Travel Travelling Tips & airport/airline rules, Thing to bring & things to avoid

fraulein
post Mar 27 2008, 08:48 AM

510 posts

What's the 'liquid' policy for flying to Thai, I mean the shampoo, skincare products & liquid makeups etc? Some told me you just need to put them in the plastic bag they provided and you can carry them onboard. But a friend told me they will be confiscated unless we check them in.
fraulein
post Apr 3 2008, 08:08 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 27 2008, 06:51 PM)
If you carry it on plane must put in a plastic that they provided la. cargo no need.
Thanks flameboy3.
fraulein
post Apr 9 2010, 12:28 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(peppermilk @ Jan 22 2010, 04:45 PM)
I think you can, if the quantity is small (say 1-2 packets?).

I remembered a small list of food prohibited are... eggs, poultry, mung beans (basically seeds). For a full list, check this out my dear: http://www.travelbug.gov.au/documents/What_cant_I_take.pdf

I once brought a whole bar of chocolate and a bag of chips (those supersized ones you see in ang moh countries) and they let me board the plane.

Added on January 22, 2010, 4:51 pmJust wondering guys, where do you usually keep your important belongings (cash, passport, visas ect) while you're hitting the beach? Keep it at the safe of your lodging? O_o Will that be safe enough? Haha guess I'm a little paranoid...
Hmm.. I'm planning to bring a whole lunchbox of fried rice with me next time cause the air pressure always makes me feel really hungry upon taking off and the food in AirAsia always not fulfilling. hmm.gif

Can I bring a pillow up and upon arrival, can I pass the UK custom without them decapitating my pillow to see if there's any drugs? You know la.. if taking Airasia, with pillow will be more comfortable in such a long flight. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: Apr 9 2010, 12:34 AM
fraulein
post Apr 9 2010, 10:58 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2010, 09:06 AM)
Pillow & blanket for sure can. Always brought mine. But food?? Well, if u mean domestic flight u can do it by smuggling in to AA..on Int flight, they will ask you to throw away the whole thing!

& on certain countries for eg..Australia, bringing food stuff (Even you check-in), you not only getting asked to throw or re-post to home country, you will be getting penalty as well.
Penalty? OK.. definitely not bringing any food then. sad.gif
However, there's a few times I saw people eating stuffs on Airasia (on my way to Thailand and Bali) which is definitely not bought on the flight and I didn't see any shop inside waiting area that sells those stuffs. E.g : Krispy Kreme doughnuts (I was drooling over my neighbours doughnuts drool.gif ), King Bakery's cakes. How did they get those on planes? hmm.gif hmm.gif
fraulein
post Nov 13 2010, 01:01 PM

510 posts

Hi, does anyone here wrap their check in back packs or just check in like that? I mean those bags that doesn't have any security lock.

I had check in my backpacks a few times and there's no problem so far. Then, on my last trip I saw people fully wrap their back packs before check in. That makes me wonder, is it safe to just check in my backpack without wrappings since it can't be locked? I didn't put in any valuable stuff inside but I check in the bag just for the sake of liquids. I'm just worried if someone putting extra stuffs inside.

I noticed the Bangkok airport did open up my backpack when I travelled there, because there's a sticker 'Security Passed' (or something like that) on my medication when I open it.
fraulein
post Jun 20 2011, 05:03 PM

510 posts

Hi, I went into UK immigration website to check what are the items prohibited but still confused, especially on what medications/OTC that I can bring along. As I don't like scrambling around looking for pharmacy in foreign countries when I got sick, I prefer to bring my own medications. Are these allowed into France and UK?

Teck Aun pils (for food poisoning)
Minyak Cap Kapak
Activefast/Paracetamol
Actal for gastric
Fybogel (the packaging says made in UK, actually).
Sevensea Cod Liver Oil (supplement that doctor recommended to me as I'm prone to flu, packaging says made in Great Britain).

I had bring all these to Korea and SE Asia countries before without problem.
fraulein
post Jun 20 2011, 10:04 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 20 2011, 05:09 PM)
From my experience, all these are fine if it's not in huge quantities.

For Teck Aun pills - not sure coz it's chinese medication. Not sure how the immigration will react to that when they see it.

Wah, bring so much medicine... are you prone to getting sick easily? Poor you!

For flu hor, you can always buy redoxon (vitamin c soluble in water). When you feel like the flu is coming, faster take 1 glass lo

Added on June 20, 2011, 5:12 pm

thanks. Maybe I'll consider asking for lomotil from doctor instead for food poisoning. I get sick a lot especially after flights. So these are basically my imust haves when travel. Is redoxon passable for the custom check?

fraulein
post Jun 21 2011, 10:16 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 20 2011, 10:33 PM)
Yes redoxon is OTC product. I bring it whenever I travel, even to Aus - super strict but they never said anything.
Thanks, I'll buy Redoxon tomorrow.
fraulein
post Jun 23 2011, 09:57 PM

510 posts

Need urgent advice. I just bought a nasal spray from Guardian and after open the package just realized it's an aerosol bottle. I need nasal spray because the last time I was on flight, my nose seriously dry and hurt. Can I bring the nasal spray onto plane?
fraulein
post Jun 26 2011, 12:34 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 24 2011, 10:53 PM)
Usually when your bag goes through the x-ray machine, confirm the officer will be able to spot it.

However, you can have a doctor's letter to prove that you absolutely need it during the flight. Else, no choice but to put wet tissue and keep wiping your nose OR apply vaseline to nose area.
But the hurt is inside the nose, at the nose bridge area wor.. I need the aerosol nasal spray to pump in sterile water into that area.

Just checked at TSA (US) website and an Australian dept of infras & transportation website . It says aerosol for over-the-counter, personal care and toiletries are allowed in hand-carry if under 100 ml. Just worried whether this 'standard' rules is made known in LCCT or not.

I'll think I'll gamble. Put it together with my other liquids into zip lock bag. If they notice then I explain, if not .. whistling.gif
fraulein
post Jun 26 2011, 11:20 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 26 2011, 12:52 AM)
Since you need sterile water, how about this?

U know those toner (for skincare) that has spray cap? Or the empty ones from Watson/Guardian?

Not sure how to categorize sterile water but if it's equivalent with boiled water, you can actually fill up the spray bottle with it and it's OK to bring spray bottle of 100ml and below into the flight.
You mean spray the water into my nostrils? Last time I did bring a water spray but I just spray outside the nose lah, doesn't work.

0.0217sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:52 AM