[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V1, Hardware Q&A RRG™

alvincks
post Sep 1 2012, 11:21 PM

1,499 posts

Hey Guru,

Desktop Budget around 1.5k, my focus on heavy application loading not gaming, need a good processor, 32GB ram, good motherboard...and need other items which doesn't list below.

The items i got now :
- SSD -can used in desktop ?
- nvidia quadro 600 graphic card
- LCD

from limited budget, what is my best shoot ?

alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 12:54 AM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(Nicholasontheway @ Sep 1 2012, 11:43 PM)
he got but which one? if it's a old i suggest just sell it off..after it corrupt then os and his software need need to rebuy...more waste of money  doh.gif
I got Samsung 470 256gb
alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 12:59 AM

1,499 posts

Is it? It took out from dell machine

Added on September 2, 2012, 1:05 amHmm,but i5 Processor seem a down side for me sad.gif

I used notebook i7 620 before,with 4gb, I feel need more speed when it run in multiple application

By the way, ssd can put into desktop? Need to buy any device to make it work?

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 2 2012, 01:05 AM
alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 01:13 AM

1,499 posts

Guru, someone offer me Xeon x5667 processor(exchange with ssd),which is 1336 socket, if I can find a suitable mobo for it, Would it be a good choice to go? Then my budget might Not need to stretch
alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 10:55 AM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(AssToast @ Sep 2 2012, 01:19 AM)
hmm maybe, must wait for some more expert sifu to come

Added on September 2, 2012, 1:20 amor u could sell off the SSD and get an i7
Just curious, is SSD have significant speed different compare to used normal desktop hdd with 7200RPM ?

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 2 2012, 10:56 AM
alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 04:54 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Sep 2 2012, 11:06 AM)
simply Youtube for SSD vs HDD.. and hold your jaws
Thanks all for the answer, sound like it good to have SSD for OS installation and secondary HDD for data storage, is that what you guys normally setup ?
alvincks
post Sep 2 2012, 07:36 PM

1,499 posts

Guys,
do you think there is a need to wait for Win8 come out since some hardware like graphic card might need to be compatible or probably mobo and processor too?

Added on September 2, 2012, 7:37 pmBtw, thanks zerohunter and AssToast for reply my SSD doubt

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 2 2012, 07:37 PM
alvincks
post Sep 8 2012, 06:59 AM

1,499 posts

Guru,
Need some understanding of below :-

1. what is the different between Z68 vs h77 chipset ?
2. what is SLI/Crossfire about ?

Thanks in advance !
alvincks
post Sep 8 2012, 11:01 AM

1,499 posts

Thanks for great explanation zerohunter !!
alvincks
post Sep 10 2012, 08:36 PM

1,499 posts

Guru,
The motherboard trend will based on socket LGA2011 ?
alvincks
post Sep 10 2012, 09:54 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Sep 10 2012, 08:57 PM)
current mainstream should be LGA1155.

LGA2011 is at crazy-extreme-lotsofmoolah level. tongue.gif
Thanks !

Btw, would it be any new socket coming in soon (within 6 months) ? not sure if any change after win8 release ?
alvincks
post Sep 19 2012, 08:08 PM

1,499 posts

Guru,
If my budget around 2k, what is the expecting spec i can get ?
I also feel tempting on Alienware X51...

My wife's pc got some problem(no sure if power supply or mobo, sometimes can on sometimes not), she wan to share pc with me sad.gif ...she used Photoshop quite frequent...

So I trying to get a I7 ...with 16GB RAM ...my budget can be stretch to 3k if needed...

I like the outlook of alienware even not a hardcord gamer..i play games like Football manager, fifa ....and i also need to used my machine for software development via VMware and java ...can someone point out should i go for clone or brand machine ?

Added on September 19, 2012, 8:11 pmand of coz the spec I should go for ....My company notebook is I5 with 8gb, i feel slow in fact after run some application...also used I7-620M Dell notebook with 4 gb ram before, and i feel the need of more powerful machine

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 19 2012, 08:11 PM
alvincks
post Sep 19 2012, 08:23 PM

1,499 posts

what is the recommendation ?
alvincks
post Sep 20 2012, 12:05 AM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Sep 19 2012, 09:58 PM)
Intel Xeon E3-1230V2 3.3GHz RM699
MSI B75MA-P45 mainboard RM224
Kingston 1333 DDR3 4GBx2 RM128
MSI GTX660 TF III 2GB RM899
Silverstone 500W PSU RM195
Aerocool Xpredator X1 Black case RM165
WD Caviar Blue 500GB HDD RM185
Lite-On 22x DVDRW RM59
Intel 330 120GB SSD RM339

Total -RM2903.00

Jayacom,viewnet n Lingloong@Garage sales.
Friend,
But XEON e3-1230 slower than i7-3770 sad.gif
alvincks
post Sep 20 2012, 10:11 AM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Sep 20 2012, 12:09 AM)
Nope..it's E3-1230 V2(ivy bridge)

The performance were similiar to i7 3770 but lack of OCability n IGP..still got the boost option,tho..priced lower than i7 summore.. wink.gif

Or if u can afford better,can consider E3-1240 V2 smile.gif
from what i understand under the benckmark, it seem a laggard
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

Go for i7-3930 system with 16gb RAM, budget RM2.5k can get ?
alvincks
post Sep 20 2012, 05:43 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Sep 20 2012, 11:01 AM)
come on, look at their spec, u are comparing the number of cores, cache memory etc. also the 3930k cpu only cost u rm1799
Thank buddy! actually what is the main different btw XEON and normal i7 processor ?
alvincks
post Sep 20 2012, 07:35 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Sep 20 2012, 06:50 PM)
xeon no integrated graphic
Besides of integrate graphic card, any other differences ? for instance some function not support compare to I7 ...

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 20 2012, 07:36 PM
alvincks
post Sep 20 2012, 07:50 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 20 2012, 07:38 PM)
Overclocking.
Thanks Chocobo smile.gif

I saw some processor spec mentioned "up to 3.90 GHz" , clock speed = 3.4GHz ....does it means overclocking will go max to 3.9 Ghz ?
alvincks
post Sep 21 2012, 01:39 PM

1,499 posts

Hi Sifu,
Why the AMD processor which have more core and cache size, but the processor benchmark still below par of Intel processor which have less core and cache?

What is the technical reason behind?

for instance : fx8120 is slower than I7-2600
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=AM...8120+Eight-Core

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 21 2012, 01:41 PM
alvincks
post Sep 23 2012, 02:07 AM

1,499 posts

Friend,
budget set to 3.5k, LCD not required...looking for I7 spec, what can i get ?
Thanks !

This post has been edited by alvincks: Sep 23 2012, 07:50 PM

0.0268sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:22 PM