Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

mADmAN
post Feb 16 2006, 02:29 AM

10,530 posts

the extractor is the most sensitive part in the engines breathing system. i wouldnt recommend ANY custom extractors no matter what they say. this is because if its wrong then ull end up with crappy power and be disappointed. stay away from them man...seriously. i would only recommend performance brands extractors or stock extractors... thats it.

as for the air filters... heres the thing....

open pod's advantage is that it sucks more air coz its open and able to suck from all over the place around it. while replacement elements in an airbox is restricted suction because it sucks air from one source which is the hose..

best solution would be to combine both... get an open pod, make a custom air box for it... and shove in many many many many (mebbe 2 or 3 big ones la) hoses into the air box from the front..... this should give massive amounts of air....and more importantly...massive amounts of COLD air.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 16 2006, 02:30 AM
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2006, 11:52 AM

10,530 posts

@kev da man
simpler yes, but heatshields only reduces the amount of hot air being sucked in...

the way i stated will ensure ONLY cold air is being sucked in. or at least whatever the air temp is outside. time consuming? errr...depends on how elaborate u make the box. u could always use those chrome windscreen sunshade thingies to make a heatshield + airbox (2 in 1) with those hoses. as for how messy it is...depends on the car actually...placement of airfilter, where to direct the hose etc etc

@r40s
extractors is not only length bro...the bends counts as well...so does the size n god knows what other sh!t. cant really remember coz i read this online a few years ago when i was doing some research on it. hence the reason i say its the most sensitive part.
mADmAN
post Sep 2 2006, 01:57 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Aug 31 2006, 08:29 PM)
JASMA certified exhausts are those approved street legal in Japan, so the sound should be quite low.
not necessarily low la bro.... i was using a jasma approved 5zigen border and it was friggin loud tongue.gif

Jasma is more like a Sirim for exhausts in Japan....thats it. they kinda make sure it keeps to the noise level (which im guessing they set the bar pretty high laugh.gif ) and also emissions standards. and of course quality control la.
mADmAN
post Jul 1 2010, 10:26 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(h8dementia @ Jun 29 2010, 04:05 AM)
like to ask a question here... what is the best muffler to used for lancet 2.0gt.. not too loud and give a good bass sound.. i changed my muffler recently.. 'cap ayam' brand.. tbh i just wanna see how it would perform for 'cap ayam' muffler.. but the sound too loud even in low rpm.. friends told me to get the greddy or hks muffler.. but i didnt know much bout mufflers.. any recommendations..? brand and price..?.. TQ
go check out the Mugen Twin Loop replicas... cheap and works well enough and pretty quiet with only a low bassy sound...

QUOTE(littledes @ Jul 1 2010, 08:43 PM)
hi bros, would like 2 know where can get the powerzone stuff at pj or kl area? thx a lot.
best place would be shah alam... at NS Performance Tuning Sdn Bhd
mADmAN
post Sep 30 2011, 10:58 PM

10,530 posts

anyone knows a place in PJ/Subang/Shah Alam that custom make a muffler?

as in the muffler itself..the internals etc... places ive went to so far dont do it.
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2011, 12:44 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Oct 1 2011, 08:43 PM)
Just get a another muffler, what's the point of repairing one?
i didnt say anything about repairing...i wanna make one from scratch with my specifications of the internals and dimensions etc...

and if i were to repair....the main point is that mine is ohlee spoon tongue.gif

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 1 2011, 09:00 PM)
Supercircuit in sunway, can ask for more steel wool than fibreglass so longer lasting for high heat application. can custom to ur specific dimension. price differs from car to car. I did mine there, paid deposit, waited 3 days for it and now very satisfied biggrin.gif
u seem to be a supporter of them eh?? heheheh....

anyway, any idea if they can custom make the pipes INSIDE the muffler based on my specifications? not too worried about the wool or fiber thingy....that one can settle later...main issue is the pipes inside and also if they can weld aluminium to steel.
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2011, 02:11 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 2 2011, 04:13 AM)
im just glad there is a shop actually custom make mufflers lol

yes, thats the reason why i custom in the first place, i needed the internal pipe to be straight 1.6" with sflow body muffler, there is none of this in the market ive gone to.

they cant weld alu to steel, only between steels. can try ur luck at velocity beside kin alignment, the shop custom make intake manifolds so could be the one u looking for

Added on October 2, 2011, 4:14 am

i will try find it, ill let u know when i do
thanks for the info... will drop by supercircuit when its time...how much did ur muffler cost anyway?.... and where in sunway they at? any landmarks etc? never been to their place before
mADmAN
post Oct 2 2011, 05:16 PM

10,530 posts

rm380 for ur muffler? hhhmmmm... looks like mine is gonna cost significantly more..

ok... thanks for the info
mADmAN
post Oct 12 2011, 03:32 PM

10,530 posts

wan TT? aiyah...Banshee not out of ICU...and even if its out.. need to run in the engine and retune...then only can rev kow kow hahahha
mADmAN
post Oct 12 2011, 04:09 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Oct 12 2011, 03:41 PM)
want to wait also caaaannnnnn...
confirm paling bising gila punya.. laugh.gif
well..with the newer higher compression... the exhaust is supposed to be louder brows.gif

imagine before this it was already very loud... wonder how loud the new setup is gonna be... this is gonna be.........interesting hehehhe

lucky i dont have high cams... otherwise.... brap brap brap brap brap brap

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Oct 12 2011, 04:11 PM
mADmAN
post Oct 12 2011, 06:04 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Oct 12 2011, 04:30 PM)
beli sudah..wei u still go for B20?
yup....need torque tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 7 2011, 10:34 PM

10,530 posts

id go with this one... further away from the main heatsource: the extractor

somemore now ur is exposed extractor liao..
mADmAN
post Nov 8 2011, 12:57 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 8 2011, 08:47 AM)
Did you see the one sifu drex did with the open pod in the bumper......
id like to see that.. .link pls...

is this similar to the AEM CAI setup for Civics?
mADmAN
post Nov 8 2011, 08:41 PM

10,530 posts

could always just copy the picture n host it up on imageshack or something tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 8 2011, 10:32 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 8 2011, 10:12 PM)
yeah i was right.. similar to AEM's CAI setup...

but i wonder if he has the "wet" setup like the AEM or the "dry" setup
mADmAN
post Nov 8 2011, 11:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 8 2011, 10:53 PM)
@madman,
dunno la. from d color of d filter, it mayb steel mesh / dry setup..lol...
the filter does not indicate a wet/dry setup....this does..

notice the sponge in the middle of the piping.... thats for wet setup...dry setup wont have it

*pic is from my friends car...

QUOTE(drexchan @ Nov 8 2011, 11:03 PM)
Copy my image and re-host it is called copyright infringement =P
copyright poodah... i have the right to copy laugh.gif

thanks for the pic biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Nov 8 2011, 11:39 PM
mADmAN
post Nov 9 2011, 06:44 PM

10,530 posts

so drex... everytime u wanna clean ur filter ur gonna have to remove the bumper i assume...
mADmAN
post Nov 10 2011, 02:48 PM

10,530 posts

unfortunately im the type that would clean my filter at every service or 10k intervals....
mADmAN
post Nov 11 2011, 03:13 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(drexchan @ Nov 11 2011, 12:09 AM)
It's stainless steel mesh.. not much dust can accumulate on it, anyway.
If I feel like cleaning it, I just flush it down from the top, through the rampipe... LOL!
my old stainless steel mesh drop in on my ex-kelisa could collect ALOT of dust surprisingly hahahahha

good idea about the flushing though.. didnt think about that...

anyway...wat brand filter is urs? i have plans on going stainless steel as well... but the Blitz SUS aint cheap sad.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 11 2011, 04:48 PM

10,530 posts

have u done any comparison between this and the Blitz SUS Stainless Steel filter?

0.0854sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:19 PM