPGT = 10%

Happy? Wait for another rising.
AMINT
post Oct 6 2012, 07:22 PM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Oct 6 2012, 07:18 PM)
Budget 2013:

Properties held and disposed within 2 years, RPGT = 15%
Properties held and disposed after 2 years & up to 5 years , RPGT = 10%

Happy? Wait for another rising.
get ready ur bullet. peng peng peng
SUSUFO-ET
post Oct 7 2012, 02:38 AM

6,747 posts

I always feel lucky to live in this country, I meet property players everyday, all I can say is we are very very conservative indeed, this is a good sign to our property mkt. Bout 80% of the home buyers complaint property prices, I am marketing a 3-storey SUPERLINK houses since 2003, the price has risen fr 563K - 1.4 mil to-date, 95% of my buyers were complaining the selling price fr day 1.
If > 40% of the people are bullish, then the mkt will burst. I think in general (whole mkt), optimistic constitute bout 15% now. My guess

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Oct 7 2012, 02:39 AM
kh8668
post Oct 7 2012, 08:38 AM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Oct 7 2012, 02:38 AM)
I always feel lucky to live in this country, I meet property players everyday, all I can say is we are very very conservative indeed, this is a good sign to our property mkt. Bout 80% of the home buyers complaint property prices, I am marketing a 3-storey SUPERLINK houses since 2003, the price has risen fr 563K - 1.4 mil to-date, 95% of my buyers were complaining the selling price fr day 1.
If > 40% of the people are bullish, then the mkt will burst. I think in general (whole mkt), optimistic constitute bout 15% now. My guess
Everyone complains about property price in msia very is expensive since few decade ago. wink.gif but still we see people keep buying

Added on October 7, 2012, 8:42 amHk property market is what our future looks like

This post has been edited by kh8668: Oct 7 2012, 08:42 AM
xyyap
post Oct 10 2012, 02:20 PM

5,219 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Oct 7 2012, 02:38 AM)
Agreed.

People always like to compare properties about time & price. They forgot about many other factors.

Helius
post Oct 10 2012, 02:56 PM

1,423 posts

I still think Malaysia property is cheap....

Y everybody say expensive?? Our neighbour next island is selling much much more expensive... China and hong kong much more worst...

So we still have a long way to go as I could see everyone still afford to buy now, just whether cheap or expensive... There are still plenty of house selling below 200k....

So don't complain expensive if u are not affordable... Not everyone are no 1 in a class since we were in kindergarten....

Learn it and accept it~~~
Hornsen
post Oct 10 2012, 07:06 PM

131 posts

Property in KL area and Penang island area is expensive, not the entire Malaysia lah... a lot of house in not so high density area are still very affordable.
mango27
post Oct 10 2012, 07:13 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Helius @ Oct 10 2012, 02:56 PM)
I still think Malaysia property is cheap....

Y everybody say expensive?? Our neighbour next island is selling much much more expensive... China and hong kong much more worst...

So we still have a long way to go as I could see everyone still afford to buy now, just whether cheap or expensive... There are still plenty of house selling below 200k....

So don't complain expensive if u are not affordable... Not everyone are no 1 in a class since we were in kindergarten....

Learn it and accept it~~~
Agree with you.. Although I do think that somehow our country salary growth is lagging behind.. But that is a diff story altogether..

There are 2 type if ppl who complain bout house being expensive that I despise..

Type 1: those who spent like 30-40% of salary in car instalment or don't mind paying 1k plus per month for cars, yet say house very expensive.. Just buy a much cheaper or 2nd car and save the money for house instalment la..

Type 2: those who want cheap house in prime location but yet complain those flat below 200k not for human live one.. If can't afford then they pretty much belong to the same as the "non human" who live in the low cost apt la.. Want to look down on ppl when ownself can't afford also..

Many also have the "tongkat mentality" wanting gov to give cheap house.. Like PR1MA, think in the end since its cheaper, then poorly maintained, then ppl complain again..

In the end is really down to your own mentality and perception.. Do something about it, or just sit there wait and hope property price will drop until the 90s price..
TSMisterLeaf
post Oct 11 2012, 02:47 PM

15 posts

If Malaysia's house is cheap, how come government launch Prima or other affordable house project?

There are 2 type if ppl who said it is cheap.

Type 1: Own a house, maybe more than 2-3, then keep saying the house is cheap and hope to sell more expensive or rent more expensive.

Type 2: Not staying or working in Klang Valley.

Don't think we really hope the price drop until the 90s price, it is impossible. We just want reasonable price, is it wrong?

If you really do a good study, you will find out that the house price hike a lot since 2007/2008. The Previous 5 years before that is OK and acceptable.

This post has been edited by MisterLeaf: Oct 11 2012, 02:49 PM
ecin
post Oct 11 2012, 02:54 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Oct 11 2012, 02:47 PM)
If Malaysia's house is cheap, how come government launch Prima or other affordable house project?

Type 1: Own a house, maybe more than 2-3, then keep saying the house is cheap and hope to sell more expensive or rent more expensive.

Don't think we really hope the price drop until the 90s price, it is impossible. We just want reasonable price, is it wrong?

If you really do a good study, you will find out that the house price hike a lot since 2007/2008. The Previous 5 years before that is OK and acceptable.
But a lot of them didn't want to buy back then (it wasn't reasonable back then) ...... innocent.gif
peri peri
post Oct 11 2012, 03:02 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Oct 11 2012, 02:54 PM)
But a lot of them didn't want to buy back then (it wasn't reasonable back then) ...... innocent.gif
Bro, during 90's the home interest is like 9 to 10% that time. Even during year 1999 hit more than 11%. Hush hush to get a loan repayment although house price might be cheap. Quite pathetic too during that time.

ecin
post Oct 11 2012, 03:19 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 11 2012, 03:02 PM)
Bro, during 90's the home interest is like 9 to 10% that time. Even during year 1999 hit more than 11%. Hush hush to get a loan repayment although house price might be cheap. Quite pathetic too during that time.
Yeah! Betul, Betul, Betul!
Guys, looking forward!
peri peri
post Oct 11 2012, 03:23 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Oct 11 2012, 03:19 PM)
Yeah! Betul, Betul, Betul!
Guys, looking forward!
yeah, look forward.

xyyap
post Oct 11 2012, 10:37 PM

5,219 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Oct 10 2012, 07:13 PM)
Agree with you.. Although I do think that somehow our country salary growth is lagging behind.. But that is a diff story altogether..

There are 2 type if ppl who complain bout house being expensive that I despise..

Type 1: those who spent like 30-40% of salary in car instalment or don't mind paying 1k plus per month for cars, yet say house very expensive.. Just buy a much cheaper or 2nd car and save the money for house instalment la..

Type 2: those who want cheap house in prime location but yet complain those flat below 200k not for human live one.. If can't afford then they pretty much belong to the same as the "non human" who live in the low cost apt la.. Want to look down on ppl when ownself can't afford also..

Many also have the "tongkat mentality" wanting gov to give cheap house.. Like PR1MA, think in the end since its cheaper, then poorly maintained, then ppl complain again..

In the end is really down to your own mentality and perception.. Do something about it, or just sit there wait and hope property price will drop until the 90s price..
People compare time & price only. They forgot about other factors.

Let them be.

Market will tell. Market is always smarter than us. Need not argue.

xyyap
post Oct 11 2012, 10:40 PM

5,219 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Oct 11 2012, 10:37 PM)
People compare time & price only. They forgot about other factors.

Let them be.

Market will tell. Market is always smarter than us. Need not argue.
They can continue to wait, but it will not come.

Once u missed. Look forward.

cranx
post Oct 11 2012, 11:14 PM

1,360 posts

IMO, the significant price hike started at 2009 actually, before that property investment is not interesting due to the miniscule capital appreciation in tandem with inflation. Certain older condo even depreciate in value.

mango27
post Oct 12 2012, 03:13 AM

965 posts

The reason that government launch PR1MA and other affordable house is the same reason that they give bumi quotas... people tend to like a piece of the pie even though they dont do much to deserve it... in other word, the "tongkat mentality"... we cant live on subsidies and aid forever...

I think PR1MA concept was good initially... but then they change the criteria for balloting... our country has some good policies, but as always, our implementation is bad... low cost landed in Rawang and Bkt Beruntung just left there for dust... shows that people still choose location over affordability...

I do not think house price is cheap in Msia, but i still think its affordable... I just do not like the fact that people complain about it but not changing their lifestyle nor do anything about it... why i say its still affordable because the unsold properties remain constant for the past years... shows that people are still buying despite the price hike...

I own one house for own stay and yes I'm working in KV... back in the 90s i've already started hearing people saying house price is getting expensive and bubble will come... the price surge was more on year 2009 actually, but there are many underlying factors that cause the surge... like it or not, property growth is part of economic growth, its kind of inevitable for a developing country like Msia...
TSMisterLeaf
post Oct 26 2012, 09:54 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Oct 12 2012, 03:13 AM)
The reason that government launch PR1MA and other affordable house is the same reason that they give bumi quotas... people tend to like a piece of the pie even though they dont do much to deserve it... in other word, the "tongkat mentality"... we cant live on subsidies and aid forever...

I think PR1MA concept was good initially... but then they change the criteria for balloting... our country has some good policies, but as always, our implementation is bad... low cost landed in Rawang and Bkt Beruntung just left there for dust... shows that people still choose location over affordability...

I do not think house price is cheap in Msia, but i still think its affordable... I just do not like the fact that people complain about it but not changing their lifestyle nor do anything about it... why i say its still affordable because the unsold properties remain constant for the past years... shows that people are still buying despite the price hike...

I own one house for own stay and yes I'm working in KV... back in the 90s i've already started hearing people saying house price is getting expensive and bubble will come... the price surge was more on year 2009 actually, but there are many underlying factors that cause the surge... like it or not, property growth is part of economic growth, its kind of inevitable for a developing country like Msia...
If you can read chinese, read this news.
http://www.orientaldaily.com.my/index.php?...20:9&Itemid=203

Malaysia real estate speculation TOP 9 in the world.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...174557400_n.jpg

The data tell the truth. Not from own opinion like talk in coffee shop.

ecin
post Oct 26 2012, 06:40 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Oct 26 2012, 09:54 AM)
If you can read chinese, read this news.
http://www.orientaldaily.com.my/index.php?...20:9&Itemid=203

Malaysia real estate speculation TOP 9 in the world.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...174557400_n.jpg

The data tell the truth. Not from own opinion like talk in coffee shop.
TOP 9, Asia is booming. It also mentioned that MY is the number 5 in Asia, after Hong Kong, China, Singapore, and Philippine .. reasonable la.
HouseHunter
post Oct 26 2012, 07:38 PM

184 posts

I think better our government follow SG govn, all properties under govn so the price under control. thumbup.gif
ecin
post Oct 26 2012, 10:06 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(HouseHunter @ Oct 26 2012, 07:38 PM)
I think better our government follow SG govn, all properties under govn so the price under control. thumbup.gif
What do you mean by "all properties under govn so the price under control"? Gomen flats yes.
HouseHunter
post Oct 26 2012, 10:48 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Oct 26 2012, 10:06 PM)
What do you mean by "all properties under govn so the price under control"? Gomen flats yes.
Implement SG Govn property policy
ecin
post Oct 26 2012, 10:57 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(HouseHunter @ Oct 26 2012, 10:48 PM)
Implement SG Govn property policy
Meaning that SG price is now very cheap? or should push MY property price go on-par with SG?
Like what?

This post has been edited by ecin: Oct 26 2012, 10:59 PM
christopheryam
post Oct 27 2012, 04:27 AM

196 posts

US announced QE3 until 2015.
prediction everything will up for the next 5-7 years, food, rental etc.
money keep flowing into the market. money usually go to the richman first.

richman will sapu houses in captured area and rent. cannot rent also never mind cause richman got cash flow to support the installment. they are not hurry to sell cheap as increase in rental in market also increase the book value of the property. they are happy to see book value of property increase everyday. they are focusing on their core business, they don bother much on property they buy as long value increasing.

whereas ppl renting houses is in hurry cause they would prefer own a house rather than paying rental help other ppl pay installment.
they will accept to buy property at higher price.

This go no end, house prices continue to rise.

mortgage bankers, valuers, lawyers, business loan banker, the bank, developer, government, all wanna earn money and continue to push hard for lending, expansion, building, favorable tax scale. keep growing.

house price continue to rise.

only will have price adjustment if something wrong in between.. eg the europe crisis/ natural disaster/ tsunami hit Malaysia....

rich foreigner from other high risk country, eg Pakistan, Iran, Bangladesh. like to stay in Malaysia for peaceful environment because their home country keep booming.
Japan, Korean, China, Singapore come to Malaysia buy houses because their country property no room for appreciation/ cannot afford.
US, english, autralian, expatriate come to malaysia work and live in Malaysia.

Malaysia is developing and growing towards so called wawasan 2020.
setia eco city 1200 psf, tun razak exchange, MRT Klang valley, PLC financial result growth, malaysia as oil producer country, petronas proton perodua telekom tenaga genting toto magnum earn so much for the government.

you still think price will down?

cranx
post Oct 27 2012, 11:59 AM

1,360 posts

Good point definitely won't down. Current foreign ownership still so insignificant. Untapped market.
xyyap
post Oct 29 2012, 01:46 PM

5,219 posts

QUOTE(HouseHunter @ Oct 26 2012, 07:38 PM)
U get it wrong.

If Malaysia becoming like Singapore, confirm lagi expensive.

aquest
post Oct 29 2012, 10:45 PM

662 posts

Hong Leong downgrades property sector

October 29, 2012

Hong Leong Investment Bank says that with the latest round of Real Property Gains Tax hike, we now expect the sector to be headed for a slowdown in terms of launches, sales and transactions.

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 29 – Hong Leong Investment Bank downgraded Malaysia’s property sector companies to ‘neutral’ from ‘overweight’, saying an increase in property gains tax is expected to weigh on an already slowing market.

“The most direct and negative impact will be a slowdown in transactions in the secondary market,” the bank said in a research note today.

Property gains tax will rise by five percentage points across the board in 2013 as the government tries to rein in speculation.

“With the latest round of Real Property Gains Tax hike, we now expect the sector to be headed for a slowdown in terms of launches, sales and transactions,” the bank said.

Hong Leong said it expects the affordable segment of the market to perform better than the mid-to-higher end segment and Mah Sing Group and Glomac should be more adaptable to the shift in market conditions.

“Between the two, we prefer Glomac, as their landed townships which are currently selling for RM400,000-RM450,000 which fits the affordable segment definition,” the bank added.

At 1052, both Glomac and Mah Sing were unchanged at RM0.82 per share and RM2.27 per share respectively. The benchmark composite index was up 0.26 per cent at 1676.17. – Reuters

SUSadvocado
post Nov 8 2012, 03:23 PM

2,948 posts

But understand in the end all these property tax will be transferred to buyers, and all other cost like lawyer fee, loan, stamp duty etc all add up on top of this additional 5-10% property tax.

So in the end it's the common people who are actually buying the house to stay in that suffers.

0.0590sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:42 PM