University Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) V2, # AACSB Certified University #

megadisc
post Oct 28 2014, 11:53 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Oct 28 2014, 11:42 PM)
sweat.gif
omg ..i rememebr it was a hilly place....still can flood ?
lucifer_666
post Dec 9 2014, 07:16 PM

234 posts

knock! knock! anyone in the house?
megadisc
post Dec 9 2014, 07:56 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 07:16 PM)
knock! knock! anyone in the house?
nope all EOL liao
lucifer_666
post Dec 9 2014, 07:59 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 9 2014, 07:56 PM)
nope all EOL liao
ahh.. too bad...

gonna be in uum starting january, so in need of pointers and advise on certain matters, such as typical campus life, house/room to rent, transportation etc.

pretty much things to expect
megadisc
post Dec 9 2014, 08:01 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 07:59 PM)
ahh.. too bad...

gonna be in uum starting january, so in need of pointers and advise on certain matters, such as typical campus life, house/room to rent, transportation etc.

good for u ....more clean air ...

already left there 9 years so cant be of much helped...
nazq
post Dec 9 2014, 08:05 PM

dead inside
1,180 posts

Current students mana weiii???? laugh.gif

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 07:59 PM)
ahh.. too bad...

All students staying inside campus except some who choose to rent outside. Transportation, if possible try to apply stickers there as shuttle buses tend to packed to the max during rush hour except if your DPP (Dewan Penginapan Pelajar/hostel) near the lecture halls so just walk lah.

Campus life.....entertainment wise since it is quite far from nearest town (10km) so for most it is kinda boring there. But the uni big enough to explore and joining activities.
lucifer_666
post Dec 9 2014, 09:23 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Dec 9 2014, 08:05 PM)
Current students mana weiii???? laugh.gif
All students staying inside campus except some who choose to rent outside. Transportation, if possible try to apply stickers there as shuttle buses tend to packed to the max during rush hour except if your DPP (Dewan Penginapan Pelajar/hostel) near the lecture halls so just walk lah.

Campus life.....entertainment wise since it is quite far from nearest town (10km) so for most it is kinda boring there. But the uni big enough to explore and joining activities.
pretty much ill be staying outside as ive been informed that accommodations wont be provided in my case. thus the need to put the transportation concerns into consideration.

therefore, i was wondering about the typical distance between the usual rental area of students to the campus. not sure if i can survive with bicycle, or motorcycle/car is necessary to move around as well... hmm.gif

and wondering if the edc hotel is a good place to stay in for the first few days while i got my things sorted out there..
megadisc
post Dec 9 2014, 10:13 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 09:23 PM)
pretty much ill be staying outside as ive been informed that accommodations wont be provided in my case. thus the need to put the transportation concerns into consideration.

therefore, i was wondering about the typical distance between the usual rental area of students to the campus. not sure if i can survive with bicycle, or motorcycle/car is necessary to move around as well...  hmm.gif

and wondering if the edc hotel is a good place to stay in for the first few days while i got my things sorted out there..
1st years always stays in house leh .... 2nd year onwards only free to fly the nest ...

unless the rule has been changed XD

TShirano
post Dec 9 2014, 10:45 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 9 2014, 10:13 PM)
1st years always stays in house leh .... 2nd year onwards only free to fly the nest ...

unless the rule has been changed XD
this lucifer_666 already got masters la, dont play play.

Maybe he's continuing phd now. So dont worry, degree only compulsory stay hostel.

nazq
post Dec 9 2014, 11:00 PM

dead inside
1,180 posts

Oh, PHD. Staying in Taman Siswa at Jitra maybe? Got shuttle buses between there and UUM, although don't know about the frequency and timing.

Nearby UUM, along the highway stretch there are several new housing area, around 4-5 km from campus I guess. Relying on public buses isn't really recommended (1st bus from Alor Star at 7.45 am, last bus from UUM 8 pm with 1 hour frequency) so IMO it's better to get own transport. A motorcycle is very handy there.

Are you doing full-time there? Because as far as I known, accommodations do being provided to Masters & PHD students as well.

This post has been edited by nazq: Dec 9 2014, 11:06 PM
lucifer_666
post Dec 9 2014, 11:37 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 9 2014, 10:45 PM)
this lucifer_666 already got masters la, dont play play.

Maybe he's continuing phd now. So dont worry, degree only compulsory stay hostel.
lulz.. how do you know ive got masters? laugh.gif

yea, gonna do phd. sweat.gif

so gotta find a place to stay.

QUOTE(nazq @ Dec 9 2014, 11:00 PM)
Oh, PHD. Staying in Taman Siswa at Jitra maybe? Got shuttle buses between there and UUM, although don't know about the frequency and timing.

Nearby UUM, along the highway stretch there are several new housing area, around 4-5 km from campus I guess. Relying on public buses isn't really recommended (1st bus from Alor Star at 7.45 am, last bus from UUM 8 pm with 1 hour frequency) so IMO it's better to get own transport. A motorcycle is very handy there.

Are you doing full-time there? Because as far as I known, accommodations do being provided to Masters & PHD students as well.
well, housing area 4-5 km sounds good if i can find room to rent there. wont mind staying with other undergrad/postgrad students if it comes to that.

would bicycle be survivable? or a cheap car (axia, maybe?) is preferable? and hows the parking conditions in campus?

This post has been edited by lucifer_666: Dec 10 2014, 12:02 AM
nazq
post Dec 10 2014, 09:09 AM

dead inside
1,180 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 11:37 PM)
well, housing area 4-5 km sounds good if i can find room to rent there. wont mind staying with other undergrad/postgrad students if it comes to that.

would bicycle be survivable? or a cheap car (axia, maybe?) is preferable? and hows the parking conditions in campus?
Any transport will be handy there. Bicycle, yeah if you're willing.

Don't think parking there got any problem right now, but I don't know whether PHD students needs car stickers for that purpose. Try contacting relevant department for that matter.
megadisc
post Dec 10 2014, 08:35 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 9 2014, 11:37 PM)
lulz.. how do you know ive got masters?  laugh.gif

yea, gonna do phd.  sweat.gif

so gotta find a place to stay.

lucifer so power

congrats bro ...

got the scholeraship ???
lucifer_666
post Dec 10 2014, 08:49 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Dec 10 2014, 09:09 AM)
Any transport will be handy there. Bicycle, yeah if you're willing.

Don't think parking there got any problem right now, but I don't know whether PHD students needs car stickers for that purpose. Try contacting relevant department for that matter.
cycling would be the cheapest option there, discounting the weather and traffic condition. hows the main road outside the campus? a lot of heavy vehicle, or just typical passenger cars mostly?

if the rented room/house is located beyond 5km from campus area, it can be quite taxing when it comes to cycling i think, especially under scorching hot weather or sudden heavy rain sad.gif but still wont be discounting that option for now... else, might have to get a car just to move around conveniently...

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 10 2014, 08:35 PM)
lucifer so power

congrats bro ...

got the scholeraship ???
thanks biggrin.gif

scholarship? no, not yet. pending the fulfillment of t&c.

wont be expecting this endeavor to be smooth sailing, rather i pray for strength, patience and wisdom to go through it all... sweat.gif kinda nervous actually about this whole thing... sweat.gif unsure.gif

thats why some pointers, opinions and suggestions from current students or ex-uum alumni would be very much appreciated to help me acclimatized to the life scene, atmosphere and academic culture there... nod.gif

--------------------

still in house/room hunting mode now... smile.gif

This post has been edited by lucifer_666: Dec 10 2014, 08:58 PM
TShirano
post Dec 10 2014, 09:40 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 10 2014, 08:49 PM)
cycling would be the cheapest option there, discounting the weather and traffic condition. hows the main road outside the campus? a lot of heavy vehicle, or just typical passenger cars mostly?

if the rented room/house is located beyond 5km from campus area, it can be quite taxing when it comes to cycling i think, especially under scorching hot weather or sudden heavy rain  sad.gif but still wont be discounting that option for now... else, might have to get a car just to move around conveniently... 
I would advise you with getting a car or bike here.

often times the road is being used by cars/lorries/busses. So bicycle would be a bit dangerous la. At night too, it's quite dark, especially on the roads heading to bukit kachi.

Entertainment is very minimal, so bring your own portable console, celcom wifi, or something. Unless you're the one who like outdoor sports, which i bet you dont.
lucifer_666
post Dec 10 2014, 09:52 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 10 2014, 09:40 PM)
I would advise you with getting a car or bike here.

often times the road is being used by cars/lorries/busses. So bicycle would be a bit dangerous la. At night too, it's quite dark, especially on the roads heading to bukit kachi.

Entertainment is very minimal, so bring your own portable console, celcom wifi, or something. Unless you're the one who like outdoor sports, which i bet you dont.
lotsa heavy vehicles, eh? thats a downer for sure. sweat.gif

used to be the outdoor kinda person till i took an arrow to the knee whistling.gif anyhow, just cycle quite a lot at my hometown and occasional jogging. nothing physically rigorous. sweat.gif those days are long gone.

not sure if ill have such time for physical activities when im there though, or busy burying myself between pages of books (which is rather anti-social and unhealthy).

hows the internet connection availability in campus and surrounding area? streamyx/unifi in retal houses, maybe? laugh.gif thats quite hopeful from me, but its free to dream... rolleyes.gif
nazq
post Dec 11 2014, 03:27 AM

dead inside
1,180 posts

QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Dec 10 2014, 09:52 PM)
lotsa heavy vehicles, eh? thats a downer for sure.  sweat.gif

used to be the outdoor kinda person till i took an arrow to the knee whistling.gif anyhow, just cycle quite a lot at my hometown and occasional jogging. nothing physically rigorous. sweat.gif those days are long gone.

not sure if ill have such time for physical activities when im there though, or busy burying myself between pages of books (which is rather anti-social and unhealthy).

hows the internet connection availability in campus and surrounding area? streamyx/unifi in retal houses, maybe?  laugh.gif thats quite hopeful from me, but its free to dream...  rolleyes.gif
That area may prone to some floods particularly during the monsoon season, so yeah for easier movement as what hirano said, a car or a bike. The former is very common I saw being drove by postgrads.

Internet connection? Err......hmmm..... laugh.gif 2 main network in campus, SerindIT-UUM and UUMzone, former tends to be very snail-paced during daytime. While the latter is quite OKish and more reliable IMO. Some faculty buildings, library and DPPs do have their own network and computer labs so connection coverage is good, but as stated b4, speed are the prob mostly. Library network is quite fast, I can assure that.

UUM do have A LOT of foreign students, so you may need to familiarize yourself. They generally well-behaved though, IMO.
TShirano
post Dec 11 2014, 07:06 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

I wouldnt know about streamyx in the surrounding areas/rental houses. Never stayed outside of hostel before lol
ada7914
post Dec 11 2014, 11:45 AM

153 posts

well the best is to get the maybank residentials...or rent room in changlun...cos rent a house if u cann afford..normal teres has gone up to 400 permonth for al old teres lot at taman pertama...so u need to find a room advertise if want to save...

transport is a must la...bike can but dangerous as many large lorry..so suggest a cheaper car....

so better stay changlun at least go xtra things than inside uum...furthermore the student now end of semester edi nx 2 weeks start exam i tink than cuti, u'll be alone...

lucifer_666
post Dec 11 2014, 04:01 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ Dec 11 2014, 03:27 AM)
That area may prone to some floods particularly during the monsoon season, so yeah for easier movement as what hirano said, a car or a bike. The former is very common I saw being drove by postgrads.

Internet connection? Err......hmmm..... laugh.gif 2 main network in campus, SerindIT-UUM and UUMzone, former tends to be very snail-paced during daytime. While the latter is quite OKish and more reliable IMO. Some faculty buildings, library and DPPs do have their own network and computer labs so connection coverage is good, but as stated b4, speed are the prob mostly. Library network is quite fast, I can assure that. 

UUM do have A LOT of foreign students, so you may need to familiarize yourself. They generally well-behaved though, IMO.
cars and flooding doesnt mix too well, no? sweat.gif dilemma, dilemma... hmm.gif

as for internet, i might very well set a camp in the library. cant live without them too long.. whistling.gif yea, first-world problem. but then again, less internet would means less distraction for me to do whats necessary... blush.gif will see how its gonna be once im there.

a lot of foreign students as in middle easterners and african? if so, i can manage with that i think... been to another uni in malaysia with a high percentage of foreigners too before. laugh.gif

QUOTE(hirano @ Dec 11 2014, 07:06 AM)
I wouldnt know about streamyx in the surrounding areas/rental houses. Never stayed outside of hostel before lol
surely gonna keep my fingers crossed for some positive changes that might (emphasis added)have been taking place since the last time youre there icon_rolleyes.gif but well, not gonna put my hopes too high though as to avoid from feeling devastated sweat.gif

QUOTE(ada7914 @ Dec 11 2014, 11:45 AM)
well the best is to get the maybank residentials...or rent room in changlun...cos rent a house if u cann afford..normal teres has gone up to 400 permonth for al old teres lot at taman pertama...so u need to find a room advertise if want to save...

transport is a must la...bike can but dangerous as many large lorry..so suggest a cheaper car....

so better stay changlun at least go xtra things than inside uum...furthermore the student now end of semester edi nx 2 weeks start exam i tink than cuti, u'll be alone...
rm 400 for old terrace? 3 bedroom and partially furnished, i presume? yea, gotta survey the house/room rent rate as to avoid from overpaying. unsure.gif got another fella who'll be coming with me for phd as well and we're not sure whether to rent rooms or share a house. if its a house for just the two of us, itll be rather boring then, unless another fella or two is/are renting together.

113 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:49 PM