Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

mercury8400
post Nov 27 2012, 11:34 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Stomachpain @ Nov 27 2012, 11:23 PM)
calm down folks...
Well, I'm fine.
Try telling that to the anal Makiddo who attacked me for no reason whatsoever.
Don't know what he's so anal about? Like my working hours are his god damn concern!

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Nov 27 2012, 11:34 PM
mercury8400
post Nov 28 2012, 12:14 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 28 2012, 12:00 AM)
you tell people your pathetic working hours is norm which is not. You tried to manipulate him further by asking him not to seek further clarification. And you are the moron who trying to twist the fact just because you have a pathetic working life and think everyone should be like you, the norm. well the thing is, nobody is interested in your post since day 1, judging from all your previous post.
1. I told him. yes. NOT YOU. I did not tell you. But you feel the need to interfere. Why?

2. Where in my comments did i ask him not to seek further clarification? Kindly point out. I did not say those things. You did. again why?

3. I did not twist any facts. I certainly did not say i have a pathetic working life. You did. Why is it your concern, i still don't know. If you do not want to be like me, that's your problem. Calling me a moron and putting words in my mouth is NOT. It becomes a personal attack and like anyone being attacked I will strike back.

Seriously the more you talk, the more moronic you sound.
What you stated is a personal attack from the start and it continues.
But rest assured I will not back down. I never did.
Idiots like you should really see the light.
And what is this judging from all your previous post?
You keep track of all my previous post? Am I that important to you?
Or do you agree with my previous post and was still anal about it?
For Christ sake, move on. Get a life. If your life revolves around keeping scores of what people said, i feel for you.
You're just pathetic.
And you clearly shown that here, for all to see

Added on November 28, 2012, 12:16 am
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 28 2012, 12:01 AM)
I'm cool. it's no conflict. just exchanging opinions.
Calling someone a moron and twisting facts is not an exchange of opinion, its a personal attack.
Uncalled for and moronic is what you are.
Worst of all is keeping count of all the "previous post".
Seriously get a life, you pathetic little bugger.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Nov 28 2012, 12:17 AM
mercury8400
post Nov 28 2012, 01:09 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 28 2012, 12:21 AM)
haha. how irony for someone who do not have a life talking about having a life. you win.
Wow! Now you say i don't have life? You staling me or smtg? If yes, then you might have stalked the wrong person. Coz the last i checked, you were the ones keeping score of what everyone says in lowyatnet? No? I gave a reply to some forumer -again I stress NOT to YOU - and you feel the need to call my working hours "Pathetic"? I did not even comPlain about my working hours but somehow you seemed pissed about my pathetic working hours. Where is the logic in that? Why is my working hours your concern? And then you go on to claim smtg about my previous post? You keep track pf what everbody says? You have a scorecard? Seriously you need to get a new hobby man. And now it seems like you know me? You spend your free time stalking people in lowyatnet? If that is not pathetic i don't know what is!
mercury8400
post Nov 29 2012, 09:05 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 28 2012, 11:38 AM)
It's not easy to work in Big 4.

Partly I wan to earn the exchange rate in Singapore. The language we used is both English and Mandarin. English for writing and Mandarin for talking.

If you guys have any accts vacancy in Singapore, please let me know.

Thanks alot guys.
Why is it hard to work in Big 4 especially in SG?
They are perpetually hiring.
Last I heard from my intern, they hired everyone who applied in his class.
I think its KPMG.
Neway auditors are in short supply in SG.
I always thought those Big 4 would grab as many as they possibly can get their hands on since the turnover rate is quite high.
Unless, of course, your petty with this and that.
mercury8400
post Nov 30 2012, 07:33 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 30 2012, 08:18 AM)
I am not sure how easy to get a job in big 4. But it won't be as easy as you say. Unless u got connection.

To work in big four, u must not only be capable but u must be willing to work extreme long hours. And if ur luck isn't good and u have terrible managers, be prepared for a life in hell. If you are the type that hates rules and regulation to the extreme, big 4 is going to be a living hell. So that's why u see the turnover is very high.

I would say that most ppl aren't suitable for these kind of audit jobs. And being an auditor is like doing sales in a commercial company. U dun have to sell but ur salary will be measured against the audit fee that you are assigned on.

And you must know those bosses from audit firms are accounting based. Hence majority will be exteremely calculative. I have 1 boss that factor in my bonus into one of the many jobs that I have done during the year. Hence I so called burst the job. Then he can use this excuse to give me terrible increment.

My advise: only go for it if u are mentally prepared to endure extreme hardship. And make sure ur pr skill is good hehe...
Wait a minute...
Aren't you the one who said that your current company has a going concern and might bankrupt soon and you don't want to stick around for that to happen?
Aren't you the one who said that its difficult finding another job?

The Big 4 will be a good choice then.
As long as you're willing to work in teams that have crappy bosses, long hours and no one else wants to join, I don't foresee a reason that they would not want to hire you.

Afterall, you don't have much of a choice and at least a Big 4 on your CV looks better than trying to explain the unemployment gap in your CV

mercury8400
post Nov 30 2012, 11:33 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Nov 30 2012, 10:27 PM)
It's only for associate. For managers not applicable.

Added on November 30, 2012, 10:28 pm

Not really.
Managers also depends on the company and team.
My ex is also a manager for one of the big 4 and she works crazy hours too.
She believes in leading by example, something I don't believe in.
mercury8400
post Dec 8 2012, 01:17 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(dreamworker @ Dec 8 2012, 12:36 AM)
I've been job hunting for almost 1.5 months, but still no any response.  sad.gif
why so difficult to find a job in sg now  cry.gif
Of course lar.
You're foreigner leh.
By the same token you think its easy for bangla fresh grad to get an entree level job in Malaysia or not?
mercury8400
post Dec 8 2012, 11:23 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Dec 8 2012, 08:33 AM)
We have paid our dues to enjoy the privilege. The privileges also come with new set of unwelcome headaches. It's never ending but that is what makes it interesting.

In Jan 2013, the parliament will table the population study. I am cautiously optimistic that the findings will be welcoming for job seekers. Good luck
Why cautiously optimistic?
PM Lee has already stated that the influx of foreigners will be stemmed and companies will just have to learn to live with the current labour population in SG.
Care to share smtg you know but we don't?

mercury8400
post Dec 16 2012, 03:39 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Dec 16 2012, 07:43 AM)
Well said....with that I've been laid off.....31/12/12 will be my last day!!!
looking on the bright side, you won't be the only one....many more will join you. Lol!

mercury8400
post Dec 29 2012, 08:26 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Dec 27 2012, 11:54 PM)
Will be starting work at Singapore in January 2013, any good advices guys, so that I'm prepared for whats coming?
Prepare to squeeze into the MRT or bus (unless you drive), prepare to be bored to death if you don't want to leave the island and prepare to line up everywhere you go (be it for food, pay bills, etc). Sometimes quite sickening. But I'm not complaining.
mercury8400
post Jan 6 2013, 12:52 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 6 2013, 09:18 AM)
http://business.asiaone.com/A1Business/Gen...912-371194.html biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on January 6, 2013, 9:21 am
Sakae Sushi offering $3k for dishwashers, so fresh grad with degree should ask for more than that, no?

In all seriousness though, as a foreigner looking for a fresh grad job, do you have any particular skills, education, etc that puts you above the other tens of thousands of fresh grads looking for job? If no then don't expect anything just take whatever you're offered to get a foot here first lor.
No lor. That is not the general view of ft freshie from malaysia. They think they can just waltz into any org and demand this and that like in malaysia without realising that they are he foreigner.
mercury8400
post Jan 13 2013, 09:10 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 11 2013, 11:58 PM)
Why? The objective is to lower the HDB selling price and the rental right?

It should be a good news for  first  self stay HDB purchase but bad news for speculator. 

I am not a finance guy so I have a question. Say one guy buy a condo at high price with 90% loan maximum term. When these measure reach full effect the  condo valuation drop below outstanding loan amount. Will Sg bank force the guy to pay for difference?  If yes, will those who got burn and over strech dump these unit at lower price?

Seperate piece of news, Johor is planning to increase the housing selling price limit for non local to RM 1mil.
Its not a good news even for 1st property self-stay HDB pruchase for PR coz of the 5% additional buyers stamp duty lor(previously no such rule).
This effectively means that if you buy a S$500k HDB, you pay on top of the additional COV, an additional S$25k for the additional stamp duty.
This makes it out of reach for many PRs

mercury8400
post Jan 17 2013, 05:22 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 17 2013, 04:27 PM)
yes u can stay in johor and travel everyday if u dun mind the traffic at all.
there is no socso or PCB...CPF (singapore version of EPF) is only applicable if u are PR or Singaporean....so u get the full 5k (unless employer cpf is encashed to you then u get more than 5k)
Must provision some amount for income tax.
It is not deducted from yr salary.

mercury8400
post Jan 20 2013, 01:00 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 19 2013, 09:51 PM)
RM2:S$1 will set me thinking... but my ultimate goal is an early retirement back to Malaysia when I'm 40-45.
Hey! Same here.
I dread clocking in to work at 9-6 esp when i'm at age 40-45.
Not that i have a problem (or dislike) with my work but I just don't see myself clocking in the office while having to withstand superiors yelling at me at age 40-45. I'll probably think i'm too old for that
When I'm 40-45, hopefully I'll have enough savings and passive income to sustain my lifestyle and I'll probably do something at my own leisurely time like property sales agent or something where nobody's going to yell at you and you don't have a fixed timing. Sounds great!

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 20 2013, 01:00 PM
mercury8400
post Jan 20 2013, 03:40 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 20 2013, 03:29 PM)
2 condos in Singapore will yield around S$3-4K net monthly income that can be repatriated back to MY... assuming both are rented out and one is fully paid up (the other is still on loan and instalments/expenses/tax are paid by the rental).

That's around RM8-9K per month, and you still have the benefit of capital appreciation. RM8-9K is more than enough to have a pretty good life in places like Ipoh (ie. outside KL and assuming you already have a house there), pay the instalment for an Mitsubishi Evo X (XII or XIII by that time) and pay the instalment for a condo in KLCC/Sentral area.

Any income from the part time work you do, interest from FDs, dividends from shares will be a bonus... use it to pay up the property loans faster.

After that, all you have to do is pick some good times/ages (like 50, 60, 70 etc) to liquidate the condos and share portfolios one by one and live like a king in your old age. If you want to leave the assets for your family, then too bad... just live off the passive income.
Ya!
That is precisely my plan!
That's why I'm slaving hard now.

For me I wish to have just 1 condo in SG (can't afford 2) fully paid off which will yield me something like S$3-4K nett per month which is something like RM7-10k.
Then there's 2 properties in Malaysia fully paid-off, one I live in and another one rented out at RM 3k per month nett which would conservatively give me total rental income of something like RM10k per month.
Plus stock investment (i only invest in high yielding REITS or dividend counter) which would give me some extra money like RM 1-2k per month. On a nett-nett basis I'm taking home something like RM11k - 12k which would be enough to maintain my lifestyle. Besides I will still work as a property agent or sometjing like that which will give me some potential upside as well.

Life will be great!

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 20 2013, 03:41 PM
mercury8400
post Jan 23 2013, 04:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 23 2013, 11:54 AM)
Just had a HR consultant brainwashing session yesterday. Was basically told how good HR in SG has been treating us. They gave us some tables for MNC salaries around the globe. I jotted down SG and MY of course, and CH because it's interesting that managerial salaries in China have largely caught up with SG, and surpassed MY across the board long ago.

Also quite interesting that they don't have the scales for Senior Directors and above in Malaysia... because there aren't many jobs at these levels there. So, in terms opportunities... testament to what most people have said in this forum.

[attachmentid=3276434]
While the table serves as a guide, one must also take into consideration the tax rates, cost of living, and other misc cost including emotional cost like being away from your family.
mercury8400
post Jan 24 2013, 10:22 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Jan 24 2013, 09:49 PM)
I do not think msia education is a total failure, n I do not think sg education is the best either. We grew up studying recieving msia education. Do we lose out to the sgporeans? , don't think so. We grew learning how to juggle all 3 languages and we turned out just fine. Though saying that, I really do think that sending kids to reputable non Malaysia university is advisable and it is also my only regret. Having said that, sg schools on the other hand provide good quality education till The neglect or rather pay less attention to soft skills and other good qualities like courtesy, humble, respect and stuff which I think n of all, but many Singaporeans lack in.
I will definately send my children to malaysian school if given the choice.
I think malaysia education for us nons are better than SG, if you can manage your kids well.
The things i learn in m'sia is alot more than sg in terms of survival and real life applicable skills and mental preparation for the future mostly on the mentality side

like how we, the nons, fare and compete even though the playing field is not level. Like how despite being discriminated against, spat at and chew up, we still emerge better by working harder.
like how we, the nons, are taught in the hard way that the world is unfair, uncaring, racist and cold. The only way to survive and be come up is to have a siege mentality and hardwork.
like how we take everything anyone says with a pinch of salt and suspicion and we, unlike our sg counterpart, are not easily duped be it by the gov or other people.

mercury8400
post Jan 25 2013, 03:15 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(RecruitingTheBest @ Jan 25 2013, 09:32 AM)
One problem that i've observed with Msians from local unis is that they are always in a frog inside the tempurung style mentality. They keep thinking the world is the tempurung, they have this mentality: "I know everything inside the tempurung better than other frogs inside the tempurung so I should be able to compete with other people outisde the tempurung."

While there are certainly some areas for improvement in the SG education system, it is definitely far more advanced than Msia's, speaking from experience.

Not sure if you have really experienced or have the knowledge to compare SG and MY's education system but if you have not this is the exact tempurung style thinking that we Msians should avoid. If we don't have the knowledge to compare, we try not to make concluding remarks.

Also the problem with the Msian language. if you're chinese you know a chinese dialect, english and Malay. Problem with this is you'll probably be a Jack of all languages and a master of none. A student with excellent English results in Msia does not equals to having excellent English language skills in another country.

Sharing my two cents. I've seen many first class honours and top Msia students from local universitites became the bottomline of group interviews at MNCs in SG, AU and even HK.
I think you're missing the point.
Nobody is disputing the quality of subject curriculum in SG.
It is afterall one of the best in the region.
What i'm saying is apart from subject curriculum, the students in SG fare badly in things like soft skills, street smarts, innovativeness and resourcefulness. I also realise SG students have very limited ability to improvise in a certain situation, skills which malaysian nons pick up outside class room.

Afterall i strongly feel that non class room soft skills like those i mentioned are more important than formal technical education in the working world. I mean you can teach those things like technical proficiency but you cannot teach some one to be street smart, resourcefulness, innovativeness etc. those you pick up through your situation and surrounding
mercury8400
post Jan 29 2013, 10:09 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jan 29 2013, 09:51 PM)
The SG Govt will continue to welcome foreigner. They have just published the White Paper on Population to be tabled in Parliament. In the paper,  the SG Govt has a target population of 6.6 to 6.9mil population with almost 30% of non-resident composition. Following this, the the updated Land Use Plan will be released by end of the week.
Nah, realistically I don't think that is do-able.
I believe it wayang only.
Firstly I don't think SG has the infrastructure in place to cope with 7 million people.
Secondly, PAP knows the general, very strong ill feeling of Singaporeans towards foreigners. The Punggol by-election is a wake up call for them.
Thridly Singapore cannot create that many jobs for both foreigners and singaporeans. And if that happens, the ill feelings of Singaporeans towards foreigners will be intensified

mercury8400
post Jan 29 2013, 11:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jan 29 2013, 10:54 PM)
Housing, infrastructure and transport are progressively ramped up to support the growing population. Well, at least empirically. On the ground you cant control the general resentment, and this will continue especially amongst the younger ones. Putting things into perspective, the influx has catalyzed cohesion among different races in Singapore and averted the much feared racial tension.

New York is about the size of SG (excl the water catchment) and accommodates 8mil people. It is definitely doable with the verticals.
No.
1. far from fostering cohesion among the different races in SG, the influx of foreigners in SG has stoked the anger, fear and discontent of Singaporeans towards foreigners creating a "us vs them" mentality. Foreigners are blamed for a host of issues including stealing jobs from locals to acting brutish in public.
2. You forget that majority 8 million odd people don't live in new york. A large portion of them live in neighbouring New Jersey but work in New York. There is a difference. Majority of Singaporeans don't/can't/won't live in Johor and work in Singapore

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2694sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:50 PM