4-4-2 and beyond: We talk strategy here, Formations and tactics used in matches

syazwan
post Sep 14 2012, 01:40 AM

448 posts

it's basically catenagio or catenaccio.

highly successful for Italy previously and greece otto rehagel in 2004

spursfan
post Sep 14 2012, 06:28 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(Rhicebowl @ Sep 14 2012, 12:51 AM)
Lol wtf. Is this north or south korean formation? And when was this? Why does this tactic suck laugh.gif

Looking at this, it does seems like its a very good formation lol.

north korea's formation in wc2010

2-1 vs brazil in the first match ... looks like it'll work

then 7-0 vs portugal ... laugh.gif

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 14 2012, 01:40 AM)

greece played with a back 4 in 2004

This post has been edited by spursfan: Sep 14 2012, 08:36 AM
Therapy88
post Sep 14 2012, 06:34 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 13 2012, 07:14 PM)
basically this

north korea is best korea rclxm9.gif

edit: this tactic sucks laugh.gif
This is AJAX formation way back in 90s
spursfan
post Sep 14 2012, 08:25 PM

110 posts

there are 2 big issues with the north korea formation

1. no width for attacks. transitions from defense to attack is hard because players in advanced positions are narrow when defending.

2. when you play against teams with only 1 striker, you are overmanned in defense. that results in less players for attack. strategies going forward becomes limited.

-----------------------------

QUOTE(Therapy88 @ Sep 14 2012, 06:34 AM)
This is AJAX formation way back in 90s

the ajax in 1995 (van gaal) is very different compared to the north korean formation.

1. for starters, it was more of a 1-2-1-2-3-1.

2. instead of 3 central defenders, van gaal fielded 2 central defenders and a libero.

3. wingers

4. van gaal did not use any fullbacks. instead, the central midfielders were tasked to track the opposition wingers.

5. van gaal's attacking midfielder (the center of the 3) helped out in midfield when '4.' happens. north korea's guy was more of a trequartitsta. he didn't have any defensive duties.

here's an article written exactly 2 years ago (a coincidence) on ajax's strategy vs ac milan http://timhi.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/ajax-1995/
syazwan
post Sep 14 2012, 09:14 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 14 2012, 06:28 AM)
north korea's formation in wc2010

2-1 vs brazil in the first match ... looks like it'll work

then 7-0 vs portugal ... laugh.gif
greece played with a back 4 in 2004
catenaccio is not just abt how many defence u have etc etc

Catenaccio, the Greek way
http://www.eamonn.com/2004/07/catenaccio_the_greek_way_1.htm

And what about Greece winning the Euro 2004? Although not a classical Catenaccio by any means, the salient features of man marking, using sweepers were all present in their epic run in the tournament.

http://italy.worldcupblog.org/italy/the-catenaccio-myth.html

Added on September 14, 2012, 9:16 pm
QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 14 2012, 08:25 PM)
there are 2 big issues with the north korea formation

1. no width for attacks. transitions from defense to attack is hard because players in advanced positions are narrow when defending.

2. when you play against teams with only 1 striker, you are overmanned in defense. that results in less players for attack. strategies going forward becomes limited.

if u dont have quality players upfront..why bother to follow others?

good coaches should know what's the best for the team according to what they have.
Rajagobal certainly didnt use Tiki Taka or false no.9 because we dont have players who can pass the ball well

if it works for them(N.Korea) until they qualify to World Cup..means the tactic works well with them..(altho kena belasah big goals vs Portugal)

This post has been edited by syazwan: Sep 14 2012, 09:16 PM
spursfan
post Sep 14 2012, 11:50 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 14 2012, 09:14 PM)
catenaccio is not just abt how many defence u have etc etc

Catenaccio, the Greek way
http://www.eamonn.com/2004/07/catenaccio_the_greek_way_1.htm
http://italy.worldcupblog.org/italy/the-catenaccio-myth.html

i'm not familiar with the catenaccio ... what is it's characteristics? ... what differentiates it from other defensive systems?

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 14 2012, 09:14 PM)
if u dont have quality players upfront..why bother to follow others?

good coaches should know what's the best for the team according to what they have.
Rajagobal certainly didnt use Tiki Taka or false no.9 because we dont have players who can pass the ball well

if it works for them(N.Korea) until they qualify to World Cup..means the tactic works well with them..(altho kena belasah big goals vs Portugal)

that's true ... i don't have the quality of my opponent. i might as well roll over and die. - this line does not exist in sports.
TSgruntz99
post Sep 16 2012, 03:49 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 14 2012, 01:40 AM)

QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 14 2012, 11:50 PM)
i'm not familiar with the catenaccio ... what is it's characteristics? ... what differentiates it from other defensive systems?
that's true ... i don't have the quality of my opponent. i might as well roll over and die. - this line does not exist in sports.
Actually the last catenaccio style used in major match was Greece in 2004 when they won the Euro at the time. Sweeper played a role here. Defensive football doesn't mean it's a catenaccio we used to know way back to 60's and 70's. They not restricted to single formation but probably best known for a sweeper operated just in front of goalkeeper and behind four defender and closing the opponent down with man-marking (sometimes double marking) system it is used with great succes by Helenio Herrera that guided Inter to Sirie A titles and European cups. But later Total Futball by Ajax gave blow to this kind of catenaccio.

This post has been edited by gruntz99: Sep 16 2012, 03:49 PM

spursfan
post Sep 16 2012, 06:34 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(gruntz99 @ Sep 16 2012, 03:49 PM)
Actually the last catenaccio style used in major match was Greece in 2004 when they won the Euro at the time. Sweeper played a role here. Defensive football doesn't mean it's a catenaccio we used to know way back to 60's and 70's. They not restricted to single formation but probably best known  for a sweeper operated just in front of goalkeeper and behind four defender and closing the opponent down with man-marking (sometimes double marking) system it is used with great succes by Helenio Herrera that guided Inter to Sirie A titles and European cups. But later Total Futball by Ajax gave blow to this kind of catenaccio.

i am so confused

you tell me it's sweeper behind 4 defender ... but your diagram got oni 1 guy behind 3

plus, according to zonalmarking, it looks more like a standard back 4 ...

user posted image user posted image

even if the 2 cd is played as 1 with man marking and another to cover, that's just like a normal CD pairing (vidic - ferdinand) ... unless, u call a ball playing defender a sweeper ...

how is that catenaccio? ... i tarak faham liao ...

This post has been edited by spursfan: Sep 16 2012, 06:37 PM
TSgruntz99
post Sep 16 2012, 06:51 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 16 2012, 06:34 PM)
i am so confused

you tell me it's sweeper behind 4 defender ... but your diagram got oni 1 guy behind 3

plus, according to zonalmarking, it looks more like a standard back 4 ...

user posted image user posted image

even if the 2 cd is played as 1 with man marking and another to cover, that's just like a normal CD pairing (vidic - ferdinand) ... unless, u call a ball playing defender a sweeper ...

how is that catenaccio? ... i tarak faham liao ...
No, what I mean is catenaccio have a sweeper whatever formation it takes, the picture above use four defenders with ONE SWEEPER operating behind the three defenders and just in front of goalkeeper. There is also 5-3-2 formation used which five defenders but one sweeper behind them cleaning all the ball while the other four man marking the opponents.

Actually sweeper role don't really exist today. Because the man marking system MARKED certain player (Four example in the catenaccio system the right CD only the striker while the left CD) so tight but the normal defender today just mark in the zonal.

This post has been edited by gruntz99: Sep 16 2012, 06:55 PM
spursfan
post Sep 16 2012, 10:28 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(gruntz99 @ Sep 16 2012, 06:51 PM)
No, what I mean is catenaccio have a sweeper whatever formation it takes, the picture above use four defenders with ONE SWEEPER operating behind the three defenders and just in front of goalkeeper. There is also 5-3-2 formation used which five defenders but one sweeper behind them cleaning all the ball while the other four man marking the opponents.

Actually sweeper role don't really exist today. Because the man marking system MARKED certain player (Four example in the catenaccio system the right CD  only the striker while the left CD) so tight but the normal defender today just mark in the zonal.

the zonal marking pictars look more like a cd pair instead of cd - sweeper ... since the match was from 8 years ago, i dun think i can remember the positioning of the defenders ... so, i'll just trust zonalmarking ...

sweeper died because of the offside rule ... kinda hard to setup offside trap if there is a sweeper behind the defenders ...

0.0211sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:28 PM