Going to buy a SSD this coming Saturday. Any recommended shop or brand? I dont want to get a SSD that has lots of problem.
The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need
Aug 17 2012, 09:15 AM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Going to buy a SSD this coming Saturday. Any recommended shop or brand? I dont want to get a SSD that has lots of problem.
Aug 17 2012, 09:25 AM
Sep 21 2012, 08:20 AM
I got myself an Intel 330
i install it into my x51 and make it the first boot drive since i want to boot win 7 on it. So the first few days of the install everything is fine. Run fast and smooth. But then a week later i start experiencing the window 7 when browsing internet will freeze for few second than back to normal. So check online and saw some ppl said it was due to the hdd power down. I did some diagnostics myself. Notice that when i pull out the SATA cable for my secondary hdd (the original 1TB hdd in x51) they were no freezing problem. Read online that it was because the Windows having the memory paging thing that make used of all the available hdd causing the problem. So i did the setting, the freezing situation did seem to be abit better than before, now only freeze once in awhile. But still i think it is really weird to have such problem. I could get freeze during playing a game for 5 - 10 sec than resume back. And the game wasnt even install in the SSD but on my secondary hdd. Pro sifu here, can you guys give me some guidance on what is the problem. |
Sep 21 2012, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(LotsaFuns @ Sep 21 2012, 11:20 AM) try this (Disable turning off hard disks after 20 minutes in Windows 7 ) i hope it works.... but arent this function only works when your no making used of the hdd (reading file or writing file) for 20min? I was like playing games and serving online and it suddenly freeze for 5-10sec.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONeNJx4aucQ |
Sep 21 2012, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 21 2012, 02:52 PM) The HDD parks its heads when it isn't being utilized. Usually so called "green" HDDs does this to "consume" power, that's why you are experiencing the sudden freezing. yah gonna try.... before this is suspect my secondary hdd causing the freeze becoz it automatic goes into hibernation after 20min (becoz they is still some background paging stuff running) so i suspect it was the reason for the freeze. But damn it wasnt. Check lots of forum online today, will try the disable hdd into hibernation again.Just turn off all your power consumption options, by that I also mean disable hibernating, don't turn off HDD, no auto standby, etc. You're running a desktop, not a laptop. So, no need for any power savings. It makes no sense as the consumption is too little to be saving you any electric bills. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:28 PM |