Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

T3N5AI
post Jan 24 2013, 09:49 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 24 2013, 04:15 PM)
Friendships with local can't be bad right? Unless you never spend quality time with your kids since young, else they pick up from their family members more than their teacher and freinds at school. Lingo and school are just small part of it. Upbringing is right at home.

Kids have to learn useful stuff, I don't think learning math and science in BM will do any good. I prefer to retire in MY but kids should freely go to any place that provide the best oppurtunity to them. They have to decide which IC they want to keep by then.
I do not think msia education is a total failure, n I do not think sg education is the best either. We grew up studying recieving msia education. Do we lose out to the sgporeans? , don't think so. We grew learning how to juggle all 3 languages and we turned out just fine. Though saying that, I really do think that sending kids to reputable non Malaysia university is advisable and it is also my only regret. Having said that, sg schools on the other hand provide good quality education till The neglect or rather pay less attention to soft skills and other good qualities like courtesy, humble, respect and stuff which I think n of all, but many Singaporeans lack in.
T3N5AI
post Jan 25 2013, 01:33 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 24 2013, 11:43 PM)
If you don't mind me asking, when were you last in primary or secondary school? And are you talking about SRK/SMK (Sekolah Kebangsaan) or SRJK/SMJK (Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan) or SMP (Persendirian)?

If you were a product of the SK, SMKs in the 80s and early 90s like me... you are right. We turned out okay, effectively multi-lingual, good English and reasonable maths & science. But that's when the Chinese and Indian teachers were still around. When there were still non-Malay principals in SKs.

In the mid 80s to early 90s, entire generations of Chinese and Indian teachers retired (those who went to Teacher Training, rather than Maktab Perguruan...). They were replaced entirely by ustazs and ninjas. By the late 90s... you can hardly find a non-Malay teacher in any of the SKs. Only the La Salle, ACS, convent, Methodist schools etc still had non-Malay principals. By now... the teaching faculty is virtually fully mono-racial. 99% of the teachers in SKs can't speak a damn sentence in English (not the kind that normal people can understand anyway). Religion and race permeates all aspects of the SK, despite the fact that there's still 10-30% of students who are non-Muslim, non-Malay and have parents who do not consider themselves to be subservient to tuans.

The SJK Cina are better, not in small part to the donations of Chinese businesses and public... since the entire system of a thousand or so SJK schools in Malaysia receive more or less the same amount of govt ie. tax funding as a SINGLE mono-racial sekolah berasrama penuh or maktab MARA... Tax that barring PETRONAS, the Chinese pay 90% of (according to Mahathir, ya... I'm not making this shit up). The majority of the teachers are Chinese. Many are not very well trained, but they are aware that their job is to teach language, science and math, not indoctrinate or practice their religion or display their racial or linguistic 'maruah'.

The SJK Tamil are... sigh... I pity those guys. Rock and a hard place.
To be honest, my primary school times was bumpy. I was being penalized by teachers whom were mostly kids fresh from the teachers training academy, at best, 22 or 23 years old. This actually happened because at 1 time I actually challenged my teacher on an exam question, which my teacher refuse to accept my answer even though I'm correct.
Caning during primary school, wad unavoidable for a hyperactive kid like me. Sooner or later, I grew accustomed to it. Do u really think a 22 or 23 year old girl is actually matured enough to handle a class of 40? Think again. Thus usually the case is that some kids will be neglected. But this is part and parcel of growing up, society is tough. And of course, I went to a chinese primary school.

Secondary, I went to smk damansara. Fortunately, the school actually has a fair share of chinese, being in the centre of pj. English was actually part of our teaching medium although the syllybus was totally in malay. Point is to send ur kids to the right school. If u r sending ur kids to mara, dun expect ur kids to be taught in english. I dun mean to be a bit racist but I'm speaking the truth. Its even worse for asrama students. My friend use to tell me that he is forced to stay fit coz of the constant beatings and bullying he gets in the asrama. And yes, if u have friends in such schools, ask them fir verification, they are playing the racial game in the asrama. And yes, I was born in 1985. And yes, although I did not went through ovrseas education and land myself in a high paying job, I do have friends who made their way all the way to oxford and cambridge phd level and they are all part if this system.
T3N5AI
post Jan 30 2013, 01:51 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 29 2013, 03:01 PM)
Congrats and welcome to the club. The company is supposed to give you the IPA (in principal approval) letter from MOM (ministry of manpower). You print this and enter SG (do note that you still need to fill up immigration white card). Once in SG, do medical check up if necessary, then follow the instructions on the IPA to schedule the completion of formalities to get your EP card issued by MOM.

Also, PM your contact number/details to MacKiddo and ask him to add you to "the list." There's about 20 of us who meet up fairly regularly to do BBQ's, TCSS, yumcha, etc etc.
PM yeahs4.1, this one is Boon Lay kaki and I think also looking for housemates.
Wow. Didn't know that theres such a group in sg
T3N5AI
post Jan 30 2013, 01:54 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2013, 02:01 AM)
Yes and no, I suppose. The company applies for a specific type of pass (WP, SPass, EP). In the application, the company can opt to tell MOM to "grant the lower pass if higher pass unsuccessful." Example the company could try to apply EP for employee, MOM might say eh EP cannot but I give SPass lah. But the company needs to initiate in the first place.
As a fresh grad, maybe not. As a degree holder with FIVE years experience like yourself, you should be looking at way higher than 3k which is like ... fresh grad pay hmm.gif
Half the taikors posting here like seantang, mackiddo, keelim, mercury are elites earning 15-25k+++ monthly. Don't assume that Malaysians are universally low paid in SG because of your ONE friend. Although I understand how you feel cos I am low paid bank clerk as well.
Wah. U ppl really taiko standard. I dun think these ppl are actually from the engineering sector though. Probably finance or oil and gas.
T3N5AI
post Jan 30 2013, 04:31 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 30 2013, 04:23 PM)
tats what he said, when i say I wana join them, they told me my gender don't fit their requirements.  mad.gif
Guess mostly are batangs. If its da case, its understandable. Hang out with batangs all da time is bad for health, must eat some meat for a balance diet. I'm sure if u brought a gal to da gathering, they would welcome u with open arms. Lol
T3N5AI
post Jan 31 2013, 08:33 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 31 2013, 07:55 PM)
Risk and return.

SG private property is as close to risk free as you can get, with the sole risk factor being the govt not allowing foreigners and non-residents to buy.

For a salary man to dump RM500K into a business in Malaysia which he doesn't run on a daily basis, doesn't know the industry nor the players etc... all I can say is come talk to me. I can set you up as an investor in any number of businesses in Malaysia. Anything you want, I can set you up. Just bring the cash, and my associates will run the business profitably for you.
Wow, so good.

Maybe u can gimme some advice then.

I just arrived in sg for 1 month, sorta stabilized my life, got my 1st paycheck, which isn't much. I was thinking of some investment or sorts. I probably would have 1k to set back for investment every month. What do u think I should do with that? I know its little, but everything started small rite. Tq.

0.0466sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:03 AM