Whoa!! V2 already!! Congrats to all the new owners.
Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB
Sep 25 2012, 08:25 AM
1,748 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Whoa!! V2 already!! Congrats to all the new owners.
Oct 10 2012, 01:58 AM
I think that would mean EOL for the 8GB model. My guess is the 16GB will replace the 8GB and the 32GB will take up the 16GB's place and price.
Looks like 4.1.2 brings back landscape mode, but still no option to revert to the old tablet layout (without hacking dpi) with a single bar at the bottom for both navigation and status. I haven't received my 4.1.2 update either. It'll probably take some time. Even the AndroidPolice guys haven't received their updates yet. |
Oct 11 2012, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(E71s @ Oct 11 2012, 04:27 PM) Just wanted to ask about before buying the Nexus 7. The glass popping out issue shouldn't happen if you're buying a new unit now, unless the seller is selling you old stock (June or July batch) which is unlikely since Malaysia didn't even have Nexus 7 officially released in those months. It was a small inconsistency that only affected early adopters, same as the current issue with scratches on new iPhone5 models. Seriously Im considering the whether to get the Nexus 7 or to get the new Ipad,budget is not a constrain in fact I need something will be doing good for me to read slides and such. Ok there is actually one questions to ask,I have heard that some of the Nexus has some hardware manufacturing default,like the glass pops out at one side of the tab,the screen that breaks very easily.Wanted to ask,how frequent is that ? Anyone of the user here suffering from this issue ? As for your question on which to get, it totally depends on your needs and wants. You say budget is not an issue, but you still must realize that handset/tablet SoC/Chip technology is very young and is improving at crazy rate, like the Intel vs AMD wars in the late 90's, where the new top-of-the-line CPU you bought today would be outdated in 3 months (or less). If you can justify paying around $RM2000 for a brand new iPad (say if your job requires it or your employer is subsidizing), then by all means go for it. It's got a very rich ecosystem of applications, and is generally regarded as having the best screen in the business. If you can't justify spending that much on what's basically still considered a luxury item (face it, a laptop can still do most things a tablet can, and much more), then the Nexus 7 might be better value at half the price. It's still (by far) the best tablet on Android with regards to developer support. There's also the issue of size. Again, that's personal. The iPad's 10" might be better for image editing or drawing or certain professional apps (like DJ/Mixing software) and movies (though the aspect ratio is wrong), but the 7" and lighter weight of the Nexus 7 is better for one handed use. In my opinion, typing and gaming are more comfortable on the 7" form factor. In fact, I'd wager that 7" - 8" is probably the best size for gaming. The iPad is better for picture books and western comics, while the Nexus 7 is better for novels and manga, in my opinion. As for software, my opinion is that Android is a better operating system, but iOS is a better platform/ecosystem. You get far more control with Android, and performance of the latest 4.1 version is pretty darn good with the Nexus 7's hardware specs. Plus, being a certified Nexus device, you don't have to worry about Samsung putting it's TouchPiss or HTC putting its (non)Sense UI on the device. It's pure vanilla Android, and you'll get updates to the next version sooner than anyone else. With iOS, the operating system looks dated (like something from 5 years ago), but it's still got the most lucrative app market, so developers still show preference to iOS with regards to release dates. The other benefit of iDevices is that any app in the App Store is guaranteed to work on your device, since Apple doesn't have to contend with compatibility for hundreds of different devices like Google does with Android. So there you go. Get whatever fits your needs. In most cases, with regards to tablets, it's not a matter of what you can afford, but how much you're willing to afford. Imho, tablets still aren't as essential as smartphones or laptops, so you have to ask yourself how much you can justify spending on a non-essential good (unless your job actually depends on it, like some specific engineering on-site app or live midi-controller for music mixing, etc). My 2 cents. This post has been edited by G-17: Oct 11 2012, 05:25 PM |
Oct 13 2012, 07:16 AM
Ahah!! The famous "Set your update timer back to 1970 to force OTA" method? Totally forgot about that one. XD
Oct 13 2012, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(tcmean) I have tried to buy apps using my Google Play balance and it still works. So, do you guys that have your account that being hold up before receive the same email? Yeah, sometimes. Every now and then, Google Wallet will reject my purchases and I have to go into that web page (forgot, the link will be in the email they send you) to change details a bit. Problem with Google Account/Wallet is that it's very sensitive, and your address and name has to be EXACTLY the same as in your bank details, right down to where the commas are. It used to be f*cking irritating when I used a Malaysian (Maybank) debit card. I actually live in Singapore, but used my Malaysian card which had my old house (mom's house) address. In the Beginning, my road was "Jalan", but then suddenly Maybank decided to change it to "JLN", so Google got confused and suspended it until I changed the details. Another problem appeared later after a few weeks. ,Since I'm half-Indian, my name is usually <name> A/L <fathers name>in Malaysian I/C, but passport (international documents) don't have the A/L, for good reason. When I filled out the bank form in Maybank, I made sure not to include the A/L (following my passport), but a few months later, Maybank changed it automatically. So then Google got mindf*cked and changed my details to <name> Al <fathers name> without the slash between A and L, so now my name looks like some terrorist organization and it gets suspended again. I got really fed up and just used my Singapore credit card after that which is just my first name. No problems now. I blame the Malaysian banking system. First they change s/o to a/l and confuse the non-Malaysian international merchants, then they simply-simply go edit "Street" to "Jalan" to "JLN" .... Typical "Malaysia Boleh" attitude. >_> This post has been edited by G-17: Oct 13 2012, 11:08 AM |
Oct 14 2012, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 14 2012, 05:22 PM) Day dream...that only will happen when all Google service available here, what's taking so long. Faster open play store in more country can get more money ma. What the heck are they waiting for. Believe me, if it was up to Google, they would open the Play Store to the entire world since day 1. Sadly, the reality is very different. You have the movie studios, publishers, recording companies, regional distribution houses and censorship bodies of each individual country to deal with. One wrong move and they face massive lawsuits. Quickly open play store for movies. Even then you have some stupid governments to deal with. Great example would be Malaysia. Remember, this is a country where some idiot decided to ban Daredevil because it contained the word "devil" in it, thinking it would turn our youth into satanic worshipers. I think the VCD/DVD pirate warlords have a better chance of opening their own "Play-Play Movies" to sell pirated movies (since easy for local gangsters to bribe the local politicians) than Google opening an official legal Play Movies. That's the one thing that I prefer in iOS. It's easier to "cheat" Apple. You buy a iTunes gift card online, sign up with a US iTunes account (trust me, thousands of Malaysians have the same US address, which is probably some Starbucks somewhere) and buy everything with that US gift card. Even if Apple knows the location you're buying from, they won't stop you. Google on recently released Play Store cards, so I haven't tried that method yet for Android. |
Oct 15 2012, 07:35 PM
Just noticed something strange, and want to confirm if others have experienced this as well.
Now, after the 4.1.2 update (stock AOSP) a few days ago, if I turn the Nexus 7 off (not standby, but complete shutdown), plug it in and turn on the charger, it automatically boots up again. Before the update, if you turned it off and plugged it in, it would still remain off, just showing that big white battery icon. Unsure if this is a bug or feature. Not really a big deal since I've hardly ever turned it off, but it's just something I noticed out of the blue. |
Oct 15 2012, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 15 2012, 08:33 PM) Just test. Nope. No kids here, and I'm pretty sure I didn't press anything by accident. I can reproduce the situation as many times as I want, it's always the same result. It will turn on by itself the moment I press the wall switch where the adapter is plugged in.Shut down n plug charger. It doesn't boot by itself. Only show big white charging icon. U must have press the power button by accident Or got some pesky kid go play with ur tab Funny enough, I just noticed something new. If I turn on the wall switch first and then plug in the tablet (while off) it will charge while off just displaying that white battery icon. But if I plug it in and then turn on the wall switch, it boots up. Weird O_o? This post has been edited by G-17: Oct 15 2012, 09:39 PM |
Oct 17 2012, 09:17 PM
Funny. If anything, I find those 17+ threads about the Galaxy Nexus way more repetitive. All they do is talk about ROMS. You'd assume that GalNexus users spend more time flashing than actually using the phone
But yes, I agree that many of the questions here are just the same old crap, most of which could be answered if the posters actually bothered to read the first page. I was hoping there would be more talk about apps that worked well on the Nexus 7. Shame This post has been edited by G-17: Oct 17 2012, 09:18 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0333sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:25 AM |