7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Planetary Annihilation (RTS Kickstarter), Similar to Total Annihilation

Renekton
post Sep 1 2012, 09:21 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Sep 1 2012, 08:28 PM)
the dev of this game also working for Diablo 2, iinm.

and the game is horribly broken.
i think h@h@ bought the collector edition or subscription, maybe can share story laugh.gif
dazealot
post Sep 1 2012, 09:22 PM

This game definitely has potential. The graphic is quite interesting, it manages to keep the eyecandy to a minimum but still manages to be pretty. Which might be a good thing if it stays that way.
Angel of Deth
post Sep 1 2012, 09:40 PM

1,242 posts

For kickstarter, it's an investment. Not just common buy and sell thing. I understand OP decision to shell USD250 for the project.
Matrix374
post Sep 1 2012, 11:07 PM

474 posts

40 k left till we get Water Planets
Nows a good time to get Giant Penis Commanders guys!
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2012, 06:04 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Sep 1 2012, 05:29 PM)
its all hype and games until someone gets delivered a broken game

im gonna wait until at least a real gameplay vid or 1v1 vid
to be very honest, i don't expect them to be the next sc2 or big hit RTS.

at most they'd be like what TA/sup com were, good hype and all, or even just generally serving a niche (not sc/war3 market) RTS fan.
and eventually just like the previous TA/supcom, dies down.

my contributions is out of my passion for TA/sup com, for what it has brought to me in the past. and i am hoping that i play a part (with a rather significant amount of money, at least from a malaysian weak currency's perspective) helping the devs to make a better game as best as they can be (it's pretty obvious that money's a big motivator eh?)

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:05 am
QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 1 2012, 06:27 PM)
I never done this before, can I browse Kickstarter to see if my favorite game classics are getting remade and need funding?
yes you can smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:09 am
QUOTE(Grif @ Sep 1 2012, 05:45 PM)
Show us the gameplay first. Being industry vets does not exclude you from potentially delivering a broken game. See John Romero and Daikatana for such a fail.
i totally agree. whatever they did in the past does not guarantee anything in the future smile.gif
case in point: TB's video about steam laugh.gif

in all seriousness though, it's of my personal wish that this project succeeds, and if my contributions played a part, all the better. if it doesn't, consider myself throwing/burning money towards yet another stupid thing that i've already done countless time in the past. what's one more stupid shit, eh? rolleyes.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:11 am
QUOTE(Matrix374 @ Sep 1 2012, 11:07 PM)
40 k left till we get Water Planets
Nows a good time to get Giant Penis Commanders guys!
on a personal level, i kinda want them to keep their "ambition" contained, and focus more on refining/polishing the end product smile.gif

then again, long time blizzard "fanboi" right here, who's used to mediocre polished shit tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 2 2012, 06:11 AM
Grif
post Sep 2 2012, 07:27 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2012, 06:04 AM)

at most they'd be like what TA/sup com were, good hype and all, or even just generally serving a niche (not sc/war3 market) RTS fan.

my contributions is out of my passion for TA/sup com, for what it has brought to me in the past. and i am hoping that i play a part (with a rather significant amount of money, at least from a malaysian weak currency's perspective) helping the devs to make a better game as best as they can be (it's pretty obvious that money's a big motivator eh?)

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:05 am

yes you can smile.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:09 am

i totally agree. whatever they did in the past does not guarantee anything in the future smile.gif
case in point: TB's video about steam laugh.gif

in all seriousness though, it's of my personal wish that this project succeeds, and if my contributions played a part, all the better. if it doesn't, consider myself throwing/burning money towards yet another stupid thing that i've already done countless time in the past. what's one more stupid shit, eh?  rolleyes.gif

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:11 am

on a personal level, i kinda want them to keep their "ambition" contained, and focus more on refining/polishing the end product smile.gif

then again, long time blizzard "fanboi" right here, who's used to mediocre polished shit tongue.gif
If they can deliver a solid, non-watered down grand scale RTS, I would be extremely happy. There is really no reason to deviate from the excellent gameplay SupCom: FA (Not SC2) and TA has delivered so far.

But so far, it's best to be cautious until someone actually produces something. Even then, it might be a crap shoot. Like Mass Effect 3.
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2012, 07:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Sep 2 2012, 07:27 PM)
If they can deliver a solid, non-watered down grand scale RTS, I would be extremely happy. There is really no reason to deviate from the excellent gameplay SupCom: FA (Not SC2) and TA has delivered so far.

But so far, it's best to be cautious until someone actually produces something. Even then, it might be a crap shoot. Like Mass Effect 3.
well this time they are deviating from the norm TA/supcom gameplay in the sense that the scale has gone up to planetary/solar system scaling. which is really risky as they could be too ambitious on the whole scaling and mess up on the small little details (like how regular small scale battles within the planet would go? how much micro/macro can one do when it involves few planets, 5-10++ fronts/battles per planet (think of this as a "map")?
Grif
post Sep 2 2012, 07:48 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2012, 07:47 PM)
well this time they are deviating from the norm TA/supcom gameplay in the sense that the scale has gone up to planetary/solar system scaling. which is really risky as they could be too ambitious on the whole scaling and mess up on the small little details (like how regular small scale battles within the planet would go? how much micro/macro can one do when it involves few planets, 5-10++ fronts/battles per planet (think of this as a "map")?
That would need extremely competent AI (to manage your individual battles) to pull off. Something which I am doubtful.
Quazacolt
post Sep 2 2012, 07:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Sep 2 2012, 07:48 PM)
That would need extremely competent AI (to manage your individual battles) to pull off. Something which I am doubtful.
battle aside, auto build base? planet management? lol...

and yeah, those doubts are very much warranted
Quazacolt
post Sep 6 2012, 10:29 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

so planetary annihilation has a planet naming system to immortalize people who backed over $150... DUN INVADE ME PRZ
y3ivan
post Sep 6 2012, 11:47 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2012, 06:04 AM)

i prefer supcom than SC2. i dont like spamming APM.
lytros
post Sep 6 2012, 12:43 PM

401 posts

Huge epic battles beyond planetary scale? Count me in!
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 11:26 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/659943...aa2a5304868cd73 woooowwwwwwwwwwww lol

dynamic storyline and replayable "never-ending" singleplayer/multiplayer/coop
o_O

sounds like too good to be true lol
talexeh
post Sep 7 2012, 02:37 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 7 2012, 11:26 AM)
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/659943...aa2a5304868cd73 woooowwwwwwwwwwww lol

dynamic storyline and replayable "never-ending" singleplayer/multiplayer/coop
o_O

sounds like too good to be true lol
I'm new to Kickstarter but based on the page you linked, it says that there are 7 days remaining to pledge. Since the games are expected to be delivered next year July, why the need to stop the income almost a year in advance? hmm.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 02:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Sep 7 2012, 02:37 PM)
I'm new to Kickstarter but based on the page you linked, it says that there are 7 days remaining to pledge. Since the games are expected to be delivered next year July, why the need to stop the income almost a year in advance? hmm.gif
i think the deadline is for the perks/benefits, and/or having a realistic goal (based on the projected donations/pledging) on what to achieve.
the base game is there, and the rest are mainly polishing/fine tuning and added features as per the illustrated stretch goal.

the initial 900k goal was far surpassed (which *SHOULD* cover the initial production/staffing cost etc all the way until the release date itself. remember that they are a small dev studio/company after all), so the game is almost as real as it gets. the rest i believe is just to make it better, and like i've said, what's a better motivation than raw money? biggrin.gif
talexeh
post Sep 7 2012, 04:04 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 7 2012, 02:53 PM)
i think the deadline is for the perks/benefits, and/or having a realistic goal (based on the projected donations/pledging) on what to achieve.
the base game is there, and the rest are mainly polishing/fine tuning and added features as per the illustrated stretch goal.

the initial 900k goal was far surpassed (which *SHOULD* cover the initial production/staffing cost etc all the way until the release date itself. remember that they are a small dev studio/company after all), so the game is almost as real as it gets. the rest i believe is just to make it better, and like i've said, what's a better motivation than raw money? biggrin.gif
Hmm... it's certainly funny how our level of acceptance is evolving these days, especially from the perspective of a gamer. 3 years ago, I had a hard time coping with the fact that games are going digital; I don't get to touch, smell & lick the box, manual, CDs or DVDs. More & more games are turning intangible as days go by but hey, at least I'm getting a finished product, which I can play right away.

And now this. I'm literally buying or in a more appropriate word, funding a game that I don't even know for sure will be released on time... or worse, at all. But something compels me to pledge & I can't even tell for sure if it's just me sharing the passion of ~30K people (developers included) or I'm just hoping onto some random digital bandwagon, hoping that the game will materialize into something grand & awesome.

Oh well, compared to your $250, what do I stand to lose with just a measly $15?

Inb4 tl;dr.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 7 2012, 04:06 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 04:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Sep 7 2012, 04:04 PM)
Hmm... it's certainly funny how our level of acceptance is evolving these days, especially from the perspective of a gamer. 3 years ago, I had a hard time coping with the fact that games are going digital; I don't get to touch, smell & lick the box, manual, CDs or DVDs. More & more games are turning intangible as days go by but hey, at least I'm getting a finished product, which I can play right away.

And now this. I'm literally buying or in a more appropriate word, funding a game that I don't even know for sure will be released on time... or worse, at all. But something compels me to pledge & I can't even tell for sure if it's just me sharing the passion of ~30K people (developers included) or I'm just hoping onto some random digital bandwagon, hoping that the game will materialize into something grand & awesome.

Oh well, compared to your $250, what do I stand to lose with just a measly $15?

Inb4 tl;dr.
haha remember H@H@ mentioning how gamers are the worst when it comes to voting with their wallet from "that steam thread"? this is kinda that thing.

that said though, i still buy physical games over digital whenever i could (*coughsteamcough*)
which in turn having a TON of game boxes etc piling up in my room rolleyes.gif

and yeah, like you, i'm pretty much jumping (jumped? lol) on that hype bandwagon lol.

on a serious note, if the game turned out shit, or not turning out at all, at least i get some cool figurines and signed physical boxes/artbook etc (that has the original devs/members that worked on TA/supcom *supposedly* haha), right? ROFL
talexeh
post Sep 7 2012, 05:51 PM

3,102 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 7 2012, 04:47 PM)
haha remember H@H@ mentioning how gamers are the worst when it comes to voting with their wallet from "that steam thread"? this is kinda that thing.

that said though, i still buy physical games over digital whenever i could (*coughsteamcough*)
which in turn having a TON of game boxes etc piling up in my room  rolleyes.gif

and yeah, like you, i'm pretty much jumping (jumped? lol) on that hype bandwagon lol.

on a serious note, if the game turned out shit, or not turning out at all, at least i get some cool figurines and signed physical boxes/artbook etc (that has the original devs/members that worked on TA/supcom *supposedly* haha), right? ROFL
Don't you need to add UDS15 for international shipping of those physical goodies?
Quazacolt
post Sep 7 2012, 06:54 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Sep 7 2012, 05:51 PM)
Don't you need to add UDS15 for international shipping of those physical goodies?
i think shipping is the least of my concern when i paid 250 usd, right? lol
talexeh
post Sep 7 2012, 08:23 PM

3,102 posts

Ooh... so Cheesenium has pledged for this game as well. I'm interested to know how many LYN members actually pledged along. hmm.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:02 PM