Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB

Kylin
post Sep 19 2012, 10:50 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 19 2012, 08:54 AM)
Hi all, I am at work now, tonight I will add more info at first post.

If you guys got any good info,link,or tutorial please paste the link here. I will read them and add them when have free time.
Should place the link for Nexus 7 Factory Image
https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images

Not sure is this guide 100% safe or not. But maybe helpful to be the 2nd last resort if you screwed up your N7
http://goo.gl/Kk7Fe

And the list of N7 owners rclxm9.gif

Kylin
post Sep 19 2012, 09:45 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(sassychia @ Sep 19 2012, 09:30 PM)
hi benny, can i noe the expiry means we must clear the USD25 before end of sep....or we ned to activate it before end of sep? coz i remembered last time got ppl say the USD25 can use until next yr june
You will need to claim the $25 credit before 30th Sept.
After you claim it, the validity of the credit is till June 2013.
Kylin
post Sep 21 2012, 08:57 PM

65 posts

I saw the a whole display cabinet with N7 (dunno is just box or with N7 inside) at lowyat, ground floor near the exit facing sg wang and imbi plaza.
The shop should be the "Nexus" shop.
But did not ask about the stock since I pre-ordered it.
Saw Spigen screen protector priced at RM99
The staff said no case or cover for N7.
Those who wish to try the device 1st can go there, around 8 demo units placed there.
I just simply swipe around the homescreen. Project butter make it so smooth!!! Really can't wait for my unit to arrive on my hand... drool.gif

And Newegg US is selling at US$249.99. Those wish to wait may order from Newegg.my but need to wait for the batch and delivery.
Takes longer time, but should be far cheaper

This post has been edited by Kylin: Sep 21 2012, 08:58 PM
Kylin
post Sep 21 2012, 09:05 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ShengHow @ Sep 21 2012, 09:00 PM)
i see
true also what u have just said
but if compare the price la
which do u think is more worth?
With Android still has lots of potential, still a Nexus device is better.
Unlike Goog, Sammy will stop software update for old device eg. Galaxy W.
Kylin
post Sep 22 2012, 06:19 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ps360 @ Sep 22 2012, 03:25 PM)
Hotspot (previously, The Nexus Shop) in LowYat. Opened. Many local sets available. Same owner as MacStudio, Sony and Samsung shop in lowyat. Currently, only 1-year local warranty. But the Boss said he is negotatiating 1+1 for his customers and will notify when available. Price is RM999 for 16GB. When I was there at 2PM, still got a lot of stock. Another batch of 500 units coming in soon. According to the Boss. 

They have many demo sets of Nexus 7 hooked up with headphones. Can play. Even the Nexus Q is available on display.

Unit G17, Ground Floor. Just a few doors down from Samsung / HP.
WoW
Din notice the Nexus Q yesterday. Was is a rush.
Kylin
post Sep 22 2012, 06:46 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kiwlm @ Sep 22 2012, 06:38 PM)
Thanks! That's what I did, and I get the USD25.

I am running out of ideas what to buy, as I already bought most of the apps/games that i need.

If I buy a book/movie/magazine, would I still be able to use it without the VPN?
No need to be hurry in deciding what to buy.
Once you claimed the credit, you can spend it anytime before end of June 2013.

But there are cases where the credit grey out and not available to use.
Kylin
post Sep 22 2012, 11:54 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(William_Yeo @ Sep 22 2012, 11:39 PM)
do i need to redemm all 25USD before 30 SEPT ?
Yes, the offer end at 30 Sept.
Kylin
post Sep 23 2012, 04:48 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(iqa1309 @ Sep 23 2012, 03:40 PM)
I bought mine yesterday at All IT Hypermarket outlet in Digital Mall. My first foray into the Android world  rclxms.gif

Count me in as one of the new Nexus 7 owners  smile.gif
Hmmm... Did not c any N7 at lowyat All IT.
I bought it at Startec lowyat.

Just claimed the $25 credit. ^^

mtxx add me too. Proud to be N7 user.
Kylin
post Sep 23 2012, 05:00 PM

65 posts

Still newbie to rooting Android. (This is my first Android, previously just play around with my friends one)

May I know which N7 toolkit is better in term of function and user friendly??
Kylin
post Sep 23 2012, 06:37 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(adx @ Sep 23 2012, 05:12 PM)
No. It's quite hard actually, because if got slowdown removing the files and claim back the space will not gain you back the speed, only reset will do. So, not advisable for ppl who already setup their nicely. Btw, add me to the list. Got mine from garage sale way back.

Edit: new user, pls try. Hehe..

Added on September 23, 2012, 5:39 pm

I've tried on my 120gb (not the ready made external hdd but notebook hdd with separate casing) and failed. I guess the cap ayam casing might be the culprit. Anyone confirm success with this kind of external hdd?
Trying to put songs and movie till left 1.20GB on fresh stock rom (not rooted)

did not notice any problem so far, able to stream youtube, use chrome to surf net smoothly.

Kylin
post Sep 24 2012, 11:04 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 23 2012, 07:45 PM)
no slowdowns compared to when u first got the device? could you do an androbench benchmark?
Did the benchmark at 751MB space left.

Kylin
post Sep 25 2012, 08:04 PM

65 posts

ebay does have those cases at cheaper price, the trade off will be delivery time.

Anyone tried to underclock / undervolt the CPU/GPU?

feel like the battery drain quite fast even though just some light weight gaming, maybe also due to the IPS screen but I already set the brightness to very low.

Kylin
post Sep 26 2012, 08:56 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 26 2012, 08:29 PM)
i also wonder what happened, i kena something similar but the price jump is not that bad..it was 2.49 to 2.99 if i recall..

Added on September 26, 2012, 8:34 pmDon't buy anything yet, wait for this:
Google Play celebrates 25 billion app downloads with 25 cent app promotion
http://www.androidcentral.com/google-play-...t-app-promotion
COOL!! rclxms.gif
Thanks for the info!!

Would really hope to see those useful apps or widgets for sale at 25 cent.
Kylin
post Sep 27 2012, 12:19 AM

65 posts

From the post Cyberkewl shared
To celebrate, it's launching another app sale, where this time you'll be able to pick up a selection of popular titles from developers like Gameloft, Electronic Arts, Rovio, runtastic and Full Fat for just 25 cents over the next five days.

Seems like most of the 25 cents sales are focused on the games.
Angry bird space premium, NFL 13, Asphalt 7 at 25 cents
runtastic pro also at 24 cents

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Found this list of 25 cents apps.

http://www.androidcentral.com/google-play-...-apps-open-post

This post has been edited by Kylin: Sep 27 2012, 12:21 AM
Kylin
post Sep 27 2012, 12:09 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 27 2012, 12:02 PM)
added.
playing asphalt 7.

stupid navigation bar at the bottom.

much better!

by the way this game keep asking to share score on fb after every match. so annoying.
but very fun^^
wonder those generic usb gamepad can be used to play this or not.
so far only know that ps3 controller works even without root.
Kylin
post Sep 27 2012, 02:30 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Sep 27 2012, 02:17 PM)
where can  we identify whether the sealed unit belongs to C80 or C90 set? is it stated on the box?
Stated at the box

At SSN there, this is a C60, June batch.
Image is picked randomly from Uncle G.

Kylin
post Sep 29 2012, 07:12 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Sep 29 2012, 04:32 PM)
I am thinking the same thing also. I just wonder if the extended warranty package is valid for Malaysia?
I went to Asus SC at lowyat and asked.
The staff said N7 is new here. They not yet decide about the extended warranty.

QUOTE(del85 @ Sep 29 2012, 07:01 PM)
Can someone here guide me to claim 25usd? Im using malaysia unit. How to setup google wallet? Address? Zip code? Anyone help me please...
Read the first page.
mtxx shared tons of info.
just plainly follow the guide
Kylin
post Oct 2 2012, 11:53 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Oct 2 2012, 11:47 AM)
eh, no more $0.25 promotion in Play Store meh?? hmm.gif can't see it on the store anymore. promotion finish?
yup promo finished.

Kylin
post Oct 3 2012, 09:57 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(iiam @ Oct 2 2012, 11:52 PM)
6 days after using Nexus 7, it freezes after playing Zombie Smash.
Had to 'on' and 'off' the tablet.

is it normal or anyone had their N7 freezes?  blink.gif
I think is normal if it freeze once in a while even sometimes windows also will be not responding.
Kylin
post Oct 12 2012, 10:44 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Oct 12 2012, 08:35 PM)
Hey guys,I just use my nexus 7 for 2 days and I got a dead pixel,can anyone help?
Within 7 days of purchase, return to the shop and ask for RMA.
or else ask Asus SC for RMA.

Asus has 30 days no dead pixel guarantee.

0.0558sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:54 PM