Singapore REITS, S-REITS

SUSTOS
post Nov 17 2021, 02:25 PM

8,667 posts

Opinion
THE LEVEL GROUND; Reits may not be best vehicles to hold prime Singapore office assets
Leslie Yee
Leslie Yee , Reits may not be best vehicles to hold prime Singapore office assets
1277 words
16 November 2021
Business Times Singapore
STBT
English
© 2021 SPH Media Limited
Private funds, other buyers may be more competitive in pricing office buildings due to greater borrowing flexibility

Singapore

MANY office workers are still working from home amid a high number of Covid-19 cases.

Office landlords fret over when companies can get large numbers of staff back to offices safely and whether greater adoption of remote working reduces space needs.

The Urban Redevelopment Authority's (URA) central region office rental index fell 3.5 per cent quarter-on-quarter (q-o-q) in Q3 2021, reversing the 1.3 per cent rise in Q2 2021.

However, fears over the demise of office spaces may be overblown. Consultants commenting on the URA's data point to a "flight-to-quality" by tenants resulting in a two-tier market.

The URA's Q3 2021 data showed that Category 1 office buildings - covering the better quality buildings in the city area - posted the second consecutive q-o-q rise in median rental, while median rental fell for the remaining office space there.

The need for high-quality office spaces for knowledge workers to meet in person to collaborate and co-create appears intact.

Some investors are also bullish on office buildings. News broke in September of the purchase by Rivulets Investments of a 20-storey office building at 61 Robinson Road in the Central Business District (CBD) for S$422 million.

The price paid by the home-grown private equity fund management group works out to S$2,973 per square foot (psf) based on post-refurbishment net lettable area (NLA) of 141,958 sq ft, or S$2,887 psf based on a higher NLA of 146,174 sq ft, primarily when multiple units on the same floor are reconfigured as a single unit. 61 Robinson sits on land with about 74.5 years of land lease outstanding.

Rivulets targets to achieve a net yield of at least 3 per cent on a stabilised basis for this acquisition.

This transaction raises questions on whether prime CBD office assets held by real estate investment trusts (Reits) are undervalued.

CapitaLand Integrated Commercial Trust (CICT) owns CBD Grade A office assets such as Asia Square Tower 2 (AST2) and Capital Tower (CT), which posted net property income (NPI) of S$39.1 million and S$26.3 million respectively for the first 6 months of 2021.

As at end-2020, AST2 and CT were valued at S$2.128 billion (around S$2,739 psf on NLA) and S$1.389 billion (around S$1,890 psf on NLA) respectively.

Based on annualising first half NPI, yields of AST2 and CT are 3.7 per cent and 3.8 per cent respectively. AST2 and CT sit on land leases with outstanding tenures of around 85 years and 73 years respectively.

Compared to the pricing of 61 Robinson Road, AST2 and CT appear cheap based on yield and dollar psf.

CICT trades at a slight premium to its book value. Other Reits owning prime CBD office assets here trade at discounts to net asset value (NAV), which implies investors may be applying a material discount to the value of their assets.

Based on closing prices as at Nov 12, 2021, Keppel Reit traded at a 12 per cent discount to end-Jun NAV while Suntec Reit traded at a 25 per cent discount to end-Sep NAV.

Keppel Reit holds stakes in prime CBD office assets such as One Raffles Quay (ORQ) and Ocean Financial Centre (OFC), with land lease tenures outstanding of around 79 years and 89 years respectively. Based on annualised NPI for the first 6 months and valuations as at Jun 30, 2021, yields of ORQ and OFC are 3.0 per cent and 3.2 per cent respectively.

Earlier this year, Suntec Reit sold a portfolio of strata units at Suntec City Office in Singapore's CBD for S$197 million, which represented an 8.9 per cent premium over its independent valuation of S$180.9 million.

Perhaps Reits here should consider divesting more prime Singapore office assets, given valuations are relatively low in some cases and trusts trade below book value in other instances.

The journey to list Reits owning prime Singapore CBD office assets has not been easy. CapitaCommercial Trust and K-Reit Asia, which owned prime Singapore office portfolios at the time of listing, were listed via distribution in specie of units to shareholders of CapitaLand and Keppel Land respectively, instead of initial public offerings (IPOs).

When OUE Commercial Reit did an IPO, its sponsor provided income support for the trust's key asset, OUE Bayfront property, which is a predominantly office asset in the CBD, so as to provide investors with an appropriate distribution yield.

Reits may not be the best vehicles to hold prime Singapore office assets.

Private funds and other buyers may be more competitive in pricing prime office buildings. This could be due to having greater flexibility in borrowing compared with listed Reits, which are subject to gearing restrictions.

Wealthy families or institutions may desire more control over the underlying property through direct ownership compared with holding units in a Reit.

Some non-Reit investors may be more patient with their capital and hence willing to accept lower initial yields. Such investors, who seek to park monies in chunky assets in safe haven Singapore, may not be overly concerned with the entry yield or the speed at which workers return to physical offices.

The effect of abundant liquidity pursuing income generating non-residential property may impact office property more as offices arguably require less specialised management skill sets than malls, warehouses, hotels or data centres.

Retail investors here may yearn for more prime Singapore office assets to be available for investment via local-listed Reits.

Think of the prime office portfolio held by unlisted Pontiac Land, which owns properties such as Millenia Tower and Centennial Tower, or the large CBD office portfolios of listed groups such as City Developments and Singapore Land Group.

Also, relatively new developments in the CBD with big office components such as Guoco Tower in Tanjong Pagar and Marina One in Marina Bay, have not found their way into Reits yet.

Holding office buildings in a listed corporate group structure may be even less efficient than via a listed Reit. Singapore Land traded at a discount to book of 47 per cent as at Nov 12, 2021.

Singapore Land may give its investors a boost by putting assets such as UIC Building, Singapore Land Tower, The Gateway and Clifford Centre into a Reit, as would GuocoLand, if it injected Guoco Tower, which was valued at S$2.55 billion as at Jun 30, into a Reit.

However, boards of property groups may conclude from their studies that private funds are superior to Reits for holding prime Singapore offices.

A Reit can offer an individual investor a chance to get a tiny slice of the income of prime office assets here.

But there are doubts over whether existing Reits should continue to hold prime Singapore office buildings, or whether new prime office Reits will emerge.

Should Reits be suboptimal for holding shiny office towers, the individual investor, who is confident in Singapore's continued growth as a business hub and in office workers returning to physical offices, stands to lose.

Perhaps Reits here should consider divesting more prime Singapore office assets, given valuations are relatively low in some cases and trusts trade below book value in other instances.

SPH Media Limited

SUSTOS
post Nov 18 2021, 02:36 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Nov 18 2021, 02:27 PM)
how to tax when it is not remit back? LHDN can't read your statement unless they hack into your email account
CRS reporting, they know your bank statements and overseas accounts. Of course as Hansel said Malaysia does not practice citizenship or territorial taxation system, so I guess that is not an issue. But tehoice mentioned about some changes in the legislative "terms", so just to stay on the safe side. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=102903679
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2021, 06:01 PM

8,667 posts

Digital Realty's REIT IPO finally arrives.

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/capital/ip...nd-listing-jump

It is called Digital Core REIT. Prospectus can be found from MAS OPERA portal (check link below):

https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/opera/Public/C...43d373c69593dc2

10 properties in US and Canada, Global ROFR biggrin.gif.

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 22 2021, 06:06 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2021, 06:04 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 22 2021, 06:01 PM)
IBKR can subs SG IPO? dah lupa ni  hmm.gif
Cannot. Only HK IPO available. So, you need to buy on secondary market when trading commences.
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2021, 06:25 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 22 2021, 06:14 PM)
sadly, kinda interested, TOS will buy?  blush.gif
Me? I will wait. Interest rates set to rise soon, unless there are good rental reversions or good appreciation in property revaluations, the price of REITs will remain muted.

DR is a nice sponsor. But only 10 properties injected seem small to me. I need to study their locations too. IPOs are hardly good investments unless you are a cornerstone investors who can "flip" your stakes in the very first few minutes of trading. Wait for a few quarters to observe the trend and the performance of the managers (not to mention the managers are very new, no previous track record to verify their past performance).

I checked the post-IPO holdings, sponsor DLR about 30-35% stake, cornerstone investors another 30-35%, manager around 1-2%, public and other institutional investors around 25%. No lock-up period for all cornerstone investors (save for DBS, underwriter I think), so they can "flip" if they want to, something you want to be careful.

Yield around 4.75% p.a., factor in liquidity/size premium plus SGD/USD appreciation in long run, when compared against Keppel DC, seems reasonably priced. But I don't know what others are thinking.
SUSTOS
post Nov 22 2021, 10:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 22 2021, 10:48 PM)
To me,...it's just the below :-
1) The REIT is projecting a distribution yield of 4.75% for forecast year 2022 and DPU growth of 5.26% from forecast year 2022 to projection year 2023.
2) Payout twice a year only.

Comparing yield vs DHLT's, DHLT's better,....
Uhmm, I think cannot just see yield. It is not entirely apple to apple comparison. Data center vs pure logistics/warehouse are different asset classes, so they command different capitalization rates. There are other things to look at too, like sponsors, geographical location, governance, etc.

But I think Daiwa's yield is rather high for a Japan-based or Japan-centric REIT. Maybe I am missing something that the market has already factored in? Is Daiwa a bad sponsor or has bad track records? Or the properties are not prime/in prime locations?

Sponsors/REITs relationship with banks also important, as they heavily rely on refinancing to survive. If banks cut off the loans/facilities and demand immediate repayments, the REIT will be in trouble.
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2021, 12:06 AM

8,667 posts

MLT in aggressive acquisition.

Japan's property: https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/20211122-MLT...t&FileID=691755

China and Vietnam property: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...1268f4b8d18fd97
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2021, 03:22 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2021, 03:18 PM)
Eveyrhting you have said in the above are classical stuff for investing in REITs. I would have considered all the above before I compared DG with DHLT. I'm an old hand, bro,... you shld know better than to counter me like that in the above.  biggrin.gif

Anyway,... ESR REIT is rising,... this was my "instinctive REIT" earlier,... if you read back many pgs here.  rclxm9.gif Good things are coming soon.
Ya, old hand knows better. tongue.gif I am mostly textbook-style in my approach. biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2021, 03:33 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 23 2021, 03:29 PM)
Note that Daiwa as the sponsor holds only 10% or so of the Reit. Not much of a show of confidence to investors?
Don't know much about Daiwa, can't comment. But 10% is indeed low compared to other major sponsors. It also depends on how much fund management fee can Daiwa extract out of this REIT, if the profit to them is low, they might have other plans instead.
SUSTOS
post Nov 23 2021, 06:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2021, 05:59 PM)
Apologies if I was aggressive earlier in my words. ohmy.gif
No, it was perfectly fine. Haha. Teasing you. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 23 2021, 06:37 PM)
Investing is an art. You cannot follow blindly by the books. Very good example. Tesla, bitcoin, ether tongue.gif
The books don't tell whether a PE ratio of triple digits are justified or not, the books only teach us how to calculate PE and we make the call from there.

And some stuffs are not yet entering mainstream textbooks. Too new to add in. laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 09:30 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Nov 24 2021, 09:17 AM)
so eagle high trust is filing for chapter 11 bankrupcy, anyone affected?
I am not affected.
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 09:31 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 24 2021, 09:28 AM)
Yes. Unfortunately. Small investment.  sad.gif
So, you sold all your holdings before it got worse? Or money still stuck in the company?
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 09:53 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 24 2021, 09:48 AM)
Stuck. Already written off in my books lah.......10 lots
Oh I see. That's too bad.
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 10:23 AM

8,667 posts

https://governanceforstakeholders.com/2020/...t-flew-too-far/
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 02:10 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Nov 24 2021, 01:34 PM)
wah.. hospital PARKWAY.. what story.. why become 5+
It seems 5 SGD is now resistance-turn-support. Don't know if IHH's plan to sell hospital business in China have spilt over.

She is a long-time winner. If no stock split, one decade for now she will be the first SREIT with double-digit share price. biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 24 2021, 03:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 24 2021, 02:39 PM)
With yield 2.7~2.8%?

Don't sound a lot of logic especially with treasuries yield interest rate is seen on trajectory upwards.
I think market pricing near-term rent upside in 2-3 years time. But ya you are right. Shall watch rate decisions from BOJ too as they have significant JPY exposure.
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2021, 01:28 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Nov 25 2021, 11:33 AM)
anybody applied for Daiwa?
Which broker are you using? I use IB so cannot apply for any IPOs, save for HKEX.
SUSTOS
post Nov 30 2021, 08:53 AM

8,667 posts

Keppel REIT's acquisition in North Sydney: https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...de8161e752715b2

MUST's acquisition in Phoenix and Portland, US:

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...3a6660bc35c4dba
SUSTOS
post Dec 3 2021, 07:58 AM

8,667 posts

CICT's acquisition in Sydney:

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-annou...7ceac6f7591f470
SUSTOS
post Dec 7 2021, 08:09 AM

8,667 posts

CICT to launch private placement to fund acquisition of Sydney properties.

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/Annc_CICT_La...t&FileID=693424

Advanced distributions: https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/Annc_Notice_...t&FileID=693425

76 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.4069sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:44 AM