The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

blank172
post Oct 7 2012, 02:38 PM

30 posts

Guys,

I'm thinking to switch the main HDD to 120 GB SSD & replace optical drive with the existing HDD.

SSD suggestion?
My budget is around RM300-RM400. Here are some SSD i'm looking at.
- Corsair Force 3 120GB
- Intel 330 120GB
- Intel 520 120GB
- Crucial M4 120GB
- Samsung 830 120GB

Issues:
I heard about Crucial M4 RMA hassle shipping LINK
I also heard about Corsair Force 3 stability issues LINK
I just want to verify these with you guys, and maybe opinion on the matter. For now, Intel 330 seems legit, but slightly slower than other. But I just talked to my friend, his intel 330 freeze sometimes. rclxub.gif

Any ideas? BTW any suggestion on the shop that can do reliable, hussle-free mountain lion migration service? my location is around Damansara - jalan Duta.

Thanks sifus.
blank172
post Oct 7 2012, 03:48 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Oct 7 2012, 03:24 PM)
Just go for the cheapest of the list which is Intel 330 series SSD. Intel SSDs are reliable and the warranty is not bad according to most forumers.
hmmm. will consider it thanks bro.

I'm trying to update my friend's SSD firmware on mac coz I suspect the old firmware is causing it to freeze sometimes. Once this problem is solved, then I will proceed to purchase. cool2.gif

blank172
post Oct 9 2012, 03:12 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:07 AM)
hi
you uses Macbook?
Many of my customer took Samsung 830 for their Macbooks

Added on October 9, 2012, 11:09 amBtw, got the thinking to take in Crucial V4 256 and Raid 0 them
overall cost is sub rm900.

bro owikh84, what do you think about the config?
yup macbook pro 13". Is there any technical reason for Samsung 830? If Samsung 830 is mac friendly (read: mac compatible ssd tool & firmware), I would definitely go for it. I noticed that Intel is not providing SSD tools for mac yet..

Any advice mac users?

blank172
post Oct 10 2012, 11:12 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Oct 10 2012, 09:55 AM)
what is the batch of your macbook pro?
years and season?

quite many users around the world uses 830

u may refer... e.g.
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-830-Series-M...l/dp/B005T3GPXY
Mine is MBP 13" Late 2011. Low end version.

Got suggestion which shop to go?
blank172
post Nov 29 2012, 06:18 PM

30 posts

Anyone knows where to get intel SSD 330 around damansara/publika? just got the green light to change HDD to SSD.
blank172
post Dec 14 2012, 07:13 PM

30 posts

I'm using corsair Force 3 120GB RM340 from i-Store @ Publika.

It's fast now but when I run the Black Magic speed test, the speed is around write 104.5MB/s and read 178.3MB/s. I'm expecting the speed is around 200MB/s and above. Verified the Link Speed / Negotiated Link Speed is 6 Gigabit tho. Not sure if this normal. A bit disappointed.
blank172
post Dec 16 2012, 04:54 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Dec 15 2012, 03:53 PM)
Try to use ATTO benchmark and you will see much better result laugh.gif
Atto is not compatible with mac. But I found this trick instead.

You can benchmark the speed of your SSD or hard disk using a few simple Terminal commands.
To test write speed:
time dd if=/dev/zero bs=1024k of=tstfile count=1024

In the output, you should look for something that looks like "bytes transferred in 16.546732 secs (519131791 bytes/sec)." Copy and paste the bytes/sec speed into Google to convert to MB/s (e.g. Google search for "519131791 bytes/s in megabytes/s").

To test read speed:
dd if=tstfile bs=1024k of=/dev/null count=1024
Don't forget to find & delete tstfile.

Now mine is:

Read 473.698 MB/sec (550 MB/s)
Write 328.172 MB/sec (510 MB/s)

Much better rclxms.gif Not sure if the read/write speed will increase with the latest corsair Force 3 firmware 5.03. Now I'm on 5.02. IDK why ssd firmware update is not mac friendly pfft. One of the method is to install bootcamp > install windows on mac > enable AHCI > update firmware. Still looking for a simpler/safest method.

0.0478sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:51 PM