Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 08:16 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 21 2012, 07:17 AM)
Irrespective where you buy it has international warranty
I believe they have Limited International Warranty for the Nexus 7....

Price is always a factor of convenience (and demand).... if you want cheap.... buy AP/imported.... you may have to get a plug convertor only..... if you resell next time, the next buyer will also ask why the plug is different.... if got any issues, need to see what the Limited international warranty covers....

I remembered all the imported units going for rm1000-1200 when Nexus 7 was first launched... nobody complained expensive.... all praise them from bringing in the product earlier....

If you buy local, a little more expensive..... local warranty.... you can probably ask for discount (after a few weeks) or maybe even get a free screen protector.... some shops probably can do for you 12 month installment or something....

Things are always cheaper in the US.... just California has higher GDP than Malaysia... its just their consumption is so much higher.... LEGO is cheaper there.... cars are cheaper there.... ladies handbags like Coach is cheaper there... even their phone packages is so much cheaper there (or any other part of the world)....

honest truth is.... Malaysia Ringgit is weak.... buying power is low.... . if we have strong currency like Singapore... you won't be b****ing about RM100 difference....

I have waited this long for the Nexus 7 to launch... but will probably wait for the Mini Ipad to launch... just to see what the competition is trying to create........... I also read of some rumours of a refreshed Nexus 7 with 3G....

Bottom line is... if you can afford it... BUY.... if you can't..... either work harder for more pay or move overseas where everything is cheaper....

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 09:04 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(dmc0105 @ Sep 21 2012, 08:37 AM)
I bought my nexus 7 because its a 'Nexus'. Totally different from other tabs that only got support from their respective vendor. With 'Nexus' device u got more 'freedom' playing with custom rom/mod.

Of course u will get custom rom for other devices as well but 90% of those custom rom will have something broken.

Take galaxy SII for example. A lot of 4.1.1 rom but the main feature(hw composer/project butter) are still broken... Still need to wait samsung merge their 4.1.1 for SII before we have a fully functioning rom...

So,no matter how much these 'nexus' gonna cost me its not gonna be a prob... i'd still buy it...

That is my main reason using android(Nexus) device...
I agree.... with so many devices in the Market... not all devices will get JB.... even my HTC Sensation took quite long just to get the official ICS....

Nexus range will always have a much quicker upgraded path to the current OS...

Added on September 21, 2012, 9:16 am
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Sep 21 2012, 08:46 AM)
Actually this tablet is meant for those people who has lower income. Maybe our salary ratio is still not suitable even getting the cheap tablet. Of course outside there are bunch of cheap China Tablet. But I myself totally don't believe in China Brand, cause relatives and even friends around me, their china brand stuff always spoilt in just a year or two. smile.gif

That's why people here is complaining the price. Its a matter of benefiting to lower income groups, instead of arguing whether this is worth the price smile.gif
I believe Nexus 7 is the most value for money Tablet available on the market.... IPS screen with a 1280x720 pixel resolution... up to date CPU/GPU... decent built quality

Yes it lacks a camera at the back.... and no SD Card slot...

I doubt any other tablet comes close to the RM999 for Nexus 7 (16GB) price point....

You willing to swap the IPS higher res screen (Nexus 7) for the (Tab 2 7.0) SD Card + Camera at the back?

At the end of the day, you get what you pay for.... China products.... have issues with quality control.... sometimes you lucky... it last you a year... maybe 2... if you unlucky.... 1-2 months...

Side note: The Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 is still the best 7" Tablet made (in my opinion). LED 1280x720 pixel screen. Thin profile and a brushed aluminum finishing... the best of any 7" range.... but the asking price also a little steep, and the Android 3.0 is starting to show its age!
If the next Nexus tablet could look like the 7.7 while maintaining an affordable price point, I am very sure it will sell very well... but for sure... if you want quality finishing.... it wont be cheap... lol

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Sep 21 2012, 09:16 AM
eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 03:14 PM

264 posts

Lol.... price we all know is RM999....

question is where got ready stock......
eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 03:54 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 21 2012, 03:48 PM)
maybe 100 for delivery cost. the balance is profit.
249usd is the cost price that is only sold in US, being subsidized by google since they make profit from play store purchase.

you are the very rare one that feel its still worth at 999.
yesterday lots of people complain and cant accept the price.  doh.gif
I think it is a "FAIR" price.... in fact I will be getting the Local unit...

Don't forget Asus needs to make a little money, to cover overheads for the Warranty... don't forget Senq or whoever reseller needs to make a profit... and remember this... if you only earn 5-10% markup... you want to do this business?

if you guys know how much margin all the Parkson/Jusco or even Lowyat Plaza mobile/computer reseller margin.. you also would be complaining la.... you think they really only EARN rm5 per CPU meh? lol....

most people here don't do business.... thus they complain expensive.... if you importer, or do any retail business..... you'll be surprise how much the shop markup is....

First Rule of any business: TO MAKE A PROFIT tongue.gif

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 04:59 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 21 2012, 04:27 PM)
since we're discussing the rm999 price tag... i'll chip in my view...

in the end, rm999... its up to the individual to see whether it is worth it or not. some ppl pay rm1mil for a car... some ppl think it's stupid yet others think the rm1mil is worth it.

asus already made some money when they 'sold' the N7 to Google. as for shipping cost, etc... N7 probably made in TW or maybe CN... shipping it to US will cost more or shipping to MY?!?

retail shops in US also sells N7... that means even at the USD249, Asus made money. Google made (a bit) of money... Retailers made some money...

to google... whether people buy from Play store or not... their core business is still ads. ppl dun buy apps but as long as they surf the internet, download FREE apps that uses ads, Google already made some extra money...

so, in regards to rm999 price... i think Asus MY is just milking the most of of N7... they know the demand is there... they might as well make the most out of it...

update1: i'm still evaluating my options... SenQ's offer seems attractive -- 2yrs warranty. i guess it's a member's only thing and i need to topup about rm30 to be member... warranty might be a good idea considering so many complaints abt defects... i'm still waiting for AP sets to drop in prices.

but my Q about AP set is... when does their warranty start? dowan to go buy AP set just to find out warranty started 2 months back... (the day dealer bought the set from US) biggrin.gif
I think its not ASUS milking us.... its a margin allocated for the Reseller.... Asus already made their share.... These margin let it be 10,20,25,30% that the shop makes.... if the shop wants to give you discount, its from their Margin....

Don't take it personal.... its only business..... you think rental in MidValley cheap? or Lowyat Plaza?

You can buy from Google at that price (US250), because there is no middle man.... Google probably gave up their profit margin.... and also as a "marketing strategy"

and remember this.... just NOT that long ago, people were selling for the Nexus 7 for 1000-1200RM at the forum... nobody complain expensive also....

I am sure if you wait a month, most reseller would be giving you free SP, accessories or discount.... regardless what deal you get.... Asus already made their share tongue.gif....

Hell, wait for Ipad Mini to come out, and you can buy Nexus 7 for a good price in the forum!

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 05:11 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Sep 21 2012, 05:04 PM)
I never thought of buying apple but if this kind of milking practice keep going of. I might as well buy a quad core tab from samsung when it available or as the last resort go for apple tab mini.
Samsung also damn CCB lately.... no discount when I bought the Tab2 10.1 2 weeks ago.... RRP1499..... a month before that, they sort of offered 100-150rm discount....

According to every shop in Digital Mall PJ, Samsung has "set" the price.. and no discount is to be provided to sale of the Tablets.... They tell me the instruction was given because the TELCO are also pushing the Tablets with their packages.... thus need to price set/control....

Can someone confirm this... or its just that every shop in Digital Mall "pakat" and price set.... lol...

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 05:13 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 21 2012, 05:10 PM)
I think senheng is also selling the samsung galaxy tab 7.0 at RM999. Which one is better? Nexus 7 or Galaxy Tab 2 7.0?

Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
Pro:
- Expandable storage
- Back camera
- TouchWiz UI (subjective)

Cons:
- slower processor
- VGA front camera
- Not JellyBean
- Lower screen resolution
- PLS Screen

Nexus 7
Pro:
- Faster processor
- Better front camera
- JellyBean out of the box
- Higher resolution screen
- IPS screen

Cons:
- No expandable storage
- No back camera
You can add

Nexus 7 Pros:
+ Faster OS updates because it will be supported directly by Google

Nexus 7 Cons:
- No USB OTG support

This post has been edited by eric_tan: Sep 21 2012, 05:14 PM
eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 05:19 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 21 2012, 05:16 PM)
U ' kena' con by those sweet mouth salesman inside  sweat.gif
Bugger.... lol....

I didnt buy for myself.... for my uncle... lol.... shhhh dont tell him......
eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 06:03 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 21 2012, 05:33 PM)
dun worry... i'm not taking anything personally with this... but...

rental... they should factor this into their business plan when they setup the outlet la... and... the outlet solely selling N7 meh? no ma... biggrin.gif

in US... i can buy from google or i can also buy from retail outlets like Staples. price is the same. biggrin.gif
All business need to make a profit...... so how much is fair?

If I carried 2 products, say A which has 30% margin, and N7 for 10% margin.... of course I push product A mah.... that is why, when you go camera/computer shops, they push products/accessories with higher margin....

But profit is a factor of Quantity Sold x Margin..... if your product cheaper, you can sell more.. but probably still same profit.... this one you need to take our Economics Textbook....lol....

Of course the price is fixed at USD249.90 in US mah.... cause that is the RRP.... probably a lower margin compared to the rest of the world.

UK has a retail price of British Pound 200, which is similar to Malaysia RM999.

For a fact, most things are MORE expensive in Malaysia.... whether its the N7.... or your car with 200% duty on it... we arguing over RM200 difference (or 20%) for the N7 when our cars are one of the most expensive in the world....

I reckon almost every other product is more expensive in Malaysia... [except for Ipad pricing, which is very similar throughout the world.. not sure about their other range...]

eric_tan
post Sep 21 2012, 06:06 PM

264 posts

Actually... the only question I need answered is...

WHERE GOT READY STOCK (local unit, not imported)?

My friend went to Senq... they said ETA is 2 weeks...
eric_tan
post Sep 22 2012, 09:25 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Sep 22 2012, 08:34 AM)
I find it hilarious that there are folks here who say Asus is nothing but greedy. To those who think that... are you doing your own business? If you are, I will pray for you. If you are not, then go make more friends who are full time businessmen.

You can only get so greedy. There is a limit. One can't exactly sell the Nexus 7 for RM9k, can you? But if one can find that sweet spot of achieving that sales target with the max price that they want, why not? And if enough consumers don't buy at the price they want, then they will be forced to revise it too.

Consumers always have a choice. Supply and demand still rules. But to say this and that company is greedy because they want to maximize profits, that is just plain oversimplistic. Complain it's expensive, yes, maybe, because that's subjective to a certain extent (although I still think Rm999 is really pretty good). But show me a business who doesn't want to maximize profits, and I'll show you a failed one.

"Eh... I estimate can sell thousands of Product A at Rm1k! Seems like got demand lah! But I think I will just sell at Rm 900 lah. Got some people complain. Never mind, make less never mind."  Can you imagine any company thinking like this?
I agree with you, and I spent the last day trying to explain a little "business" economic... but I don't think they understand...

Next time you buy at 7-11, Jusco or even your corner Chicken Rice shop.... just ask yourself... what is their margin.... If you think businesses can survive with 10-20% markup.... you are so WRONG.....lol.....

better you stay on the consumer end.... don't question so much, later you cant even go out buy a Tshirt, or even your economy rice... say everyone else is greedy.....

It is just business, every level makes a cut..... a cycle of life.... some make more... some make less.....

If you believe it is expensive... don't buy.... it is your consumer right... and it may hurt the sales of the N7....

Look at the Iphone5...... everybody complain.... "nothing exciting"..... "not revolutionary".... etc etc... but they still gonna go out and buy one...at a premium price.... (Apple has the highest margin for phones than any other brand, and price controlled!)

Many still gonna b**** RM999 expensive.... go buy imported units from Forum.... I am sure if you wait until all the Senq got stock, their price will drop further..... if you wait till Ipad Mini.... every N7 in the market will price adjust...

I always say.... "Don't blame inflation..... just make more!"

eric_tan
post Sep 22 2012, 10:33 AM

264 posts

BUY BUY BUY..... WHERE GOT READY STOCK?

I am not in Klang Valley.... will be in KL next week.... so need to know exactly where got stock, and what is on offer!!

eric_tan
post Sep 22 2012, 02:44 PM

264 posts

Those that bought a unit, please state from WHERE, and HOW MUCH... and also any offer, like free SP or accessories....
eric_tan
post Sep 25 2012, 01:35 PM

264 posts

Nexus 7 owner here!

I just came back from Lowyat.... walked into most shops on the list (post 1).... all shops selling at RRP999, with a few smaller stalls offering me less than RRP.

I noticed some shops still have C70 units.... while most of the other ones have C90 units.... I got a feeling that the C70 units are "imported", thus the old batch....

I also went into Asus service centre and asked them about the Warranty on the Imported Nexus 7.... they said its "International" with no mention of "Limited International"...

My preference would be to pick up the C90 units, rather than the C70, as I can't confirm when the warranty starts? from Malaysia shop invoice? or overseas imported dates?

eric_tan
post Sep 25 2012, 05:17 PM

264 posts

Added on September 25, 2012, 1:41 pm
i tot jaya com selling 949!?

[/quote]

No they asking for 999 today..... even when I told them 949 the other day...
eric_tan
post Sep 25 2012, 05:55 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Sep 25 2012, 05:23 PM)
I guess they starting to milk users when they saw the demand.
What to do.. supply and demand.....

Anyway, I think most importers are disposing of their units, or adjusting to a more competitive pricing.... those who wants cheap.... look around in the forum....

I bought my case from this forumer (this thread).... paid yesterday, received today!
eric_tan
post Oct 17 2012, 02:54 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 17 2012, 01:43 PM)
Hi guys, TS here.

i would like to inform that i wont be opening V3.

main reason why i folo thread at V1 was because want to purchase nexus7 as soon as possible. when open V2, i thought will have lots of fun discussion about custom roms and general interesting cool stuff.

I tried numerous custom roms, but i feel that stock is the best in terms of fluidity (maybe project butter works best on stock?) and battery life. another reason is stock rom easier to receive updates from google. I will stay on stock rom permanently.

another thing is that, most of the discussion here is too repetitive, always repeating on the how to claim 25usd, rumoured 32gb, 3g, complaining price expensive, discussion on manufacturing defect, and warranty claim. man....its gets really boring. its no longer fun and feels like a chore reading through comments here.

i attached the 1st,2nd and 3rd post in seperate text files in this post.
who ever wish to open V3, just download the text files and copy paste. it should work. pm me if any problem. i will help out as much as i can. icon_rolleyes.gif peace
Boss, why you quit la....
I may not be active here, but I do read every update...

Yes it gets a little "repetitive" after a while, complain about pricing, Asus ripping us off, the new 32GB, 3G rumours... endless bickering if you asked me....

But then again, its like a wave of new people, they come, they do some research on whether to get the N7 or not, and then after that, they disappear...

Some their unit got issues, and they come here to complain (or compare with others)! tongue.gif

I am a happy N7 user. Honestly, my N7 C90 batch is perfect. No issues.. updated to 4.1.2 (Root + unlocked before update) with no issues. Use it mainly for surfing (before bed), read lots of comic on it and watch some movies. ....

As for the 32GB unit... no big deal.... cars gets updated all the time, phones... tablets..... price gets adjusted with new models or with competition...

Ipad Mini out in a week.... who knows... maybe half the N7 users will buy the Mini? Or some change to Note 2 ...

0.0401sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:26 AM