Hi guys,
Seems like a lot of furniture is made of rubber wood when it is advertised as "solid timber"
Can anyone advise if this is good wood and do they have any problems?
Thanks!
Rubber wood
Rubber wood
Sep 17 2012, 07:47 PM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Hi guys,
Seems like a lot of furniture is made of rubber wood when it is advertised as "solid timber" Can anyone advise if this is good wood and do they have any problems? Thanks! |
Sep 17 2012, 09:01 PM
332 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Rubber wood is a semi-hard wood. Considered good quality and strong. However, as in all wood, there are different grades to them.
Sep 18 2012, 06:14 AM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Thank you for your response prop99. Most of these furniture are stained very dark brown so you really can't tell what it is! Well no one here has anything bad to say about it so I guess it is ok. Teak is much better but it is too yellow to me.....
QUOTE(prop99 @ Sep 17 2012, 09:01 PM) |
Sep 18 2012, 09:07 AM
332 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 18 2012, 06:14 AM) Thank you for your response prop99. Most of these furniture are stained very dark brown so you really can't tell what it is! Well no one here has anything bad to say about it so I guess it is ok. Teak is much better but it is too yellow to me..... Usually you can still see the grains if it is stain. Unless it is very dark where you cannot see anything then the build quality counts. |
Nov 26 2012, 12:46 AM
2,684 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Central Region |
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 18 2012, 06:14 AM) Thank you for your response prop99. Most of these furniture are stained very dark brown so you really can't tell what it is! Well no one here has anything bad to say about it so I guess it is ok. Teak is much better but it is too yellow to me..... check my sig if looking for teak chairs |
Nov 26 2012, 10:06 AM
51 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
my sifu said termite LOVE rubber wood. he advised me NEVER buy rubber wood furniture.
Nov 26 2012, 10:30 AM
334 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Rubber wood not good and easily pop up if get heated. Avoid rubber wood but if budget constrain then no choice
Nov 26 2012, 10:38 AM
3,852 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Nov 26 2012, 10:38 AM
Nov 26 2012, 11:10 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Now they even have durian wood
Nov 26 2012, 01:54 PM
51 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Nov 26 2012, 03:12 PM
334 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Nov 26 2012, 03:43 PM
3,348 posts Joined: May 2006 From: The Matrix |
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 17 2012, 07:47 PM) Hi guys, rubberwood is solid timber ma... is not like it is made of rubber... Seems like a lot of furniture is made of rubber wood when it is advertised as "solid timber" Can anyone advise if this is good wood and do they have any problems? Thanks! Added on November 26, 2012, 3:45 pm QUOTE(timelime @ Nov 26 2012, 01:54 PM) no.. they are much durable than rubberwood, medium hardwood class.. sort of like light red meranti class d.. very beautiful wood.. a bit reddish.. This post has been edited by xavi5567: Nov 26 2012, 03:45 PM |
Nov 26 2012, 06:44 PM
Nov 26 2012, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 26 2012, 06:44 PM) Hope so , but I don't own one so can't tell :-) yup last time was called chapchai... but now... durian wood got market liao... highly sort after by the picture frame industry, door, moulding etc... Last time when I buy wooden door, the uncle tools me the mix wood is cheaper, it include durian wood. This post has been edited by xavi5567: Nov 26 2012, 08:47 PM |
Nov 28 2012, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(xerox1234 @ Nov 26 2012, 03:12 PM) Proof me I am wrong. I was using rubber wood furniture b4 and the performance is not accepted. For now, I am not using any rubber wood furniture anymore. Maybe you bought he wrong wood or the seller would have mislead you. Rubberwood is a solid wood similar to other solid wood. Its more easily available here in Msia, hence its cheaper. It doesnt warp or crack.The only bad thing about rubber wood, it comes in smaller width because the nature of tree trunk, hence the pieces are layed together and glued to form a wood piece. You can see this by the surface color and cuttings. Its very obvious. http://www.cubicbath.com/blog/entry/oak-so...om-cabinet.html |
Nov 28 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 28 2012, 04:05 PM) Maybe you bought he wrong wood or the seller would have mislead you. Rubberwood is a solid wood similar to other solid wood. Its more easily available here in Msia, hence its cheaper. It doesnt warp or crack. How is Rubber wood against termites.The only bad thing about rubber wood, it comes in smaller width because the nature of tree trunk, hence the pieces are layed together and glued to form a wood piece. You can see this by the surface color and cuttings. Its very obvious. http://www.cubicbath.com/blog/entry/oak-so...om-cabinet.html |
Nov 28 2012, 04:55 PM
Nov 28 2012, 05:25 PM
Nov 28 2012, 07:22 PM
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:43 PM |