News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

minzisme
post Nov 15 2012, 08:42 PM

32 posts

hi,i have few questions ,what is the gn36 external graphic ?is it the one the dual graphics for ultra bay which make sli? if not, then how much for a gt 655m sli graphic bay? i had been waiting this laptop for a couple of month ~
minzisme
post Nov 16 2012, 03:19 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Nov 16 2012, 03:08 PM)
New Ideapad Y500/Y400 should be price around the same as Y580/Y480 with similar specs, ODD & 120W PSU.

My guess on Y500 with i7/GT650M/FHD/4GB/500GB/W8/ODD/120W psu is around Y580@RM3K.
The additional ultrabay GT650M + additional 170W PSU possibly price around RM700-900.

Y500 bundle with GT650M dual GPUs may price around RM3700-3900.  brows.gif
The price could be lower if they remove the ODD & 120W psu.

My guess is base on Y500 selling at China Lenovo site as below:
Y500 come with i5/i7+GT650M+ODD/bluray & 120W psu in China.
The ultrabay GT650M & 170W psu are optional and selling separately.
http://appserver.lenovo.com.cn/Lenovo_Prod...sid=A0300018506
http://appserver.lenovo.com.cn/Lenovo_Prod...sid=A0700018376

Just wonder why they want to sell ultrabay GT650M + 170W separately?  hmm.gif  More profitable? laugh.gif
They could lower the price if bundle with Y500 and remove the ODD & 120W psu.  biggrin.gif
hi,i would like to know is the 120w psu good enought to support the ultra bay?
if not why have to make another 170w psu=.=i really no idea about this ~
3700-3900 is ok with me,i will buy it with this price{if it is full hd)
but is anyone know how gt650sli work,is it similar to 670mx or 675mx?
and is y400/500 have a backlit keyboard?
minzisme
post Nov 16 2012, 04:13 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Nov 16 2012, 04:02 PM)
Where the hell is FrixFox???

Now available???

Quick!!!! I must go there now!!!
yeah,go now !After buy it and run a 3dmark for us to see...
i wan to see how well can gt650 msli going
minzisme
post Nov 16 2012, 05:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 16 2012, 04:49 PM)
If the price is indeed RM3799, then compare to Y580 RM2999.
We are getting:
GT650M SLI vs GTX660M
Better heatsink design.
More bling design (may not suit corp office sweat.gif

Since GT650M is comparable to GT560M, if GT650M SLI is comparable to GT560M SLI, then we are looking at performance more or less on par with GT675M (maybe not GT675MX, my guess), depend on driver support (very important). Anyway, a single CPU is always a cleaner solution than SLI in my book.

I will hold on to my Y580 for now biggrin.gif
what i saw from chinese forum ,there is people doing test ,gt650m *2 in 3dmark can run p 3600+
if with newest driver for gt650msli, i think reach 4000+ is not a problem
cant win gtx675mx,but is similar to gtx675m
minzisme
post Nov 22 2012, 03:56 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Nov 21 2012, 06:45 PM)
Lenovo official specs Y500 with dual GPUs GT650M(2GB) stock ready according to trustworthy reseller Devour.  thumbup.gif
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Frixfox-Solu...249192148450486

Y500(5934-9366),  i7-3630/Nvidia GT650 (2GB)/15.6" FHD/4GB/500GB/W8/red backlit keyboard/16" Backpack/2 years warranty
Free GN36 External Graphic / Removable + additional Y500 170W Adapter
Price : RM3799.

Lenovo malaysia facebook is quite slow in new product update.
Sometime they are not aware the new laptop already available in the market till the user update them.  biggrin.gif

Y400 specs below will reach us in December, price will be around Y480.  rclxms.gif
Y400 come with ultrabay DVD but no option for ultrabay GT650M.

Y400, i7-3630/Nvidia GT650 (2GB)/4GB/500GB/W8/red backlit keyboard/2 years warranty
ODD: DVDRW (swappable)
ETA: early December
GT655M is the SLI version of GT650M.
hi,just wan to check with you...is 170w ac adapter for thinkpad w520 can work/use in y500 also?As we know Y500 with external graphic required for 170w ac adapter)..BUT here the problem come, i did an order for a y500 with external graphic,but the supplies told me that the ac adapter is out for stock now=.=so will only deliver to me the Y500+external graphic but without the ac adapter!!!The problem is, i m going oversea for study soon (in 2 week time)seem like dun have much time wait for that ac adapter available,if ac adapter for w520 work in y500 as well,i would just buy it.some 1 please check for me!!
minzisme
post Nov 22 2012, 04:51 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Nov 22 2012, 04:34 PM)
u order from who? do they giv any refund/discount without the adapter?

as long as the watt remain the same, shud be no problem. however, if anything happen, it might void ur warranty.
from my fren which selling this ,ya ,they got offer the ac adapter to me,but out of stock,and he told me will send to me later on,but the most i can only wait for 2 week,if not have to buy ac adpater for w520 for myself{it cost 300+}.btw,the watt the same,and ac adapter for w520 also for ultrabay

minzisme
post Nov 23 2012, 06:00 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 22 2012, 11:29 PM)
Thanks for the clarification.
Means that the users have to bring along the extra GPU(inserted) and 170w PSU, which is not that convenient compared to carrying a 120w adapter and without the extra GPU for everyday outdoor use.

Hope there's an option for the owners to buy an extra blank ultrabay or anything to replace the GPU, and an extra 120w PSU adapter.
the extra graphic card is removable,as u can replace it with optional dvd player/bluray player or cooling fan,maybe more replacing items coming out..you can also leave it blank if you wan
the problem is come without the 120w adapter,as 170w is too heavy
i had bought a y500,but the supplies told me that ac 170w adapter is ouf of stock,does it mean,i dun have any ac adapter in my incoming y500=.=(as devour telling us 120w ac adapter is not inside the box)

Added on November 23, 2012, 6:07 am
QUOTE(devour @ Nov 22 2012, 09:48 PM)
default box inside already have the extra graphic card slot in the ultrabay ( aka optical drive slot ) , hence thats no ODD available, and inside the box only have 170 w adapter along only
thank for ur information
but i got few questions
If i wan to bring Y500 out for school,or anything else,will i be able to take out the external graphic(which is inserted)and leave it blank,so that it is no so heavy?
And if there is a need.can i replace it with others cooling fan,harddisk or others odd drive?

This post has been edited by minzisme: Nov 23 2012, 06:07 AM
minzisme
post Nov 23 2012, 04:58 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(rifle_m16 @ Nov 23 2012, 03:27 PM)
The first reply above showing like you know about it.

The second add on reply showing you don't know whether it works or not.  rclxub.gif
double confirm,==Chinese forum is doing performance test for y500 gt650 sli now

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(ytlay @ Sep 1 2012, 05:35 PM)
This post will be updated frequently with more latest news, stay tune.

Y400, i7-3630QM/GT650M(GDDR5)/4GB/500GB/ODD/backlit keyboard/2 yrs warranty

Price: TBA
ETA : early December

Finally, Y500 with dual GPUs GT650M(2GB) stock available in MY according to Devour.  brows.gif
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Frixfox-Solu...249192148450486
Y500, i7-3630/Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5)/15.6" FHD/4GB/500GB/W8/backlit keyboard/2 years warranty/no ODD/16" backpack
Free GN36 External Graphic / Removable + Y500 170W Adapter
Price : RM3799.

-21/11/12
Y400 interior layout  & unboxing in China
http://itbbs.pconline.com.cn/notebook/15974545.html

Y500 unboxing in China
http://ideapad.zol.com.cn/60/160_592752.html

- 11/11/12 update
unboxing Y400 with GT650M dual graphics by China Lenovo insider
http://ideapad.zol.com.cn/60/160_591994.html
[attachmentid=3150562][attachmentid=3150563][attachmentid=3150564][attachmentid=3150565][attachmentid=3150566][attachmentid=3150567]

- 6/11/12 update
- Y500 spec below coming soon to MY according to Marcus.  brows.gif
Y500 Black (5934-9366) Intel Core i7-3630/4GB/500GB/Windows 8/Nvidia GT650 2GB/15.6"FHD LD/16" Backpack/2 years warranty
Free GN36 External Graphic / Removable + additional Y500 170W Adapter

- Y400/Y500 details spec & price on sales at US website.  thumbup.gif
http://www.lenovo.com/us/en/?mobile=no

Y400 i7-3630QM / GT650M (2GB) / 14" HD / 8GB / 1TB + 16GB mSSD / W8 / backlit keyboard / 2.5kg
ODD- Optional SLI Bay graphics, dvd, bluray
starting at US$1249
http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/tech-spe.../y-series/y400/

Y500 i7-3632QM / GT650M (2GB) SLI / 15.6" HD / 8GB / 1TB + 16GB mSSD / W8 / backlit keyboard / 2.7kg
ODD- Optional SLI Bay graphics, dvd, bluray
starting at US$1149
http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/tech-spe.../y-series/y500/

- updated 29/10/12
According to Lenovo reseller in China HERE.
- Y500: FHD for highest specs model only, optional ultrabay GPU, backlit keyboard, ETA around mid Dec.
- Y400: no option for ultrabay GPU, no FHD, with backlit keyboard, price around Y480 and ETA around mid Nov.

Swappable ulltrabay GT655M(2GB,35W)  & 170W PSU for Y500 rsp CNY1999 (around 1K).
http://appserver.lenovo.com.cn/Lenovo_Prod...sid=A0700018376
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

- updated 25/10/12
Ideapad Y500/Y400 will be available in Nov 2012 according to Lenovo insider in China.

Y500 thermal design look promising in cooling of GT650M in SLI.  thumbup.gif
- Dual GT650M with separate heatsink/ fans and big ventilation area is promising.
- Repositioning of HDD will improve its cooling compare to Y580/Y480.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2611982-1-1.html

The back cover of Y500/Y400 can be completely removed for dust cleaning.
http://ideapad.zol.com.cn/60/160_590001.html
[attachmentid=3121032]

Unboxing of Y400 in youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jIElyWsVXZ4

- updated 16/10
New Lenovo Ideapad Y500/Y400 coming soon in Lenovo US sites.  thumbup.gif
http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/i.../y-series/y500/
http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/i.../y-series/y400/
Y500/Y400 official specs.

Y500/Y400 official picture
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914/+80

- updated 12/10
Y400

y500

- updated 15/9 with leaked details from Lenovo insider in China at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914/+68
Wow! Lenovo is launching new Idealpad Y400/Y500 i7+ GT655M or GT650M + W8Pro  with  ultrabay swapable with dual graphics capability, extra HDD or cooling fans available in October.
Just wonder the cost, cooling, power consumption & capability of dual graphics card.
But its a nice option for DIY to dual GPUs.

More details at laptop review HERE.
Notebookcheck: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-update...-8.81300.0.html
Engadget : http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/31/lenovo-...y-and-z-series/

Press release:

Idealpad Y400 press image
http://www.engadget.com/photos/lenovo-idea...images/#5249161
More info/image for Y400/Y500 from chinese site.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2443047-1-1.html
http://ideapad.zol.com.cn/59/160_586852.html
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2437176-1-1.html

Carbon fibre patterned cover for highend Y500 with ultrabay on right side look promising.
I love the red backlit keyboard more like gaming laptop.  wub.gif

Idealpad Y400 with large wire mesh ventilation below the hot spot & ultrabay on right side.
It should have better cooling for dual GPUs and save the trouble of dust cleaning.

Y500/Y400 Ultrabay with 2nd discrete GPU, heatsink & fan on the left side as picture below.
Fan, heatsink and onboard CPU/GPU come with the laptop are defaulted on the right.

Y500 with Full HD, bigger wire mesh ventilation at the bottom, red backlit keyboard.
[attachmentid=3033722][attachmentid=3033111][attachmentid=3033112]

Fan, dual pipe heatsink & onboard GT650M come with Y500.  thumbup.gif
Temp for cpu 56c, gpu 46c, Hdd 39c not bad ah!
[attachmentid=3033063][attachmentid=3033065][attachmentid=3033797]

2nd GT650M discrete GPU, full copper heatsink & fan in Y500 swappable ultrabay and HDD.  rclxm9.gif
Y400/Y500 ultrabay GT650M come with PCI-E, laptop with PCI-E & universal SATA port.
More details at chinese site http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2443047-1-1.html
[attachmentid=3033047][attachmentid=3033048][attachmentid=3120768]
3dmark for y500 gt655m sli in i5cpu had been tested and posted by someone in Chinese forum, it hit p3400 in i5,i7should be getting more

This post has been edited by minzisme: Nov 23 2012, 05:57 PM
minzisme
post Nov 25 2012, 07:26 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Nov 25 2012, 01:58 AM)
haha. me dun hav any subscription to any internet packages yet. wait for next week. the americans are going to do their review i guess. going back to port klang tomorrow. anybody know where can i get games around there?

Added on November 25, 2012, 3:43 am

how's ur warranty? mine got 2 years. still, in kuantan, they're selling a lil bit higher than market price which is rm3899. same unit with same warranty got selling only 3799.
i bought mine with rm3850 in 8gb ram,2 year warranty,i bought it in batu pahat area,stock is really limited
minzisme
post Nov 29 2012, 05:35 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Nov 29 2012, 04:40 PM)
myotgo, may I know the graphics setting for the NFS Most Wanted (the latest one right?) .

FPS Min: 14 to max 21 may not seem playable. Maybe u set at the ultra settings?
the fps is around 40-45 according to here http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2728731-1-1.html in single gt650m
the fps is around 55-60 according to here http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2728731-1-1.html in gt650msli
if you could read chinese,u can have a look here, http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2732942-1-1.html
this link is about all the game tested by lenovo y500 in dual gt650m sli in ultra setting
hope this can help you

This post has been edited by minzisme: Nov 29 2012, 05:36 PM
minzisme
post Nov 29 2012, 05:57 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(myotgo @ Nov 29 2012, 05:41 PM)
thnks will make it again and upload the screenshoot too
will test on nfsmw,fifa13,assasin creed 3 smile.gif

ermm that one tested on 1366 x 768
i set up for full hd resolution 1920 x 1080 and all in high setting

never mind will make a test again
ya,but they re testing in 15-3210 only
i7-3630 should be better
hope you can test crysis 2,cod 9 as in [ultra ,direct 11,and 1920*1080]
thank you !i will stay online and wait for your result,haha
minzisme
post Nov 30 2012, 01:45 PM

32 posts

is anyone facing this problem when trying to open 3dmark 11?

Added on November 30, 2012, 1:54 pmand i also cant get to open 鲁大师.exe ...anyone know what is going on=.=

Added on November 30, 2012, 3:05 pmi cant open zip,rar,exe file in win8 ,anyone got any idea about this

This post has been edited by minzisme: Nov 30 2012, 03:05 PM
minzisme
post Nov 30 2012, 04:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 30 2012, 03:52 PM)
Win8 don't natively support rar (zip should be fine).
Install winrar or 7zip.
yeah
but i also cant get to install any exe file,setup
any idea about this =.=
cant install 3dmark 11

minzisme
post Nov 30 2012, 11:28 PM

32 posts

is anyone know where to find and dowload the latest driver for y500 grahic card, so far i had already dowload the 310.54 through 驱动精灵,is that the latest driver i can have? or if gt650m sli driver dft from single gt650m?
minzisme
post Nov 30 2012, 11:54 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 30 2012, 11:30 PM)
only SLI driver from Lenovo so far. Don't use the current stock driver (beta 310.64) from Nvidia (it does not support GT650M SLI).
yeah, mean that i did installed the 310.54, so i supposed to reinstall the driver from lenovo again? because i thought 310.54,310.64 is for single gt650m ,but driver from lenovo is only let the system recognise the gt650m sli ,they should be work together ==maybe i m wrong
minzisme
post Dec 1 2012, 12:11 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2012, 12:00 AM)
You should only use 1 version of driver.
To avoid any problem, I strongly suggest you wipe clean all GT650M driver. Then install the driver from Lenovo.
Refer to my earlier post, until Nvidia announce their driver support SLI for GT650M (look for the link or Lenovo will definite annouce as well smile.gif ), you should not update your driver with that from Nvidia.

how to wipe clean the gt650m?ha, i did a wrong big mistake
minzisme
post Dec 1 2012, 12:52 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2012, 12:24 AM)
Don't worry. It's no big deal  smile.gif

Read this: Official from Nvidia
http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13955.html

But, better is this. The above is not "clean enough" some times. This method use a software. The example is in Vista, but you get the message.
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/46...lled-properly-/

The best is this. This involve manually changing the regedit. DO NOT attempt unless you are absolutely sure what you are doing. The example is in Win7, but you get the message.
http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...an-install.html

Try the 1st method first. If you don't encounter further issue after you re-install the driver from Lenovo, good smile.gif
i still be able to see the sli enabled, dual gt650m in nvdia control panel,
but dun know it will affect my gaming or not,so far dun have any game, cant tested on it ...but if something bad really happened, i will follow ur detail, thanks
minzisme
post Dec 1 2012, 01:06 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2012, 01:02 AM)
Sure smile.gif Btw, that screenshot is after you install driver from Nvidia? or after you re-install driver from Lenovo? Did you restart, after installing any of the drivers? Sometime weird things happen after we restart laptop  sweat.gif
Good luck smile.gif
yeah, i installed 310.54 and restart this afternoon , the photo was taken 10 minut ago, i didn't re install the lenovo driver yet ,seem like nothing happened, hopefully!

Added on December 1, 2012, 1:08 am
QUOTE(minzisme @ Dec 1 2012, 01:06 AM)
yeah, i installed  310.54 and restart this afternoon , the photo was taken 10 minut ago, i didn't  re install the lenovo driver yet ,seem like nothing  happened, hopefully!
easy way to say ,the photo was taken after i installed the nvdia 310.54 and after restart

This post has been edited by minzisme: Dec 1 2012, 01:08 AM
minzisme
post Dec 1 2012, 01:19 AM

32 posts

now i m doing my 3d mark 11 test, for those people having problem like cant open or install any exe in win8(wermgr, exe)problem , i found the problem here, this happened because i open and using 搜狗拼音,since i closed and hide it , everything is going fine ,google got more detail about this, i spent 2 hour in google to check how to fix this problem, but i still failed to do so, at last , i typed in chinese in 为什么出现wermgr. exe win8,i found that a lot people which using 搜狗拼音having the some problem with me ,搜狗拼音 is the major problem which causing this ~

Added on December 1, 2012, 1:20 am
QUOTE(myotgo @ Dec 1 2012, 01:11 AM)
so actually what is the latest driver version for lenovo y500?
currently i use v306.00..erm i checked for an update and it said i have the latest update version
is it driver version affect fps value
wait for my 3dmark result, i installed 310.54 and lets see how ,testing now

This post has been edited by minzisme: Dec 1 2012, 01:20 AM
minzisme
post Dec 1 2012, 02:00 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Dec 1 2012, 01:47 AM)
The SLI scalling is very much depend on how well the drivers optimization. If SLI for GT650M is supported by Nvidia site, always use the latest drivers ie 310.64.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win8...eta-driver.html

Pls wait for 3DMark11 from minzisme to verify the 310.54 drivers compatibility.

Do keep your results with default 306 drivers for comparision.
hmn the result is p3569 after installed 310.54
and this is my driver detail check from dxdiag-display
i dun know why although i haf ardy installed latest driver yesterday ,but the driver version date is still on 21 august? ??or any way to check graphic driver detail again?
http://driverdl.lenovo.com.cn/lenovo/Drive..._NV_VGA_x64.exe

this is the latest lenovo driver for gt650m sli, i had done installed, but dun have any game for testing, so i need someone try i

Added on December 1, 2012, 2:27 am
QUOTE(ytlay @ Dec 1 2012, 01:47 AM)
The SLI scalling is very much depend on how well the drivers optimization. If SLI for GT650M is supported by Nvidia site, always use the latest drivers ie 310.64.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win8...eta-driver.html

Pls wait for 3DMark11 from minzisme to verify the 310.54 drivers compatibility.

Do keep your results with default 306 drivers for comparision.
+1  thumbup.gif
IMO, its quite worth it for Y500 with
- swappable ultrabay with different options to suit user needs, ie. ODD, HDD, fans, bluray, even additional battery in future if there are demand.
- swap it with additional battery and bring 120W psu(optional) when you needs mobility. swap with GT650M and use 170W psu when you needs extra horse power at home.
- better design/build & bling-bling Red backlit keyboard
- better cooling system & easy maintenance
and also according to Chinese forum, nvdia official driver also can be use in y500,but just currently no have any latest driver for sli win8 ,but there is latest driver for y500 win7 released 29 November
http://ideapad.it168.com/forum.php?mod=vie...9053&mobile=yes

This post has been edited by minzisme: Dec 1 2012, 02:44 AM

0.0411sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:52 PM