The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

jchue73
post Aug 17 2012, 01:50 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 17 2012, 03:47 AM)
ok, i bit the bullet and bought an Intel 330 60GB today and I really disappoint with the performance.

I am running.a hackintosh ML 10.8 and my boot time only improved just a little bit from 24secs (WD 1TB Black Edition) to 17secs. I'm using PCIe Sata III as my mobo is an old X58 system. I've seen a video a guy.with the same system as mine managed to boot at 6secs only but he is using an Intel 520.

So I guess I've bought a wrong ssd....a bit pricey lesson to learn.... sad.gif
Did you check what motherboard (and hence if he's using onboard controller) the guy in the video with the Intel 520 SSD was using? Was it on a fresh OS install?

What brand is your SATA III card? Did you reinstall your OS or just copied your old OS from your 1TB to your SSD? I think you should run your SSD off your X58 board even if it's only SATA II.

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 17 2012, 09:07 AM)
Anyway here's my AJA bench tests for Intel 330 60GB, Western Digital Black Edition 1TB and 2TB RAID0.

Now I'm thinking of getting another one and make RAID0 of them both..... hmm.gif
Your benchmarks look quite decent and as you can see, the bootup times don't mean a thing.

QUOTE(chowdm @ Aug 17 2012, 10:10 AM)
Intel is slightly more expensive...bcoz it came with 5 yrs warranty...thats it...
5 year warranty applies to the more expensive 520 series. The 330 series is still 3 year warranty.

Price wise, both the Intel 330 120 GB and Crucial M4 128 GB SSDs are about the same.
jchue73
post Aug 22 2012, 01:52 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 21 2012, 12:57 PM)
yeay..now my Hackintosh ML boots in 7 secs with Intel 330 60GB thumbup.gif
What did you do to make boot faster?

Added on August 22, 2012, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 22 2012, 01:48 PM)
hi guys... sry ar if this has been ask b4.. i m looking for a ssd to be use in my laptop... not doing raid or anything...

for my budget it has to be 120/128gb... i had narrowed it down to

1. crucial m4
2. ocz vertex 4
3. sandisk extreme

among these 3 which 1 u think i should buy? and why? please help... thank you..
There is one more which you missed out... Intel 330 120GB.

I would say either the Intel 330 or the Crucial M4.

Why? In real world performance, all of them perform about the same. Go for the one which is stable and gives you the best warranty for given price.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 22 2012, 01:55 PM
jchue73
post Aug 23 2012, 01:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Aug 22 2012, 01:56 PM)
Disable the login password will help. Mine load about the same time...Didnt time it, everything happened too fast.. laugh.gif
Disable login password would speed the start up a little but I don't think it will bring the start up from 17 seconds down to 6 seconds.

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 23 2012, 04:10 AM)
Oh and here's some numbers. I know we aren't pushing this baby to its 6Gbps limit, but hey it doesnt matter to me. This is already awesome.
Yes, it makes "old" notebooks workable again. Note that the 6Gbps limit is only reached during synthetic benchmarks. In real world operation, no difference between SATA II and SATA III and would probably not hit the limit of SATA II even.
jchue73
post Aug 23 2012, 11:49 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 23 2012, 09:28 PM)
Last week I bought it for RM215 and today it was RM209. The seller told me it might go down to RM200.
For information, these are the prices I surveyed just a few hours ago;

Intel 330 60GB
Startec - RM 205
Jayacom - RM 209
Cycom - NA
Viewnet - RM 209
Czone - RM 229

Intel 330 120GB
Startec - RM 310
Jayacom - RM 335
Cycom - RM 325
Viewnet - RM 319
Czone - RM 349

Fret not. I bought my 120 GB for close to RM 350 a few weeks ago. sad.gif The prices above are from the respective shop's price list. Most are listed as cash prices. Did not ask if there is a surcharge on credit card.

Oh BTW for those who are interested to get the Crucial M4 in Low Yat Plaza, Jayacom now carries them;

64 GB - RM 235
128 GB - RM 349
256 GB - RM 699
512 GB - RM 1299

QUOTE(breonwei @ Aug 23 2012, 10:37 PM)
I have enabled TRIM in Mountain Lion. Noticed that my Intel 520 180g speed has been slowed down as compared to before TRIM.

Before TRIM
Read: 445 MB/s
Write: 215 MB/s

After TRIM is enabled
Read: 400 MB/s
Write: 190 MB/s

Is this normal? For the sake of good speed & longer life span, should we enable or disable TRIM?
How long were you running the SSD before you found out that you did not have TRIM enabled? Could it be that the SSD drive degraded before you enabled TRIM?
jchue73
post Sep 7 2012, 05:31 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Sep 5 2012, 10:54 PM)
I have a question.

Since that SSD drives are quite good in reading and writing speed, is it good to use it to store Windows pagefile or Linux swap?

some says good, some says it'll worsen and shorten the lifespan of the SSD.

if it is good, I'm going to buy a small and good SSD for my gaming rig.
Speed is what SSD is used for. If you don't put the pagefile in a fast drive, what the use of changing to SSD? biggrin.gif

Pagefiles are created once and usually the size remains if you have enough memory. If you're paranoid, make the pagefile size permanent. Pagefiles are mostly read only activity and would not hurt the SSD
jchue73
post Sep 19 2012, 12:04 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 15 2012, 05:33 PM)
Or to look at it in another way, the first generation Intel SSD, the X25-M, also had a five year warranty and it was first released in around August 2008. Meaning that these SSDs would start to have their warranties expire next year. If Intel will still have replacement X25-Ms in stock and you own a hypothetical X25-M that fails next year, will you bother going through the RMA process or would you just go and buy a cheap, modern and high-performance SSD?
If you could afford it and had to have the latest and greatest at that time, I guess the price could be justified. Don't think Intel still has the X25-M in stock to give you a replacement drive. You'd probably get a 330 or 320 replacement which is quite good lah.

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 15 2012, 05:33 PM)
Then again, if you typically have rather old components in your computer, maybe it was a good deal for you.
Yes, you got a point. 5 years in the computer world is AGES.

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 17 2012, 01:47 PM)
Even in that case, the cheaper and shorter warranty item is still the better deal, because you get the option to replace ageing hardware sooner. With a five year warranty, you'll have to keep using it for two years longer in order to maximise your 'investment'. Whereas with a three year warranty, you can keep on using your SSD until it dies of old age or you can replace it with a newer model of your choice if you need more capacity or speed.
Depends on how much that extra two years of warranty cost. If it's too much extra, I would just take the 3 year warranty and be done with it.

A little side track, all this talk about extended warranty reminds me of an incident I encountered... I got an Acer 1410 laptop in late 2009 and paid extra two years warranty from Harvey Norman (total 3 years). Then as recent as 2 months ago, the motherboard kaput just before the 3 years warranty was up. Called HN and sent it in for them to take a look and thought they would write it off and give me a new replacement... But then they managed to get Acer to replace the motherboard. So it's back to original now and I can say that I'm happy to be covered but even though a little bitter sweat that I could not get a new Sandy Bridge laptop as replacement. laugh.gif

Oh, to get this back on topic, I have a 128GB Crucial M4 in that Acer. brows.gif

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 17 2012, 01:53 PM)
Is 60gb enough to pair with my 500gb hdd? For now,im left with 300gb space and my comp is still quite new,2 weeks old.
Anyway,i think 60gb might not be so future proof..am i right? sweat.gif

Also,will there be any price drop in the near future? (in year 2012)
Desktop? If your computer is still new, get another same brand and same size 60GB SSD and put it in RAID 0 (2 x 60GB = 120GB = double the performance). rclxms.gif

QUOTE(rudolfjie @ Sep 17 2012, 11:13 PM)
I'm currently using Agility 3 60GB
Planning to upgrade, but wonder which solution better

a: Get another Agility 3 60GB and go RAID0
b: Sell my 60GB, and get a Vertex 4 128GB

Which is faster in this case?

Thanks in advance
a.
jchue73
post Sep 19 2012, 04:35 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 19 2012, 03:50 PM)
If you need the extra SSD space, then yes... get the Vertex 4. No point RAID0 on a 60GB drive IMO.
If he decides to get a new Vertex 4, what does he do with his existing 60GB drive?

0.0334sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:14 PM