The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

homerthewhopper
post Aug 22 2012, 07:51 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

there is an ssd in garage sale that sold for 190 a brand name pyro or is it patriot whistling.gif
can anybody identify whether it is a reliable ssd? biggrin.gif
homerthewhopper
post Aug 22 2012, 08:05 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Aug 22 2012, 07:58 PM)
Patriot pyro. Pretty much well known company.
really?
because it has high read and write and i thought that the price is quite cheap for a 60bg ssd biggrin.gif
thanks for the information
homerthewhopper
post Aug 22 2012, 09:43 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 22 2012, 09:19 PM)
Of course la cheap lor , SandForce chip laugh.gif
sorry but i have no knowledge on ssd at all biggrin.gif
all i know about ssd is that its important to look for fast read and write and toms hardware bess ssd for the money tongue.gif
what does sandforce chip means?
homerthewhopper
post Aug 24 2012, 09:51 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

hi can anyone share their experience changing from normal 7200rpm hdd to an ssd? hmm.gif
i am thinking of changing but i dont always have the leverage of spending most of the time so i dont want to spend on something that i will think of as a waste whistling.gif
your reply is much appreciated icon_rolleyes.gif
homerthewhopper
post Aug 24 2012, 11:20 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(breonwei @ Aug 24 2012, 11:07 AM)
I have completed my upgrade last week for my 2011 Macbook Pro.

Previous setup;
500GB 7200 Hitachi
Mac OS X Lion

Current setup;
Intel 520 180G SSD in MBP Sata III
500GB HDD in MBP Optibay Sata II
Mac OS X Mountain Lion (clean installation)

Done upgrade in 1 hour +

ML starts in 7 secs, all application launched within 3 secs, mostly around 1 sec. Photoshop CS6 launched in 2 secs, iTunes 1 sec, Safari, Chrome & Firefox all in 1 sec.

Overall I recog it as a big leap upgrade, even surfing web using Safari 6 is a lot faster than Safari 6 in Lion at 500G HDD.

I still keep my bootcamp in 500GB HDD, but it is really crawling as compared to ML in SSD.

The choice is yours.
thanks i am currently still using a mobo with no support for sata 3 but that is seriously fast!
thanks for sharing thumbup.gif
now waiting reply for people who use it with windows and gaming
homerthewhopper
post Aug 29 2012, 10:00 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

hi its me again tongue.gif
i am still skeptical about upgrading to an ssd
i am considering a 60gb intel 330 series as a system drive and i am quite serious about buying it this time around whistling.gif
problem is i am still using a mobo with only sata 2 port
if i bought the mention ssd would i be able to notice the difference? biggrin.gif

thanks for replying!
homerthewhopper
post Aug 29 2012, 10:03 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:43 PM)
Huhuhu, doing RAID 0 on my 2 x Intel 330 60GB really worth it.... rclxm9.gif

Single Intel 330 60GB

RAID0 on 2 x Intel 330 60GB
hi!
i am considering the same ssd is it any good? drool.gif
homerthewhopper
post Aug 29 2012, 10:06 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 29 2012, 10:05 PM)
The deal is only today and CPP3 closed today . Better fast ya  icon_idea.gif
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
does the price includes postage?
homerthewhopper
post Aug 29 2012, 10:27 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 29 2012, 10:22 PM)
For me , after plus dlivery only 260 coz ordered a sum of things biggrin.gif
sorry to bother you again but what is the method of payment? biggrin.gif
homerthewhopper
post Aug 29 2012, 10:28 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 29 2012, 10:28 PM)
Either paypal or bankin thru Public Bank .
thanks! i might actually buy this! biggrin.gif
appreciate the reply
homerthewhopper
post Aug 30 2012, 10:59 AM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Aug 30 2012, 10:26 AM)
Did the reply ur enquiry?
nope unsure.gif i might have did something wrong tongue.gif
its okay i guess when i think about it its wiser to keep the money for my renthouse icon_rolleyes.gif
homerthewhopper
post Feb 24 2013, 08:23 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

hi im still a newbie to ssd if i do a raid 0 configuration will i still be able to use trim? smile.gif
homerthewhopper
post Feb 25 2013, 03:03 PM

always low on budget
1,020 posts

hi i seriously need help with this
i want to clone my system into an ssd
problem is (i have no idea how this happen whistling.gif ) my system is in :C but my boot is in :H doh.gif
anyway i can work through this?

and if i can which is better
clone or fresh install?

0.0237sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:06 AM