Demon Hunter V2, Patch 1.05 - More survivabilities!

nightshade_nova
post Aug 23 2012, 10:02 PM

443 posts

No one uses strafe? I think its quite viable now, but your repair cos will become that of a melee though haha.
One thing that boggles my mind though is strafe with stinging steel (100% extra dmg on crit) does less dmg than rocket rune+ballistics.

nightshade_nova
post Aug 26 2012, 06:37 PM

443 posts

Today I pick up the courage and tried farming with strafe in act 3 and was successful! rclxms.gif

Never thought the day would come where I could use strafe on act 3 haha.
I dont care about effectiveness, its just so easy and so much fun. laugh.gif

Oh yeah...rockets go through walls it seems.
nightshade_nova
post Aug 28 2012, 06:46 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(Lau Pan @ Aug 28 2012, 06:39 PM)
can i know what is
24% more fire damage taken? good or no good?
Not good bro.take more fire dmg.Espcially since molten/chains/mortar are fire element.
Kripparian who's never die on his barb also died like 3-5 times in his act3 runs after he switched to new andariel.(partly because he used to being so tanky, not because hes undergeared or anything)
Definitely not for hardcore mode.
But its good dps, though.For glass cannon it wont matter too much.

I personally think new andriel is damn good and will switch to it once I got the funds.
Hopefully doesnt effect my dh in terms of tankiness too much.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Aug 28 2012, 06:46 PM
nightshade_nova
post Aug 29 2012, 09:18 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Aug 29 2012, 10:24 AM)
sigh, with such stats: 40k hp, ard 400 AR, 3k+ armor, 55k dps (without SS) i need to spend almost 100k per run in act2 for repair, survivability is low.

office block bnet. my skillset goes like this: hungering arrow (spray of teeth), element arrow (lightning ball), bat companion, smoke screen (special recipe), caltrop (2 sec immobility) & preparation (battlescar)

i beliv with this stats many dh can outperform my survivability. how do u guys play ur dh?
Your stats seems to be around mine.Im 46k hp, 50k dps, 5k armor, 500 res.

Get loh.It makes the whole difference in the world.Get at least 600, 1k to farm comfortably.
Since you seem to take the balance route, imo gloom is more fitting than smoke screen, so you should change to that.

Caltrops is superbad imo, dont scale against elite at all.
Also, if you dont already using cloak with disc, try to change into one.For me, I got 2 source of disc pool from cloak and bow for a total of 18 disc.It helps a lot for drawn out fights against health link/extra health elites.

If youre using elemental arrow, imho you need to be able to deplete your hatred fast with high attack speed, from 125 hatred to 0 hatred.
If you die before you deplete your hatred, it just means that your build isnt optimal to use it, thats why high hatred spenders like cluster arrow always wins in this regard.
If you deplete your hatred pool 3 times or more and enemies still dont die, than its a dps problem.Thats the gist of it.

Hatred spenders have 3 aspects to them which is utility, dmg to hatred ratio and single/multiple target effectiveness.
Current patch are more balanced, so I think whatever you choose dont really matter.
Im personally using strafe.The dmg to hatred is ok-ish, good for both single and multiple target but the utility is super good. thumbup.gif

my dh
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Lucon-6817/hero/1095298

You can see my build there.Very viable for act 3. nod.gif
nightshade_nova
post Sep 1 2012, 07:53 PM

443 posts

Fuuuuuu...toc incoming nerf.(even though really expected)

Im still using it now, though.Too good to pass.
Hopefully 1.05 will buff other skills to compensate for the nerf.

Yesterday got outbid on a ring...something over 100mil.
Then right after that, the same damn ring were put into ah for 30mil starting bid again. shocking.gif

If I didnt know any better, its a dupe ring, or someone is so filthy rich he immediately put it on ah after not trying it on for a few minutes.

Added on September 2, 2012, 12:28 amBlizzard forum mods are bunch of morons+tool.
My posts got deleted just because some forumers didnt believe I use strafe in act 3 and report as troll.

Its just a simple post something along this line:
"If you build your dh towards a balanced approach, more skills become viable.I use strafe to farm in act 3"

After few minutes.. bam! deleted.
Furthermore, its marked as deleted by myself.zzz. sweat.gif
Must be some report-happy glass cannons.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Sep 2 2012, 12:28 AM
nightshade_nova
post Sep 3 2012, 06:10 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Sep 3 2012, 05:53 PM)
lol your gear is good leh... dps 80k
I think its standard starting dh, can improve a lot.He did a great job if hes able to farm act3 with small loh.
Those dps are post sharpshooter, real dps should be half of that maybe.
The shoulder is good, though.

For me, I think loh is the most important factor for non-glass cannons.Without loh, you wont survive.

If youre getting dps from rings/amulet, there are many dps boosting affix to pick from attack speed, average dmg, crit chance, crit dmg and dexterirty.Dont search for trifecta, sure expensive.
Popular combo like crit chance+crit dmg oso try to avoid if you can.Those are the most expensive even as two affix.

For mortal players like us, less popoular combo like ias+cc or ias+cd are usually cheaper and more cost efficient for dps.Just remember to use dps calculator before you buy.
Can also try to search for sockets to substitute for dex.

nightshade_nova
post Sep 6 2012, 01:24 AM

443 posts

Haha Im so despo to bid on something, end up replacing my 90% gems with 70% ones to sell them.
Usually pawn it to my friends, but none of them are online tonight.

New cc mechanics looks pretty neat.Permastun elite might be possible again.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/7100052/De...hanges-9_5_2012

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Sep 6 2012, 01:24 AM
nightshade_nova
post Sep 6 2012, 04:13 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 6 2012, 11:09 AM)
Bid on what? brows.gif
Lol nothing much, just new Skull Grasp to go with my strafe build.Been using Hierophant Seal since 1.02. tongue.gif
Most ppl might not look for strafe+crit chance combo, but its still hard to come by.

Tbh, Im never getting a real decent ring cos Im so picky.

Now using Inquisitor+Skull Grasp with strafe, but still have my old cloak in stash.
Im using dual Skull Grasp, btw.(new+legacy) biggrin.gif

nightshade_nova
post Sep 8 2012, 09:31 PM

443 posts

I digress.Bola shot is too underpowered.Id like to use it(the damage is huge), but there are so many downsides to it. sad.gif

Firstly its only good in point blank melee range.The farther your target is, the more ineffective it becomes due to the explosion delay.
Second, its aoe also only works in melee range(7 yard).The rune with decent aoe have horrible coefficient.
It also doesnt pierce(except for poison rune), which makes goblin killing hard.

Right now switched back to cinder arrow.

Hopefully theyd buff it more.I think something along the line like making the projectiles travel faster the further it goes will works great to cover its melee range weakness.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 9 2012, 09:41 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(Lau Pan @ Sep 9 2012, 07:00 PM)
new build n take out my life steal
dat boots. drool.gif
nightshade_nova
post Sep 15 2012, 04:11 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(shin6619 @ Sep 15 2012, 10:38 AM)
The legend of tank DH include me will totally past after 1.0.5...
Not really.Player x and uber boss is where it gets real. brows.gif
inb4 AR+phys res/AR+fire res gears prices skyrocket.

Keep in mind pure dps-er wont benefit as much in party as balanced built character.

Also, expect an increase disc cost for Shadow Power.
It probably wont stay at 14 disc.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 18 2012, 09:17 AM

443 posts

New Unity finally hinted on IGN.My dream ring. wub.gif
http://www.ign.com/articles/2012/09/17/dia...atures-detailed

My hope is that they put a farming limit for the ring, maybe a timely limit that only allows you to get it to drop once a month.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 21 2012, 02:43 PM

443 posts

Trollolol.The bean is spilled.Wolf only attack once every 2 second! (1.5 for spiders and boar)
I think thats even more lazier than this guy.

Thank god for the buff.

For me, I wont be using boar since I dislike having to cast it from time to time.Hopefully bat wont have any cd, else I will drop it too.

Strafe got a 25% buff to its hatred to dmg ratio, less penalty AND goes through enemies are good news to me. rclxms.gif
With vault able to break free from jailer, I might swap trail of cinder with acrobatics.

This post has been edited by nightshade_nova: Sep 21 2012, 03:33 PM
nightshade_nova
post Sep 21 2012, 03:26 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(kenny13 @ Sep 21 2012, 03:21 PM)
sentry all the way, can make nest liao
Sentry is mostly for static oriented build, which brings rapid fire to mind.Anyone plan to use this long forgotten skill in conjunction with sentry? hmm.gif
nightshade_nova
post Sep 22 2012, 02:25 AM

443 posts

Downloading PTR client now.Hopefully can play it tomorrow morning.Cant wait to try out skills and MP10.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 25 2012, 06:44 PM

443 posts

To fellow dh.
Im trying to push a buff to Nightstalker and Preparation:Punishment.

Here's my thread in the PTR Feedback forum.
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6679367974

Bumps, supports, discussions and suggestions are appreciated. smile.gif
nightshade_nova
post Sep 26 2012, 04:29 PM

443 posts

I think the new rings and amulet will help a lot.Found a blue amulet with 80% crit dmg.
Also found a ring with 400+ loh.

MP10 is easy, but a snorefest.
Since elite can be cc-ed now, its pretty easy, even when the fights are drawn out.I used the new bola with stun rune, just permastun the elite...lol.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 26 2012, 05:56 PM

443 posts

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/demo...;bXe!ZcZYbZ

Hehe used this on MP0 and MP1.So easy. tongue.gif
Use shift or click on enemies to strafe.

Wish can use it on higher difficulties, but it isnt viable due to the mediocre dps of strafe and monsters dont die quick and often enough to pickup globes to restore hatred/disc.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 27 2012, 05:17 PM

443 posts

Anything with grenades are buggy in the PTR.Sometimes the grenades dont come out, sometimes does no dmg rclxub.gif

Btw, you dont need to have legacy nats to tank MP10.
You can go disc bola if you want perma gloom (not necessary), or can go grenades/shock collare/cinder arrow.

Basically, youll need:
Perfectionist, Nighstalker, Brooding, Boar, Guardian sentry, Gloom, Prep:Battle Scars.

You can drop one or more of the above and switch them up with more offensive skills depending on how comfortable you feel.Most ppl with low dps(including me) that tried MP10 will give up on hatred spenders, since its too troublesome haha.
Just use whatever hatred generator of you choice and snore away.
nightshade_nova
post Sep 28 2012, 04:13 PM

443 posts

Just noticed some powerful synergy between bola shot and nightstalker on PTR! rclxm9.gif
Apparently, every explosion count as ONE CRIT (when your main hit crit), so against a lot of mobs, you will generate A LOT of disc.

What this mean is if there are 10 mobs around you, and your bola crit means you crit 10 times.
This, paired with the new buff to bola aoe (from 7 to a whopping 17) makes you proc really often.

I was just test driving farming MP5, messed around with my passives.
I dropped Archery, since I dual wield, the -10% crit left me with about 35% crit chance, but I still proc nightstalker a lot.
Disc pool went full after duration of gloom finished haha.
I had Prep on skill bar but never even need to use it. So happy I can finally drop prep for smokescreen to free myself against freeze now. biggrin.gif

So, this basically makes Bitter Pill redundant I think.
If youre trying Bola Shot, I think the best 2 are imminent doom for dmg, but I prefer thunder ball since elite and boss can also be permastunned now.

Now its time to pray that Blizzard dont nerf it and make the explosion count as white dmg.T_T

0.0234sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:00 PM