Has the rumored price drop in August reached our local stores?
The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need
Aug 20 2012, 09:33 AM
2,149 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind you! Look! |
Has the rumored price drop in August reached our local stores?
Aug 20 2012, 10:02 PM
I'll wait for the 256GB models to reach <RM350. Price, please keep dropping. At this rate christmas sale should have something within my range.
Aug 22 2012, 08:03 AM
I'm looking for an intel 330 180GB SSD for less than RM 500. Anyone selling at that price these days?
Aug 22 2012, 06:46 PM
Changed strategy. Decided to get 120GB first for my work laptop, then when price cheaper I'll migrate my ssd on my laptop as my desktop , then purchase bigger ssd for my laptop.
Bought a USB to SATA converter as well, for future use and troubleshooting tool. Benchmark numbers don't matter as much to me as real world performance. Got the 120GB intel 330 today and will post results later tonight once migration is done. What I really want out of ssd is fast seek times when I search for a specific email within my archived email of over 2 years on my outlook pst file. Which is now over size of 12GB First annoyance: Unable to migrate only one partition to new ssd. They did include a "powerful yet simple" Acronis Data Migration Tool for intel SSDs but it doesnt allow you to be very flexible. Just resize partition and migrate. Cannot delete partition. This post has been edited by slickz: Aug 22 2012, 06:54 PM |
Aug 23 2012, 04:10 AM
I take back what I said about Acronys. There IS a utility do delete partitions. It's not under the start now button but listed under "more tools" as a separate utility. It's called DriveCleanser. Confusing. Cakapla something like "deletes partitions" under descriptions. Siao.
Oh and updated with results : Laptop specs : Dell Latitude E6400 Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 / 2.53 GHz SATA II 3Gbps Controller 2GB DDR2 SDRAM Real world tests summary: From cold boot it hit the desktop screen in 24 seconds, startup programs operational ~30 seconds. Most importantly, seek times for outlook email searches for my email archive of 12GB spanning over 2 years, took a drastic improvement of a maximum of only 2 seconds maximum to search; often giving search results instantaneously. ABSOLUTELY.SICK. All the trouble to get this was worth it! Outlook 2007 took 3 seconds to do first start up from cold boot. 1-2 seconds for subsequent openings. Oh and here's some numbers. I know we aren't pushing this baby to its 6Gbps limit, but hey it doesnt matter to me. This is already awesome. ![]() This post has been edited by slickz: Aug 23 2012, 06:47 AM |
Aug 23 2012, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(tanmcjiann @ Aug 23 2012, 12:02 PM) Intel 520 -> 120GB @ RM478 - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2435660/all I'm not sure how they dictate the prices but if you look up the anandtech lab tests and reviews they are pretty much the same and the 330 will be even detected as a 520. The reviewer summarized that ultimately there wont be much of a difference in terms of endurance. The extra money you pay might be worth due to the 5 year warranty on the 520s compared to the 3 year for the 330s.IntelĀ® SSD 520 Series 120GB SATA MLC 80 & 85 Microsecond SATA 6Gb/s 550 MB/s / 500 MB/s = RM459 @ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1293022/all INTEL 510 SERIES 120G RM 450/210 RM 899 - CZONE Intel SSD 510 (120G-265MB/200MB) RM 899 - PC ZONE Intel SSD 510 Series 120GB (R-400MB/s W-210MB/s) RM 950 - STARTEC INTEL 510 A2K5 120GB 2.5" sata3 450M 210M RM 889 - viewnet why is the price difference so much? , could someone explain ? |
Aug 23 2012, 08:17 PM
Nov 24 2012, 10:20 AM
Just got my laptop back from RMA from HP. It was for a faulty micron C400 SSD. Now they replaced it with this:
![]() Are these numbers okay? LOL This mSATA SSD is so new that samsung itself disowned it in their website! I know this thing is currently quite rare and only released to manufacturers. ![]() I ran Samsung's Magician utility and it doesn't even recognize it. This post has been edited by slickz: Nov 24 2012, 10:39 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0466sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:54 PM |