The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need
tot31
Aug 17 2012, 03:47 AM
ok, i bit the bullet and bought an Intel 330 60GB today and I really disappoint with the performance. I am running.a hackintosh ML 10.8 and my boot time only improved just a little bit from 24secs (WD 1TB Black Edition) to 17secs. I'm using PCIe Sata III as my mobo is an old X58 system. I've seen a video a guy.with the same system as mine managed to boot at 6secs only but he is using an Intel 520. So I guess I've bought a wrong ssd....a bit pricey lesson to learn....
tot31
Aug 17 2012, 09:07 AM
Anyway here's my AJA bench tests for Intel 330 60GB, Western Digital Black Edition 1TB and 2TB RAID0. Intel 330 60GB WD Black 1TB 2TB RAID0  Now I'm thinking of getting another one and make RAID0 of them both.....
tot31
Aug 17 2012, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:50 PM) Did you check what motherboard (and hence if he's using onboard controller) the guy in the video with the Intel 520 SSD was using? Was it on a fresh OS install? What brand is your SATA III card? Did you reinstall your OS or just copied your old OS from your 1TB to your SSD? I think you should run your SSD off your X58 board even if it's only SATA II. Your benchmarks look quite decent and as you can see, the bootup times don't mean a thing. 5 year warranty applies to the more expensive 520 series. The 330 series is still 3 year warranty. Price wise, both the Intel 330 120 GB and Crucial M4 128 GB SSDs are about the same. The guy in the video is using the same brand of motherboard as mine (see my signature) and he is using the ICH10R onboard SATA II port only. Yeah I cloned my existing OSX from my HDD to SSD. Yeah I know that the benchmark showed that the result is quite decent. I should have bought Intel 520... Anyway here is the video I mentioned http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ympTJROhlH8...player_embedded
tot31
Aug 21 2012, 12:57 PM
yeay..now my Hackintosh ML boots in 7 secs with Intel 330 60GB This post has been edited by tot31: Aug 21 2012, 12:58 PM
tot31
Aug 22 2012, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 22 2012, 01:52 PM) What did you do to make boot faster? Added on August 22, 2012, 1:55 pmThere is one more which you missed out... Intel 330 120GB. I would say either the Intel 330 or the Crucial M4. Why? In real world performance, all of them perform about the same. Go for the one which is stable and gives you the best warranty for given price. I updated a HWSensor app which installed the new plugins for FakeSMC. I did not regret that I have bought this Intel 330 60GB (got it for RM215). Most of my apps instantly load up especially Photoshop CS6 and MS Office suite.
tot31
Aug 23 2012, 03:17 PM
Just bought another Intel 330 60GB today at lowyat, the price is cheaper than last week when I bought one...SSDs pricing is going lower....  Ok time to make RAID0 now....
tot31
Aug 23 2012, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 23 2012, 04:17 PM) you should go 120gb...my 60gb use one year canot tahan now 120gb feel better. 60gb install game sekejab habis haha I'm on OSX Mountain Lion and I don't play games that much, I do Photoshop a lot. My 60GB SSD is only dedicated for OS and applications and space taken only 27GB after I installed OSX and all my necessary apps, that is why I bought the 60GB in the first place. I bought another 60GB just to get into RAID0. I have 6TB of HDD for my storage like photos, movies, mp3 and other. This post has been edited by tot31: Aug 23 2012, 04:58 PM
tot31
Aug 23 2012, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 23 2012, 08:36 PM) Last week I bought it for RM215 and today it was RM209. The seller told me it might go down to RM200.
tot31
Aug 24 2012, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 24 2012, 09:07 AM) Is it the OS or Hardware? I thought Mac support TRIM. The OS will enable TRIM automatic if it detects official Apple SSD but if not just use this Trim EnablerThis post has been edited by tot31: Aug 24 2012, 09:21 AM
tot31
Aug 25 2012, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(manwarfare95 @ Aug 25 2012, 03:46 PM) Is 60GB SSD is enough to install windows 7 and a software like ccleaner,sony vegas, after effect and so on? I dont plan to put games in ssd because games usually has huge files, my games will be going on black caviar Yes 60GB will be enough for Win7 and apps that you mentioned.
tot31
Aug 27 2012, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(ReaperX @ Aug 27 2012, 08:22 PM) How about the boot up time? Any differences, say comparing Samsung 830 to Agility 3? I would say Samsung 830 will be a slight faster or you can't feel the difference between them. If you are dealing with big chunks of file then go for the fastest SSD but if you're using it for normal boot drive and open up applications, in real world environment any SSD won't make a difference.
tot31
Aug 28 2012, 12:43 PM
Huhuhu, doing RAID 0 on my 2 x Intel 330 60GB really worth it.... Single Intel 330 60GB  RAID0 on 2 x Intel 330 60GB
tot31
Aug 28 2012, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(everling @ Aug 28 2012, 01:32 PM) Sorry to burst your bubble, but scoring high in benchmarks is not "worth it", unless that was your goal. The average user really can't use all that performance, for example, it won't help you watch videos faster. off course lah the watch video will be the same, same also use mechanical drive maa, watch video also will be the same lor....like that stick with old mechanical drive lah....
tot31
Aug 30 2012, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(stormaker @ Aug 30 2012, 05:09 PM) Should i use the ASMedia PCIe SATA3 controlleror Sata3 port on Asus P8Z77 pro mobo ? Whats the different n which one better ? You should use intel native SATA 3/6GBps ports instead of 3rd party SATA 3 card unless you are like me that is still using an old mobo that does not have SATA3 ports...
tot31
Sep 1 2012, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(lucidlts @ Aug 31 2012, 05:45 PM) speaking of 3rd party sata 3, which 1 u're using? and how's the performance? interested to know  I bought it from ebay -> http://www.ebay.com/itm/150839174303?ssPag...984.m1497.l2649. Performance wise it's ok, you won't get full 6GB/s speed on add on cards. Max will like be 5GB/s at least better than my SATA 2 3GB/s.