Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
JohnJon82
Feb 6 2013, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(ameil @ Feb 6 2013, 01:40 PM) Noted on that. Thanks for the info. One more question, what's the utilities bill like? What are the normal amount for a house let say 4 people.. Just want to gauge the amount so when the landlord wants to include in the rent, I can know whether he/she is charging me a reasonable amount.. My current one 100-120+ for water and electric. 4RM HDB, 5 ppl, no aircon, normal usage. Previous ah gong money at condo can whack up to 400, full aircon, full dryer, full water heater even washing hand or dishes, not-my-money-who-care usage. About 28 cents per kwh, not that exp, you can do your own calculation to estimate how much you use. This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Feb 6 2013, 02:51 PM
JohnJon82
Feb 8 2013, 10:52 AM
For those travelling through causeway and 2nd link: Live car traffic image but only show the beginning and end of checkpoint. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem.../woodlands.htmlFatt Choi ah!!!
JohnJon82
Feb 16 2013, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Feb 16 2013, 12:03 PM) ok. then its up to the company on whether they opt to give u the em'er portion for cpf? You mean not PR and employer pay their share as allowance to you? Got such thing one? So nice meh the boss now...
JohnJon82
Feb 17 2013, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 16 2013, 10:57 PM) It's possibly pretty common among big MNC's. Fair to all staff mah. I see I see, good news.
JohnJon82
Feb 21 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(7up @ Feb 21 2013, 10:52 AM) anyone know what is the cheapest way to make calls to Malaysia? Any good calling cards etc? IDD Direct, 5+ SGD per month, call oversea = local call rate. I heard prepaid package is very cheap for calling oversea. I using Skype. foc to hp with 3G/wifi, or skype package, few euro per month to call Malaysia landline.
JohnJon82
Feb 21 2013, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 21 2013, 05:44 PM) sgd 1 - rm 2.51 1 gbp - sgd 1.88 sgd 1 - rm 2.51 - Wah where to change?
JohnJon82
Feb 22 2013, 03:57 PM
JohnJon82
Feb 23 2013, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(ameil @ Feb 23 2013, 12:24 PM) Hi everyone... I will be heading to Singapore next Monday for my job... (was supposed to start on the 1st March but they want me to start early.. =(..) My EP have been approved... So how many days I should write down in the white card? After I get the EP, the next time do I need to queue at the imigresen or they have this fast lane for citizen/pr/work permit holder? White card just fill until the day you get your EP, tell them lo if they ask. Not so stringent. Ya you can use the fast lane with EP, but sometime the fast lane more crowded than the other lane
JohnJon82
Feb 26 2013, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(newaisa @ Feb 25 2013, 10:46 PM) Hi all, If my PR application got rejected, how will I be able to find out the reason? Should I call them up or wait for letter? I just checked online and found out the application was rejected. Kindly advise, thanks. How long would I have to wait in order to re-apply again? Mind to tell your working experience in SG, qualification and job title for reference next time?
JohnJon82
Feb 26 2013, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(Danielle Lav @ Feb 26 2013, 03:56 PM) Actually, I'm just worried about the pass that I'm holding right now. Currently, I'm EP Q1 but I have the intention to look for other jobs. Apparently, I'm worry the pass issue as I'm not sure whether it will affect my life in SG. Damn, hopefully they reduce the car downpayment in few years time.. got the intention to buy car but the COE  Apply for PEP? Personal EP, no need to tie to any company. But the PEP requirement just went up, last time is a lot easier.
JohnJon82
Feb 26 2013, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 26 2013, 04:53 PM) She already said she is Q1 EP, how to apply for PEP?  O... My ex-colleague applied for PEP when he still with EP in old office before he jump ship to another one. Recently he complained requirement went up but I never find out the numbers, went up by so much  His pay that time around Q1 range now. Everything so hard now.
JohnJon82
Feb 27 2013, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 27 2013, 10:41 AM) just curious is PR status renewed when Re-entry permit is renewed ??? there was an error when generating then couldnt save...now cant get softcopy of the REP.... can help ? Yes. I don't think PR has expiry date, as long as you stay in SG, forever, and don't go out for holiday or work. REP allow you to travel out and keep the PR only. Call ICA, or don't bother. They never ask about the paper so far. You get to reprint new REP next time you change your passport and update in the website.
JohnJon82
Mar 1 2013, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(di3hard @ Mar 1 2013, 04:49 PM) I spent RM500 to book last minute ticket to come SG interview from penang. Even take unpaid leave to come interview. 1 month later, phfff, here I am. Earning same figure as i earn in Msia. Only in SGD rather than RM. Thought SG salary = 1.XX MY salary in figure then worth to come? This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Mar 1 2013, 06:08 PM
JohnJon82
Mar 2 2013, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 2 2013, 12:38 PM) Singaporeans are antagonistic towards blue collar labourers not because they want their jobs, but because they don't want them in their MRTs, buses, shopping in their shopping malls, eating in their food courts and basically living in their community space. They want them to be seen (do the donkey work) but not heard. They are also antagonistic towards PMETs because of the perception they compete for the same jobs, same facilities (cars, property etc). To a certain extent, of course we do, but they conveniently ignore the fact that if we weren't here, those PMET jobs that we have, wont be here as well. It's not as if we all weren't here, all our employers would simply stay put and hire only Singaporeans. They'd simply invest somewhere else. Send them back to the dorms and lock them in after working. Work permit meant to work here, but not to go out on the streets. Need to apply another permit to go out. The most ideal scenario some want. Soon there will be COW, certificate of walking on the street. The street are not big enough for all anymore. QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 2 2013, 05:23 PM) Feel great empathy towards them. We are the same in some sense.