Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V36, I'm back guys, sorry!

SUSdestEX
post Sep 6 2012, 06:00 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

guys for jb, memory leak still happening or not? which kernel solves it?
SUSdestEX
post Sep 7 2012, 12:07 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

question: do you guys have trouble loading pictures in app/online? my flipboard cant load pictures and i get this download symbol instead, still googling to find answer
SUSdestEX
post Sep 7 2012, 02:45 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(hysteresis @ Sep 7 2012, 02:22 PM)
My stock 4.0.3 suddenly keep restarting after 5 minutes or so. So I took the courage to root it and flashed to Paranoidandroid 2.0. WOW! It's like a new phone now! New toy! Loved it!
paranoidandroid 2.1 come out ad, it fixes some bugs with the paranoid settings. first backup your paranoid settings using the settings>paranoid>backup area, then just download it, no need wipe/factory reset, flash the 2.1, flash gapps again, then clear cache and dalvik cache, fix permission, done.
SUSdestEX
post Sep 8 2012, 07:55 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(AnNamir @ Sep 8 2012, 07:40 AM)
Whay don't you try DorimanX kernel, works fine for me wink.gif
Currently I'm on PA ICS v1.6... if I would like to flash to PA JB v2.1, can I just follow your steps above?
i used wipe + tb restore, i dont think it will work because as stated in the thread, if you're not from a jb rom, you need full wipe.
SUSdestEX
post Sep 8 2012, 07:01 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(martincuz @ Sep 8 2012, 06:43 PM)
Galaxy s2 user

Guys, can u help me with this... Mine gallery is showing unknown location images and my music player all music had been duplicate into two every single music...

Can anyone fix it without re installing rom ? is it a bug ?

plz..... i experience it many time ... and reinstall rom many time...
Thx
Below are the screen shot

someone help me
wait wait, i saw someone post about this yesterday, but i forgot where lol, are you perhaps using jelly bean? using what rom?
SUSdestEX
post Sep 8 2012, 11:04 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Sep 8 2012, 09:43 PM)
urgh need help on my RR 3.0.6..

need to transfer my files from sdcard1 to sdcard0.. tried using root explorer on ES File Manager to transfer but it keeps saying transfer failed. and i do not have an sdcard reader. icon_question.gif

Added on September 8, 2012, 9:43 pmoh and i set it to Force Mass Storage but my laptop still recognizes it as MTP sad.gif
flash dorimax and it will use back the good ol sdard instead of all the trouble. i using paranoidandroid 2.1 no problem with ums tho
SUSdestEX
post Sep 9 2012, 07:36 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(martincuz @ Sep 9 2012, 03:12 AM)
official 4.0.3 ICS

Added on September 9, 2012, 3:13 am

official 4.0.3 ICS
okay if i remember correctly, you go to settings>apps look for media scanner or media, clear the cache/data, then you restart your phone and the media scanner will run again secretly, you wait for it to finish running, you can see the thing running at settings>apps>running services. if you see it saying 'restarting' that means smtg wrong so restart your phone again. reply here again if any problem
SUSdestEX
post Sep 9 2012, 01:56 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Sep 9 2012, 01:52 PM)
experienced too much ICS on my nexus.. really familiar with its disadvantagesness.. lol.. any stable custom rom for S2 ICS can recommend? Cynogenmod 9?

actually paranoid android 2.1 its working fine and almost 0 bug... the onli downside so far is its battery consumption.. kernel cant fix it?
got check for wakelocks? usually the media scanner is the one causing the wakelock
SUSdestEX
post Sep 17 2012, 02:16 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 17 2012, 12:36 PM)
Can anyone recommend me app tat can schedule certain app to start automatically at specific time?
tasker
SUSdestEX
post Sep 17 2012, 11:43 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

hmm i noticed one thing, i use dorimanx kernel and in extweaks i set 300mb zram, and until now over 3 days usage, no memory leak, laggy or any hang or sod at all, if you guys have some of these problem, give that a try =D
SUSdestEX
post Sep 18 2012, 12:23 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Sep 17 2012, 11:49 PM)
woa, 3 days. awesome.. tot zram suck moar battery since its for performance purpose rather than for batt life.
not 3 days battery life eh hahas.
i using PA 2.10 and the latest dorimax kernel, Sept 14. Battery life i not sure, seems the same, cant really tell, one thing i know is, if SOD/Hang you can bet your battery gonna fly down very fast, especially if you don't know it hang/sod in your pocket, so no such thing in over 3 days now is better than nothing

Added on September 18, 2012, 12:26 am
QUOTE(ianlee @ Sep 18 2012, 12:09 AM)
What is zram?
its a kernel feature for ics/jb, think siyah and dorimax got it. if you're asking what it is, i know its like swap swap memory and using your cpu to compress memory or something, well google 'zram xda' then read

This post has been edited by destEX: Sep 18 2012, 12:26 AM
SUSdestEX
post Oct 20 2012, 01:16 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

eagerly waiting for PA2.23 http://goo.gl/xuQxw
SUSdestEX
post Oct 20 2012, 04:19 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Oct 20 2012, 03:53 PM)
Hi, new s2 user here. Can any1 share how much available ram on ur device? Mine is avarage 80-110mb. If this is not normal planning 2 remove rubbish apps that keeps hogging my ram. Even after i did kill process at these apps it keeps appearing after 20-30 minits. E.g- ap mobile, yahoo finance, kies and many more. I dont even use these apps but keep appearing in my process.
if jelly bean, then quite normal, if ICS then its abnormal, just uninstall those rubbish apps, ics you should have about 200-300mb i think
SUSdestEX
post Oct 21 2012, 08:54 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Oct 21 2012, 08:29 PM)
lol...my fault...sorry
no, you can ask here actually, here you will have more response, but the people here most of them are non-g....
as for benchmarks, don't bother with them too much, there's not much meaning to it, as long as your phone is smooth? then its okay already.
SUSdestEX
post Oct 21 2012, 10:06 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 21 2012, 09:11 PM)
agree that benchmark like quadrant no meaning one.
quadrant is really useless.
on GB/ICS easily get higher than 3k
on JB always less than 3K,

but,
if i understand the function of nenamark correctly,
its suppose to benchmark how phones perform in real intense 3D apps.
results in the form of average frame/second,

it should make more meaning then the quadrant benchmark right?
but nenemark2 is graphics, and graphics not much also, unless we compare games, for different phones. nothing can be done to improve the gpu chip, most we can do is oc it to 400mhz...oh wait, for g version the gpu is different, maybe we can compare then...

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 21 2012, 09:44 PM)
All sgs2 can discuss here lah. No need to open separate thread. You guys do know the thread starter is using G version.
but ts only appears when new version or when g version come out in news laugh.gif i'm surprise you and mtxx still active here in s2, i'm eagerly waiting for s4, the day samsung release the new exynos processor with the new mali chip T604 and a 3gb ram is the day i move on rclxm9.gif

Added on October 21, 2012, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(galaxyftw @ Oct 21 2012, 09:53 PM)
any sifu can answer my question ?

recently i bought 1 s2 ( almost 2 months from others)..but the seller had not yet key in my e warranty ...because i did not receive any sms from samsung...so will my phone under warranty ?? and how i check my warranty through online ?>?? this question seem interesting..anyone know the answer ?
Verdangilte and you, check a few pages back, there is some sms things u can send to check your warranty and if not registered, pm user fallenout see if he free to help you register or not, once registered you will get a sms from samsung

This post has been edited by destEX: Oct 21 2012, 10:08 PM
SUSdestEX
post Oct 22 2012, 10:22 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Oct 22 2012, 09:37 AM)
backup by copy paste can?
titanium so long to backup and restore. sweat.gif
the sd data 1gb+ one you need to copy it out to backup, no way you can backup it using titanium, titanium only backup the save data only.
SUSdestEX
post Oct 22 2012, 10:27 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

sync your phone contacts to gmail, then sync gmail to outlook
http://www.labnol.org/software/sync-outloo...th-gmail/20422/

or google 'sync google contacts to outlook'
SUSdestEX
post Oct 22 2012, 10:39 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

guys, i read that samsung say exynos will become open source! now we can expect some good improvements i hope, to our CM based roms
QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Oct 22 2012, 10:36 AM)
wtffffff.. noooooooooooooooooo
reiji, i dont think that happens juz coz u change sim card tho, you can try changing back sim or flash a different kernel or flash a different modem/baseband and see
SUSdestEX
post Oct 22 2012, 10:45 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Oct 22 2012, 10:44 AM)
in my case i try flash many kernel/ radio/ and some stock roms, all fail.
then only sent to service center to discover the wifi chip is completely dead.
so they replace it for you for free? even if free, the time needed to fix and the trouble of going there aihz
SUSdestEX
post Oct 22 2012, 10:00 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Oct 22 2012, 09:15 PM)
update: flash siyah kernel still can't get wifi turned on sad.gif

will try to flash empty cm10 later/tomorrow. wish me luck!
reiji try flash one of those kernel cleaning scripts see, also maybe you can try reformatting your system partition in cwm then flash back a stock rom

0.0457sec    2.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:22 PM