Nokia Lumia WP8

aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 10:56 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 6 2012, 10:55 AM)
Is the WP marketplace available for malaysian now?
if that's the price they can go die.
2099 with contract is still way too high. Really2 hope it will be much cheaper than that. I want this phone so bad!
Yes since the launch of lumia in Malaysia

Added on September 6, 2012, 10:58 am
QUOTE(0300078 @ Sep 6 2012, 10:37 AM)
yup it is hard... especially with camera like handphone which is so light and no grip..... unless it has some super IS like the Olympus OM-D EM5 or else will shake till the viewer pening.

but overall is the commercial that give a false impression that the IS was superb and person on a bicycle with one hand on the phone and still cycling can give you wonderful stabilize video. So this is total fail when they let you notice they is a VAN in the reflection.

Lets see whether Nokia will remove the commercial or not.... or even edit the commercial to remove the part.
We thought its true that like the next evolution of ois. Even dslr lose to it. Now they twist haih.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 6 2012, 10:58 AM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 11:06 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 6 2012, 11:02 AM)
Nice! 2 more questions for u.
Is it true, there's o trial version for wp apps?
And I can't seem to find anywhere the availability date for 820 & 920. Do u know when?
1. Most apps you can try before buy. Most apps requires you to pay but some are free
2. Rumours said end of this month but based on Nokia track record usually will take 2 to 3months

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 6 2012, 11:06 AM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 11:34 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 6 2012, 11:09 AM)
Thanks sifu. After reading abt 820 & 920, I feel my wait for wp8 was worth it.
Yea it is so many extra features for the same price

Dual core processor
Bigger screen
Improve camera performance
NFC
Pure motion
Wp8

I bet there many piss off 800 and 900 users
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 11:52 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Not only u owner of Nokia n9/800/900 and Nokia 808 pureview are beta tester . This beta tester very special you need to pay to test
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 03:58 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Sep 6 2012, 03:45 PM)
Yes , it's under PureView but its an entirely different approach. Not everyone wants a 41mp bulky and heavy phone in their pockets. The PureView that is used here is more to optical image stabilization , some people just want to take some self shots , simple pictures of food and other stuffs. 808 is more to people who wants lossless zoom and very detailed photos , more for the pros lol. I agree with you , not all prefer glossy surface because of the easy smudges.

The PureView teaser was just very misleading and thus most people would just jump into conclusion that it suck and so on. It's a big mistake they made nevertheless.
Point now is not about what do you want to do with your phone but the confusion nokia creates.

Nokia 808 pureview on 808 are oversampling, lossless zoom and Nokia rich recording

On the Nokia lumia 920 there totally nothing to do about 808.
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 06:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

indeed because nobody will buy WP7.5 phones and nokia is famous to announce then take forever to release. So when it really hit our shores we do not know when
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 09:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 6 2012, 09:38 PM)
It really made me think twice about the Lumia 920. I've been burned by Nokia's empty promises before, and the fact they had the nerve to use fake footage to showcase a feature just completely turned me off.

I hope they can redeemed themselves by getting positive reviews of the actual unit.
enjoy the video again if you notice the entire video is the Nokia Lumia 920 + guy + girl. Later nokia said its to showcase OIS. sound like a twist

after they got caught it change to

The video demonstrates the benefits of optical image stabilization only and the video is not shot on a Lumia 920. For a video shot on a Lumia 920 compared to a competitor smartphone see: http://nokia.ly/TlWcXX

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 6 2012, 09:46 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 09:44 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

You know i am a big supporter of Nokia. Not this time. Going for ip5
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 09:56 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 6 2012, 09:49 PM)
I thought you were a big supporter because of Nokia's camera, not the brand.
Yeap but it keeps getting disappointing and more disappointing example

Nokia 808 Pureview

Nokia Rich Recording
Nokia Lossless zoom
Nokia pixels oversampling

Now become Nokia Lumia 920 with so called Pureview

None of above

Megapixels from 41 MP become 8MP
Dont have Nokia Rich Recording
Dont have Nokia Lossless zoom
Dont have Nokia pixels oversampling
Only got so called OIS
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 10:06 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 6 2012, 10:05 PM)
folks, let us have a moment of silence for our buddy aspire2oo6 as he move onto to the other fruit side.  laugh.gif
funny. i already have fruits device just i never make it as primary device due to the camera.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 6 2012, 10:07 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 6 2012, 11:51 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

haha nokia so cham thought this announcement would change how ppl look at nokia but it backfire.
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 02:20 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 7 2012, 09:37 AM)
I thought u love windows phone.
At first yes because they keep twisting like that I also scare. I only keep using Nokia because of the camera. But now it's getting worse and worse the tech. I prefer iOS becaus of its notification and simplify.

Just look at 920 camera is worse than a Nokia n8 camera except for OIS and floating lens.

Nokia is not famous like last time they can simply twist and turn.

Have u seen iPhone suddenly give u 8mp tomorrow become 5mp the device keeps getting better.
See s3 how sux it keep getting better.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 02:21 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 03:50 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 7 2012, 03:12 PM)
As this is a smartphone, not a DSLR, the most important thing that I want out from its camera is the ability to shoot in dark situations without using flash and to be able to take videos without shakiness. I think Nokia is spot on, in these regards, to focus on these two key features.

If I'm really into super high resolution, I would expect that from a DSLR, not from a smartphone.

A smartphone is often used for taking pictures in unplanned situations, so megapixel count does not matter. Correct exposure and non-blurry images is all that matters in such situations.
I have dslr and tell you the truth there tons of burden you need consider
1st high maintenance and cost
2nd many places not allow to bring camera
3rd size too big and heavy
4th Not practical

Indeed smartphone is often used for taking pictures in unplanned situation with stunning image quality. Our disappointment is not about the usage of the camera but the tech given. Make it this way someone gave u a nokia lumia 920 then suddenly he take it away and give u a Nokia n73. Get it you feel downgrade and u are still paying the same price

It does matter if you know how to use the feature. I have learn how to utilized megapixels to capture stunning images and some dslr users with the same price of my mobile phone can't take the photos I took with a smartphone. The best my phone can take amazing photos, can SMS, can email, can access Internet and etc

If u ask a lot ppl here they know I spend a lot time in mobile photography and I know the potential. With a more expensive camera doesn't make you better is how you use it matters.

Have u used a Nokia 808 pureview? If yes u will understand if not hard to explain . Just imagine 808 pureview add floating lens and OIS that would be an ultimate camera phone a standard nobody can beat for now.

Have u heard the audio recorded by a Nokia 808 pureview it's better than a dslr mic u know.

Have u seen video recorded by 808 especially low light. You will be amaze from a mobile phone.

Have u tried Nokia lossless zoom in video and photos there no pixelated not even crop it's clear that is also what consumer needs.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 04:12 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 04:50 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Sep 7 2012, 04:47 PM)
I totally understand the needs from a photography enthusiast's point of view. I used to be very interested in photography as a hobby. But for people who doesn't have the interest, the ability to shoot good enough photos without harsh flashing and blurriness is definitely something that we look for in a smartphone.

Obviously, the 808 is a superb cameraphone, but its bulkiness is a hindrance for the features to be included into a mainstream, multi-purpose smartphone. For photography enthusiats like you, better hope for another Nokia model then, which comes with the combined 41MP sensor and ther new Lumia 920 features. I doubt the upcoming IP5 would be having those features that you are looking for.
Yeap for normal users 920 consider okay. I understand where you coming from. Ip5 yes won't have those features but like many said overall for a smart phone it's already sufficient. Camera I guess I either use back my Nokia n8 or get a 808 pureview.

What really matters to me is the resell value
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 05:38 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Sep 7 2012, 05:19 PM)
i think you disappointed with Nokia Lumia but not Windows Phone,right?
Yeap you are right.
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 06:18 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 7 2012, 05:59 PM)
if you want pureview 808 with floating lense then you cannot expect it to fit into a sexy chasis like lumia. the tech is just not there yet. Don't thing apple or samsung can give u that as well.

But i understand where you are coming from. You already have the 808, then no point going for 920. But for the rest of us who don't have 808 and want a sexy phone, 920 is awesome
In a way you are right. I dont expect it to be an 808 just expect half of it. The problem with 920 it has the name of pureview but there nothing to do with its previous successor. Its more like a marketing name thats it. My expectation benefit is for consumers.

Like i said numerous time

Nokia 808 pureview

Lossless zoom - Not on 920
Nokia Rich recording - Not on 920
Nokia pixels oversampling - Not on 920
Nokia Xenon flash - Not on 920
Nokia OIS - not on 808
Nokia so called float sensor - Not on 808
Nokia LED flash pulse - not on 808

For nokia rich recording watch this video

Lossless zoom

They just removed all this from the Nokia Lumia 920

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 06:21 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 06:20 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 7 2012, 06:19 PM)
\
then this is something for your considerations
http://www.samsung.com/sg/promotions/galaxycamera/
its not a phone. Its uglier than 808 and bigger than 808

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 06:22 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 06:24 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 7 2012, 06:23 PM)
hahaha ugly?! its a camera with phone, as I understood

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_camera-4961.php
Notice there no 2G

2G Network N/A
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE

Its aperture is only 2.8 . Only good thing about this is the android and optical zoom

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 06:27 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 06:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 7 2012, 06:27 PM)
you have to understand this. 808 is a camera that makes calls. 920 is a phone that takes nice pictures. The have different main purposes.

808 with its bulky looks is a niche segment targeting certain enthusiasts.
920 is more like a mass market phone. Like what nokia photography director said, pureview is a collection of technologies, not just a single feature. Maybe they should have named it properly like pureview oversampling and pureview IOS instead of a general single name.
finally you understand yeap one of it is the confusion it naming.If the Nokia 808 pureview was name 808 then pureview can be anything.

We expect improvement not downgrading.

Just imagine if it was an upgrade could it be at 12MP or 16MP or 20MP. Not necessary it needs to be 41MP get it. Then it still gives u a choice of lossless zoom like Nokia N8 X2 or X4. We dont expect it to zoom 12 times. At the moment its zero lossless zoom means even 1X zoom its cropping. If they have infuse this with 808 pureview technology into Nokia Lumia 920 just imagine lossless zoom + OIS = Freaking AWESOME. Benefit to consumers.

Its another step further in pureview technology.

Now is like downgrade back Nokia Lumia 900 camera + float lens + OIS = Nokia Lumia 920 waaaaa

Added on September 7, 2012, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 7 2012, 06:32 PM)
Maybe I'm wrong, my colleges was point it to me today as a camera phone, since it has sms/mms, I thought its a camera with phone functionality

Thanks for point it out.  smile.gif
maybe VOIP calls haha.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 06:37 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 7 2012, 07:41 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 7 2012, 07:24 PM)
But maybe 920 is not suppose to be 808's upgrade because it different market segment. Maybe you will later see a direct upgrade of 808 with WP8. Wait a little longer. Good thing comes to those who are patient smile.gif
lol consumers are their beta tester for so many years

Nokia N9/lumia 800/900 = Poly carbonate body
Camera = Nokia 808 Pureview
Windows = microsoft

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 7 2012, 07:43 PM

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:16 PM