Why U buy Cyberjaya?

twincharger07
post Aug 28 2012, 09:30 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Aug 28 2012, 07:27 PM)
I was sceptical cbj last time. however, after doing lots of minor researches, I found out the place will soon attract a lot of people due to amenities and the expats community. please be careful that this still requires lot of time for the town to really mature. therefore buy those projects to be completed way way back like skypark for instance. I bought that also because I believe it is one of a kind and will be considered landmrk of cbj. if u want to invest in cbj now, go for cyberia. that is the best in my opinion for student rental. but be prepared for student abusing ur unit
"Soon will be developed" is one thing.. but how much you can gain from buying at future pricing is another consideration..
for me, the return figure over a period is my concern as an investor, whether for cap appreciation or rental yield..
Cyberjaya is still a tricky place as there are still plenty more to be developed, and all developers are selling at KL/PJ pricing..

As a person who had spent 8 years of my life in Cyberjaya, I am more confident in looking at pocket development in KL area especially those near good amenities and future public transport.. hey, there r also 500/sqft in KL, same as Cyberjaya..

my2c..
twincharger07
post Aug 28 2012, 09:56 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(nkhong @ Aug 28 2012, 09:49 PM)
I have a feeling that african population in klang valley has overtake indian population. If this situation continue for next few year probably they can overtake chinese as second majority in KV.
According to global survey, despite China n India has the highest population, African countries has the highest population growth.. Soon, they will be like Chinese and Indian, they are everywhere, everycorner around the world (this hold true for Chinese and Indian community in everycorner on earth).. African will be next.. smile.gif
twincharger07
post Sep 5 2012, 10:24 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(redman33 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:59 PM)
I personally think this oversupply concern is a chicken and egg situation... there are actually quite a lot of people working in Cyberjaya but most live outside Cyberjaya (ie day population >> night population). Most people tends to live near their workplace but we all know why most employees in Cyberjaya don't - mainly because there is not enough 'lifestyle' (shopping malls, restaurants, cafes, entertainment outlets etc).

There is currently about only 10,000 people living in Cyberjaya with 3200 residential units (that's average of 3 person per unit). That definately sounds to me as shortage of residential properties in Cyberjaya, for NOW.

By 2016, there will be 14,000 residentail units available. The current daytime population is about 54,000 people and is expect to grow to 100,000 by 2016 when more companies and new tertiary institutions opened in Cyberjaya (already in the pipeline).

Simple mathematics tells me that even only 20% of the 100,000 people by 2016 choose to live in Cyberjaya, there will still be a resident population of 20,000. Divide that by the 14,000 residential units available by 2016 gives you 1.4 person per unit. Remember 20% is very conversative as we would expect a higher percentage of daytime population to choose to live in Cyberjaya by 2016 when the 'lifestyle' is made available then.

I did not simply come out with the numbers above - picked it from the following sources (unless the numbers in the sources are not correct la)

http://www.mmail.com.my/story/cyberjaya-quiet-no-more
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyberjaya

So will there be an oversupply? Answer is yes and no depending on how confident you are with Cyberjaya having it's own 'lifestyle' by 2016. If you drive around and look at the type of projects going on there, you'll know the answer. One thing is for sure, there ARE a lot of people already working in Cyberjaya - just a question of whether they will choose to live there.

By the way, I'm not attached to any organisation, and not promoting Cyberjaya. I also started being very doubtful about Cyberjaya but the facts are interesting - I'm just a normal joe who is keen with property investments and love crunching numbers to look at the facts. At the end of the day, numbers are only guidelines  smile.gif
very good analysis.. HOWEVER.. i think there is something missed out which "the right type of property for the right type of market" ..

Generally, I only see 2 types of properties in Cyber..
1) highend condos and landed props that worth > 800k
2) property cater for short term staying (SoXo, studio) and student market.. (e.g. The Place, dpulse, ARC)

But for those cater for general mass (2storey DSL, >1000sqft apartment/condo) are less.. and these are the biggest market segment for Cyberjaya working population, young adults, family, ppl who gonna start a family.. that is why properties surrounding cyberjaya are still prefered choice of many due to cheaper and bigger home... Amenity is just part of the story... IMHO, price vs build up also part of house buyers consideration..

All the landed props in Cyber are of highend which is pretty much beyond reach of majority of cyberjaya working adults.. are there working adults buy SOHO n studio for own stay? mostly i heard are for investment.. renting this pigeon holes could cost 1/3 of average working adults in Cyberjaya..

Thus IMHO, SK, Puchong, Serdang, Kajang etc still remain top pick due to its more affordable house, more variety, pay less for more build up compare to cyber..

p/s: for other prime location like KL n PJ, ppl willing to pay more for less space due to its amenities.. but i dont see the same for cyberjaya at this moment..

my 2c

twincharger07
post Sep 5 2012, 11:03 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 5 2012, 10:50 PM)
Give 5 to 8 years, this will change. smile.gif
life is short leh... after 5 yrs den wait wait for another 5 yrs... cyberjaya going to be 20 years liao hmm.gif

another interesting part is that the rapid booming of cyberjaya these few years is due to the booming of property market in msia.. since most are anticipating a slow down in prop market, will the same momentum still pushing cyberjaya ahead? hmm.gif .. waiting time could be doubled from "5 to 8" years to "10 to 16" years?? hmm.gif
twincharger07
post Sep 5 2012, 11:07 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(humble_tot @ Sep 5 2012, 11:06 PM)
Probably but let's look at the opportunity cost. If you invest the same amount elsewhere you may get a better Rental Yield or Capital Appreciation  hmm.gif

CBJ has it potential but IMHO this is a potential area selling with the matured area cost. I'd consider investing in CBJ too if the price is 40-50% lower because maturity of a township takes time  cheers.gif
+1.. we think alike wink.gif
twincharger07
post Sep 6 2012, 09:34 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Sep 6 2012, 01:48 PM)
We see this risk too, but we don't mind selling our Sri Damansara house & move to Cyberjaya.

I am not sure, but those who buy for investment may have same thought.

Other than this, we see HER risk is low, because our 20 years well maintained house at Sri Damansara is fetching > RM 800k.
yea.. 20 years is a very long horizon...

at least Sri Damansara wasnt selling KL/PJ pricing when it was 1st launch.. plenty of headroom to grow..

Added on September 6, 2012, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(xyyap @ Sep 6 2012, 01:51 PM)
When all those ONG area in KL is selling sky high, there will be many who move to not so ONG place, which offers latest concept & better living.
cyber not so ONG place but selling at ONG price... smile.gif

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Sep 6 2012, 09:35 PM
twincharger07
post Sep 7 2012, 12:23 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(tatagal @ Sep 6 2012, 10:14 PM)
If it is really like Sri Damansara selling at PJ price, then those who bought there is really bid bumbo.  hmm.gif

There are already few big Uni there like LKW, MMU, CUCMS, some MNC companies, and MSC status. I agree that it is still lacking in some sense like makan-makan place.

Though the price is not cheap, but plenty of commercial and residential development is going on for a reason.

Some ppl see this place as risk, some ppl see it for its potential. There is no right or wrong.

I see it as potential. If you can get a decent yield on your purchase in siber, seriously should dive for it and hold on it and see what will happen in few years time!
QUOTE(oreomambo @ Sep 6 2012, 10:57 PM)
Bro, look at it this way

10 years ago = 100% ppl think that cyberjaya has no potential
5 years ago = 85% ppl think that cyberjaya has no potential
now = 60% ppl think that cyberjaya has no potential  (at least how i feel from a balance of hater and supporter)

hey, it is moving....
yea... i m one of the 40% ppl who think cyberjaya got potential.. its just a matter of taking how long to get there n how long to get a decent ROI wink.gif
twincharger07
post Sep 7 2012, 10:26 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(redman33 @ Sep 7 2012, 09:08 AM)
Yea, I think Cyberia is interesting in terms of ROI but IMHO, it's purely for rental yield. The apartment will probably struggle to compete with the newer projects to be completed in few years time as people buying for their own stay (if eventually people decided that Cyberjaya is 'livable') will tend to go for the newer units. Cyberia is full of students and may not appeal to home buyers.

Don't get me wrong, I think Cyberia is great but if I am looking for a home, I'll consider other newer units but have to prepare to fork out more. Home buyers generally would not mind fork out a bit more if buying for own stay, but investors are more attached to the 'numbers' when it omes to where to put there money.
+1 ..

Added on September 7, 2012, 10:27 am
QUOTE(tatagal @ Sep 7 2012, 08:45 AM)
I thought cyberia is giving decent ROI. To be honest, I am not familiar with cyberia.
agree with redman..
Cyberia is purely for rental play.. appreciation not that great.. student rental property usually dont appreciate much nor outperform compared to own stay properties..

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Sep 7 2012, 10:28 AM
twincharger07
post Sep 8 2012, 01:34 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(tingc @ Sep 7 2012, 11:07 AM)
Hi twincharger, so any good recommendations on good own stay properties in Cyberjaya?  smile.gif
pretty much based on your requirement and preference..
personally, as of now, its just a good place to work n study.. smile.gif
twincharger07
post Sep 22 2012, 04:47 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Sep 22 2012, 04:42 PM)
Where where?
There is a TeowChew (non Halal) shop at Domains....
Cyberjaya "Halal City" is nonsense.... I had beer couple of times in an open-air outlet selling all sorts of beers behind old town coffee..
twincharger07
post Sep 23 2012, 12:04 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Sep 22 2012, 04:49 PM)
Ah, that TeoChew rice+porridge, must be newly opened not too long ago.
TeoChew shop dont think its recent... before that there is another shop already selling chuyuk...
twincharger07
post Sep 23 2012, 01:58 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(tingc @ Sep 23 2012, 10:45 AM)
Understand your concern on oversupply, Worgen. Would you mind sharing why you think there will be an oversupply issue? Perhaps there are something that you know which we all don't know.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not doubting your statement but I just feel amazed at how people simply use the word 'oversupply' of properties in certain development area, without sharing the facts and figures.

My understanding is, ther current daytime population in Cyberjaya is 54,000 with only 10,000 residents chose to live there (ie night time population). There are about 3200 residential units in Cyberjaya NOW which works out to be an average of 3 person occupying one unit. So thw facts and figures show that there is currently shortage of residential properties in Cyberjaya.

By 2016, the daytime population in Cyberjaya is expected to increase to 100,000 due to the increase in number of MNCs, SMEs and educational institutions. Let's assume 20% of the 100,000 daytime population decides to live in Cyberjaya (that is already very conservative and actual percentage will depends on how Cyberjaya developed into a lifestyle township by 2016) - that will mean there is a projected 20,000 residents (ie night time population in Cyberjaya).

By 2016, with all the projects currently in the pipeline being completed, there will be a total of 14,000 residential units. So we are looking at 20,000 residents to 14,000 residential units by 2016 which works out to an average of 1.4 people per unit. I don't know about you but this doesn't sound like an oversupply to me. Remember there will also be a preference on certain types of residential properties eg apartments, bungalows, terrace house etc, so there may also be a concentration of preference towards certain quarters of property type, which will add on to the shortage.

Unless we have another 10-15 projects being launched over the next 1-2 years, based on the facts and figures above, oversupply doesn't seem to be an issue now. On the contrary, a shortage of supply MAY be possible if you digest the numbers above.

Of course, the economics of property market is not purely science as it also depends on a lot of other factors but I am just sharing the facts and figures to help investors out there to make a sound decision. Being an investor myself, I'm happy to exchange sharing as I am also learning stuff everyday smile.gif
I did reply someone with the same thought as yours:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2486682/+100

"very good analysis.. HOWEVER.. i think there is something missed out which "the right type of property for the right type of market" ..

Generally, I only see 2 types of properties in Cyber..
1) highend condos and landed props that worth > 800k
2) property cater for short term staying (SoXo, studio) and student market.. (e.g. The Place, dpulse, ARC)

But for those cater for general mass (2storey DSL, >1000sqft apartment/condo) are less.. and these are the biggest market segment for Cyberjaya working population, young adults, family, ppl who gonna start a family.. that is why properties surrounding cyberjaya are still prefered choice of many due to cheaper and bigger home... Amenity is just part of the story... IMHO, price vs build up also part of house buyers consideration..

All the landed props in Cyber are of highend which is pretty much beyond reach of majority of cyberjaya working adults.. are there working adults buy SOHO n studio for own stay? mostly i heard are for investment.. renting this pigeon holes could cost 1/3 of average working adults in Cyberjaya..

Thus IMHO, SK, Puchong, Serdang, Kajang etc still remain top pick due to its more affordable house, more variety, pay less for more build up compare to cyber..

p/s: for other prime location like KL n PJ, ppl willing to pay more for less space due to its amenities.. but i dont see the same for cyberjaya at this moment..

my 2c"

This pretty much reminds me the situation in China... there are plenty of demand for houses there, with the amount of population, houses are not enough... by using your "house to population ratio", China should be shortage of houses, but why are there still plenty of empty units?

Plenty of ghost cities with empty highrise apartments, but on ground level, citizens are still squeezing 5 families renting in 1 house.. The product (more specifically "price tag") did not meet its demand...

my 2c.. cheers..

twincharger07
post Sep 23 2012, 11:32 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Sep 23 2012, 11:24 PM)
In fact, I like Damansara the most.

Our house at Sri Damansara costs RM 800k, even an old house at Kepong costs RM 600k. It is hard to simply tie the working population to house price. If u ask how many working & staying at Kepong, how can the house there be affortable? It is like DesaPark City 15 years ago. Today, Kepong address has DesaPark City, Sunway SPK, & tonnes of condo development.

If Eco Glades building at Damansara, it will cost me > RM 2 M which is double.

Don't forget Malaysia government is building 1 Malaysia home, it will costs > RM 300k and it is never cheap. If even the government is building and selling expensive, what can the developer do loh?
Interesting point, not forgetting working population with higher position especially in the finance and industrial sectors are much much more in KL and PJ... Cyberjaya workforce are relatively young.. come and visit during lunch time..

my 2c...
twincharger07
post Sep 23 2012, 11:42 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Sep 23 2012, 11:41 PM)
I told already. It is hard to simply tie the working population to house price.

Yes, I believe Cyberjaya will slowly attracts people like magnet, not limited to only those working there.

Brother, I like your comments.
I also mentioned its not easy just simply tie working population to number of houses...

I like your comment too cheers...
twincharger07
post Sep 24 2012, 12:10 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UsopSontorian @ Sep 24 2012, 12:07 AM)
gua student mmu,kesian gua semua tempat tinggal mahal
cyberia is still relatively cheap.. of cos u can still stay in mmu campus, but has to b active in curricular activites.. i stayed in hostel for 4 years, 1 month rm100 onli nod.gif
twincharger07
post Oct 21 2012, 10:23 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(ti.infinion @ Oct 21 2012, 09:57 AM)
cyberjaya is definetyly a big no for me

reason :
halal policy, no street hawker allowed

cyberjaya is actually very big potential 1 but restricted by halal policy since there is a lot of university and big company.

1 ) no chinese restorent , no dim sum, no sao pao, no pak kuk teh, no yong tao fu, no street hawker, no pub, no cha siao .
2) without all these chinese food, those chinese worker in cyberjaya wont move to cyberjaya.
3) more company fload to cyberjaya will only boost puchong, serdang and SK area.

Unless halal policy removed , if not i dont see ong affect ( residence condo ) in cyberjaya.

cyberjaya only suit for rental ( unleast for now, future not sure - so many competitor )
mega mall also dont have potential to attact chinese move to cyberjaya, cause food in cyberjaya damn expensive, a normal mix nice will cost you RM 8 . just food will cost you atleast Rm 25 per day .
No cheap food court, you only can take expensive food.

No chinese move in, cyberjaya only target for foreign worker and student.

Cyberjaya is a big no for own stay.
For investment also kinda risky with overprice and so many competitor.
why the "halal" thing appear again...
Cyberjaya got shop selling pork n beer.. just that ppl dunno where they are.. and they are LEGAL...
twincharger07
post Oct 21 2012, 10:41 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(ti.infinion @ Oct 21 2012, 10:26 AM)
somemore no toto , no magnum .

I want to buy number also hard le.

Added on October 21, 2012, 10:28 am

I think it might very hard to get the license ? If not why hardly see pork n beer.
cyber rent is expensive... at night no population to support beer business..
twincharger07
post Oct 21 2012, 12:17 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(ti.infinion @ Oct 21 2012, 11:39 AM)
Cyber apa pun tak ada ( no Chinese school also ), but price expensive like hell.
I rather buy bukit jalil if compare to cyber with this price.
I am just not agreeing about the "Halal" remark you gave that's all..
actually got Chinese school or not, "expensive like hell" or not I dont really care..

had you got urself a unit in BJ?

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Oct 21 2012, 12:21 PM
twincharger07
post Oct 21 2012, 12:21 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(ti.infinion @ Oct 21 2012, 12:20 PM)
So cyberjaya no Halal policy right ?
shops that are opened and operated for so long speaks for itself...
twincharger07
post Oct 26 2012, 01:44 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Oct 26 2012, 08:44 AM)
Heard there is a gimmick now that the first downpayment is 6k and u can own a unit in cyberjaya.
Few years ago, only RM500 downpayment also got and that project almost completing..
what is so gimmick about that? you still need to pay after its completed..

0.0790sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:52 PM