8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

TSdeodorant
post Oct 23 2012, 08:36 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Oct 22 2012, 05:41 PM)
is it legal to do freelance as a permit holder in Singapore?

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 23 2012, 07:46 PM)
Yes.

Yes your head. Whether somebody wants to take the risk or not is up to them, but you shouldn't be telling them "yes it's legal" when in fact is is not.
TSdeodorant
post Oct 24 2012, 08:20 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 23 2012, 08:40 PM)
My bad. Sorry about that. I guess being civil is in short supply.

You were telling that guy "go ahead, it's legal" when in fact it could possibly get him kicked out of SG, and you're calling me out for not being polite? hmm.gif

Anyways, my colleague just got his PR approved after working 1 year here, so ... PR applications aren't totally frozen. Granted, he is angmoh from UK so perhaps that also factors in to the approval *shrug*
TSdeodorant
post Oct 24 2012, 09:11 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 24 2012, 08:35 AM)
Perhaps the Alvin and Vivian method could work.

So can we expect to see another sex blog springing up soon? brows.gif ... then you can talk about this firefly thing during all the ensuing print/radio/whatever interviews thumbup.gif
TSdeodorant
post Oct 25 2012, 10:41 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(happyhappyhappy @ Oct 25 2012, 12:24 AM)
Wao, this sounds very encouraging.. Seriously JB in this serious safety problem?

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Oct 25 2012, 10:02 AM)
OBJECTION  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  JB not that bad la..la.. like any other cities Penang, KL, or even S'pore just need to know, which area and where (high risk spot) to avoid lo..

My fiancee comes from JB. Every time we go to visit her parents, they without fail remind us of "how dangerous JB is compared to SG." Oh, and their house in Pelangi got burgled twice over the years, so some/many long-term JB residents themselves think JB is dangerous. The main problem, IMO, is that because SG is so safe, you might let your guard down when back in JB and then get shafted for it.
TSdeodorant
post Oct 30 2012, 08:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(gseed87 @ Oct 30 2012, 12:42 AM)
have you receive IPA already?

He mentioned that his EP got rejected, therefore he wouldn't have received his In Principal Approval.
TSdeodorant
post Oct 30 2012, 10:51 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(twentyfour24 @ Oct 30 2012, 07:50 PM)
They help me to apply EP instead of S Pass but the salary that they offer me is fall under EP category.

uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ... are you saying that the salary you're getting offered is below EP requirement of $3k? hmm.gif
TSdeodorant
post Nov 1 2012, 11:36 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(iamsovain @ Nov 1 2012, 10:54 AM)
izzit true P1 pass easier to get PR? i just got my letter to go MOM apply for the card, and i heard abt P1 easy to get PR

Logically speaking, yes, right? P1 EP means you already earning $8k/month, which implies you are more desireable due to your skillset/experience/capability/whatever.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 1 2012, 02:38 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(iamsovain @ Nov 1 2012, 01:13 PM)
oh ok then. I will work for 6 mths first then only apply. thanks !

you do know that there are 3 levels of EP, right?

It's P1, P2 and Q: http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

Do you fit into the P1 category?
TSdeodorant
post Nov 2 2012, 03:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Nov 2 2012, 11:59 AM)
Never know written in Malay would be accepted.

Malay is one of the national languages of singapore leh. some more the national anthem is in Malay. MAJULAHHHHHHH SINGAPURA!
TSdeodorant
post Nov 3 2012, 11:06 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Nov 2 2012, 08:47 PM)
any place to recommend in JB (close to Sg) for seafood and beach area? danga bay?

danga bay not really a "beach," more like a commercial waterfront. i'd guess if u want beach you'd have to go all the way to desaru?
TSdeodorant
post Nov 3 2012, 06:10 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Decided to go batam instead hehe
@deodorant, nice photos there. part time banker, part time photog? thumbup.gif

batam nice mer? let us know what resort you went to. not too long ago i went Haris, the place quite run down liao, beach also not nice, only the spa for massage still boleh tahan. photog = hobby and a way to hopefully make some side income in the future lol.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 3 2012, 11:59 AM)
part time stomper also

ok confirm you are the one who go and stomp on my behalf liao hmm.gif ...
TSdeodorant
post Nov 6 2012, 11:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(realventis @ Nov 6 2012, 10:48 PM)
Ermm..i heard like tat also..anyway anyone have any idea why there exists such regulations? What purposes to have such regulations at the first place?

It's similar to why those common worker WP's are not allowed to get pregnant or marry a SC or SPR - the government doesn't want them to set up long term in SG. To a large extent, the government is categorizing us FT's into different levels of desirability.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 9 2012, 08:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 8 2012, 10:13 PM)
No Oil & Gas openings ?  brows.gif
Item No 4 (casino), got opening for roulette dealer ?  rclxm9.gif

If O&G I also want. Only need to work 12 days a month, other days can gym and badminton and starbucks so nice wub.gif ...

QUOTE(wenching87 @ Nov 8 2012, 10:42 PM)
Malaysia need u all.. pls come back.. haha

If Malaysia can offer me 70-80% (after conversion) of my current salary then I will go back. Otherwise I will be back for election biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Nov 11 2012, 07:10 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fenster_84 @ Nov 11 2012, 11:47 AM)
Hi guys, can you share some experience on relocating to SG? Im going there next week and will bring my whole desktop rig and luggage. Do I need to go through red lane at customs and declare? All my stuff are more than three months old but I dont have any receipts as supporting documents. Appreciate your advice. TQ

Can't help you, all my stuff was relocated by a relocation service separately from my entry into SG.

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 11 2012, 06:46 PM)
Hey, so is there going to be a gathering for the malaysian's working here in singapore anytime soon? I think I've only met everyone once and I'm pretty sure there are alot of new faces.

PM Lester1987 or MacKiddo, they are the main taikors who arrange any meet-ups.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 13 2012, 11:48 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Nov 13 2012, 11:22 AM)
Dude, I only spend roughly 1.5k including food, tele, housing rental and entertainment (every saturday and sunday only). And I am having a good life here

"Good Life" means different things to different people lor. Some people are satisfied with food court kopi. Others won't consider themselves having a good life unless they are having starbucks, going to gym, playing badminton, etc every day icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Nov 13 2012, 05:54 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Nov 13 2012, 01:24 PM)
I still can have starbucks or carls junior every weekend...no issue

Like I said, that is a "good life" to you, but it would not be a "good life" to other people with more ... luxurious requirements/tastes.

Anyway guys, I remember this was asked before but I wasn't paying attention and I forgot what the answer was liao. When applying PR, documents required according to ICA are:

(g) Testimonials from previous employer stating the nature and duration of employment and also the last drawn basic salary;

Did any of you guys give this testimonial? Seems damn mahfan to go and ask ex-boss to write a letter ...
TSdeodorant
post Nov 14 2012, 11:31 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 14 2012, 09:24 AM)
is not compulsary.
did not submit for my application, still approve  rolleyes.gif

ooh, thanks. won't bother with it then.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 14 2012, 05:45 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mophisto @ Nov 14 2012, 05:36 PM)
i read and read and read, why you all keep talking about eating economy rice but never mention about home cooking?
Is it not an option down there? care to enlighten me? If i have a family will it make sense then?

Majority of people in this thread are young single chaps, or young couples with no kids. For us, it's often "cheaper" to just eat economy rice than to spend an hour cooking and washing up every day.

Added on November 14, 2012, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(realventis @ Nov 14 2012, 05:42 PM)
With the IPA we still can work in SIngapore while waiting for the E-Pass or S-pass to be approved right?

Yes.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Nov 14 2012, 05:47 PM
TSdeodorant
post Nov 15 2012, 06:07 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:55 PM)
Does anyone know if one can hold more than 1 PR-ship? Eg Singapore and Australia?

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 15 2012, 01:39 PM)
Singapore PR ship requires you to work 3 years within 5 years in Singapore. Which means if you're out of Singapore, or not employed under Singapore for more than 4 years in a row, your PR-ship may be revoke.

^
to add on to that, Aussie PR also requires 3 (or maybe 2? dunno) years out of 5. So the problem is not so much getting the PR, the problem is maintaining it.

QUOTE(yoloman @ Nov 15 2012, 02:47 PM)
My wife got a very good offer there and got offered double the salary in SGD. Well she have a good degree.

Depends on what this "double the salary" figure is. Because you have to factor in the worst case scenario that you are unable to find a job for the medium term (3-6 months) then can your wife salary support all 3 of you? For example, assuming you want to rent an entire HDB unit (cos you already one family), then your basic expenses will be easily $4k-$5k a month.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 16 2012, 10:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Nov 16 2012, 09:31 PM)

The debate/discussion here is about working in Singapore what doh.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled