10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Saltwater fish and reef tank keepers, All about saltwater creatures and reef

alexlow
post Feb 10 2010, 12:05 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Feb 9 2010, 03:35 PM)
so it recommended for 3ft tank or not??i would like to offer about rm500 to the owner..it's ok??
cl650 can support up to 4ft not an issue

Added on February 10, 2010, 12:20 am
QUOTE(akrami @ Feb 9 2010, 04:45 PM)
huhuh.. this month budget is over already... can my live rock survive for a month at temp 31?... huhuh... can u explain, what is "ammonia spike"?.. expensive chiller, can it be use if later on I want to change to 3ft? Sorry if i'm asking to many question, really interested, but dumb. huhuh...
go get a fan than.
ammonia is poison to ur live stock, if temp high, ammonia will turn even more poison
where ammonia come from? overfeeding food, die fish, bioload too high etc
most chiller can support up to 4ft, we only need to bring down 3,4c from room tempreture.

This post has been edited by alexlow: Feb 10 2010, 12:20 AM
alexlow
post Feb 10 2010, 04:37 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(akrami @ Feb 10 2010, 08:23 AM)
ok, i'll DIY this weekend. Yesterday, my aquarium reach up to 32.7... arrrggghhh.. dont know how to reduce the temp.... so technically, if I put 3 big CPU fan, it will be enough, right?
1 fan is enough, too many your water will vapor too fast and result more worst because salinity will swing also.
fan just blow the heat from the light away and cool down max 2-3c, with more fan still the samething
alexlow
post Feb 14 2010, 11:17 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Feb 14 2010, 08:25 PM)
alex..can ur give a name of coral for beginner like me??
my tank is 3ft long,1.5ft high and 1ft wide.
lighting 2 PLL 55w.
can i do water change once a month or twice a month??
u have low lighting so consider those which need feeding like sun coral, super sun , rhyzo
and those which can supplyment food to compensate the lack of light
moon coral, bubble, blastomusa, acans, favia, ricordea yuma or florida etc

tree coral, colt, finger, toadstool, clam , mushroom & buttons u can keep but need to put high

just avoid goniopora (flower pot) or similar type, carnation, donut , brain, xenia & seafan, all this have special requirements, all i tried b4 and is not easy to keep.

sure, but u need to dose supplyment, if u change water every 2wks noneed to dose anything extra, salt has it all, cheapest solutions.
alexlow
post Feb 15 2010, 09:35 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Feb 15 2010, 01:51 AM)
okey..but if i add 2x55w PLL 50-50 and 20w artinic blue.
so, my total wattage of my light is 130w.
what kind of coral that easy to keep??
all i listed u can keep. do you have chiller?
alexlow
post Feb 18 2010, 01:45 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(akrami @ Feb 17 2010, 08:32 AM)
is there any coral that can survive at 30 C?... huhuh,... just wondering...
some will be able to adapt to it. basically corals all need temp 28c and below.
alexlow
post Feb 20 2010, 10:45 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Feb 20 2010, 02:09 AM)
about lighting, it is same watt produce from power compact light with T5HO??
as i know,standard fluorescent don't same watt produce..
sure not same watt output, even different brand of T5 will give different result.
flex.gif
alexlow
post Feb 23 2010, 10:05 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Evrae90 @ Feb 23 2010, 02:26 AM)
hey is seaweed sold in supermarket safe for angelfish to eat?
expensive, get from marine fish shop, plenty of choice, safer & cheaper.

alexlow
post Mar 10 2010, 07:25 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(drewin @ Mar 10 2010, 10:37 AM)
hi guys...just got meself saltwater fish tank....been cycling for a week now...but im not sure if my hydrometer is spoilt or i dont have enough salt level...cuz when i dip the hydrometer in the tank...its not moving at all...arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

i've dumped in 4KG salt into my 130 litres tank + sump....please advice~~~~~~~~~
take a smaller bucket, add the salt and test your hydrometer.
make sure is working before you use it to test you main tank
alexlow
post Mar 14 2010, 09:37 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(drewin @ Mar 11 2010, 10:58 AM)
haha finally the hydrometer is working...wrong calculation of my tank's volume forgot to add in the sump's volume....still need another 2 kgs salt... arghhhhhhhh btw anyone know where i can get chiller for me 350 litres tank below 1K????
2nd hand resun CL650 chiller normally cost around rm600, u can ask your regular marine LFS to keep an eye for you. don't buy any stocks from them, just ask and tell them u don't have chiller so cannot keep, haha. very soon enuf they will help you to get 1.

rclxm9.gif
alexlow
post Mar 16 2010, 09:50 PM

19 posts

u can get cheato from most marine LFS

Added on March 16, 2010, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(d4n3sh @ Mar 15 2010, 02:05 AM)
Dude, I recommend you not to rush into this. Take ur time, buy a book or 2. Read and understand what you are trying to accomplish and by what means. rushing normally ends in disaster and you wouldn't want to loose beautiful fished over our mistakes right.

Just my advice.

I just got a 4ft tank over 2 months ago. I cycled it for over a month. and algae problem, fixed that with lighting cycles. Working on my sump, overflow, LED lighting and algae scrapper now. Only have 2 goby and shrimps in my tank. till my whole systems is up and running and stable i don't plan to add anything in.
goby normally dun take pallets so pod populations need to be able to suppor them.
what kind of LED lighting u using?

This post has been edited by alexlow: Mar 16 2010, 09:53 PM
alexlow
post Mar 29 2010, 12:55 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(bukanmain @ Mar 23 2010, 07:50 AM)
can we get brine shrimp eggs here?
ya, artemia egg
alexlow
post Apr 5 2010, 06:08 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Apr 4 2010, 12:14 AM)
my fish got sick... cry.gif anyone could help me??
my maroon just r.i.p in the morning..
my another fish got sick too..
their body seam dark spot and their stripe lost it color..
their eye have mucus a look like blind..
their body have mucus @ slime also.. cry.gif
cry.gif
cry.gif
cry.gif
cry.gif 
icon_question.gif
do 50% water change fast.

alexlow
post Apr 6 2010, 10:11 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Apr 6 2010, 12:48 AM)
already do water change..but my fish keep sick..another one died today.. cry.gif
my fish got sick when i do water change..i already use ro water,declorine and mix proper sg 1.023..
test for ammonia
alexlow
post Apr 6 2010, 06:05 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(silverbolt143 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:51 AM)
Hi guys, i'm planning to get UV sterilizer... however i noticed we can also purchase UV bulb which meant for reptile such as turtle from local pet store which significantly cheaper...my question is, can i just install this UV bulb on my sum (return chamber) to have the same effect as UV sterilizer...i dont really understand how UV sterilizer works for aquarium.. notworthy.gif .TQ
not concentrated enough

all you need to know

http://www.aquariumfish.net/information/uv_sterilization.htm

alexlow
post Apr 7 2010, 10:43 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Apr 7 2010, 12:18 AM)
my ammonia in safe range..0..

Added on April 7, 2010, 12:22 am

does uv will destroy good microorganism and bacteria?
such as good bacteria that convert ammonia to nitrate and
nitrate to nitrates??
something is not right with your water, you add any new fish lately?

UV will kill everything, but don't need to worry coz those bacteria mostly doesn't suspend in water.
alexlow
post Apr 8 2010, 09:45 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Apr 7 2010, 08:09 PM)
yes..i add new fish..but them seem ok 2 week before i do water change..
make it a habit to have quarantine tank next time, now guess that you have to make your display tank fishless for a while.
alexlow
post Apr 15 2010, 01:59 PM

19 posts

very nice bubble tip anemone, how much izzit?
alexlow
post Apr 17 2010, 08:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(dananmy @ Apr 15 2010, 05:25 PM)
Oh.. is call bubble tip? I taught is a long tentacle anemone.  I bought it for rm40. haha.. it looks the same as your picture!! Hope it last long. Do you know what is the suppliment i need to get for them?
doesn't look long on the pic, more like bubble tip
noneed suppliment, medium light and stable water parameter, 26-28c
occasionally feed chop prawn meat, small small pcs will do.

This post has been edited by alexlow: Apr 17 2010, 08:54 PM
alexlow
post Apr 22 2010, 12:26 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(dananmy @ Apr 19 2010, 09:40 PM)
Y'day I gave the whole prawn to it , the mouth blows like a balloon while sucking it . I think the prawn is to big, can't really eat it. At last it let go but very wierd
cause when d lights on it will shrink, but when the lights off, it can really expend like fluffy cotton!! I taught they suppose to love light ? 
chop the meat till very fine.
that means it doesn't like the condition yet.
alexlow
post Apr 26 2010, 11:40 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ruknu @ Apr 26 2010, 02:18 AM)
alex,can i use sea sand that i collect from beach as substrate or live sand in my aquarium??
would it safe??
rclxm9.gif haha, should be usable just u need to clean and dry it first.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0753sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:27 AM