News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 07:09 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jun 10 2013, 02:10 AM)
Full spec Y500 with single 750 O.O.  Not all the spec are same except for SLI GC or Single GC and SSD is optional ?

i7 3630QM
GT750M
8gb Ram
1TB Harddisk
16gb SSD
Windows 8
Waaa quite a buy oo! Congratz congratz! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

mine same as urs, except dun have SSD but have SLI... total rm3889 including bag... icon_idea.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 07:11 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(dreamwar @ Jun 10 2013, 01:33 PM)
do you guys remove battery while connecting with power cord?
Why do u ask?

According to my friends and some posts in forums, they say it's better to remove battery when plug-in adapter because if not, battery life-span will be shorten.. well, that's what they say, but still i'm not so sure about it..

For me, i just kept the battery there while the adapter is plugged-in... smile.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 10:30 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(androidfans @ Jun 10 2013, 07:20 PM)
add in the msata, you will feel the high 5  brows.gif
Lol no money at the moment... all used up to buy this lappy icon_rolleyes.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 10:34 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Jun 10 2013, 07:45 PM)
yup..better remove battery, can increased battery lifespan.. thumbup.gif
But really wor bro, if i dont remove battery is ok also right?

It's a hassle to remove battery everytime i wanna use it.. sad.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 10:36 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(chenyh94 @ Jun 10 2013, 08:49 PM)
I wanna ask whether those LED backlit keyboards light will constant brightness or will become dim over period? T.T feels like getting dimmer everyday lol..sleep.gif
Same here bro.. except is not getting dimmer overall, only a few keys getting dimmer..... especially around the center part of keyboard (from "F" to "J" letters, and "Y" to B") cry.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 10 2013, 10:43 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jun 10 2013, 09:34 PM)
The baby is at my home now. Will be going back in the weekend to take it.. Still new to Win 8 not so farmiliar using it
Ooo i see.. Well, honestly, most of my gaming life is on a desktop pc with WinXP OS (for 7 years dy on this gaming rig)... i never had laptops before so this is my new one ><

well, i had little experience using win7 from my fren's lappy, but after getting my new lappy with a brand new win8, i find it quite user-friendly.. i'm kind of used to it now thumbup.gif

it took me, let's say, around a week to get used to.. now's my 3rd-4th week of owning this laptop.. so i'm used to typing on this lappy already (before use desktop pc keyboard only)

But what i'm trying to say is that, windows 8 is actually quite simple to use.. win7 user should find no prob getting a hang of this new OS.. icon_rolleyes.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 11 2013, 01:36 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(dreamwar @ Jun 11 2013, 11:03 AM)
nop
i thought the new y410p suppose to have 1600x900 reso? hmm.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 11 2013, 10:02 PM

173 posts

I'm too lazy to quote since I have the same reply to most of the recent comments here:

People buy y500 because most of them use it for gaming (SLI! DUH!)
So those who buy y500, knowing that it has SLI but still want Nvidia Optimus, stop complain about regretting ur purchase... If u don't like the absence of Optimus, why did u buy y500 in the 1st place? U already know the risks of SLI right? doh.gif

If u really wanted Optimus function and SLI as well, then sell ur y400/y500 and buy the new y410/y510 series.. cool2.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 11 2013, 10:16 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Jun 11 2013, 10:10 PM)
that is Y500, as for me, i'm talking about my Y400, GT750M..as i know it's SLI enable..but haven't seen that extra GT750M GPU for sale around here..so, what is the use of SLI if extra GPU not available at the moment? (i'm referring to GT750M, not GT650M)  hmm.gif

i'm not complaining, just expressing my thought why Lenovo didn't enable Optimus technology at first place..if they said it cannot done & risky, i wonder what will happen on Y510P & Y410P that can use SLI & Optimus?  sweat.gif thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  sweat.gif
Well i'm not actually referring to u lol bro~ Just about y500... not specifically u icon_rolleyes.gif

Hurm, that's weird ooo.. y400 still no have stock for extra-gpu? It's been a month oredy, i think... and what u say is agreeable as well.. no point have SLI ready machine but no ex-GC for SLI... doh.gif

Well urm... I read on forums that SLI if enable Optimus has some software conflicting.. can cause system instability.. laptop will lag, stutter, etc.. but that's just what they say, not confirmed by nvidia admins hmm.gif

well, this is for EVERYONE.. FYI, y410/y510 have SLI and Optimus, but can only use 1 function at a time. Means that if u plug-in extra GC and go SLI mode, ur Optimus is disabled.. If u remove extra GC and disable SLI (mean only use onboard GC), then Optimus is enabled automatically... All in all, there is still no way for SLI and Optimus to run at the same time for the moment..... sweat.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 11 2013, 11:43 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Jun 11 2013, 10:26 PM)
oh..hehehe..my bad  tongue.gif
i'm bragging about my Y400..quite disappointing coz don't have SLI & also don't have Optimus.. cry.gif
if no extra GPU (GT750M), they should enable the Optimus..right??  sad.gif
i'm dam jealous with Y410p (not Y510p) coz have Optimus.

my question : since Y400 GT750 don't have extra GPU yet, can we enable the Optimus? coz without SLI, laptop will not suffer from lag, shutter etc if we use Optimus...huuuurrrrmmmmm.... hmm.gif
What @raymondtong94 said is true... lenovo simply disabled it.. but i read from some other forum that there is a possibility to enable optimus without SLI by tweaking with the BIOS or something.. i'm not sure.. i read it about a month ago.. only prob is that enabling it will cause some problem with the lappy like official lenovo probs, onekey probs (i'm not sure about this tho... i think is mentioned), and also warranty probs....

Btw, i always wanted to ask.. y400 if max charge how long does battery last? My y500 lasts for 4hours 20 mins...
arielravenfall
post Jun 12 2013, 03:18 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Jun 11 2013, 11:51 PM)
if max charge, my Y400 can last almost 4h 30m if use for document purpose only in power saver mode (min brightness, no wifi, no bluetooth)..
in high performance, can last up to 2h with max brightness, wifi on, bluetooth on..

for watching video or playing games, i didn't try it yet  biggrin.gif

but i rarely use battery..can say since i bought this Y400, 90% on power adapter & 10% on battery  smile.gif
Lol, 4h30m for documents and such only? I played Dota 1 and Sniper Elite V2 on my fully charge lappy (Balanced power plan, Maximize battery life) can stand to 4h.... if movies and others will last 4h30m..... brows.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 12 2013, 12:10 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 11 2013, 11:56 PM)
performance bottleneck if you run games on battery mode, movies no. smile.gif

but it is advisable to discharge the battery once a month, to maintain its life. but my discharge means not to use less than 30%. keep it around 32%-40%.
Thanks for the info bro! rclxms.gif

Btw, how do i discharge my laptop battery? I mean, there's 2 way I can discharge it.. Play it without adapter until battery reach 30% or so, or do I use the Lenovo Energy Management Tool? Coz that software also provide battery discharge service.. hmm.gif

Which is more safer for my battery life? unsure.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 12 2013, 06:29 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 12 2013, 12:37 PM)
play without adapter plugged in until 30% but i guess the energy management tool provides a stress test like you do in gaming or surfing the web with max brightness. both worked the same way, so no worries. smile.gif

so, preferably you use it without the adapter plugged in until it reaches 30%.
Owh i see.. thanks a lot for the info! thumbup.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 11:01 AM

173 posts

Just wanna ask to all owners of y400/y500/y410 with Nvidia Geforce GT750M, did u guys updated ur graphics driver? I can't seem to find any drivers for my GC from Nvidia's official website, as well as from using Geforce Experience.. The driver version I currently have is 311.27...

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 01:26 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 13 2013, 11:14 AM)
use older drivers as possible and avoid 320.18 drivers. you can select GT650M.

alternatively you can use the one from lenovo site.
avoid 320.18 drivers? Why? is it bad for gt700M series?

oh yeah... thru the lenovo website, which tab should i download from? The video ones? unsure.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 01:33 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 13 2013, 01:30 PM)
the highlighted with red colour words are the linky. you can click that.

320.18 drivers have been reported to kill lots of graphics card, or make the computer extremely buggy nor improve performance than older drivers.
what driver version is that? hmm.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 02:23 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 13 2013, 01:42 PM)
im not sure as there isnt specific information about the driver.

actually, another alternative is you can use the 320.14 beta drivers for GT740M. reported to works finely under GT750M. icon_rolleyes.gif
hurmm hmm.gif i'll try from the lenovo main site 1st... if still same version, i will try the beta one nod.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 03:54 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 13 2013, 01:42 PM)
im not sure as there isnt specific information about the driver.

actually, another alternative is you can use the 320.14 beta drivers for GT740M. reported to works finely under GT750M. icon_rolleyes.gif
Sorry for spamming~

I tried installing the driver from the red link, turns out it's the same as what i currently have.. version 311.27..

I want to try 320.14 beta, but can anybody else confirm if this is ok or not for GT750M? I'm worried it will mess up my lappy unsure.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 13 2013, 08:05 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(macho dog @ Jun 13 2013, 06:24 PM)
I would like to buy a Y500 (non SLi) within 1 week time. Can any Lenovo reseller PM me? Thanks
Actually this is not the thread to post about that matter bro. However, I recommend to order from @Devour... Very good reseller! thumbup.gif (Bought mine from him myself brows.gif )

U can also pm him thru fb: @Frixfox Solutions notworthy.gif
arielravenfall
post Jun 14 2013, 11:38 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(moons16 @ Jun 13 2013, 07:51 PM)
hi ariel,i using 311.27 on my y400,,so far playing dota2,hitman and skyrim no problem
what is the issues with this version driver??? sweat.gif  sweat.gif please tell me so that i can avoid it
Ya i'm still using same driver, and NO! There's no problem with this driver sweat.gif

But as u know, I just want to update to new driver to improve performance on my games, especially Skyrim. It ran pretty well at first, but after installing around 70+ mods, the performance was just, urm..... yeah u know how it is sweat.gif

And as u can see, there are new drivers for GT740M already, but GT750M still has no new drivers... doh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0485sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:01 PM