Granite vs Quartz Countertops for Kitchen

barca96
post Oct 14 2019, 11:48 AM

980 posts

Just want to share the prices for Quartz after doing some extensive research for over a month;

Quartz

1) QQ Quartz (Quality Quartz)
Imported from China, Quartz mix with glass, Mirror chips effect, Price around RM180-190/FR

2) Jess Stone
OEM from Canada, Quartz mix with natural crystal stone, Price around RM200-380/FR - Depends on which series

3) Caesarstone
Israel brand, Imported from Singapore, Price around RM400-600/FR

4) Silestone
Spain brand, Imported from Spain, Price RM750-1000++/FR - Depends on the colour

However this morning a shop quoted me Silestone prices below RM300/foot run.
barca96
post Oct 15 2019, 10:24 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(glasgowkitchen @ Oct 14 2019, 03:47 PM)
Wah. must have spent a lot of time and effort... notworthy.gif

So which one have you decided on?  smile.gif
Quartz but I want a marble design quartz but it seems that there are a lot of types;
-compress marble sold as quartz (usually below RM150/foot run)
-quartz with some mixture on top (usually below RM150/foot run)
-Malaysian quartz (around 200/foot run)
-China quartz (1 shop claimed that it is from the biggest supplier in the world so it can't be bad but it is just not tested) (just below RM300/foot run)
-Imported quartz from Europe etc. (tested) (just below RM300/foot run)

And now 1 shop is selling Silestone for below RM300/foot run when the supplier in Malaysia is selling for RM750/foot run and above.

Headache bangwall.gif
Don't know what is true and what is not...

Even for kitchen cabinet, it ranges from RM9k-18+k for the same thing (Legend being 17k and the 18+k is a smaller shop). icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by barca96: Oct 15 2019, 10:25 AM
barca96
post Oct 16 2019, 08:40 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(glasgowkitchen @ Oct 15 2019, 02:35 PM)
Too many choices.  smile.gif

I've had two people ask me what countertop is it as they have not heard of it before. They just wanted to know what material is it made of and characteristics of that engineered stone. They didn't ask me where is it from...

Usually they go, 'this isn't solid surface right?'

Marble design Quartz= best of both worlds. Aesthetic with no maintenance...  smile.gif

If your quartz countertop is more than 9-10ft, might want to check with them how many cuts are there and where they plan to join it.
i've been searching for mable design quartz since day 1.
only last week I learned that there are differences.
there is compress marble, quartz mix with resin and quartz. in that order.
compress marble can be as low as RM110/foot run. But it is similar level to solid surface.
barca96
post Oct 17 2019, 11:54 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(glasgowkitchen @ Oct 17 2019, 05:44 PM)
Huh. I thought quartz countertop is quartz mixed with resin.

Similar level as in quality or pricing?
yeah there are 3 levels... according to 1 shop.. everywhere else they explained that there are 2 types only..
besides that for quartz there is Msia made, China made and ang moh made..
barca96
post Oct 24 2019, 02:07 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Oct 23 2019, 07:27 PM)
Do u mind sharing the shops that u went to survey?

I have a quartz countertop which my ID installed, but that day a few drops of pineapple juice drop on the quartz top, and now there is a few dots marked on it. Im wondering why is it so sensitive?? Anybody else face similar issue?
Hi you can check on the kitchen cabinet thread. I posted there. I’m on my phone now. Quite troublesome to navigate through the pages.
barca96
post Oct 24 2019, 10:16 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Oct 23 2019, 07:27 PM)
Do u mind sharing the shops that u went to survey?

I have a quartz countertop which my ID installed, but that day a few drops of pineapple juice drop on the quartz top, and now there is a few dots marked on it. Im wondering why is it so sensitive?? Anybody else face similar issue?
here you go
Solid Top solution.
‪+60 12‑323 1909‬

Sunshine Marble
+60 17-605 3218
barca96
post Oct 24 2019, 10:17 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Oct 23 2019, 08:52 PM)
Not on my Silestone. I have spilled things far worse than pineapple juice on the countertop. Not all quartz stones are created equal. It all depends on the % of the quartz and the bonding material used. Don't expect generic china brands will have great bonding materials and high quartz content (I.e >90%).
do you remember roughly how much per foot run your Silestone was?
barca96
post Oct 25 2019, 01:24 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Oct 24 2019, 04:20 PM)
Silestone price can varies greatly from 300-900. Mine is on the lower end ... Roughly RM350 pfr. Combined my wet and dry kitchen that was equivalent to 37ft run which turned out to be around 13k. That was more than 10 years ago (pic below)

My Silestone after so many years still like new. That's why I am using Silestone again for my new house

Amazing.. Not sure how quartz will look after 10 years as I have no experience in this.
I wonder if it is worth to top up for Silestone as I would need 16 feet..
Quartz Marble design (my no1 choice as I really love marble) RM270 x 16 feet = RM4320
Silestone RM306 x16 feet + RM4896

Not that much of a difference. I am just not sure if it worth to top up since quartz is a strong stone as well.
barca96
post Oct 25 2019, 05:47 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Oct 25 2019, 02:53 PM)
Silestone is >90% quartz. Of course quartz is strong. Only diamond and sapphire are harder.

Not sure what is quartz marble. If it is quartz and marble then it will be softer and more porous. Silestone and other quartz countertops also have marble look but those may be more expensive
Quartz stone with marble design
barca96
post Oct 26 2019, 09:25 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Oct 26 2019, 05:43 PM)
Then you probably need to know what's the specs of your quartz marble. After that you have to decide if you are going for look vs durability
went to look at porcelain tiles at Creative Lab today as I thought I can use that for kitchen wall and go grey for kitchen top but the tiles looks so lacklustre.
in photos they look just like marble or quartz but in real person it looked really pale.

0.0279sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:40 AM