RCA Cable for Best Quality, Van Den Hul Thunderline Cable

TSIrwann
post Sep 7 2012, 08:37 PM, updated 14y ago

Just wan feedback from ICE Expert or experience using dis Cable for Car Audio System. How d quality if using dis cable for SQ setting. Tq
garykam
post Sep 7 2012, 08:46 PM

145 posts

the more expensive rca cable u buy, the better result cum out smile.gif
empire23
post Sep 7 2012, 09:00 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Personally using expensive cable is pointless especially those from audio house brands.

Suggest getting good Belden, Amphenol, Alpha or 3M cable and wiring them with good industrial connectors. Will cost you a quarter the price with 2x the performance.
garykam
post Sep 7 2012, 09:16 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Sep 7 2012, 09:00 PM)
Personally using expensive cable is pointless especially those from audio house brands.

Suggest getting good Belden, Amphenol, Alpha or 3M cable and wiring them with good industrial connectors. Will cost you a quarter the price with 2x the performance.
disagree with u bro. no offence ah. now i using wolfkenstein rca cable(dunno how to spell ady biggrin.gif ), i can say the vocal, instrument is much clear. especially is instrument. before i using normal rca cable (<200 buck) i cant listen the drum sound, but after i use current rca cable, i can found out the drum sound suddenly appear biggrin.gif
TSIrwann
post Sep 7 2012, 09:29 PM

Just read all d info CZ I'm new in ICE
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 09:32 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

cables are a subjective thing. google it up and you'll know.

if you can afford it and thinks it has difference, go ahead.
otherwise get cheaper good quality cables. its up to you

carcrazy
post Sep 7 2012, 09:34 PM

189 posts

ooo..dats one of my favourite cable. i even have ready stock if ur interested
TSIrwann
post Sep 7 2012, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 7 2012, 09:34 PM)
ooo..dats one of my favourite cable. i even have ready stock if ur interested
Just wan d info from members before install. Bro, I no more promise with u. Nanti xjadi. Malu la. Janji Tak Ditepati. I will pm u if conform.
scsoo
post Sep 7 2012, 09:55 PM

427 posts

Used this thunderline VdH for HiFi before but not in ICE. If you have heard VdH before it have it's VdH signature with emphasis on punchy bass. Could be indeed good on a subwoofer....
Interconnect do influence, those of us in HIFI normally agree on this. Therefore should be the same for ICE.
I am also using wolkenstein but speaker cable for ICE, for interconnect my ICE use Transparent as extra from my home set. Not willing to use my Chord interconnect ... Because all not long enough.. Hahaha.. ICE need 2m and above....
For ICE make sure the interconnect are rugged and possible weatherproof. So not all interconnect are suitable as some contruction are not tough as not expected to be roughly used.
irmond
post Sep 8 2012, 02:29 AM

629 posts

go for Monster cable and that's where u'll regret for sure.
malutapimau
post Sep 8 2012, 06:49 AM

751 posts

be careful when buying rca cables, we might end up paying more than what it offers

good cables offer good resistance/inductance/capacitance parameter (R/L/C)
but usually cable company charge $$$ fot these good parameter cables

but expensive cables look hot and super sexy! a good match to hot sexy gf/wifes--- ill buy one if i got nora danish hik!

empire23
post Sep 8 2012, 07:28 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ Sep 7 2012, 09:16 PM)
disagree with u bro. no offence ah. now i using wolfkenstein rca cable(dunno how to spell ady biggrin.gif ), i can say the vocal, instrument is much clear. especially is instrument. before i using normal rca cable (<200 buck) i cant listen the drum sound, but after i use current rca cable, i can found out the drum sound suddenly appear biggrin.gif
Audio goes around 20hz to 20khz.

I spec cables as part of my job and I spec cables for up to 500 mhz operation. Plus I used to build high performance custom amps. Also have access to BER and cable testing systems.

Very high quality scientific and industrial grade cable with space grade dielectric, dual layer shielding and geometric braid will almost always slap the pants off "audio cables" which are mostly snake oil.

You don't have to take my word as gospel, but building great cables does not need to cost that much. It merely needs skill.
TSIrwann
post Sep 8 2012, 07:37 AM

After review d comment n info from members, I decide to install it at KF Audio. Bcz d system personally setting by Mr Siemon Liew (dis uncle looks very nice n good person). After he call n advice me. B4 installation just wan he test all d cable as advice from ICE Members. Tq all of u friends.
zennn
post Sep 10 2012, 10:19 PM

got tell mr liew i recommend u or not? haha.....
TSIrwann
post Sep 14 2012, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(zennn @ Sep 10 2012, 10:19 PM)
got tell mr liew i recommend u or not? haha.....
I know u r very popular... whistling.gif
newtoapple
post Sep 14 2012, 10:37 AM

56 posts

So what would be the most expensive cable in the market?
scsoo
post Sep 14 2012, 08:53 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(newtoapple @ Sep 14 2012, 11:37 AM)
So what would be the most expensive cable in the market?
I only know a 2 meter Chord Sarum RCA is 15k and you can get it from WKH Malaysia. Think would sound nice with Brax Matrix Speaker and Amplifier from a McIntosh HU.
How I wish I can afford something at that level. Maybe start to buy lottery ticket and hope strike first price plus jackpot same time.....
howiechoo
post Sep 14 2012, 09:47 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Sep 14 2012, 08:53 PM)
I only know a 2 meter Chord Sarum RCA is 15k and you can get it from WKH Malaysia. Think would sound nice with Brax Matrix Speaker and Amplifier from a McIntosh HU.
How I wish I can afford something at that level. Maybe start to buy lottery ticket and hope strike first price plus jackpot same time.....
15k is consider moderate if u really into cable smile.gif
carcrazy
post Sep 14 2012, 11:21 PM

189 posts

to me cables work as a form of tuning
the key word - right cables for the right application

if a system do not have the following trait, ex - airyness, low extension n etc.. EQ'ing would only help a bit. over do it, it shall sound un-natural.
cables can 'inject' inherent character into the system. being a 'tuner' one would appreciate as tweaking n tuning is much more achievable!
knowing a specific brand n range is critical based on AB comparison.
if one were to pursue cables based on popularity, reviews n etc.. then the key word ' right cables for the right application' would NOT work

Belden is well know cable manufacturer. no doubt its a good cable and a lot of people swear by it. cost effective and can even compare with much more pricier cables.
if i were to lay cables in the building, i would definitely go for Belden.
but in Hifi, my findings was it simply takes away the 'soul' in the music. this is based on my personal opinion.

up-stream and down-stream cables in a system, i usually use diff cables for each purpose. much more beneficial

0.0157sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:59 PM