[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V1, Hardware Q&A RRG™

igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 07:53 AM

277 posts

Any recommendation for my specific needs..
1) Gaming- only dota 2.
2) photoshop.
3) movies/microsoft word/web surfing

Multitasking between 1)+3) or 2)+3).
Small form factor if possible? Building from scratch.
My budget is 1k. Possible ?
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 09:38 AM

277 posts

Im based in UK now. How about if i ++ my budget to 1200-1300 ? I see cap ayam PSU i feel very scared? haha. How does this sound ?

Corsair CMPSU-430CXV2UK Builder Series CX430V2:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-CMPSU-430C...53460612&sr=1-1

Don't need any GPU for my needs? Does viewing movies on high res require any GPU for this ? You recommend me the cheap PSU is it because of the lack of GPU ?
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 09:55 AM

277 posts

Hmm... Im building from scratch so i think i need a bit budget for the monitor/mouse/keyboard ><

I know the budget is really really tight.... but right now really no budget and really need the PC. How about compromising the CPU and MOBO and HDD ?

Pentium G850
ASROCK H61M
Ram ddr3 4gb x1
PSU as above
GPU ( GT 7800 ? )
(HDD not sure)
Casing ?
DVD writer
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 10:07 AM

277 posts

Ok... really in a tight situation. Low budget can't buy anything ><. Will think of what i want to buy and post here again. Thakns for your recommendation ! tthanks !
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 06:05 PM

277 posts

Below rm 1000 . Below 200 pounds. Just want to replace my laptopthat is not enough for my daily needs. Dota 2 and light room.

Edit 1:
Hows this sounds:

ASRock H61M-VS Sandy Bridge Motherboard + Intel G840 Dual Core 2.8GHz CPU Bundle:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ASRock-H61M-VS-S...=item19d0166e8f

Nvidia GeForce GT 610 1GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Video Card With HDMI
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nvidia-GeForce-G...=item25745c6efb

Black Midi ATX Football PC Computer Tower Case Front Audio USB Neon Lighting
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Black-Midi-ATX-F...=item2574cc6e44

Eudar 4GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9 PC Computer Laptop Stick Memory RAM Double Sided
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Eudar-4GB-DDR3-1...=item257667ee6b

430W Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-430CXV2UK, 80%+ BRONZE Eff', Uncertified, Quie
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/430W-Corsair-Bui...=item1c2d1a4926

I think all these is approx 200 pounds. Hows it sounds? Just lack monitor + keyboard now.

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 21 2012, 08:08 PM
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 08:11 PM

277 posts

If i change my casing to a SFF or Mini-tower. Can everything fit in ? Im not sure about the size of mini-tower and the case i proposed up there.

Edit 1: HD 6750 costs almost 60 pounds. GT 610 i can get for 33 pounds. Scared to go out of budget if i am not fully utilizing 6750.... playing Dota 2 i think going to be my most graphic demanding requirement ? Im not sure watching 1080P on monitor will need high graphics or not but i think not ? Just hoping GT 610 can accomodate my need ><.

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 21 2012, 08:15 PM
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 08:31 PM

277 posts

Thanks chocobo. I'll look at that. I'm not sure im correct or wrong.. from the A8-5600K states the iGPU Radeon 7650. Is it the same as this link :
http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD...0M.70632.0.html

I know the 7650M is for laptop version but im thinking they are the same thing ?
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 09:07 PM

277 posts

Im assuming the MOBO is what determines whether can crossfire another GPU or not ?

http://pcpartpicker.com/part/msi-motherboard-fm2a55me33

The motherboard there wrote No support for crossfire... ><

Edit: I think the RAM already break my budget. Is it i must use AMD manufactured RAM for the whole system ? Or can i stick in other RAM ? The shipping fees frmo that website still have taxes ++.

The Corsair PSU is on limited time offer. Reduced by 20 USD. T.T if i wait longer i tink my budget will be broken ? haha. So how how sifu ? The RAM. haha. trying to cut down the budget ><

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 21 2012, 09:19 PM
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 09:21 PM

277 posts

Oh... i get it.. was confused for a while.

Edit: I think the RAM already break my budget. Is it i must use AMD manufactured RAM for the whole system ? Or can i stick in other RAM ? The shipping fees frmo that website still have taxes ++.

The Corsair PSU is on limited time offer. Reduced by 20 USD. T.T if i wait longer i tink my budget will be broken ? haha. So how how sifu ? The RAM. haha. trying to cut down the budget ><

Edit: sorry for double post.

Ok i see. Just that the shipping and taxes. 20 pounds RAM wil go to 40 + pounds. ><I will think about it. Thanks chocobo. Gonna be my first PC building soon. wish me luck =)

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 21 2012, 09:23 PM
igmroey
post Nov 21 2012, 11:02 PM

277 posts

I have another question... since i need an internal Hard drive what do you recommend ? I haven't included monitor and keyboard. >< Theoretically, any hard drive will do? Because i think different hard drives have different sizes. Might not fit into the SFF casing.
igmroey
post Nov 22 2012, 12:40 AM

277 posts

Update... i have not got monitor / keyboard.
Right now selling AMD A-Series A8 3870K Black Edition Quad-Core Processor (3.00 GHz, 4MB Cache, Socket FM1, 100W, Radeon HD6550D, 3 Year Warranty, Retail Boxed)
cheaper 20 pounds than A8-5600K. Should i make the switch ? budget cutting again.... ><
igmroey
post Nov 22 2012, 12:54 AM

277 posts

Ahh... how do we see whether the processor can fit into the MOBO ? Say this is the MOBO
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/msi-motherboard-fm2a55me33
Which details do we look at ?

Edit: Ahhh i think i know the solution. Is it looking at the Socket ? 3870 is using Socket FM1. but the MOBO by chocobo is socker FM2 ? Is that the size of the socket ?

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 22 2012, 12:55 AM
igmroey
post Nov 22 2012, 12:59 AM

277 posts

So im just changing from
A8-5600k to A8-3870K

MOBO to Asrock Socket FM1 A75M-HVS Micro-Atx Motherboard

Like this cutting down the budget so i can get monitor/keyboard. And an external HD. is it any size would do ? Cause i remember some hard drive 2.5 inch, 3.5 inch. not sure which would fit into the mATX mini tower.

EDIT:

2) AMD A8-5600k 77.05 pounds

3)MSI FM2-A55M-E33 Micro ATX FM2 43.50 pounds

4) Corsair 8gb (2x4gb) 1600Mhz DDR3 26.94 pounds

5) Fractal mATX Case 34.28 pounds

6) Corsair PSU 430W 37.73 pounds

7) 160GB 3.5" SATA Harddrive - DESKTOP HDD 160 GB Hard drive disk 15.99 pounds
Total = 235.

I am overbudget already.

I am thinking of combining Case + PSU together from this deal here:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CiT-Templar-mATX...c0248171&_uhb=1

or

http://www.amazon.co.uk/CiT-Recon-Micro-In...3528089&sr=1-19

With this cost just costs around 30.00 pounds. Cutting down the price by 40,

So Total = 195.00 .

I have 5 pounds left to get a monitor + keyboard. How ? Budget just 200 pounds. Unless i spike up my budget. But of course i prefer keep it within 200. But anyhow.... what's the advice anyone can give me ? chocobo looking at you sifu brows.gif

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 22 2012, 04:09 AM
igmroey
post Nov 22 2012, 08:48 AM

277 posts

Ok my mistake. i am not going to downgrade the APU. Because d price diff is too minimal and the technology is dead for FM1.

However, is there any way i can cut down the PSU + Case ?
igmroey
post Nov 22 2012, 08:54 AM

277 posts

Like the cases i posted above. or such as this case:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/CiT-Recon-Micro-In...3545598&sr=8-14

But im not sure of reliability issue. Going to be my first time doing this. Thats why kinda need ppl with experience's advice. Do you mean hunting for 2nd hand case + PSU that u mentioned ? The Corsair 430W and the case ?
igmroey
post Nov 23 2012, 12:26 AM

277 posts

I have decided.

A8-5600k
MSI FM2-A55M-E33 Micro ATX FM2
Kingston HyperX Genesis 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz (PC3-14900) Non-ECC CL9
Corsair 430W PSU
Frantical mATX tower
2.5 ' or 3.5 ' ? ( any difference ?) SATA HDD 160gb ebay

Will there be any compatibility issues between the hardwares ?

igmroey
post Nov 23 2012, 07:39 AM

277 posts

I bought the RAM and CPU already. Any recommendation for the MOBO ?
Probably going to get a
CiT Recon Micro ATX Interior Mesh Case with 500W 12cm PSU thinking it should get the job done.
igmroey
post Nov 23 2012, 07:32 PM

277 posts

Can't go back... already bought the CPU ><.Besides the only game im gona play is dota2 dota 3 dota 4 dota 5..... =D.

Anyone knows the difference between

MSI FM2 A-55 vs Asrock FM2 A-55 ?
The A-75 version of both MSI and Asrock / Gigabyte just costs 10 pounds more for at most for me to buy. The only advantage im assuming is 4 DIMM ram slots, 3.0 USB and i tink SDD 6gbps ?
Im kinda worried about the size of the A-75 whether it will fit a
micro ATX case or not. Because its a first time im building it too.

The 1600 mhz RAM 8gb costs me 30.76 pounds . The 1866 8gb costs me 33 pounds. Thats why i chose the 1866. Price gap is very small between these 2...
igmroey
post Nov 23 2012, 08:04 PM

277 posts

Replacement for my laptop. WIll use it for evryday stuff. Multitasking youtube/fb/word etc.

dota 2, photoshop light room. If can handle more will move up to photoshop CS etc. =)
I think should be ok... haha.

Edit:

This is a bit confusing for me. I think i should be looking at the 2nd link below right ? Some more cheaper...

Is this A75 for ATX ?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/FM2A75-PRO4-Mother...53672463&sr=8-1

And this one is for mATX ?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/FM2A75M-DGS-Mother...53672463&sr=8-2

This post has been edited by igmroey: Nov 23 2012, 08:09 PM

0.0197sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:32 PM