11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Sony Cyber-shot RX1, Smallest Full Frame POISON

my44
post Oct 28 2013, 05:42 PM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 28 2013, 03:43 PM)
is RM8099 low enough for brand new RX1? brows.gif
Dunno lah. 8k still quite high. Was hoping it drops in price similar to RX100 (2499 to 1699 now ie about 30% drop). So RX1's 9999 shud be 6799. Jahat lah Sony nie :-)
se7enhafiz
post Oct 28 2013, 08:50 PM

155 posts

instead of buying RX1 now..better get A7 or A7r..
little ice
post Oct 28 2013, 08:58 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Oct 28 2013, 05:42 PM)
Dunno lah. 8k still quite high. Was hoping it drops in price similar to RX100 (2499 to 1699 now ie about 30% drop). So RX1's 9999 shud be 6799. Jahat lah Sony nie :-)
i don't think it's possible unless RX1 mark ii come out. even now in US RX1 used still going around $1800 so don't expect to see it dropping that low any sooner. afterall it's FF and the lens alone at least RM3000+ for that kind of quality.

QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Oct 28 2013, 08:50 PM)
instead of buying RX1 now..better get A7 or A7r..
seeing the a7r 36mp so nice, i'm lusting for the RX1 mark ii instead lol. i'm not into lens changing cause i don't find the need, and i don't like loud shutter as a food hunter cause during my travel to Tokyo some of the restaurant are packed with patrons and they're quiet eaters... biggrin.gif
my44
post Oct 28 2013, 10:26 PM

2,494 posts

Yeap. Not into changing lenses either. All these whiles, I've been using regular P&S with small sensor. Then Canon S90 with slightly bigger sensor. Then RX100 with even bigger sensor. RX1 seems like the ultimate target. All these have some things in common: (1) relatively cheaper without adding lense (2) much easier to carry around (3) decent IQ except for RX1 which is mindblowing :-)

Different strokes for different folks.
little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 12:05 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Oct 28 2013, 10:26 PM)
All these have some things in common: (1) relatively cheaper without adding lense (2) much easier to carry around (3) decent IQ except for RX1 which is mindblowing :-)
spot on. also i always wondering why people can praise fuji x100 so much yet regard RX1 as highly limiting. in fact the lens at f2 already damn sharp (although doesn't mean much cause thin DOF means most area are OOF) and highly useable, the difference in quality vs the x100(s) reflected in the price and definitely reasonably priced IMHO.

by the way, any RX1 owner experienced paint scraping off on the lens barrel? mine already got tiny dot scraped off the aperture ring by my fingernail cause the grip pad is so near the lens, although very difficult to see. at first so sad leh less than a minth old but then eventually got over it cause it'll bound to happen sooner or later cause saw quite a few RX1 for sale also like that on the lens barrel and especially on the edge of focus ring. saw the two demo unit at KLPF are worse, the edge of the focus ring faded here and there due to heavy handling (careful not to knock the focus ring, seems like made of plastic). hmm.gif
my44
post Oct 29 2013, 12:14 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 29 2013, 12:05 AM)
spot on. also i always wondering why people can praise fuji x100 so much yet regard RX1 as highly limiting. in fact the lens at f2 already damn sharp (although doesn't mean much cause thin DOF means most area are OOF) and highly useable, the difference in quality vs the x100(s) reflected in the price and definitely reasonably priced IMHO.
Where got ppl praising X100s? Maybe coz it's cheaper so more ppl own. More people own = more noise. Hehe.

RX1 is highly regarded in dpreview forum. Maybe not so much in LYN due to less users. Even RX100 forum on LYN is more active with lots of samples, complaints and praises.

In summary: X100s = cheaper = more ppl bought. In term of IQ, not fair to compare since one is using APS-C and another is FF sensor.

Anyone selling 2nd hand RX1, PM me! Hehe

se7enhafiz
post Oct 29 2013, 12:23 AM

155 posts

bro little ice..mine scrapped off quite a lot already..especially on the focus ring..can't do anything..btw..i have x100s before..in terms of IQ..no contest..but i really like the hybrid viewfinder..especially OVF..i hope sony can put that a7r sensor on next RX1..
little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 12:48 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Oct 29 2013, 12:14 AM)
Where got ppl praising X100s? Maybe coz it's cheaper so more ppl own. More people own = more noise. Hehe.

RX1 is highly regarded in dpreview forum. Maybe not so much in LYN due to less users. Even RX100 forum on LYN is more active with lots of samples, complaints and praises.

In summary: X100s = cheaper = more ppl bought. In term of IQ, not fair to compare since one is using APS-C and another is FF sensor.

it's pretty natural for people to overlook the IQ when they look at the price alone, and RM9000 for a camera is heck of a money when it's not even a semi-pro like the a7. every time i look at the images captured with this camera i quickly forget about the price i paid cause i get what i paid for. biggrin.gif

if you want to get a second hand you can pay close attention to eBay as the a7 is causing some impact on RX1 price. eBay will be more expensive though due to eBay PayPal fee, if you brave enough can try forums like Fred Miranda, they can sell like $2000+ together with EVF some more lol.

EDIT: this one starts really low for mint condition and EVF although can shoot up to $2000...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sony-Cyber-shot-DS...=item35cd9cbf2a

QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Oct 29 2013, 12:23 AM)
bro little ice..mine scrapped off quite a lot already..especially on the focus ring..can't do anything..btw..i have x100s before..in terms of IQ..no contest..but i really like the hybrid viewfinder..especially OVF..i hope sony can put that a7r sensor on next RX1..
thanks for the info bro se7en, seems like the lens is fated to have paint scraping, i think i need not baby the camera cause it'll happen anyway and use the camera more carefree. your post somehow made me feel better cause i find that being too careful with the camera making it difficult to enjoy lol. biggrin.gif

i tried the hybrid VF on xpro1 during KLPF and definitely can see why people love them so much, but any VF will inevitably add bulk to the camera. can be very nice to have on the RX1 though cause i did find the RX1 battery life to be quite short though still can last whole day if i'm to shoot 100-200 shots, OVF can save a lot of battery juice.

i also hope they'll put the mighty 36mp sensor into future RX1. but at the same time i also hope they'll stick to 24mp with improved tech cause 24mp is a sweet spot for me, not too big files, but plenty of details. i would choose even better ISO performance (than current RX1) over 36mp. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Oct 29 2013, 12:59 AM
my44
post Oct 29 2013, 11:10 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 29 2013, 12:48 AM)
if you want to get a second hand you can pay close attention to eBay as the a7 is causing some impact on RX1 price. eBay will be more expensive though due to eBay PayPal fee, if you brave enough can try forums like Fred Miranda, they can sell like $2000+ together with EVF some more lol.
Yeah I've been watching ebay lately. Need to budget RM5k or 6k even for 2nd hand. Hopefully goes lower in next few months. For RX100, I bought at Sony Centre coz .... ahemmmm ... affordable. By same virtue, I shud get RX1 from Sony also coz warranty coverage. But not ready to part with 8-9k yet *cry*
Lazyboy
post Oct 29 2013, 11:22 AM

399 posts

X100s vs RX1 - in terms of raw detail in IQ, hands down RX1. However, X100s with the X-Trans sensor edges ahead after IS0 3200 where RX1 image begin to introduce noise even in good lighting condition while the noise level of X100s is pretty much noiseless up to 6400. In good day light, I have no reservation going with RX1/R but in low light/challenging light situations, like restaurants and gatherings in the evening, X100s is the go to for me.

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Oct 29 2013, 11:24 AM
little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 01:48 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Oct 29 2013, 11:10 AM)
Yeah I've been watching ebay lately. Need to budget RM5k or 6k even for 2nd hand. Hopefully goes lower in next few months. For RX100, I bought at Sony Centre coz .... ahemmmm ... affordable. By same virtue, I shud get RX1 from Sony also coz warranty coverage. But not ready to part with 8-9k yet *cry*
i heard that if buy from sony center they actually allow one to one exchange instead of warranty if anything goes wrong within the first week, and able to purchase extended warranty. otherwise dealers usually offer much lower price. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Oct 29 2013, 11:22 AM)
X100s vs RX1 - in terms of raw detail in IQ, hands down RX1.  However, X100s with the X-Trans sensor edges ahead after IS0 3200 where RX1 image begin to introduce noise even in good lighting condition while the noise level of X100s is pretty much noiseless up to 6400.  In good day light, I have no reservation going with RX1/R but in low light/challenging light situations, like restaurants and gatherings in the evening, X100s is the go to for me.
yup the x-trans is very good at high ISO but seeing many samples all over the internet i'm still convinced that even RX1 has more noise grains it still retain that 3D look. i almost went for the x-trans but decided to wait a little longer and gather more x-trans samples to compare.

in fact, the RX1R has more intelligent noise reduction in jpeg engine and i'm seeing much more details and keeping the noise low on places with less details. also i see better color gradation due to the large sensor. i saw some high ISO shots from x-trans it look flatter and lacking fine color gradations, so i'm convinced to straight go for the FF sensor. biggrin.gif
Lazyboy
post Oct 29 2013, 01:55 PM

399 posts

All da power to you bro tongue.gif
Calvin Seak
post Oct 29 2013, 02:44 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

Wa.. Didn't know there was a dedicated Thread for the RX1, after I got the RX1 never have I brought out my DSLR for travels anymore lol!
TarePanda
post Oct 29 2013, 03:45 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Oct 29 2013, 12:14 AM)

There is a forumer selling his RX1 in a steal price. brows.gif

Too bad i had grab 1
little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 04:25 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 29 2013, 02:44 PM)
Wa.. Didn't know there was a dedicated Thread for the RX1, after I got the RX1 never have I brought out my DSLR for travels anymore lol!
come come join the group. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 29 2013, 03:45 PM)
There is a forumer selling his RX1 in a steal price. brows.gif

Too bad i had grab 1
saw the sales, damn less than RM6000 lol! my44 what are you waiting for?? rclxms.gif

EDIT: something didn't quite add up - 3 months warranty left, unless the seller bought with 1 year warranty instead of 12 months + 3 months, the RX1 didn't ship until about Nov last year. even if it's local unit it should be one of the first batch.

This post has been edited by little ice: Oct 29 2013, 04:35 PM
TarePanda
post Oct 29 2013, 06:27 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 29 2013, 12:05 AM)
by the way, any RX1 owner experienced paint scraping off on the lens barrel? mine already got tiny dot scraped off the aperture ring by my fingernail cause the grip pad is so near the lens, although very difficult to see.
QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Oct 29 2013, 12:23 AM)
Any pic to share? sweat.gif

little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 06:38 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 29 2013, 06:27 PM)
Any pic to share?  sweat.gif
sure but it'll appear as a small white dot, it's only a tiny dot that will be easily mistaken as dust in person or on photo, but the metal beneath will reflect light.
se7enhafiz
post Oct 29 2013, 08:28 PM

155 posts

here u can see some near the focus ring

and here is my 6 months old RX1..

I agree that X-Trans sensor high ISO is very good..but only on JPEG..when u compare RAW files from both..X-trans falls behind..RX1 can be very noisy as well but details never lost..and wide open..X100s just too soft and hazy..start to look sharp at f/2.8 but X100s still for me the best camera below 3.5k..i really really hope sony will release 2 version of the next RX1..one with 50mm f/2 and one with 24mm f/2.8..24mm or 28mm highly possible..but 50mm i don't think so since we have Zeiss 55m for FE.. the new FE 35mm f/2.8 can't beat RX1 35mm f/2..at 2.8..RX1 still sharper corner to corner..the reason why i will keep my RX1 is 1) very discreet 2) leaf shutter 3)Amazing 35mm sonnar design with superb micro-contrast....
little ice
post Oct 29 2013, 09:01 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Oct 29 2013, 08:28 PM)
here u can see some near the focus ring

your RX1 looked ok, the 2 units displayed at KLPF were definitely worse! doh.gif

QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Oct 29 2013, 08:28 PM)
i really really hope sony will release 2 version of the next RX1..one with 50mm f/2 and one with 24mm f/2.8..24mm or 28mm highly possible..
i have a wild imagination - how about 24-50mm f2, without increasing the size much? drool.gif
se7enhafiz
post Oct 29 2013, 09:02 PM

155 posts

Very wild imagination indeed!!!

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:45 PM