Hardware Y580 HDD issue, Your Y580 working PERFECTLY!

TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 07:20 PM, updated 14y ago

705 posts

Blue color - Cold air direction
Red coloer - Hot air direction
Green area - After u close the back cover, there still have a gap to let cooling fan su ck the hot air in.
Orange area - Remove the plastic for cold air in.
The Blue Cardboard is show you after the back cover is closed, there is a gap to let hot air in.

Light blue area - Only left 5% hole for HDD surface to dissipation the heat.

ST1000LM024 Environmental Specifications.

(READ CAREFULLY HERE)

Ambient Temperature

When your HDD in (Operating) -------> The Ambient Temperature MUST be between 5°C~55°C (If your room temperature is 40°C, sure your HDD will rise up to 50°C above)

(A) (Drive temperature measured on position of figure 3-1 should be max 65C in range of 5C-55C, specified operation temperature.)
(A) If your laptop operating at 30°C room temperature, the HDD maximum temperature is 65°C.

How the HDD measured temperature? See below

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Sep 12 2012, 01:38 AM
skycrawler
post Sep 10 2012, 09:18 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

The guide is very details , nice one TS . This should solve the so called HDD heat problem laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skycrawler: Sep 10 2012, 09:18 PM
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 09:21 PM

395 posts

i cant get the idea..........can explain?
thank you
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 09:29 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:21 PM)
i cant get the idea..........can explain?
thank you
Let say u playing your Y580 in your room or your gf room with air-cond.

Room temperature is about 20 degree celcius. So your Y580 HDD max temperature should not be more than 65 degree celcius(when your Y580 is power on (HDD operating)).

Will you use your Y580 under room temperature 40 degree celcius? If you do so, i think you will crash faster than your HDD biggrin.gif
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 09:36 PM

395 posts

but but but....how can we solve this?
SUSsoundsyst64
post Sep 10 2012, 09:37 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Time for drilling a hole on back plate? tongue.gif
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 09:38 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:36 PM)
but but but....how can we solve this?
what to solve??

Your HDD temperature reach to 65 degree celcius?
ck.chunkeat
post Sep 10 2012, 09:43 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

i dont understand eventhough im a chinese...sweat.gif
And you didnt explain why you put the blue cardboard there..

From what you mention about the temperature of hdd..
What i can understand is that when operating the hdd,the ambient temperature/room temperature should be around 5-55 degree celcius.. and the max temperature of the hdd is 65C?
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 09:51 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 10 2012, 09:43 PM)
i dont understand eventhough im a chinese...sweat.gif
And you didnt explain why you put the blue cardboard there..

From what you mention about the temperature of hdd..
What i can understand is that when operating the hdd,the ambient temperature/room temperature should be around 5-55 degree celcius.. and the max temperature of the hdd is 65C?
About the blue cardboard, after you close the back cover, the back cover doesn't block the air way (still have a gap), hot air from heatpipe and hdd will exhaust by the cooling fan.

If your HDD is operating, the ambient temperature better around 5-55 degree celcius, IF your room temperature is 50 degree celcius, i give you 1000 fans, you also can not cool it down, you just blow the hot air into the laptop.

Not matter your laptop in what environment temperature, the HDD max temperature is 65 degree celcius.
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 09:52 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:38 PM)
what to solve??

Your HDD temperature reach to 65 degree celcius?
i think i slowly get your point, max temp 58'C =)
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 09:55 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:52 PM)
i think i slowly get your point, max temp 58'C =)
Not using at hot environment should be ok.
ck.chunkeat
post Sep 10 2012, 09:56 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:51 PM)
About the blue cardboard, after you close the back cover, the back cover doesn't block the air way (still have a gap), hot air from heatpipe and hdd will exhaust by the cooling fan.

If your HDD is operating, the ambient temperature better around 5-55 degree celcius, IF your room temperature is 50 degree celcius, i give you 1000 fans, you also can not cool it down, you just blow the hot air into the laptop.

Not matter your laptop in what environment temperature, the HDD max temperature is 65 degree celcius.
Yea,i understand bout the temperature part.
Anyway,isnt it good that hot air from heatpipe and hdd will be blown out by the fan?
By putting the blue cardboard there,it will block the airflow or will it enhance the airflow?
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 09:57 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 10 2012, 09:56 PM)
Yea,i understand bout the temperature part.
Anyway,isnt it good that hot air from heatpipe and hdd will be blown out by the fan?
By putting the blue cardboard there,it will block the airflow or will it enhance the airflow?
i think the card is trying to show you there is a gap.....correct me if i'm wrong, deepcool92
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 09:59 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Sep 10 2012, 09:57 PM)
i think the card is trying to show you there is a gap.....correct me if i'm wrong, deepcool92
haha ya you are right. more detail at zol.com.cn.
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 10:26 PM

395 posts

SIFUU!!!
SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 10 2012, 10:53 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

after so many post... what's this all about?

guide to improve airflow for y580?

ssd can tahan how hot ar?
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 10:58 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 10 2012, 10:53 PM)
after so many post... what's this all about?

guide to improve airflow for y580?

ssd can tahan how hot ar?
For those over worry the HDD heat issue.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 10 2012, 11:04 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i use ssd... but still got my odd... the ssd will get bbq or not ar?
TSdeepcool0922
post Sep 10 2012, 11:07 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 10 2012, 11:04 PM)
i use ssd... but still got my odd... the ssd will get bbq or not ar?
would not. Unless higher capacity (means more memory chips inside SSD), generated more heat.
cslance
post Sep 10 2012, 11:34 PM

337 posts

Even i read through all the post and comment still cannot get how to solve but i manage to understand the purpose.
Anywhere nice and detail information shared. Keep up. and Thank you

0.0190sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:18 AM