For me last time WoW rampage server is 600ms, now Diablo 3 is 350ms.
Since GW2 is a PvP-oriented game, if the latency is 400 and above it will be a horrible disadvantage.
[Guild Wars 2] How is the latency?
Aug 27 2012, 12:40 PM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
589 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
How is the latency?
For me last time WoW rampage server is 600ms, now Diablo 3 is 350ms. Since GW2 is a PvP-oriented game, if the latency is 400 and above it will be a horrible disadvantage. |
Aug 27 2012, 12:47 PM
813 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: KUALA LUMPUR |
interested to know also
now playing aion with ~250ms |
Aug 27 2012, 01:25 PM
4,202 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: THE ONE AND ONLY CHOO CHOO TRAIN KINGDOM |
i think ping averages from 300ms to 500ms
using resource monitor (windows start button > accessories) shows a few pings for gw2.exe ranging from 300ms to 500ms |
Aug 27 2012, 09:55 PM
77 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
decide to play this game instead of secret war.
anybody play this game using laptop? looking for low heat laptop. currently using dell inspiron n1150. very very hot. |
Aug 27 2012, 10:32 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
at first i wanted to play but then i was late for payment for the first batch of gw2.
steam also hilang d, dun feel like playing anymore or maybe im actually getting older that's why.. |
Aug 27 2012, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(RoloTomasi @ Aug 27 2012, 09:55 PM) decide to play this game instead of secret war. my laptop sure pretty hot playing aion for more than 1 hour (dafuq anybody play this game using laptop? looking for low heat laptop. currently using dell inspiron n1150. very very hot. i think the heat issues will be the same |
Aug 28 2012, 02:38 AM
4,251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca, Malaysia, Earth |
Lots of lag for me, I'm seeing 400-600 ms using resource monitor.
I dare not try PvP at all. I'm having trouble even with monster, by the time my attack start, people already kill them, lol. |
Aug 28 2012, 08:10 AM
315 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
my lag pretty bad as well...first 2 min after logging in is tolerable...otherwise lag is worse than gw1...XD...only noticeable in battles though
Aug 28 2012, 09:10 AM
4,934 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Setapak |
PVP is pretty good for me with no different than PVE. havent try WvW yet as yesterday is freaking full and need to queue to enter
hola, pvp is so fun, but need teamwork instead of run n gun. |
Aug 28 2012, 09:31 AM
618 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
have no problem with latency
Aug 28 2012, 09:32 AM
1,081 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
yup... Arena Net is good at handling latencies....
Aug 28 2012, 09:33 AM
1,258 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Aug 28 2012, 08:10 AM) my lag pretty bad as well...first 2 min after logging in is tolerable...otherwise lag is worse than gw1...XD...only noticeable in battles though Only noticeable in battles? is that line or fps? back when it was bwe3, i had fps problems too. updated driver and they fix it for release. |
Aug 28 2012, 09:36 AM
Aug 28 2012, 09:46 AM
Aug 28 2012, 09:54 AM
i'm on 1280x800 screen, using lousy HD5570 , i put one high medium setup, still get 45+ fps in not so heavily crowded area....
i use the latest 12.8 driver for radeon so far ok, no noticable lag.... |
Aug 28 2012, 11:24 AM
192 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
playing thief, theres noticeable lag when rolling and using skill that backstep like bow 3rd skill.... etc
Aug 28 2012, 11:38 AM
104 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
what u guys use to check latency?
Aug 28 2012, 12:04 PM
110 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Resource Monitor
Open Task Manager > Performance Tab > Resource Monitor > Network Tab > Under TCP Connection > search GW2.exe |
Aug 28 2012, 12:31 PM
If possible, can you guys share what latency number you are getting?
Especially those who got no lag. This can help others know what possible latency we can get, and try to get it. Thanks One thing I notice for me is during 2-3 am, my latency reduce to 3++, and until morning. By noon now, my latency have gone up to 4++. Seems like 4++ is not the limit, but somehow Streamyx is affecting it. |
Aug 28 2012, 12:34 PM
mostly after work I play got around 280~350ms.... played at night... using Ping/Latency reducer (similiar to VPN but works on games .exe, does not changer your IP - paid) got around 200~230ms
Aug 28 2012, 12:42 PM
1,229 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Earth-616 |
QUOTE(RoloTomasi @ Aug 27 2012, 09:55 PM) decide to play this game instead of secret war. i'm also playing with laptop for now.anybody play this game using laptop? looking for low heat laptop. currently using dell inspiron n1150. very very hot. asus n53sv. runs the game fine on medium settings. saving for a new desktop now though. as for latency there are no noticeable lag at all. lag spikes do happen, very very rarely. |
Aug 28 2012, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(animechuu @ Aug 28 2012, 12:34 PM) mostly after work I play got around 280~350ms.... played at night... using Ping/Latency reducer (similiar to VPN but works on games .exe, does not changer your IP - paid) got around 200~230ms First time I heard of this. Sounds really interesting since it works for game only.Is it a service like VPN? May I know which thread or website you buy from? Thanks. |
Aug 28 2012, 01:44 PM
1,017 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
5xx ms...VPN will solve this problem ?
Aug 28 2012, 02:41 PM
69 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
anyone can suggest a reliable and legit tunneling/VPN service?
very desperate to get below 200 ping or around 200 also can |
Aug 28 2012, 02:44 PM
Aug 28 2012, 02:48 PM
461 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Mud |
no lag at all i encounter yet...
Aug 28 2012, 02:52 PM
145 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia |
GW2 datacenters are located in Dallas, Texas I believe. Lowest ping possible should be about 230?
Aug 28 2012, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 28 2012, 02:44 PM) may i ask why? 200ms or below ms has very little difference only. (i tried i know) i tried WTFast and smoothping but no effect at all on latency. So if anyone can suggest any other tunneling/proxy service that actually work, I am truly grateful.But if you must. Pay for some proxy. the difference is when I activate a skill in sPvP, I want it to go off instantly - waiting ~1 second for it to go off makes the combat extremely frustrating and sluggish. Turns me off completely. |
Aug 28 2012, 03:02 PM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Depends really, sometimes it's pretty bad. Freezes up, no movement from character for a few seconds. Happened maybe 5 times to me last night. |
Aug 28 2012, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(ckorweng @ Aug 28 2012, 02:54 PM) i tried WTFast and smoothping but no effect at all on latency. So if anyone can suggest any other tunneling/proxy service that actually work, I am truly grateful. tried any paying proxy or trial version proxy? Because i tried one and it has a very big difference during BWE3 but not anymore in launch.the difference is when I activate a skill in sPvP, I want it to go off instantly - waiting ~1 second for it to go off makes the combat extremely frustrating and sluggish. Turns me off completely. |
Aug 28 2012, 03:20 PM
i believe that it will be more smooth later...because them will fix it...
200ms-500ms i cant feel the difference |
Aug 28 2012, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(ckorweng @ Aug 28 2012, 02:54 PM) i tried WTFast and smoothping but no effect at all on latency. So if anyone can suggest any other tunneling/proxy service that actually work, I am truly grateful. 1 second delay means 1000ms ping oooo. the difference is when I activate a skill in sPvP, I want it to go off instantly - waiting ~1 second for it to go off makes the combat extremely frustrating and sluggish. Turns me off completely. 300 - 500ms ping would means 0.3 to 0.5 seconds delay. |
Aug 28 2012, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 28 2012, 12:50 PM) First time I heard of this. Sounds really interesting since it works for game only. yeah its is actually a VPN but more application specific (some called it proxy tunneling)Is it a service like VPN? May I know which thread or website you buy from? Thanks. you can try GW2 supported service like LaglessProxy (Malaysia based proxy), WTFast, Fixmylag, etc QUOTE(ckorweng @ Aug 28 2012, 02:54 PM) i tried WTFast and smoothping but no effect at all on latency. So if anyone can suggest any other tunneling/proxy service that actually work, I am truly grateful. Can you try look at the latency in Resource Monitor without those program and with those program.. Its pretty impossible that you didnt feel the effect at all since both site you mentioned is pretty reputable and I tried both and works with Aion before getting into GW2, theres bunch of servers you can choose which server is better for you.. AFAIK, Smoothping isnt officially support Guild Wars 2.... thats why it got no effect..the difference is when I activate a skill in sPvP, I want it to go off instantly - waiting ~1 second for it to go off makes the combat extremely frustrating and sluggish. Turns me off completely. Since these Ping/Latency reducer works differently than VPN.. it is VPN but its application based.. but it does not mask/change your IP and it detects supported games that you launch |
Aug 28 2012, 04:00 PM
which vpn u guys using ?
Aug 28 2012, 04:57 PM
hmm playing thief everything second is critical, I think I need sosme tunneling/vpn soon
Aug 28 2012, 05:04 PM
19 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Still waiting for more latency reports, high latency turned me down in many games. =(
Anyone tried lagless proxy? Care to share experience? |
Aug 28 2012, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(animechuu @ Aug 28 2012, 03:58 PM) yeah its is actually a VPN but more application specific (some called it proxy tunneling) Thanks for your reply you can try GW2 supported service like LaglessProxy (Malaysia based proxy), WTFast, Fixmylag, etc Can you try look at the latency in Resource Monitor without those program and with those program.. Its pretty impossible that you didnt feel the effect at all since both site you mentioned is pretty reputable and I tried both and works with Aion before getting into GW2, theres bunch of servers you can choose which server is better for you.. AFAIK, Smoothping isnt officially support Guild Wars 2.... thats why it got no effect.. Since these Ping/Latency reducer works differently than VPN.. it is VPN but its application based.. but it does not mask/change your IP and it detects supported games that you launch That means if for example I use lagless proxy, it will only affect Guild Wars 2, but other stuff like browser and MSN won't go through the proxy right? |
Aug 28 2012, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 28 2012, 06:04 PM) Thanks for your reply Yeah, It let you choose which application should use the Proxy/VPN instead of everything That means if for example I use lagless proxy, it will only affect Guild Wars 2, but other stuff like browser and MSN won't go through the proxy right? Btw, I'm going to try LaglessProxy tonight Added on August 28, 2012, 5:07 pm QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 28 2012, 06:04 PM) Thanks for your reply Yeah, It let you choose which application should use the Proxy/VPN instead of everything That means if for example I use lagless proxy, it will only affect Guild Wars 2, but other stuff like browser and MSN won't go through the proxy right? Btw, I'm going to try LaglessProxy tonight This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 28 2012, 05:07 PM |
Aug 28 2012, 05:13 PM
Aug 28 2012, 05:18 PM
Aug 28 2012, 05:51 PM
Aug 28 2012, 09:04 PM
27 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Just wondering,
Has anyone with 1mb streamyx played WvWvW? Is it lagging badly? |
Aug 28 2012, 10:01 PM
1,241 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
200+ here, normal delay
Aug 29 2012, 12:04 AM
Aug 29 2012, 12:15 AM
1,241 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
nope, i am on time fibre. PJ area
Aug 29 2012, 02:43 AM
Tonight I tried several IP address, the best I can get is 175.138 range. But this is only just a little bit better than other range like 175.137, 175.40, 118.
Lowest I can get is around 300 ms. Still hoping no need to spend extra on proxy, but.... |
Aug 29 2012, 05:38 AM
30 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
will it affect my latency if i play on diff home world like either NA or EUROPE? btw what home world you guys on with 200-300ms?
Aug 29 2012, 07:23 AM
920 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Aug 29 2012, 08:26 AM
356 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Is there a trial version for the game so that i can test out the latency before purchasing the retail version?
Aug 29 2012, 08:27 AM
935 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Aug 29 2012, 08:33 AM
356 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Aug 29 2012, 08:51 AM
272 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Over the mOON |
i got around 400-600ms, playing on 3bars of signal of yes4g. very much playable. but during boss battle, will be a bit frustrating haha looking to subscribe to unifi
Aug 29 2012, 09:05 AM
251 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
i got 350-400 ping playing on sea of sorrow. Looking to use VPN to get 200-ish ping
Aug 29 2012, 10:09 AM
Aug 29 2012, 10:11 AM
330 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
with that figures, looks kinda laggy
Aug 29 2012, 10:13 AM
639 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Is it that bad? I don't feel lag at all on my unifi, 300ms~ is ok for one u know? < 200 is just not necessary
Aug 29 2012, 10:13 AM
837 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
How come they never put a latency meter in the game?
Aug 29 2012, 10:16 AM
Aug 29 2012, 10:17 AM
ya lorr... 300ms here.. no lag at all....
Aug 29 2012, 10:21 AM
Aug 29 2012, 10:25 AM
The problem is the quality either internet or server, u can say lag spike, I mean averagely 0.3 second response is barely noticeable ..I think la, yes I do PvP & I'm ok with that unless UNIFI song song give u a lag spike shoot all the way up to 1 second..
QUOTE(Renekton @ Aug 29 2012, 10:16 AM) |
Aug 29 2012, 11:17 AM
98 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
gonna try lagless proxy tonite when I get home.
Aug 29 2012, 11:25 AM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Hi can I ask how long dose it take to download the client and the patch? I'm using unifi 5mbps
Aug 29 2012, 11:31 AM
251 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Aug 29 2012, 11:32 AM
Aug 29 2012, 11:46 AM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Aug 29 2012, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(wingwp @ Aug 29 2012, 10:25 AM) The problem is the quality either internet or server, u can say lag spike, I mean averagely 0.3 second response is barely noticeable ..I think la, yes I do PvP & I'm ok with that unless UNIFI song song give u a lag spike shoot all the way up to 1 second.. I think PvE should be very fine. PvP ayam scared Last time I arena in WoW up to 2k, 400ms really is a nasty disadvantage. Skills don't come out in time, as melee you will be kited to death, etc. |
Aug 29 2012, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(wingwp @ Aug 29 2012, 10:25 AM) The problem is the quality either internet or server, u can say lag spike, I mean averagely 0.3 second response is barely noticeable ..I think la, yes I do PvP & I'm ok with that unless UNIFI song song give u a lag spike shoot all the way up to 1 second.. Yeah, true, it seems to be changing a lotLast night as I was testing how the delay feel by just pressing the attack key and see how long it takes, ~300ms is not too bad, but the problem is we don't constantly get that delay, sometimes it longer, sometimes much longer... seems unstable. |
Aug 29 2012, 12:09 PM
Aug 29 2012, 12:53 PM
I'm getting 280-310ms with 4mb Streamyx. Used Win7 Resource Monitor to check.
Compared to many of you guys, I can consider my connection very good already Btw,I tried WTFast ..LaglessProxy and other Proxy/VPN ... ALL no difference at all So guys, if you experience bad connection then I highly recommend LaglessProxy and connect to MY server. Also, when you guys said NO LAG at all is a very FALSE statement, because even at 200-300ms you still experience delay when using skill...don't believe? Try pressing skill 1 button and release the button, only after a while the skill ACTIVATE. For those people live in US area I believe they don't have lag at all 30-80ms, their skills are snappy fast and instantaneous..they press skill 1 and it activate right away. |
Aug 29 2012, 01:50 PM
I doubt that snappy instant attack bcos mmo were design to "cast" skill so u'll never instant skill example when cast fireball, animate 0.1s the staff fire up -> 0.1s fireball travel to mob -> 0.1s later mob will get hit, everything need a delay so that balance out all players around the world which mean US player will not attack faster than any1 else.. pls correct me if I am wrong
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 29 2012, 12:53 PM) I'm getting 280-310ms with 4mb Streamyx. Used Win7 Resource Monitor to check. Compared to many of you guys, I can consider my connection very good already Btw,I tried WTFast ..LaglessProxy and other Proxy/VPN ... ALL no difference at all So guys, if you experience bad connection then I highly recommend LaglessProxy and connect to MY server. Also, when you guys said NO LAG at all is a very FALSE statement, because even at 200-300ms you still experience delay when using skill...don't believe? Try pressing skill 1 button and release the button, only after a while the skill ACTIVATE. For those people live in US area I believe they don't have lag at all 30-80ms, their skills are snappy fast and instantaneous..they press skill 1 and it activate right away. |
Aug 29 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(wingwp @ Aug 29 2012, 02:50 PM) I doubt that snappy instant attack bcos mmo were design to "cast" skill so u'll never instant skill example when cast fireball, animate 0.1s the staff fire up -> 0.1s fireball travel to mob -> 0.1s later mob will get hit, everything need a delay so that balance out all players around the world which mean US player will not attack faster than any1 else.. pls correct me if I am wrong No, I'm talking about normal attack which is skill 1, there's slight delay after you click the button before the attack begin. I am 100% sure it is affected by connection. When I got bad connection, there's huge delay like 1.0 sec after clicking the skill before my character swing the sword, and its significantly faster when I got better connection.So for people living near the server DOES have a better advantage when attacking or using skills because of snappy response. For your information, I'm talking about delay/response time after clicking the skill, not the casting time required for spellcasters, there's many skills and attack doesn't require cast time at all such as Thief. Also, I know connection speed doesn't affect casting time at all ...lol This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 29 2012, 02:08 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 02:12 PM
ya when lagging u'll b getting late feedback from the server which is bad but I think only apply to those > 500ms latency
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 29 2012, 02:03 PM) No, I'm talking about normal attack which is skill 1, there's slight delay after you click the button before the attack begin. I am 100% sure it is affected by connection, where there's huge delay like 1.0 sec after clicking it; before my character swing the sword when I got bad connection, and its significantly faster when I got better connector. So for people living near the server DOES have a better advantage when attacking or using skills because of snappy response. For your information, I'm talking about delay/response time after clicking the skill, not the casting time required for spellcasters, there's many skills and attack doesn't require cast time at all such as Thief. Also, I know connection speed doesn't affect casting time at all ...lol |
Aug 29 2012, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(wingwp @ Aug 29 2012, 03:12 PM) ya when lagging u'll b getting late feedback from the server which is bad but I think only apply to those > 500ms latency As far as I know the skill almost activated instantly after pressing the button for people with 30-80ms connection. Where my skill only activated a while after I pressed the button with constant 280-310ms connection.US people > Click > Delay...> HIT > RUNNN ! (30ms+) Oceanic people > Click > Delay............. > HIT > RUNNN ! (250+ms) This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 29 2012, 02:20 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 29 2012, 02:03 PM) No, I'm talking about normal attack which is skill 1, there's slight delay after you click the button before the attack begin. I am 100% sure it is affected by connection, where there's huge delay like 1.0 sec after clicking before it my character swing the sword when I got bad connection, and its significantly faster when I got better connector. the cast bar fills up then only cast. first skill is unresponsive? the only thing to test it out is with proxy and feel the difference. Latency lag is like sometimes the animation is weird (symbol come out before my char bury her GS on the ground) or really slow casting like once press 3. the icon start blinking but no skills till about 0.5secs later. I admit pvp and wvw this latency is something. Worse case scenario, subscribe proxy. So for people living near the server DOES have a better advantage when attacking or using skills because of snappy response. For your information, I'm talking about delay/response time after clicking the skill, not the casting time required for spellcasters, there's many skills and attack doesn't require cast time at all such as Thief. Also, I know connection speed doesn't affect casting time at all ...lol To everyone else in this thread that feels unfair when playing with PvP. Go subscribe proxy. The Philippines (some of my friends) struggle with worse ms (around 500ms) yet playing better than us. I am a PvE guy so latency is nothing to me (latency, not request timed outs). Although with that said, I'm sharing line with 3 others currently and have not felt 300-400ms kind of latency before. I don't see why others are worse than me. Maybe people are exaggerating is all. No offence really. I understand that latency is after all important in an online game. So if it bothers you so much, what to do, until they finally decide to put a server here, you have to buy proxy to PvP if you want instant skills. Live's never fair. If not, train with latency, then when the latency is smooth, we pro. =x as for me, i tried with and without proxy. feels really slight difference. my skills are all mostly instant cast. Note that the Proxy i used made my connection to Gw2 30ms-40ms. This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Aug 29 2012, 02:21 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 29 2012, 02:19 PM) the cast bar fills up then only cast. first skill is unresponsive? the only thing to test it out is with proxy and feel the difference. Latency lag is like sometimes the animation is weird (symbol come out before my char bury her GS on the ground) or really slow casting like once press 3. the icon start blinking but no skills till about 0.5secs later. I admit pvp and wvw this latency is something. Worse case scenario, subscribe proxy. I'm surprised they didn't opt putting a server in Oceanic region, that'll give us huge performance boost. Oceanic + Asia have a huge player base, what a disappointment.To everyone else in this thread that feels unfair when playing with PvP. Go subscribe proxy. The Philippines (some of my friends) struggle with worse ms (around 500ms) yet playing better than us. I am a PvE guy so latency is nothing to me (latency, not request timed outs). Although with that said, I'm sharing line with 3 others currently and have not felt 300-400ms kind of latency before. I don't see why others are worse than me. Maybe people are exaggerating is all. No offence really. I understand that latency is after all important in an online game. So if it bothers you so much, what to do, until they finally decide to put a server here, you have to buy proxy to PvP if you want instant skills. Live's never fair. If not, train with latency, then when the latency is smooth, we pro. =x |
Aug 29 2012, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 29 2012, 03:19 PM) the cast bar fills up then only cast. first skill is unresponsive? the only thing to test it out is with proxy and feel the difference. Latency lag is like sometimes the animation is weird (symbol come out before my char bury her GS on the ground) or really slow casting like once press 3. the icon start blinking but no skills till about 0.5secs later. I admit pvp and wvw this latency is something. Worse case scenario, subscribe proxy. Yes I'm talking about the response time, not casting time.To everyone else in this thread that feels unfair when playing with PvP. Go subscribe proxy. The Philippines (some of my friends) struggle with worse ms (around 500ms) yet playing better than us. I am a PvE guy so latency is nothing to me (latency, not request timed outs). Although with that said, I'm sharing line with 3 others currently and have not felt 300-400ms kind of latency before. I don't see why others are worse than me. Maybe people are exaggerating is all. No offence really. I understand that latency is after all important in an online game. So if it bothers you so much, what to do, until they finally decide to put a server here, you have to buy proxy to PvP if you want instant skills. Live's never fair. If not, train with latency, then when the latency is smooth, we pro. =x as for me, i tried with and without proxy. feels really slight difference. my skills are all mostly instant cast. Note that the Proxy i used made my connection to Gw2 30ms-40ms. US > Press Skill > Delay 30ms (Snappy) > Casting > Animation > HIT Asia> Press Skill > Delay 300ms (Delay) > Casting > Animation > HIT But also, when connection is BAD ... there will have SPIKE .. you see the skill HIT.. but no damage. (But not confirm this yet, but other MMO have this problem when lag) Also proxy made your connection to GW2 to only 30ms-40ms |
Aug 29 2012, 02:28 PM
586 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Aug 29 2012, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 29 2012, 02:22 PM) I'm surprised they didn't opt putting a server in Oceanic region, that'll give us huge performance boost. Oceanic + Asia have a huge player base, what a disappointment. I don't think we are enough to fill up multiple servers for WvW. Would be boring if just 2 or 4 servers. We'll keep fighting the same server over and over. But anyway, maybe a gateway is all we need. Path of Exile servers are in US, but they have a gateway in SG, and that was a really huge help. Too bad I don't really like the game. : Added on August 29, 2012, 2:32 pm QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 29 2012, 02:19 PM) as for me, i tried with and without proxy. feels really slight difference. my skills are all mostly instant cast. Note that the Proxy i used made my connection to Gw2 30ms-40ms. This post has been edited by Hornet: Aug 29 2012, 02:32 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 29 2012, 02:31 PM) I don't think we are enough to fill up multiple servers for WvW. Would be boring if just 2 or 4 servers. We'll keep fighting the same server over and over. They still can do WvWvW internationally like they're doing now, crossing the server now, I don't think its impossible, but who knows.But anyway, maybe a gateway is all we need. Path of Exile servers are in US, but they have a gateway in SG, and that was a really huge help. Too bad I don't really like the game. : I'm pretty sure the servers all physically located in the same node and place, so there's no differences between servers, or not, I hope someone can link me an info about their physical location of the servers. |
Aug 29 2012, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 29 2012, 02:03 PM) No, I'm talking about normal attack which is skill 1, there's slight delay after you click the button before the attack begin. I am 100% sure it is affected by connection. When I got bad connection, there's huge delay like 1.0 sec after clicking the skill before my character swing the sword, and its significantly faster when I got better connection. someone here actually understand my concern. thank you for posting this.So for people living near the server DOES have a better advantage when attacking or using skills because of snappy response. For your information, I'm talking about delay/response time after clicking the skill, not the casting time required for spellcasters, there's many skills and attack doesn't require cast time at all such as Thief. Also, I know connection speed doesn't affect casting time at all ...lol everybody else saying no lag/delay are just oblivious to the major shortcoming of the game to oceanic players and are just mesmerized by the novelty of the game. I just wish they handle latency differently. Like maybe in Diablo 3, although I get 250+ms, but most of skills are very snappy and instantaneous. Added on August 29, 2012, 2:44 pm QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 29 2012, 02:19 PM) the cast bar fills up then only cast. first skill is unresponsive? the only thing to test it out is with proxy and feel the difference. Latency lag is like sometimes the animation is weird (symbol come out before my char bury her GS on the ground) or really slow casting like once press 3. the icon start blinking but no skills till about 0.5secs later. I admit pvp and wvw this latency is something. Worse case scenario, subscribe proxy. huh? 30ms? what you smoking broTo everyone else in this thread that feels unfair when playing with PvP. Go subscribe proxy. The Philippines (some of my friends) struggle with worse ms (around 500ms) yet playing better than us. I am a PvE guy so latency is nothing to me (latency, not request timed outs). Although with that said, I'm sharing line with 3 others currently and have not felt 300-400ms kind of latency before. I don't see why others are worse than me. Maybe people are exaggerating is all. No offence really. I understand that latency is after all important in an online game. So if it bothers you so much, what to do, until they finally decide to put a server here, you have to buy proxy to PvP if you want instant skills. Live's never fair. If not, train with latency, then when the latency is smooth, we pro. =x as for me, i tried with and without proxy. feels really slight difference. my skills are all mostly instant cast. Note that the Proxy i used made my connection to Gw2 30ms-40ms. This post has been edited by ckorweng: Aug 29 2012, 02:44 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 29 2012, 02:22 PM) I'm surprised they didn't opt putting a server in Oceanic region, that'll give us huge performance boost. Oceanic + Asia have a huge player base, what a disappointment. They did not expect maybe. But reddit Aus and sea players asks for it. They did not give a direct response but something like "we'll consider it." |
Aug 29 2012, 02:49 PM
Aug 29 2012, 02:57 PM
sorry to ask again but NA/EU home world doesn't affect the latency? some say it does some say it doesnt...
Aug 29 2012, 03:00 PM
Aug 29 2012, 03:03 PM
Aug 29 2012, 03:05 PM
Aug 29 2012, 03:32 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Celcom Broadband RM68 user here.
here some of my 'review':- During BWE/Stress Test, there is fewer lag in sPvP but during lunch till now.. Its very laggy/delay in sPvP which i dunno why. So i decided to google the ways to reduced the delay/lag, and i found this General Vista/Windows 7 Gaming/Network Improvement Tweaks after i tried some of the network tweak, i notice that i can do well in sPvP now as the delay is reduced. |
Aug 29 2012, 04:55 PM
I'm gonna try this when I go home
http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/fileinfo.php?id=16336 This thing works for other games, especially WoW .. it reduces the ping significantly. |
Aug 29 2012, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 29 2012, 04:55 PM) I'm gonna try this when I go home share if it really works or not k bro http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/fileinfo.php?id=16336 This thing works for other games, especially WoW .. it reduces the ping significantly. This post has been edited by Alcon: Aug 29 2012, 05:05 PM |
Aug 29 2012, 05:16 PM
Aug 29 2012, 06:58 PM
1,813 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Lower Perak |
Ultima Proxy now Supported GW2
for setup guide pls refer here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...&t=1751072&st=0 first post And Free test account is provided and free 7day unlimited access to Our proxy . pls pm me for the code or order online via our website http://www.ultima.com.my/ordernow.php Our services also resell in offgamers http://www.offgamers.com/vpn/ultima-proxy-...16321-16322.ogm This post has been edited by nagflar: Aug 29 2012, 06:59 PM |
Aug 30 2012, 08:26 AM
Just heads up, I used ultima proxy and my latency went down around 250-270ms from 350-400, a minor improvement but it certainly feels snappier if you know what I mean. It's 220ms+- to proxy and another 30ms to GW2 servers.
This post has been edited by nymerine: Aug 30 2012, 08:31 AM |
Aug 30 2012, 09:07 AM
28 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
if u guys r serious pvper then 300-500 ping is matter of life or death!
Aug 30 2012, 09:26 AM
4,934 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Setapak |
Aug 30 2012, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 30 2012, 08:26 AM) Just heads up, I used ultima proxy and my latency went down around 250-270ms from 350-400, a minor improvement but it certainly feels snappier if you know what I mean. It's 220ms+- to proxy and another 30ms to GW2 servers. ultima so bad? 220ms is still bad for a proxy service. |
Aug 30 2012, 09:51 AM
Aug 30 2012, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 30 2012, 09:51 AM) That's considered good since it's US server, that's the lowest you can get IINM. Maybe differ with unifi thought, they can get 180-190ms due to no high latency to local gateway. really? maybe i should test my other proxy to know. Cause i definitely felt like being in 60ms. lol |
Aug 30 2012, 10:15 AM
Aug 30 2012, 10:24 AM
Aug 30 2012, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 30 2012, 08:26 AM) Just heads up, I used ultima proxy and my latency went down around 250-270ms from 350-400, a minor improvement but it certainly feels snappier if you know what I mean. It's 220ms+- to proxy and another 30ms to GW2 servers. proxy and vpn tunnels sometimes just give an illusion of snappiness, like you feel your skills come out fasterbut between client and server, the lag the almost the same |
Aug 30 2012, 10:56 AM
the best latency to US form MSIA . is around +-200ms .
if you get 2xx ms latency mean it is really good already . You will need be in USA if u want less than 100ms in games . more abt latency http://www.ultima.com.my/knowledgebase.php |
Aug 30 2012, 11:00 AM
this weekend i'll try out ultima trial account. Then maybe I can tell the difference. But then again. if it's just 100ms lesser, i dont wanna pay RM12.5 for it. maybe i'm a newb in this network thing despite being major in that =x
Aug 30 2012, 11:02 AM
100ms lesser will make u win the PVP lol hehe
Aug 30 2012, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(nagflar @ Aug 30 2012, 11:02 AM) not if i noob hehe. i only PvE for now so maybe no need to use. When i get serious in WvW then maybe =/ but this weekend i'll pm you for a trial. I would like to compare then support local proxy sellers than those that i already know which are prolly from US. |
Aug 30 2012, 11:04 AM
Aug 30 2012, 11:07 AM
Aug 30 2012, 11:08 AM
18 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Is pinging guildwars2.com a good indication of the latency ur getting in game?
I'm getting about 270-290ms with unifi5. I can't see the ping in the performance tab like most ppl recommend, i think need windows ultimate for that. |
Aug 30 2012, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(scigamer @ Aug 30 2012, 11:08 AM) Is pinging guildwars2.com a good indication of the latency ur getting in game? the website is not same address as game serversI'm getting about 270-290ms with unifi5. I can't see the ping in the performance tab like most ppl recommend, i think need windows ultimate for that. |
Aug 30 2012, 11:12 AM
is there a proper ip we can ping at all lol.
Aug 30 2012, 11:12 AM
is there a ingames latency meter in GW2 ?
Aug 30 2012, 11:13 AM
Aug 30 2012, 11:16 AM
18 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(nagflar @ Aug 30 2012, 11:12 AM) I read in beta u could do this to show ping in game:Add -perf to the end of your launcher like this. "C:.....Guild Wars 2\Gw2.exe" -perf http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Command_line_arguments Haven't tested if it works for release version. |
Aug 30 2012, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 30 2012, 12:07 PM) maybe i did not at all. =/ again, what's the thing to test? the what what resolution thing is it. lol. Are you using Windows 7? You can check the ping by using Resource Monitor, start task manager and open Resource Monitor. Then go network area tick the GW2.exe and see the TCP connection... you will see the ping there unless you are using third party connection.If you are using third party connection such as WTFast ...UltimaProxy..LaglessProxy.. or whatever, then just tick the corresponding .exe and see the latency there.... if the latency is 250ms, then you need to add another 30-50ms for the proxy to GW2 server. For example: Your House > Proxy Server (250ms) > GW2 Server (50ms) = total is roughly 300ms Also, if your Proxy Server is the Local Malaysia Proxy (probably 30-80ms)... but not West US Proxy, then you need to add another 200-250ms for the local proxy to reach GW2 server. Btw, I have the server IP, but I left it at my home. This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 30 2012, 11:25 AM |
Aug 30 2012, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 30 2012, 11:21 AM) Are you using Windows 7? You can check the ping by using Resource Monitor, start task manager and open Resource Monitor. Then go network area tick the GW2.exe and see the TCP connection... you will see the ping there unless you are using third party connection. nice guide . for those using Ultima proxy . corresponding [If you are using third party connection such as WTFast ...UltimaProxy..LaglessProxy.. or whatever, then just tick the corresponding .exe and see the latency there.... if the latency is 250ms, then you need to add another 30-50ms for the proxy to GW2 server. For example: Your House > Proxy Server (250ms) > GW2 Server (50ms) = total is roughly 300ms Also, if your Proxy Server is the Local Malaysia Proxy (probably 30-80ms)... but not West US Proxy, then you need to add another 200-250ms for the local proxy to reach GW2 server. Btw, I have the server IP, but I left it at my home. thx for the guide ![]() This post has been edited by nagflar: Aug 30 2012, 11:32 AM |
Aug 30 2012, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 30 2012, 11:21 AM) Are you using Windows 7? You can check the ping by using Resource Monitor, start task manager and open Resource Monitor. Then go network area tick the GW2.exe and see the TCP connection... you will see the ping there unless you are using third party connection. mind sharing back at home in this thread? If cannot then maybe pm? =x If you are using third party connection such as WTFast ...UltimaProxy..LaglessProxy.. or whatever, then just tick the corresponding .exe and see the latency there.... if the latency is 250ms, then you need to add another 30-50ms for the proxy to GW2 server. For example: Your House > Proxy Server (250ms) > GW2 Server (50ms) = total is roughly 300ms Also, if your Proxy Server is the Local Malaysia Proxy (probably 30-80ms)... but not West US Proxy, then you need to add another 200-250ms for the local proxy to reach GW2 server. Btw, I have the server IP, but I left it at my home. Thanks for that. I'll do it tonight with the other proxy first hehe. |
Aug 30 2012, 11:37 AM
51 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
im getting over 1k latency whenever i play
i using Toshiba Satellite L755 to play gw2 with merely 10 - 15 fps after i set to high performance power option and set high priority to gw2 process can anyone advice me how to reduce the latency?? |
Aug 30 2012, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 30 2012, 12:33 PM) mind sharing back at home in this thread? If cannot then maybe pm? =x Actually there's soooo many server oh..... I only have Sea of Sorrow's server IP.Thanks for that. I'll do it tonight with the other proxy first hehe. Btw, you can get the server IP from Resource Monitor, there will be 2-3 IP addresses in GW2.exe... each for login server, main server ...etc. But don't use any proxy/vpn...since there's 2-3 IP it will be 0ms if you use proxy and you won't know which one is the main server IP. Note: To differentiate between the IP, just observe the one that is constantly changing up and down ( <if you see that..then its the server IP ). |
Aug 30 2012, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(paperlee @ Aug 30 2012, 11:37 AM) im getting over 1k latency whenever i play your laptop is very low spec i using Toshiba Satellite L755 to play gw2 with merely 10 - 15 fps after i set to high performance power option and set high priority to gw2 process can anyone advice me how to reduce the latency?? maybe upgrade |
Aug 30 2012, 11:43 AM
Aug 30 2012, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(paperlee @ Aug 30 2012, 12:37 PM) im getting over 1k latency whenever i play High latency can be caused by your slow performing laptop.i using Toshiba Satellite L755 to play gw2 with merely 10 - 15 fps after i set to high performance power option and set high priority to gw2 process can anyone advice me how to reduce the latency?? Try setting your GW2 to native resolution, then set all settings to minimum... if still 10-15FPS... then time to upgrade ! |
Aug 30 2012, 11:46 AM
Aug 30 2012, 11:59 AM
Aug 30 2012, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(paperlee @ Aug 30 2012, 12:46 PM) Hmm your laptop native resolution is 1366 x 768. Set all graphic settings to minimum. If still lag then reduce resolution Or buy desktop below 2k also can get good spec already nowdays. |
Aug 30 2012, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Renekton @ Aug 30 2012, 11:59 AM) QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 30 2012, 12:00 PM) Hmm your laptop native resolution is 1366 x 768. Set all graphic settings to minimum. If still lag then reduce resolution sry 1 more dumb question,Or buy desktop below 2k also can get good spec already nowdays. does actually fps affect latency? as i know fps is much more on graphic processing problem and latency is affected by our broadband bandwidth which is kind of 2 different medium. let assume the solution do help on my fps but latency should be still staying at 1k (if im no mistaken) anyway to reduce the latency? |
Aug 30 2012, 12:44 PM
Not sure about GW2, but in many games slow PC will increase the latency on display. I highly recommend you upgrade your laptop. Regardless of latency, 15FPS is really bad gaming experience, don't be cheapskate!
Also for streamyx, remember to disconnect and reconnect your line till you get nice IP for gaming. Refer to the broadband user to user subforum in LYN. |
Aug 30 2012, 12:45 PM
Thanks for the info you guys share here. Seems like it will be harder to monitor the latency when using proxy since we only know the latency to the proxy server.
I wish the game have a latency info inside to help us monitor latency more reliably |
Aug 30 2012, 02:39 PM
121 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Penang |
Aug 30 2012, 03:22 PM
116 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
So what proxy is everyone using now? Lagless?
Aug 30 2012, 04:10 PM
Aug 30 2012, 04:18 PM
Aug 30 2012, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 30 2012, 04:10 PM) reconnect until u get a best ip range . because each ip range take difference route to destination so each ip range have difference latency . that why we reconnect untill u dont feel lag .more info here http://www.ultima.com.my/knowledgebase.php |
Aug 30 2012, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(nagflar @ Aug 30 2012, 06:32 PM) reconnect until u get a best ip range . because each ip range take difference route to destination so each ip range have difference latency . that why we reconnect untill u dont feel lag . Thanksmore info here http://www.ultima.com.my/knowledgebase.php BTW, I'd like to ask does the Ultima proxy for Guild Wars 2 works with Proxifier 2.91? The new proxifier is not free, so... |
Aug 30 2012, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Aug 30 2012, 04:18 PM) seriously? great news for me. 1 more thing. how long it take to download the whole game for u. i try start the download and its more than 200k file need to download. but no estimate time showed. so would like to know roughly how long it gonna take. anyway thanks for the respond. now i had no doubt on getting the game ^^ |
Aug 31 2012, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(ixal21 @ Aug 30 2012, 10:53 PM) seriously? great news for me. 1 more thing. how long it take to download the whole game for u. i try start the download and its more than 200k file need to download. but no estimate time showed. so would like to know roughly how long it gonna take. anyway thanks for the respond. now i had no doubt on getting the game ^^ 4 days on and off - - |
Aug 31 2012, 04:34 AM
Aug 31 2012, 05:18 AM
269 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
my pingtest if the server is in malaysia
![]() playing dota2, and other sea mmorpg at this ping normally. usually if outer region i would suffer a bit delay (feel like moving heavily or slowmo) i am using 384Kbps streamyx but i am highly convinced my laptop spec can handle this game, at least in lowest setting |
Aug 31 2012, 01:51 PM
1,774 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Planet Earth |
Is this a "Unify" only game or streamyx as well?
Aug 31 2012, 02:09 PM
392 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: BATU PAHAT |
Aug 31 2012, 02:10 PM
Aug 31 2012, 02:12 PM
Unifi is 400ms... skills got a lot delay
Aug 31 2012, 02:44 PM
24 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
this make me dont want buy gw2 lol... hope they made asia server
Aug 31 2012, 04:18 PM
Aug 31 2012, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Aug 31 2012, 04:18 PM) Bandwidth and latency is two different thing. TM outsources a lot of its service operators (dunno actual name) so some cheaper solutions (e.g. streamyx 1mb) in certain area will get lousier contractor, thus bad IP and spikesOnline MMO don't need high bandwidth, but it needs good latency. And this has got nothing to do with unify. Unify just give you more bandwidth. unifi i think normally get better deal |
Aug 31 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(Renekton @ Aug 31 2012, 04:29 PM) TM outsources a lot of its service operators (dunno actual name) so some cheaper solutions (e.g. streamyx 1mb) in certain area will get lousier contractor, thus bad IP and spikes That would sound more like local issue right unifi i think normally get better deal As far as routing from Malaysia to US it wouldn't make a difference I think So it would be confusing to generalize that problem as having to do with streamyx or unifi IMO, since many streamyx user get good quality service too. |
Aug 31 2012, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(Renekton @ Aug 31 2012, 04:29 PM) TM outsources a lot of its service operators (dunno actual name) so some cheaper solutions (e.g. streamyx 1mb) in certain area will get lousier contractor, thus bad IP and spikes Distance between Malaysia and the server is like 5000-6000miles away, there's nothing they can do to get better latency for you guys, it's technology limitation.unifi i think normally get better deal |
Aug 31 2012, 06:01 PM
Aug 31 2012, 06:04 PM
1,116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 31 2012, 05:33 PM) Distance between Malaysia and the server is like 5000-6000miles away, there's nothing they can do to get better latency for you guys, it's technology limitation. Distance between Malaysia and GW2 server / Distance to connect from Malaysia to GW2 server are two different context here.Using proxy can shortern the connection link/distance thus improve the latency issue |
Aug 31 2012, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(mcblade @ Aug 31 2012, 06:04 PM) Distance between Malaysia and GW2 server / Distance to connect from Malaysia to GW2 server are two different context here. It depends on the proxy and the server location itself actually, the lesser route you have to go through, the lower the latency is, it might be differs since it depends on the routing reliability, some might good, some might not, like direct connection from MY to GW2 servers now. I'm currently using my VPS as a proxy ,located in LAX, US -- my connection somehow have better routing to the VPS. It's sailing pretty smooth for me now but there's 1-2times lag spikes in an hour.Using proxy can shortern the connection link/distance thus improve the latency issue This post has been edited by nymerine: Aug 31 2012, 09:43 PM |
Sep 1 2012, 11:37 AM
Want to ask something, if anyone can help.
Its really hard to quantify the difference between proxy and no proxy since the game do not have any in-game ping and as shown in earlier post, when we use proxy we only see the ping to the proxy server. Hard to test different proxy server myself and see the difference So I'm wondering is it better to connect to a proxy server in Malaysia, then let the server connect it to the game in US, or is it better to connect to a proxy server in US ourself, and then to the game. Isn't connecting to US proxy server same as connecting to US game server ourself? This is something I'm still confuse about proxy Thanks This post has been edited by Hornet: Sep 1 2012, 11:38 AM |
Sep 1 2012, 11:45 AM
288 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Reporting 4mbps Streamyx 200-400 ping.Penang 4mbps
Sep 1 2012, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(Hornet @ Sep 1 2012, 11:37 AM) Want to ask something, if anyone can help. It's all about routing.. every IP and ISP have different routing, some might be good some might be bad. If your IP routing to the server is good, then there's no need to use proxy. If it's bad, then you'll have to use else you'll have to face the lag/spike lag. Its really hard to quantify the difference between proxy and no proxy since the game do not have any in-game ping and as shown in earlier post, when we use proxy we only see the ping to the proxy server. Hard to test different proxy server myself and see the difference So I'm wondering is it better to connect to a proxy server in Malaysia, then let the server connect it to the game in US, or is it better to connect to a proxy server in US ourself, and then to the game. Isn't connecting to US proxy server same as connecting to US game server ourself? This is something I'm still confuse about proxy Thanks Here's an example. My PC direct to GW2 ![]() My PC -> VPS (add around 20ms for VPS -> GW2 server) ![]() |
Sep 1 2012, 02:04 PM
236 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
pvp only player here,
ditto the post above, im using unifi 5mbps and lagless tunnelling, I have to say there are times where I could play the game without tunnelling but some of the time they are inconsistent and i would get lag spikes. so when that starts to happen I would use the tunelling, experiment with various server until I achieve a stable connection with no lag spike for lagless user i recommend just use the malaysian server (this is what lagless themselves recommend) if it is still laggy connect to the singapore server, I find this to have the most success rather than connecting to the US server(s) |
Sep 1 2012, 03:49 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
under resource monitor, I see 2 gw2 with 2 different ms readings.one with a 470ms that fluctuates and the other that fluctuates around 300ms. so which one is the correct ingame latency?
This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Sep 1 2012, 03:58 PM |
Sep 1 2012, 04:07 PM
Thanks for the replies.
I'm facing some lag spike, and generally my ping is always above 300, so I'm trying to find ways to reduce it or get more stable. QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Sep 1 2012, 03:49 PM) under resource monitor, I see 2 gw2 with 2 different ms readings.one with a 470ms that fluctuates and the other that fluctuates around 300ms. so which one is the correct ingame latency? The one that is changing all the time. |
Sep 1 2012, 10:25 PM
Sep 1 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(feiraron @ Sep 1 2012, 02:04 PM) pvp only player here, Thanks, about to go with that as well.ditto the post above, im using unifi 5mbps and lagless tunnelling, I have to say there are times where I could play the game without tunnelling but some of the time they are inconsistent and i would get lag spikes. so when that starts to happen I would use the tunelling, experiment with various server until I achieve a stable connection with no lag spike for lagless user i recommend just use the malaysian server (this is what lagless themselves recommend) if it is still laggy connect to the singapore server, I find this to have the most success rather than connecting to the US server(s) Unifi 10 isn't good enough either, still huge lags. |
Sep 2 2012, 12:06 AM
115 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Anyone here with streamyx 1mbps? What's ur average ping?
Sep 3 2012, 10:06 PM
398 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Pulau Pinang |
been getting so much lag lately.... think server is too overload or something
Sep 4 2012, 01:01 AM
2,955 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Perth Oz |
Is proxy safe to use? I scared they can hack into the information (log in details) from their proxy server side.
Sep 4 2012, 02:09 AM
without proxy get 300 and sometimes 400, and frequent high spike to 500. Now using Ultima Proxy 2 days already, getting proximately 250 constantly.
Sep 4 2012, 02:17 AM
269 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
this is mine
CODE ============================================================================== = Tracing network paths ============================================================================== *--> pathping -w 500 -q 3 -4 64.25.39.1 <--* Tracing route to 64.25.39.1 over a maximum of 30 hops  0  ShadowStalker [192.168.1.2]  1  192.168.1.1  2  219.93.218.177  3  10.64.4.85  4  10.64.7.46  5  10.64.7.45  6   *     *     *   Computing statistics for 3 seconds...       Source to Here  This Node/Link Hop  RTT   Lost/Sent = Pct  Lost/Sent = Pct  Address  0                      ShadowStalker [192.168.1.2]                 0/  3 =  0%  |  1   2ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  192.168.1.1                 0/  3 =  0%  |  2  15ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  219.93.218.177                 0/  3 =  0%  |  3  12ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.4.85                 0/  3 =  0%  |  4  31ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.7.46                 0/  3 =  0%  |  5  24ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.7.45 Trace complete. *--> pathping -w 500 -q 3 -4 206.127.158.1 <--* Tracing route to p4-23-c0-ncdc-pub.plaync.net [206.127.158.1] over a maximum of 30 hops:  0  ShadowStalker [192.168.1.2]  1  192.168.1.1  2  219.93.218.177  3  10.64.4.85  4  10.64.7.46  5  10.64.7.33  6   *     *     *   Computing statistics for 3 seconds...       Source to Here  This Node/Link Hop  RTT   Lost/Sent = Pct  Lost/Sent = Pct  Address  0                      ShadowStalker [192.168.1.2]                 0/  3 =  0%  |  1   2ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  192.168.1.1                 0/  3 =  0%  |  2  28ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  219.93.218.177                 0/  3 =  0%  |  3  13ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.4.85                 0/  3 =  0%  |  4  29ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.7.46                 0/  3 =  0%  |  5  39ms   0/  3 =  0%   0/  3 =  0%  10.64.7.33 Trace complete. Section completed in 57.03 seconds I'm in Desolation homeworld (EU) Streamyx 384kbps, no proxy, and I don't feel like getting any lag. Resource monitor showing like 300ms+ something This post has been edited by Hao Ren: Sep 4 2012, 02:26 AM |
Sep 4 2012, 02:41 AM
Alright thx. Now just have to wait for new stock to arrive.
Sep 4 2012, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 4 2012, 01:01 AM) Is proxy safe to use? I scared they can hack into the information (log in details) from their proxy server side. The data is encrypted even by the game client itself. In other words, the game client at your computer will encrypt the log in info you put in and send the encrypted data to its server where only they can understand your login data.Proxy merely help send the data faster. Of course when you register for a proxy service, please use a different password from your game password. Game password should always be a special password where you never use it for other sites like forum and so on. This post has been edited by Hornet: Sep 4 2012, 12:05 PM |
Sep 4 2012, 08:07 PM
2,955 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Perth Oz |
QUOTE(Hornet @ Sep 4 2012, 12:04 PM) The data is encrypted even by the game client itself. In other words, the game client at your computer will encrypt the log in info you put in and send the encrypted data to its server where only they can understand your login data. Do you use proxy? If yes which service do you use? I'm looking for a reputable proxy provider.Proxy merely help send the data faster. Of course when you register for a proxy service, please use a different password from your game password. Game password should always be a special password where you never use it for other sites like forum and so on. |
Sep 4 2012, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 4 2012, 08:07 PM) I'm currently using Ultima Proxy since last weekend. So far everything feels better for me. Without proxy, I'm getting a lot of lag spike and sometimes its just laggy all the time. The proxy so far have help keep the game playable all the time, didn't notice any bad lag spike.Most proxy allow you to use a free test account to test it out if you wish This post has been edited by Hornet: Sep 4 2012, 08:31 PM |
Sep 4 2012, 10:11 PM
98 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
can't seem to get Ultima to work. Proxifier said connection originated from Application coz of anti-virus.
anyway to get Kaspersky Internet Security '12 to exclude it? |
Sep 4 2012, 10:14 PM
618 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
guys. to get good latency get a gaming router like asus n56. before this im using those normal router, very hard to play as it is shared with few pc. after i change to asus n56, very smooth. can even streaming drama on other pc which was quite impossible using those normal one.
p/s: have no problem with wvw, pvp, or anything gw2 throw at u. i always though gaming router was a marketing gimmick.. but im satisfied what it deliver. This post has been edited by juine: Sep 4 2012, 10:15 PM |
Sep 4 2012, 11:08 PM
3,274 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Melacca ~NendoSlave~ |
proxifier cant detect my GW2 =.=
Sep 4 2012, 11:26 PM
Sep 4 2012, 11:29 PM
got. tested both own IP and server IP
both same no detection |
Sep 5 2012, 02:24 AM
QUOTE(juine @ Sep 4 2012, 10:14 PM) guys. to get good latency get a gaming router like asus n56. before this im using those normal router, very hard to play as it is shared with few pc. after i change to asus n56, very smooth. can even streaming drama on other pc which was quite impossible using those normal one. ಠ_ಠit is a marketing gimmick, the get lower latency you've probably landed on good IP such as 175, 219 and 218.p/s: have no problem with wvw, pvp, or anything gw2 throw at u. i always though gaming router was a marketing gimmick.. but im satisfied what it deliver. QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Sep 4 2012, 11:29 PM) Try to uninstall your firewall/antivirus then? |
Sep 5 2012, 02:37 AM
and the latency just back to normal
not sure why always changing |
Sep 5 2012, 04:06 AM
Sep 5 2012, 09:30 AM
57 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
time 6mbps user her, getting about 230-280 ping on normal day and rarely goes beyond 300, unless my family are streaming videos on multiple ipads
Sep 5 2012, 10:14 AM
hi in order to work with GW2 with Ultima proxy
1) you need download and install Proxifier 3.15 version here 2) import the setting file *.ppx 3)login to putty first using trial accout or your ultima id . Putty setup part refer to 1a http://www.ultima.com.my/wow_proxy.html 4)Run the games . if your games success tunnelling to our server . something like the below will show up ![]() This post has been edited by nagflar: Sep 5 2012, 10:25 AM |
Sep 5 2012, 12:12 PM
Sep 5 2012, 12:46 PM
259 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: 1000101 |
i think connection stabilized after BLTP is up and running. They did mention they were running tests on BLTP. Will have to wait and see this weekend connection ok or not, if still high ping.. might consider getting proxy
Sep 5 2012, 01:15 PM
Going to run proxy anyway. Latency issues just too much. |
Sep 5 2012, 01:56 PM
Sep 5 2012, 02:00 PM
743 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Penang |
Sep 5 2012, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(gbwedward @ Sep 5 2012, 12:46 PM) i think connection stabilized after BLTP is up and running. They did mention they were running tests on BLTP. Will have to wait and see this weekend connection ok or not, if still high ping.. might consider getting proxy Only BLTC is stabilized, not whole server. BLTC was hosted on other mini website that mainly do the trading jobs, after the recent update, I noticed when I'm using proxifier there's a connection to cloudfront whenever I open up BLTC, so I guess they opted to cloudfront to handle the load. |
Sep 5 2012, 07:33 PM
1,460 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Guys, anyone here using 2mb maxis wired internet? I'm thinking of buying but... is it stable?
with NaAion i get around 3xx-4xx is it the same or different? |
Sep 6 2012, 09:02 AM
Proxy or VPN better for MMO's?
Sep 15 2012, 01:42 PM
Guys, mind sharing what ultima proxy servers are you using?
Tried MY and LA, not good. |
Sep 15 2012, 01:46 PM
385 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Which server in GW2 that you able to reach 250ms?
I'm in Ehmry Bay with Ultima Proxy only able to do 350ms. Without it, it's 400-500ms |
Sep 15 2012, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(m4a1rifle @ Sep 15 2012, 01:46 PM) Which server in GW2 that you able to reach 250ms? I think now is not the right time to test out your latency. I'm in Ehmry Bay with Ultima Proxy only able to do 350ms. Without it, it's 400-500ms Server is lagging during this time, otherwise I always get 200-220ms |
Sep 15 2012, 04:16 PM
Sep 15 2012, 05:54 PM
432 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
Sales just reach 2 Mil copies last couple days - not surprise a new influx of players coming in the server cause mass lag
Sep 16 2012, 10:25 AM
1,210 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: penang |
after watching this review, i really.. really.. really REALLY want to get the game and try it out but the only thing stopping me is the latency issue since its in NA seeing ppl wit ping as high as 400-500, how is the gameplay in that range? please advice >_< This post has been edited by ahbenchai: Sep 16 2012, 10:26 AM |
Sep 16 2012, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Sep 16 2012, 10:25 AM) after watching this review, i really.. really.. really REALLY want to get the game and try it out but the only thing stopping me is the latency issue since its in NA seeing ppl wit ping as high as 400-500, how is the gameplay in that range? please advice >_< Thing is, you can reduce your latency to acceptable range. (250-350) with the help of proxy. (Some even reported they get 200-250 which is awesome) It is just RM12.50 a month for ultimaproxy. I advise you register the game with whole new email address, if you really can't play, you can consider to sell it together with email. Some buyers feel safer. This post has been edited by skeithskeith: Sep 16 2012, 10:34 AM |
Sep 16 2012, 01:07 PM
I'd like to share this with everyone, I mean, how to get better latency to Guild Wars 2
First, get a cheap vps (from RM8~RM20) which can be shared among friends or split pay, up to you. I personally using https://www.bluevm.com/ as you can see there's lots of cheap package, I recommend to get BlueVM1 or BlueVM2 for just Guild Wars 2 usage, and make sure pick California for VPS location since it's the best location for us to connect from Malaysia. If you'd like to pick other hosting,you can find cheapest vps @ http://www.lowendbox.com/ and do ping test to their VPSes IP before buying one, wrong location gives you 300ms to the VPS which 330~350ms to GW2 server in total, while correct location gives you 250ms to GW2 server. Second, after you've got yourself a VPS, use PuTTy to SSH to your VPS, login info are given when you purchased your VPS. You can get putty from http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/ put in your VPS IP address and yada yada, connect to it, login (default login is root) After you've connected to your VPS using SSH, now, click the PuTTY top loft, click Settings and then go to this page ![]() Source port : can be anything you want Please make sure other settings are unchecked and Dynamic & Auto are selected, if you did it correctly, it should appears like in my screenshot, "Forwarded ports : D7070" and you're done for tunneling setting (IGNORE THIS IF YOU ARENT INTERESTED FOR WEB PROXY : Fun thing is, you can make it as a web proxy too, just go to internet settings or whatever, Proxy IP : 127.0.0.1 , port <your designated port that you used to setup in source port in tunneling setting>) Third, finally, now move to Proxifier, download any latest proxifier or just download at ultima website since it's already preconfigured to work with guildwars2. Just a minor change required in order to proxifier properly functional, ![]() Again, change the port like you've setup in PuTTY. Alright, now time to test your Guild Wars 2. You should not have any problem if you did all the step correctly, now just simply launch Gw2 executables, you should see something like this in your Proxifier ![]() If so, you've succesfuly connected to the GW2 using your VPS! This is the ping test to the GW2 servers. ![]() 221 + 33 = 254ms to GW2 server Not to mention it's rock stable latency 24hours, unlike our direct connection, morning will get lower latency, at night higher latency Hope it's useful for you guys who seeking to eliminate such problem. Looking for easier opt? Subscribe to ultima proxy, they also provides best gaming experience, I'm pretty sure they still giving out 7 days trial for interested users. This post has been edited by nymerine: Sep 16 2012, 01:08 PM |
Sep 16 2012, 01:28 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
How do you even check for latency ?
Sep 16 2012, 02:20 PM
Sep 16 2012, 04:09 PM
432 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(nymerine @ Sep 16 2012, 02:20 PM) Simplest way is to check using Resource Monitor, roughly you'll know it, for much more details, you can't use ping, it does not allow you to ping to destination, thus best solution next to it using tracert or pingplotter. PingTest.net - Server Dallas, Texas - Guild Wars 2 |
Sep 16 2012, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(skeithskeith @ Sep 15 2012, 01:42 PM) Singapore, works well for me.Malaysia not much difference, maybe because they use same routing anyway while Singapore ISP may be using different. I don't know, but somehow SG works well for me |
Sep 16 2012, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(skeithskeith @ Sep 15 2012, 01:42 PM) The term latency refers to any of several kinds of delays typically incurred in processing of network data. A so-called low latency network connection is one that generally experiences small delay times, while a high latency connection generally suffers from long delays.Latency is something hard to predict . Even you and your friends using same ISP . You may get difference latency in Games . etc This question that got many answer. some work well with Our MY server , Some work well in LA,CA server , etc The latency you get for is depend to your ISP , YOur location etc We always recommend to all our cust do a trial before you subscribe to Ultima PRoxy services . WE still giving out free 7 day unlimited access code . Just pm me for the code . You can still test our proxy without this 7day code . We got master trial account . just a limitation trial account will disconnect very 30min. You can simply reconnect after 30min. little tips for latency . we have server in MY , SG , USA , EURO . FOr games server located in USA . YOu can try MY, SG1, SG2, CA1, CA2, LA for games server located in CHINA , Taiwan , YOu can try MY , SG2 , SG1 For games server located in EURO. you can try EU , MY , SG1, SG2 . This post has been edited by nagflar: Sep 16 2012, 09:28 PM |
Sep 16 2012, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(nagflar @ Sep 16 2012, 09:25 PM) The term latency refers to any of several kinds of delays typically incurred in processing of network data. A so-called low latency network connection is one that generally experiences small delay times, while a high latency connection generally suffers from long delays. I am actually a paid member still testing which 1 is the best.Latency is something hard to predict . Even you and your friends using same ISP . You may get difference latency in Games . etc This question that got many answer. some work well with Our MY server , Some work well in LA,CA server , etc The latency you get for is depend to your ISP , YOur location etc We always recommend to all our cust do a trial before you subscribe to Ultima PRoxy services . WE still giving out free 7 day unlimited access code . Just pm me for the code . You can still test our proxy without this 7day code . We got master trial account . just a limitation trial account will disconnect very 30min. You can simply reconnect after 30min. little tips for latency . we have server in MY , SG , USA , EURO . FOr games server located in USA . YOu can try MY, SG1, SG2, CA1, CA2, LA for games server located in CHINA , Taiwan , YOu can try MY , SG2 , SG1 For games server located in EURO. you can try EU , MY , SG1, SG2 . |
Sep 24 2012, 02:30 PM
618 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Earth |
wanted to try out this game..but after reading this post ..is it safe to say that without using vpn or proxy..this game gonna lag?
im using boleh vpn..does that help? or must i change to that ulitma proxy? |
Sep 24 2012, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(lthock @ Sep 24 2012, 02:30 PM) wanted to try out this game..but after reading this post ..is it safe to say that without using vpn or proxy..this game gonna lag? it'll work regardless, hell im not using any and my skills are instantaneous. im using boleh vpn..does that help? or must i change to that ulitma proxy? I use to use wireless shared with housemate 1mb line. what i do everyday is PvE and predict skills timing 2 seconds after i press. I somehow "mastered" that 0.5 seconds delay or sometimes 1-2 sec delay. Got my own line last Thursday. This weekend playing like mad. My. Skills. Are. Very. Responsive. skills coming out instantly and things just got hell lot easier. What changed, 1mb to 10mb - yes it's a big change but 1mb at my hometown works fine too. Wireless to Wired LAN - Wired always better. nuff said. Hope you join the ranks soon soldier! |
Sep 24 2012, 02:57 PM
26 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
latency was negligible since beta, can't really feel lag but last weekend WvWvW against HoD/SBi can start to feel lag and rubberband once in a while
Sep 25 2012, 11:36 AM
48 posts Joined: May 2008 |
if u r exist smoothping user,here the offer
Hello , Due to popular request and the upcoming Mists of Pandaria release, we are offering our Smoothping Lifetime promotion one last time for those returning to play WoW. For just $39, your account will be converted to our full LIFETIME status which means you will never pay for ping lowering ever again. This offer will expire at midnight on Monday/Tuesday, when the Mists of Pandaria expansion is turned live, so now is the time to join the 1000s of other players that have already taken advantage of this offer. To purchase Smoothping LIFETIME, please visit: www.smoothping.com (Note: If you dont like clicking links, just visit smoothping.com and click on Members in the top right navigation bar) Remember, this your last opportunity to purchase a never expiring Smoothping account for just $39.... Never pay for Ping Lowering again! Happy Gaming! The Smoothping Team PS: Head to www.smoothping.com/members now and purchase your Smoothping LIFETIME account for just $39. ------------ if u r not SP member , can have a try here http://www.smoothping.com/promo |
Sep 25 2012, 11:40 AM
For Ultima, both SG servers are the best. The LA one, sometimes okay. Sometimes lag like hell. MY not so good. Same as LA, inconsistent. |
Sep 25 2012, 12:34 PM
yea i always use SG2 server
never had lag eversince xD |
Sep 25 2012, 12:42 PM
eh, questions, if using wifi wireless connect to modem router at home (wired streamyx 4mbs)
cannot use supersocks5 for proxy is it? |
Sep 25 2012, 01:25 PM
Sep 25 2012, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Sep 25 2012, 01:25 PM) can punya oh, no lar. i wanna try using my blog server to proxy. you can use their demo test account to try first if connected successfully, speed ok, then only subscribe can proxy with d3, wow. gw2 macam kenot. or maybe i not doing it right lul. u guys use what software to proxy ar? hmmm i think i know what when wrong. cos last time my pc directly connected to the adsl modem router (streamxy wired home line) so the ip i just put 127.0.0.1 my modem ip is 192.168.178.1 i put that ip. kenot work. i think i need to put the ip the modem assigned to me rite? This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Sep 25 2012, 01:35 PM |
Sep 25 2012, 01:45 PM
using eputty and proxifier
Added on September 25, 2012, 1:46 pmand yes, if you are pointing to localhost need to use either 127.0.0.1 or your own local LAN ip This post has been edited by ShinAsuka: Sep 25 2012, 01:46 PM |
Sep 25 2012, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Sep 25 2012, 01:45 PM) using eputty and proxifier aaah i using eputty and supersocks5 Added on September 25, 2012, 1:46 pmand yes, if you are pointing to localhost need to use either 127.0.0.1 or your own local LAN ip okies so 127.0.0.1 = pc directly connected to adsl modem router with rj45 lan cable own local LAN ip = connected to adsl modem router via wifi. use ip assigned by modem router ok got it hahah. later tonight try a bit see how it goes. |
Sep 25 2012, 02:10 PM
3,849 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Your Location |
I'm getting fluctuations between 350-500ms.. Unifi 5mb package.. weird thing is I did a traceroute and everything in TM was okay and the latency shot up to 300ms when I reach US soil and then around 330-350ms when I reach the server.
But I'm getting more than that value.. Gonna try a few of the mentioned proxy services. |
Sep 25 2012, 02:32 PM
can any of you record how "delay" it is? and what's the difference with proxy?
I do lag before so i know how bad can the delay be. But since i had my own line things are much better. It's so responsive. So i think 5mb unifi should be good enough? Are you using ethernet or wireless? My ping in resource monitor now is usually 270ms to 300ms max. Which I dont think i need any proxy service at all. |
Sep 25 2012, 02:35 PM
2,334 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuching |
3G, 300ms+-. No problem at all unless I up/down something behind, of course
Hardcore PvPers might not like that of course. But I still able to play online FPS fine with that ping. |
Sep 25 2012, 02:50 PM
Yeah I always torrent and play as well. I'm not trying to show off though I've been in the delay stage before so I dont wish people to opt for proxy simply without checking properly.
Sep 25 2012, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Sep 25 2012, 02:32 PM) can any of you record how "delay" it is? and what's the difference with proxy? Take my feedback with a grain of salt as I judge the smoothness with my naked eyes.. I do lag before so i know how bad can the delay be. But since i had my own line things are much better. It's so responsive. So i think 5mb unifi should be good enough? Are you using ethernet or wireless? My ping in resource monitor now is usually 270ms to 300ms max. Which I dont think i need any proxy service at all. Everything just don't feel smooth. The latency value isnt very high, but the fluctuations are the killer here. One moment everything is okay, just a split second, micro rubberbanding occurs. Some people may or may not notice, but I'm a very picky person. I notice small details like these. I need to do more tweaks later when I got home.. |
Sep 25 2012, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Sep 25 2012, 03:07 PM) Take my feedback with a grain of salt as I judge the smoothness with my naked eyes.. I had major ruber bands and even 0.5-2 second delay in skill casting. I've been in that kind of situation for one month man, I understand. Everything just don't feel smooth. The latency value isnt very high, but the fluctuations are the killer here. One moment everything is okay, just a split second, micro rubberbanding occurs. Some people may or may not notice, but I'm a very picky person. I notice small details like these. I need to do more tweaks later when I got home.. Just that now i dont feel anything anymore, maybe it's ISP? |
Sep 25 2012, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Sep 25 2012, 03:15 PM) I had major ruber bands and even 0.5-2 second delay in skill casting. I've been in that kind of situation for one month man, I understand. It's hard to isolate this issue unless the engineer in TM is willing to troubleshoot this issue with me. Otherwise, I don't have the access and as far as I know, TM engineer will only fix stuff locally. Meaning as long as our local latency is within the low range then it's acceptable. Which explains why the first thing they ask you to do when you report slow connection fault, is to do speedtest locally. Just that now i dont feel anything anymore, maybe it's ISP? To solve this problem, TM will need to reroute to a shorter path with lesser hops in between. This will decrease the latency to reach the destination. We're not even corporate customers, so what we say will fall to deaf ears................. You might not feel it but I might. It's a very debatable issue la, some don't see any issue, some does. So to fix or improve this, I must first isolate my end first lo.. which I need to do when I reach home.. |
Sep 25 2012, 07:08 PM
36 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Sep 25 2012, 03:31 PM) It's hard to isolate this issue unless the engineer in TM is willing to troubleshoot this issue with me. Otherwise, I don't have the access and as far as I know, TM engineer will only fix stuff locally. Meaning as long as our local latency is within the low range then it's acceptable. Which explains why the first thing they ask you to do when you report slow connection fault, is to do speedtest locally. Need to hightlight the Public IP Address/ subnet you get it from Malaysia ISP.To solve this problem, TM will need to reroute to a shorter path with lesser hops in between. This will decrease the latency to reach the destination. We're not even corporate customers, so what we say will fall to deaf ears................. You might not feel it but I might. It's a very debatable issue la, some don't see any issue, some does. So to fix or improve this, I must first isolate my end first lo.. which I need to do when I reach home.. If you notifce different range ip subnet , the route to INTERNET are TOTAL Different. Forexample if you get IP 210.x.x.x 175.x.x.x you are good for general routing to INTERNET. worst subnet i notice is 115.x.x.x!!!! it huge latency and packet lost to TM Gateway. Conclusion: Peanut like us, TM will not care or not route the entire network just for yo... So proxy tunnel come in place as workaround. Please remember streamyx/other isp is share pool, they do not dedicate the bandwitdh for you Proxy Tunnel is different story, it have private pool and have dedicate bandwitdh for you to reach the public INTERNET. That explain why it do reduce the latency. And please note also, your ISP to other country ISP route are alway CHANGE, so it mean there is no warranty there also it will be always consistant. i hope this explain all. so cheer. Don't play too much game like me..crazy.. |
Sep 25 2012, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(mioyuchi @ Sep 25 2012, 07:08 PM) Need to hightlight the Public IP Address/ subnet you get it from Malaysia ISP. You just basically state my points with different words.. but I do understand this..If you notifce different range ip subnet , the route to INTERNET are TOTAL Different. Forexample if you get IP 210.x.x.x 175.x.x.x you are good for general routing to INTERNET. worst subnet i notice is 115.x.x.x!!!! it huge latency and packet lost to TM Gateway. Conclusion: Peanut like us, TM will not care or not route the entire network just for yo... So proxy tunnel come in place as workaround. Please remember streamyx/other isp is share pool, they do not dedicate the bandwitdh for you Proxy Tunnel is different story, it have private pool and have dedicate bandwitdh for you to reach the public INTERNET. That explain why it do reduce the latency. And please note also, your ISP to other country ISP route are alway CHANGE, so it mean there is no warranty there also it will be always consistant. i hope this explain all. so cheer. Don't play too much game like me..crazy.. I tried reconnecting till 172.xxxxx still gives me 300-500 fluctuations... to best judge the stability.. I equip my shortbow on my thief and cast skill number 3 .. my character will stuck/jitters for a split second... |
| Change to: | 0.0767sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:27 PM |