8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

Mackiddo
post Feb 4 2013, 07:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Mophisto @ Feb 4 2013, 03:25 PM)
http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...otorcycles.html

hi hi, can advice me ah?

le me want to move in de, driving a car load of items for my rental HDB.  if the car never goes in singapore before, i can have a 10 days free pass rite? I have an EP pass and wife with dependant pass.  So can i still use the 10 days free pass?

any documents i need else then passport? tq tq
nothing to advise actually. You staying in HDB, means you have an residential address in SG. Work permit holder with residential address in Sg are NOT ALLOW to drive foreign registered vehicle in Sg.
Mackiddo
post Feb 4 2013, 08:53 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 4 2013, 08:21 PM)
1st year for EP holder allowed... free 10 days for msian car... u need or better have car insurance cert, road tax, driving license... etc etc
no such exemption exist

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 4 2013, 08:53 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 4 2013, 09:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 4 2013, 09:19 PM)

it's ok. can't really blame you if you can't read English properly
Mackiddo
post Feb 5 2013, 01:07 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Mophisto @ Feb 5 2013, 12:05 PM)
Can i ask how they know i am staying in hdb?  wasaii so ma fan......
it's not too difficult to track since all their Goverment agencies is online and share database, from immigration, cpf board, MOM, homeland security, etc etc. I'm sure your landlord have sent your details out to HDB as well.

Mackiddo
post Feb 7 2013, 07:26 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 6 2013, 11:38 PM)
balik kampungz jam has started this afternoon... gud luck and safe trip for those going back...
Bon voyage and have a safe journey for those who balik kampung and spread the SGD$ smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Feb 7 2013, 10:48 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Feb 7 2013, 08:54 PM)
any1 got a good idea how long need to wait cross border from sg to jb tomorrow night?

assume start go woodlands at 6pm and cross using cw1 or 170
judging from the crowds yesterday and today. looks like the majorities of people planned to leave tomorrow night after work. Probably to save a day leave.
Mackiddo
post Feb 8 2013, 01:35 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Gong Xi Fa Chai rclxms.gif

Mackiddo
post Feb 9 2013, 10:07 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Feb 9 2013, 09:02 AM)
hi,

i been calling and checking recently, as EP holder i cant drive down.  So i was left with option to ask someone to drive me down or employ a taxi service.

I can get a cab to johor and not further.  Anyone have any experience taking a cab in kotaraya shopping mall?  What is the charges like? Will they ok to ferry me over if they see me coming with 3-4 boxes of home items?
The taxi service to Sg from JB is at the old bus stand about 100m from Kota Raya right ? Not too sure about the charges but they will carry all your boxes for sure if the boot can fit.

'Private car' service is at Kota Raya. Normally is SGD$10-$15 per person (drop off anywhere in Sg), iirc. Car will not move off unless got 4 ppl. I guess the boot will be share by 4 ppl. If you want the whole car by yourself then it'll be 4 X (SGD$10-$15).

Which part of Sg you gonna go anyway ?
Mackiddo
post Feb 12 2013, 04:21 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 11 2013, 07:28 PM)
Deodorant,
Can share which jb money changer give better than sg? I always change at Bedok, which the rate is as good as raffles. But usually I saw in JB, always 0.05 lower than SG. So when change $1k already rm50 difference, can buy extra can of milk powder.

don't think the different in jb and sg is as great as 0.05, probably just 0.02. I know inside Lot1 got one money changer lots of people, need to take queue number.
Mackiddo
post Feb 16 2013, 12:10 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Feb 16 2013, 12:03 PM)
ok. then its up to the company on whether they opt to give u the em'er portion for cpf?
yes, it's totally optional
Mackiddo
post Feb 17 2013, 08:21 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Feb 17 2013, 07:05 PM)
Hi, will be movin down next week, would like to ask

1) What is the average waiting time for fiber installation there?
2) Anyone using prepaid broadband? how it is?
3) Anyone using mioTV? worth it?

cheers
1. Normally take anything from 2 weeks to 1 month. Depends on which provider you sign up with. Is your place fibre ready ?
3. My mioTV Family+ subscription came as a package together with my 200mbps fibre. Decent contents, with 4 to 5 National Geographic channels. Subscribed Sports+ for my fix of EPL and F1 thumbup.gif . Overall cost around SGD$120 per month. Well, it's much more cheaper than Msia I guess.
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2013, 04:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 19 2013, 04:21 PM)
No source but trust me.
nice troll rclxms.gif but wrong forum

188439 188480

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 19 2013, 04:24 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2013, 06:07 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ykh @ Feb 19 2013, 04:43 PM)
hi guys...I am starting work on 1st April in SG...I am currently trying to look for a room...are there any good websites to look for rooms?
or if anyone knows of a room for rent in bukit merah/teluk blangah area pls let me know
thanks in advance!
website sometimes a bit slow. most are outdated or snapped up by the time you call. Look in newspaper or get an agent.
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2013, 09:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 19 2013, 08:14 PM)
Anyone doing sports in Singapore? Like volleyball, basketball, badminton, futsal, football? Would love to join in....cycling will do too.

Cheers!
badminton, selected weekdays afternoon at cck, bkt gombak or jurong stadium.
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2013, 11:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reloadedprimus @ Feb 19 2013, 11:10 PM)
anyone has any recommendation for job agents in singapore ?

i'm in the telco line in malaysia and have been working for about 8 years in marketing/products/innovation and sales.

Any recommendation guys ? or do you recommend sending in resume directly to companies.

Thanks !!
have you check out their website? a lot of companies accept résumé online.
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2013, 11:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reloadedprimus @ Feb 19 2013, 11:14 PM)
yea i know, thats why i ask if its better to go direct or via an agent.

u guys more experience as u guys are working in sg ma smile.gif

thks thks
I think for most top MNC companies, there is actually no such thing as agent. If you have that special skills that the company requires urgently, you would have been 'head hunted' already. Just my thoughts, others might disagree.
Mackiddo
post Feb 21 2013, 02:29 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Feb 21 2013, 10:52 AM)
anyone know what is the cheapest way to make calls to Malaysia? Any good calling cards etc?
if you don't have 3G data plan then it's either 018, 019 or skypes (thru calling centre). if got 3G data then viber, tango, skypes, etc etc
Mackiddo
post Feb 22 2013, 02:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(strison @ Feb 22 2013, 12:00 PM)
Since I am jobless right know, so, I really really and really to pray hard lol.

However, he is kind enough to offer me the position to be based at Malaysia if the
application over the strait is not successful..

God Bless...
pay in SGD$, based in Msia ? smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Feb 22 2013, 05:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Feb 22 2013, 05:22 PM)
Visit the nearby branch, tell them Toto $2 will do.
$2 can't sapu 1st and 2nd group winnings. buy $3.50 for a chance to sapu both group winnings rclxm9.gif .

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 22 2013, 05:31 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 24 2013, 02:49 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 19 2013, 04:08 PM)
Moderator note: Unsubstantiated information should be taken with doubt.

Guys, listen-up

Dissolution of parliament: 22 Feb
Nomination day: 16 Mar
Good Friday: 29 Mar
Polling day: 30 Mar

Get your flight and coach tickets fast for a Malaysia Change.
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 19 2013, 04:21 PM)
No source but trust me.
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 23 2013, 10:05 PM)
In a word,.. no.

Assuming you currently have no proficiency in Japanese, the time and effort you need to expend in order to learn Japanese to a professionally acceptable level is way too high, compared to the return or advantage that you will gain from being able to speak Japanese in Singapore.

If you want to learn a language, I suggest to concentrate only on English and/or Mandarin.

If you are good in English, learn or improve your Mandarin.

If you are good in Mandarin, improve your English.

If you're half past six in both English and Mandarin (like 90% of the Malaysians here), then improve your English first before improving your Mandarin.

If you are very very good in both English and Mandarin... don't waste time and effort learning any more languages at a professional level. Using that time and energy to get a professional qualification or getting a higher degree will yield much better return on investment.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 23 2013, 10:05 PM)
Agreed with you.
Most Malaysians speak half past six English.
Our education system really fails, who on earth wanna master the useless Malay and at the end of the day couldn't even speak a proper sentence in English to greet someone.
What a shame.
So we are supposed to believe you? Maybe he/she could join you in predicting the future.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 24 2013, 02:53 AM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0484sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 AM