7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V26, Keeping up with the others for over 27

poolcarpet
post Aug 26 2012, 10:39 PM

548 posts

I bought the original Proton Bougicord spark plug cables for RM60 only smile.gif

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Aug 26 2012, 10:30 PM)
Shit..
My plug cable I got rip-off?
The fella get for me Proton d.

I also feel weird how come plug cable so expensive d.
Bunch of @ssholes mechanics.
But no choice sad.gif
They also got to earn

Selling the following parts for Iswara only.

Iswara Bosch Front Headlamp-rm165(per side)
Iswara Bosch Signal lamp- rm50 per side
Iswara Taillamp Sedan Original Proton-rm200(per side)
Iswara Side Mirror-rm25 per side( local, manual type)
Top set gasket-rm215 Original Proton( many fakes out there, wont last)
Iswara Alternator Bosch rm170. 1 year warranty by Bosch
Iswara distributor original rm405. use taiwan one few months will spoil.
Iswara digital clock original proton rm70
Bosch Timing Belt kit set-rm60
Dayco Timing belt kit set-rm95
Iswara water pump. Original Proton rm55
Iswara engine mounting front-rm36, rear-rm 48, right-rm188 (made in japan), left-rm238(made in japan)
Pro-Rallye Plug Cable 10mm Made in USA-rm170
Bosch Sports Plug Cable 8mm-rm45
Iswara Original Proton clutch cable-rm30
Iswara Original Proton clutch kit set rm155
Iswara Original Exedy CLutch kit set made in Japan with skf bearing rm190.
Iswara Kayaba absorbers-front rm72, rear rm43 Original. many fakes out there
Iswara rear brake pump Bosch brand rm25 per side
Iswara lower arm-rm45 each(local)
Bosch Power Plus front brake pads-rm35
Brake shoe Cycar rm25
Bosch W8DC spark plugs-rm15(normal one)
Bosch Super4 spark plugs-rm42
Bosch wiperblades rm20
Bardahl 5w-40fully synthetic engine oil SM rm85, Bardahl 10w-40, semi-synthetic rm65,
Bosch oil filter rm8, Original Proton oil filter rm8
Bosch air filter rm9, local OSAKA air filter rm6
Fuel filter local rm5
Proton ATF oil rm22 per litre
Osram H4 bulbs rm10 each.

I got this from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/717315/all
Hey TS can you put this list up?
This can help Iswara users from kena con
poolcarpet
post Aug 26 2012, 10:55 PM

548 posts

Do a bit survey... find nearest spare part shop and make friends with them. Try and buy from them consistently and see if you can get better pricing from them. If you get it from mechanic you can't expect them to sell you for the same price, they need to pay for storage/parts/transport as well.

Some of the things can be fixed DIY. Changing plug cables/distributor cap/rotor arm is so simple so that's something you can do to save a bit of $$ and also have some satisfaction of DIY maintaining your car smile.gif

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Aug 26 2012, 10:41 PM)
dulan
arghhhh
but I duno which workshop to go adi..
I just feel that all workshop also makan duit.
Celaka betul.
So angry
poolcarpet
post Aug 27 2012, 12:11 PM

548 posts

I'm no sifu but this is first time I've ever heard of such thing...

"if always do high rev, if your exhaust system is not modded for bigger flow, the pressure created due to high rpm will cause the engine to suck up the engine oil"

Let me say this based on my limited understanding on car exhaust...

1. High Rev/High power output results in higher rate of exhaust gas to push out.
2. If the exhaust system is not catered to handle this higher rate, it means there is high backpressure.
3. My understanding of this is, high backpressure will cause loss of performance or probably better to put the other way round, not able to squeeze out maximum performance.

I believe what your friend meant is probably if the exhaust is not tuned accordingly, the car engine will suck up more PETROL (not engine oil). I believe stock exhaust is probably not performance tuned.
poolcarpet
post Aug 31 2012, 08:47 AM

548 posts

if it's for ocassional weekend use, super cheap, you can't go wrong with iswara smile.gif i doubt any cars in the market today have lower maintenance/repair cost than iswara.

i'm using iswara 99 so i'm not familiar with saga lmst, wait for others to comment.

If i'm not wrong saga lmst 07 model should be between 10k to 15k. I had a thread on tips for buying used cars, maybe you can get some ideas there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1621478&hl=

QUOTE(ballackahn @ Aug 31 2012, 12:34 AM)
Hi all. Im a recent graduate, and is looking at getting my first car after working for almost 2 years. Im looking for a car that i will only use during weekends in the city, as i spend my weekdays working in an area that doesnt have road connection.

Im looking at getting a Saga LMST, since its cheap, cheap to maintain (cheap spare parts), and cheap to repair (old uncle mechanics like fixing old cars like saga).

I would love to hear any advise about my choice - would you taikos here support, or advice me to get other cars? and if the conception about SAGA LMST (cheap price, cheap to maintain, cheap to fix) holds true.

and finally, for a LMST round 2005-2007, what would the price be like? im seeing from as low as 9800 to 18500. its a bit confusing.
poolcarpet
post Sep 2 2012, 03:16 PM

548 posts

Your existing insurance company will normally send you renewal notice.

If not, you can try calling them to ask or if you are fed up with current insurance want to try something different, can try tunemoney or maybank2u takaful. I'm using tunemoney no problems buy online pay online very easy. Then go post office and renew road tax.

I believe you can renew insurance as early as 2 months before expiry (but I'm not 100% sure)

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Sep 2 2012, 01:37 AM)
Hi, I still got 1 question regarding insurance sad.gif this is my first car so I dont know. This years November my Insurance & Road tax will expired, when can I go to renew my Insurance & Road tax?before 1 month?

Added on September 2, 2012, 3:18 pmspeedo cable maybe... ori proton part around RM30

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2012, 04:25 AM)
was speeding at mrr2 just now after an overtime session at overtime pavillion (invited for the asus audiophile meet btw lol)

speed was around 140-150km/h, suddenly speedometer drop to 0 WTF, i see my rev still 6k+, my surrounding still flying by me.
for a sec, i was thinking "aiya, 2 pint of starker aromatic, so light shit also drunk like this?"

then when i am nearing my house, speed slowed down and all... still 0.
FML cable broke or something (as speedometer was fairly new >.> only almost 40k km on it lerh, bought original from proton some more, surely not this bugger's fault right? lol)

anyways gonna let my workshop mechanic tengok tengok la later on once i wake up >.>
hopefully sunday can get spareparts lol
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 2 2012, 03:18 PM
poolcarpet
post Sep 3 2012, 08:58 AM

548 posts

Wow, I don't know why everyone is making the insurance renewal such a complicated matter. As mentioned before:

1. If you have existing insurance, you will get renewal notice along with recommended sum insured through post. Of course they will send you renewal notice, they do not want to lose customers. If you want to continue with current insurance, just pay and get the e-covernote and you're good to go.

2. If you want to change insurance, just buy it yourself either through agent or online at tunemoney.com or maybank2u.com - prices are the same no difference. You do not pay extra if you go through agent, and you do not get discounts if you buy it yourself but I think Maybank2u takaful gives you 10% discount. Car insurance in Malaysia is regulated all fixed pricing (it's about RM26/RM1000 sum insured, before NCD). Sometimes if you have good relationship with agent, they can even give you slight discount which is part of their commission.

3. If buying online, you should get an e-covernote. With this, your insurance is renewed. You can then go to post office and renew your road tax, bring your original JPJ car registration card. You do NOT need to bring the e-covernote as everything is online now. Also, if buying online you need to make sure you have sufficient cover for market value of the car. Don't under insure. Many people don't realize but if you under insure if there is any claim, it will be prorated as well. E.g. car market value is 10k, you insure 8k - if there are any claims, it will also be paid out at 80%, e.g. cost of repairs RM5k, but insurance will only reimburse you RM4k as you only cover 80% of your car value.

I don't understand why renewing earlier is a waste of money. Insurance renewal is always following your existing insurance expiry date, e.g. insurance expiring 30 Sep 2012, you can renew today and it is for 1 Oct 2012 to 30 Sep 2013.

If you're changing insurance company, you can transfer NCD - if there are problems with that, then it's just a phone call to the current insurance company telling them you want to transfer NCD.

Everything is easily done online if you're using tunemoney.com - I'm using that no hassles at all. Then just go to nearest post office and renew road tax. No need to go to JPJ.

This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 3 2012, 09:04 AM
poolcarpet
post Sep 3 2012, 11:16 AM

548 posts

no it's not. starts from end of current road tax. it's valid until end of your road tax. in example below, it will start after the current expiry date.

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:38 AM)
afaik, road tax is renew from d date u make payment rather continuation of d existing date. let say if u renew 2 days b4 expired, d new date starts from d date u make payment.
poolcarpet
post Sep 10 2012, 10:06 PM

548 posts

If i'm not wrong it's 850 rpm

QUOTE(AzeL @ Sep 10 2012, 07:49 PM)
sheesh...found the screw, I was looking at the wrong end of the carb the whole time before this hahaha....turns out even at 0.5K my car barely shakes..in fact, it'll start shaking audibly around the 0.8-09 mark.

For AC Idle now it stays at 1...guess it's higher than my previous AC on idle with original compressor (around 0.8) maybe due to bigger compressor hence bigger engine load.

For curiosity's sake,  can anyone tell me the default idle rpm for proton iswara a/b 1/3 manual?
poolcarpet
post Sep 26 2012, 04:16 PM

548 posts

before doing anything like changing springs, please try changing the absorbers first. 150k mileage is very high on the absorber.

Rear APM performax absorbers (2 units) cost me RM130 parts only. Bring to your normal mechanic or nearby tire shop and get them to change for you for small fee.

You can also use original Proton part or Kayaba.

After changing the absorbers then only consider springs if it's worn (but springs hardly wear out after only 150k mileage).

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 26 2012, 04:04 PM)
no idea. maybe other forumers can input on this.
poolcarpet
post Sep 27 2012, 09:33 AM

548 posts

there are plenty of methods to test, bouncing each corner of the car is one method but that is very hard to gauge unless you have another similar car with new shocks to compare.

my previous car, while doing the bouncy test seems ok, and no visible leaks but the absorbers were gone already because after replacing it, i can feel such a big difference.

there are also certain tire shops which can do proper scientific measurement test of the shocks using a machine for a nominal fee, i think there's one near jalan templer but i'm not sure of exact location.

anyway, based on my personal experience, going by mileage is a good enough indicator. personally i would say about 80k mileage is about right time for shocks replacement.

the shocks are used 100% of the time when the car is moving, absorbing all kinds of shocks and stabilizing the car.

i shared before the pricing, last time i changed to APM performax all 4 plus the front suspension mounting bush, it was RM110x2 for front, RM65x2 for rear and RM6x2 for the front mounting bush. total RM362 for parts only. if you're going for kayaba i think it's slightly cheaper.

it's sooo cheap just go replace all 4 at 80k and get a 'new suspension' feeling ride.

p/s : just did quick google check found this shop selling RM250+RM190=RM440 only incl installation. note i don't know this shop nor have i been there before, just sharing for price reference. kayaba is a good brand i used it for my previous car last time.

http://www.lelong.com.my/kayaba-shock-abso...3-03-Sale-P.htm

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 26 2012, 06:00 PM)
can do test, and/or see if there's any leaks (oil stains) on the absorbers
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 27 2012, 09:45 AM
poolcarpet
post Sep 27 2012, 10:54 AM

548 posts

Iswara 1.3S aeroback original spec:

Kerb Weight -> 920kg
Max gross vehicle weight -> 1310kg
Max front axle weight -> 650kg
Max rear axle weight -> 660kg

So take away 920kg from 1310kg means it's expected to carry up to 390kg.

Divide this by 5 passengers, meaning averagely it's 78kg per passenger. You mentioned you're carrying load of 150+kg, this is nothing as it's well within the load limits of the car. Even looking at the max rear axle weight, there's a lot of allowance there 660kg (remember front axle would take more weight due to the engine, so probably like 60% of 920kg is already on the front, meaning you have even more carrying capacity at the back)

I'm no sifu, but if you feel more comfortable getting the Sach/Proride/Afuji then by all means go for it, but based on original spec and original shocks, it should comfortably handle your 150kg+ not a problem. If you got for Kayaba gas it's also 'stiffer' than the ori I think (based on my past experience on previous car, I used KYB gas all 4).

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Sep 27 2012, 10:44 AM)
thank you for the input. yesterday i saw the posts also.

my initial thought is, i may go for other brands like pro-ride/sachs/a-fuji as they may be stiffer(standard type) than then apm/kayaba which i think will suits me as i'm having load load around 150kg+ everyday  blush.gif

Sachs - i read quite alot good comments on the absorbers but the price is highest among 3 of them. shd be around rm350-400 for front and rear.

Pro-ride - malaysia brand by Sapura. some1 commented the stiffness is more or less compare to monroe. around rm 250-300 for front and rear.

A-fuji - a LYNian is selling this brand here and also could find this on mudah.my. the cheapese among the 3 which is around rm200 for front and rear. there are good comments on this brand also. besides, i did some research on this brand and i found that it is a china brand if i'm not mistaken.

all abs mentioned above are standard abs, not performance type.

so my plan is:
1) standard abs + standard spring + spring buffer
2) standard abs + spring buffer, use the old spring

any view from sifus here?
poolcarpet
post Sep 28 2012, 09:03 AM

548 posts

wow, how old and what condition exactly is your iswara? mine's 12 years old but i never had to change so many parts before!

honestly, first time hearing people changing entire rear axle...

and some parts look overpriced, rear brake shoe RM120? front brake pads+rear brake shoe RM240? rclxub.gif

either these are super high quality parts or this shop is slaughtering you man.

i changed front lower arm, used back original proton and it cost me RM300 per pair so yours look more affordable, is RM170 ori part?
poolcarpet
post Oct 3 2012, 03:58 PM

548 posts

RM1.3 k!!!!! blink.gif

I changed all 4 of my mounting plus timing belt plus water pump i think around RM600+ only tongue.gif but not at Proton service center.

Just do some survey, call up nearest spare part shop ask them how much for 4 mounting for Iswara (Original) and you can compare smile.gif

QUOTE(gon2me @ Oct 3 2012, 03:45 PM)
hi all,

got question here..
last week i check my car with proton service n they said my engine mounting is crack..they said cost to repair that mounting total of RM1.3k
is that reasonable price?

btw my car is iswara 1.3(M) year 2000
poolcarpet
post Oct 3 2012, 11:42 PM

548 posts

Not only proton... The rest also same... Honda toyota all chrage high prices smile.gif

QUOTE(jedi_master @ Oct 3 2012, 10:19 PM)
proton service centers are worse scammers, huhu. last time went there ask how much to change timing kit for savvy, they quote rm800+.. outside only RM400..  mad.gif
poolcarpet
post Oct 6 2012, 11:01 AM

548 posts

Sorry, saw this and can't help but say this - it IS the best in class. There is no other car in it's class rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(Kel89 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:40 AM)
I always tot my lmst is among the best in class on fuel consumption, mana tau after calculating, im like  sad.gif
poolcarpet
post Oct 13 2012, 05:48 PM

548 posts

Happened to me before, but not on iswara. It is possible some water got into the gearbox. In my case, after a change of gearoil no more problems. If anyone is telling u have to change clutch just for something like this, i'd be cautious and seek a second or third opinion. Alternatively you can change the gearoil first and see how it is. Shouldn't be too expensive.

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Oct 13 2012, 04:56 PM)
Today I found my gear is difficult to engage after went through a “sui tam”(cantonese). May I ask is it got water enter into my gearbox? Last time after i change a new set of clutch in May 2012, the same situation happened then the workshop change gear oil for me then ok already. But now again?

And i took the car to the workshop just now and ask what's the problem. Then they told me they have to disassemble the gearbox and check only knows what happen. One of the guy said may be the clutch sub, another 1 said if the clutch skin / spring kena water and get rusty then may b have to change the clutch again. Immediately "Wat the xx" comes in my mind. Then i know i cannot repair my car at that workshop again since they owaz chopped me. So i need opinions from sifus here.

My questions are:
1) The water can go in so easy?
2) If the water goes in, will it cause problem for my gear engagement?
3) What can i do? Bring my car to maddriver/sinister workshop for check up?
4) Or wait a few days and see how?

Thank you in advanced.
poolcarpet
post Oct 14 2012, 10:10 PM

548 posts

I changed my gear oil for RM30 only at Shell service center. Also bought the 3 drive belts and brought to the service center to change and total bill was RM40 only smile.gif

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Oct 14 2012, 09:55 PM)
may i ask what is the normal/common price for changing gear oil? As i checked the receipt which i change the cluth set, the gear oil cost me rm35. I'm not sure is it more expensive if i just change the gear oil compare to repairing other parts too.  hmm.gif
poolcarpet
post Oct 14 2012, 10:16 PM

548 posts

Let me tell you the specs of Iswara....

6 - Manual Transmission Oil
Type - Hypoid gear oil, use Petronas GL-4SAE80 or equivalent.
API classification GL-4 or higher.
SAE Viscosity No. 75W-90
Quantity: 1.8 litres

I'm guessing the workshop used some funky special gear oil for that price (remember mine was RM30 only using Shell's gear oil), plus he must have flushed it really clean since spec says 1.8 liters but he managed to use 2.5 liters? 700ml fresh gear oil poured in and drained just to make sure it's all clean before the 1.8 litres went in?

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Oct 14 2012, 08:59 PM)
But i'm think the price is quite expensive. The charges as below:
2 ltr of of gear oil: 2 x rm25 = rm50
0.5 ltr more of gear oil: rm13
labour: rm10
tax: rm0.60
So total is rm 73.60. I thought change of gear oil can be done within rm50 or even lesser?
poolcarpet
post Oct 16 2012, 09:35 PM

548 posts

Yup confirm spare part shops will have. Even the plastic oval 'base'. I bought new set for all 4 knobs but never got the time to go fix it yet. Very cheap, if my records are correct it's RM6 for 4xknob and RM6 for 4xoval base. Total RM12 only. smile.gif

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Oct 16 2012, 02:00 PM)
I bought mine at spare part shop, perhaps you can check it out?
poolcarpet
post Oct 19 2012, 07:42 AM

548 posts

well said rclxms.gif
yawn yet another 'performance enhancing' snake oil.

stuff like this - very very simple to test.

1. Bring car to dyno test
2. Without changing ANYTHING else, install this whatever performance enhancing thingamajid
3. Do dyno test again

If you don't see any difference between #1 and #3, don't waste your time and money. But of course the problem is, to do the dyno test itself you need $$$ so how? Most people will skip this, just give it a try and hey, placebo effect tells your butt dyno it's thumbup.gif

Use at your own risk smile.gif

I just DIY fixed my squeaky wipers and I'm telling you, the car drives BETTER. I'm not joking or being sarcastic here. Think my butt dyno is very, very easily influenced by placebo effect.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 18 2012, 10:26 PM)
think of how much it cost and how much you may *potentially* save (if any at all)

or you know, making sure your spark plugs/plug cables/car batteries/alternator etc are well maintained
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Oct 19 2012, 07:52 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:24 AM