Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v19, Poland #1 get JB~

rickk
post Sep 25 2012, 07:15 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Naraw @ Sep 25 2012, 07:13 PM)
even if its my 3rd time going there they still wanna repair?
has anyone ever got a 1-1 replacement from samsung?
planning to be garang la.. haha!
have a bad news to u, my friend just told me, SME seldom do 1-1 replacement, only Apple do. Anyway, hope u can argue a new phone back la. haha! good luck.
rickk
post Sep 25 2012, 08:02 PM

1,130 posts

Silly quiestion again, normally the default setting for Titanium backup, where do the file save? And where to change if i want the files backup into extSDcard?
rickk
post Sep 25 2012, 08:15 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Sep 25 2012, 08:02 PM)
Silly quiestion again, normally the default setting for Titanium backup, where do the file save? And where to change if i want the files backup into extSDcard?
Anyone pls....? just copy the whole titanium file to sdcard will do...? icon_question.gif
rickk
post Sep 25 2012, 08:30 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 25 2012, 08:23 PM)
You can change the folder location where TB saves it's backups locally on your device ....
CODE
TB >> preferences >> Backup settings >> backup folder location
When you install TB, it will auto cr8 a backup folder on your phone SD called titaniumbackup
CODE
/storage/sdcard/titaniumbackup

Yes you can select all the files WITHIN this folder, and cut, and paste into the new folder where tb backs up to the new backup folder location you changed from internal to external....
Usually after i wipe my phone with factory reset, i would use airdroid, and copy the contents from my dropbox, and move them to the titaniumbackup folder on my phone ....

Then i startup TB and click restore apps+data ....

Thats how tb works  cool.gif
PS: my recommendation, you need to be more independent and check all the options in TB to have a better self understanding of what they do. If there is something that is not too obvious like "should i integrate tb into dalvik ?" those kinds of questions ask.

But questions like "how to change backup folder?" these are more obvious and you would have known yourself had you properly checked the options before asking  sweat.gif
Yes done... Thanks for the advise.
Next, flash the JB official.=)
yea I know. I was try to explore the options but I dare not to simply take decision, as this phone is my 1st "high-end" phone. Scare if something wrong, screw the whole phone up. I probably will die. lol.. sorry for being leecher anyway. unsure.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 25 2012, 08:25 PM)
At preferences /backup folder search whole device until you see external sdcard/titaniumbackup folder
Before that create titaniumbackup folder in ext sdcard
There are tons n tons of options in titanium. Spend time explore all options at preferences n at the batch menu ( pad with tick) at top right corner
This post has been edited by rickk: Sep 25 2012, 08:33 PM
rickk
post Sep 25 2012, 08:44 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 25 2012, 08:41 PM)
oh alrite... sorry i will try to be more understand for newbs.

i'm just a bit frustrated because everytime got questions like this. when after got so many it tends to annoy haha  laugh.gif
Yea I can feel that as well.. When u are expert in certain area, u will feel like "what kind of question is this? even a kid also know la bla bla bla"... Same to me, when sometimes when somebody asking me about the stuff that I'm expert in.
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:27 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Sep 25 2012, 08:50 PM)
Everyone takes time to learn smile.gif Don't be afraid to learn! biggrin.gif
Yea that's why I tak tau malu ask this and that lo. whistling.gif
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:18 PM

1,130 posts

Flashing official JB <Poland> now... Hope I can do it. =)
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:34 PM

1,130 posts

FLASHED!!

Can siffuss here guide me how am I gonna check whether I'm success already or..... (touchwood...)

I just follow how to flash with odin

Everything seems smooth. Lastly Odin green color "PASS" also...

I attached 2 screenshot (before and after I flash)

BEFORE:

AFTER:

Lastly, again, any essential step should I do to confirm I did flashed?

And 1 more weird thing, after I flashed, my files all still in internal file. I tot will gone or what?

What's next step? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by rickk: Sep 26 2012, 09:40 PM
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:41 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 26 2012, 09:40 PM)

restore backup ?
weird thing is, my existing file like sms, pictures, songs all still there?
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:47 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 26 2012, 09:45 PM)
did you backup before flash JB ??

btw to those either using stock or those custom base on stock :

1. did you get s note instead s memo ?

2. go *#34971539#, can click 2nd option which is "phone to cam fr write (rear) ?
mine can't click, as the below photo
Yes I did titanium backup. and after I flahsed, I havent restore yet the files all things already there. my one is s memo still.. sad.gif
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:51 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Sep 26 2012, 09:50 PM)
Got next step meh? Done d lo... XD Gratz

Erm...from my experience, wipe won't effect internal files. Just that it wipe the settings only. Hard to explain lol~
It's that ez? Sound unbelievable that I DID IT!!!!!!! "Ah ma, ngor dak jor la!!!" (in cantonese)! lol tongue.gif
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:57 PM

1,130 posts

Then do I still need to restore the data as Xeactorz bro say? i tot after flash, everything will change even the theme will change to JB's default theme, but no?
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 09:59 PM

1,130 posts

home screen mode, blocking mode is the new "friends" in setting

video hub,music hub is new "friends" in apps..

device status become normal, means I have to re-root again? (correct me if wrong)

Added on September 26, 2012, 10:01 pm
QUOTE(nicregi @ Sep 26 2012, 09:50 PM)
Got next step meh? Done d lo... XD Gratz

Erm...from my experience, wipe won't effect internal files. Just that it wipe the settings only. Hard to explain lol~
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 26 2012, 09:58 PM)
did you wipe before and after flash JB ?
no idea if you don't wipe before flash, i got wipe
after wipe then restore apps + data via titanium backup
nope, I didn't wipe b4 and after. means I have to wipe b4? GOSH!!!!

This post has been edited by rickk: Sep 26 2012, 10:01 PM
rickk
post Sep 26 2012, 10:41 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Sep 26 2012, 10:19 PM)
If you from stock ICS..upgrade to stock JB firmware via OC Odin then there's no need to do any wipe. You do wipe if you cones from custom rom where many things been tweaked or modified.
Btw..it's good that the Polish JB firmware didn't wipe. Sometimes certain upgrade did wipe all your apps.
Internal storage only can be wipe clean IF you manually wipe it. Using wipe with CWM wont wipe your internal storage.
Do be carefull when do wipe/reset via CWM recovery as the FIRST time you do it..it will wipe clean your internal storage. After that it wont wipe internal storage anymore.
This is true on ICS firmware. Dont know about JB as i still havent try stock JB firmware yet  biggrin.gif
What i get from u is, i done already and i no need to wipe or do anything anymore? Just root it will do? Sry if im wrong ;p
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 02:07 AM

1,130 posts

Finally flashed and rooted.

Currently using Official JB 4.1.1 [Poland]. Then later Malaysia official JB release, can I flash to msia firmware? the method just same or i need to wipe b4 flash? wipe again after flash

Btw, Play Store was recommend me to update SuperSU, should I?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 more thing, whr can I find the "google Now"? And what does it use for actually?

This post has been edited by rickk: Sep 27 2012, 02:15 AM
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 11:35 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Sep 27 2012, 11:29 AM)
eh? why do you want to flash to Malaysia official JB version? wouldnt that similar to poland version?  hmm.gif
Err.. I tot Poland version got no chinese, but just check, yes it have. So i think is not a issue whether using Malaysia or Poland now. lol... tongue.gif

Anyway, I think there must be something slightly different btw poland and msia ba? If not why Samsung released poland version then only other countries and only to us, msia? Why don't they just released a "global" version? *correct me if I'm wrong.
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 11:52 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Sep 27 2012, 11:48 AM)
hmm.gif can someone verify this? maybe malaysia version would have 'malaysian app'?
Haha I also wonder actually.. Waiting those sifuss reply... whistling.gif

1 thing can be sure is, Poland version got no Malay language lo. =)
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 12:15 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 27 2012, 12:09 PM)
u sure u have chinese on the Poland firmware? my contacts with chinese names are showing "UNKNOWN" right now  rclxub.gif
Ya I got wor... i can reply ppl in chinese, can even save new contact in chinese name wor.. flex.gif
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 02:46 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Sep 27 2012, 01:02 PM)
dont flash poland version..u will regret..i flash back to ics after2 days
why?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

guys, now only I realize, after flash to official JB <Poland>, I should hv JB homescreen instead of existing homescreen (whr the origin homescreen fr s3, ICS).

But Im still with ICS homescreen, not JB.. but my phone andoid is 4.1.1, and added JB features like googleNow, video/music hub (which I wanna try, but it stated does not register in our region)

So my one is consider as 70% JB + 20% ICS? =p
rickk
post Sep 27 2012, 02:55 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Sep 27 2012, 02:52 PM)
the first page still direct us to xda page.

wht to do when we want to root our s3?

do i need to save all my data? eg, call log, message, photos etc
try google JayceOoi's blog. i did flash and root via the blog guideline. =)

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0478sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:26 AM