Perodua Kenari User Club V2, A Different Point Of View

v1n0d
post Feb 24 2015, 08:02 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(tommi88 @ Feb 23 2015, 11:15 PM)
changed it vinod macha. when i had the car, i also found out strong wind noise coming from the driver side window. found out it was the glass lining rubber rosak liao. replaced it and the wind noise reduced but still got some coming in due to there is small gap at the curve part. dont know how to solve it.
I noticed this as well. I don't think it's something that can be fixed as it looks like a design flaw.
v1n0d
post Mar 7 2015, 08:40 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(afird @ Mar 6 2015, 01:31 PM)
I know that engine mounting is easy wear & tear part for kenari. But im not sure how long it can last because i bought my used kenari from dealer & they already installed with new mounting & drive shaft.
Mountings should last upwards of 3 years even if the car is driven hard. For regular driving, I've actually seen cars that are over 6 years old where the mounting is still in good condition.
v1n0d
post Mar 14 2015, 10:34 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Godek @ Mar 14 2015, 02:20 AM)
Hi Guys,

Wanted to get some info from Kenari/Kelisa owner as technically both car are identical (different only on size & design).

I am 2008 Kenari Aerosport Auto owner. My car already clock almost 200k mileage. No major problem so far but I can feel that performance/handling significantly drop maybe due to high mileage.

So my question is what recommended service/part, I should consider to improve car performance?

My Planing
1. Engine overhaul (Pls advise cost)
2. Change timing, aircond & alternator (100k)

Please advise other thing I should consider to service or change part?

Thanks in advance.
Always start with the cheaper options first. I'd suggest cleaning the throttle body. IMHO an overhaul isn't exactly necessary unless there's concrete reason to do so - white smoke etc.

tommi88 do you have any other suggestions?
v1n0d
post Mar 19 2015, 08:20 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(wanobi @ Mar 18 2015, 11:33 AM)
Hi All

Just want to ask you all.

My steering vibrate when reach 100km above especially after release the pedal.

I already do the balancing and repair my driveshaft

Any ideas on this problems? Thanks situ
Check your tire condition, steering vibration is a common symptom of "bengkak" tires.
v1n0d
post Mar 20 2015, 10:05 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(tommi88 @ Mar 19 2015, 11:59 PM)
new wheels arent expensive though. you can get them around for about 400-500 a set depending on where u buy from. you may consider to visit tyre shops in klang to buy them.
This. Trade-in + top up is a viable option if you're not looking for high-end rims. I traded in my stock Kenari rims and added RM150 for a set of knockoff sport rims. MyVi rims look pretty good on a Kenari too, especially the SE version.
v1n0d
post Mar 26 2015, 07:48 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Zkino @ Mar 25 2015, 01:32 PM)
I just done service my car last Saturday with new engine oil (Eneos 10W-30), oil additive, oil filter, air filter and spark plug that cost me a total RM160.

The second day, i check the engine oil level and found out it is extra about 1cm from the F level. I called the shop and asked, he told me it is ok.

when i start my car yesterday morning and saw lots of white smoke exhausted. Send back to the same workshop, and they said is due to engine oil over float and clean free for me.

Same case happen this morning and now my car is returned to the same workshop. Third part people checked my car and found out that nothing is wrong.

Do anyone have the same problem like mine?
Or i have a bad mouth that saying my car never have white smoke, and it happen two days after saying that. TT
If the engine oil is topped up when the engine isn't cool the reading will be inaccurate, which leads to over-filling. I suggest you check your oil level before you start your car in the morning, it should be at most somewhere between midway and full. If the oil level is good, then odds are the seals at the top block are leaking, leading to oil spilling onto the spark plugs.
v1n0d
post Apr 17 2015, 10:57 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 16 2015, 11:36 AM)
Hi All,

Did anyone here change their kenari engine either kenari-kenari ori engine or to k3ve/k3vet?  I would like to check on the price/issue/how for each options. 

My old kenari engine not so good already (makan air/minyak hitam) due to overheat (water pump leaking)+low engine oil before.  Thinking either change/ continue repair my car.  My kenari only can sell ~7k to 2nd hand car shop.

Hope can get advice from you guys.
When last I checked (around mid last year), k3vet was available for between 5k-7k depending on engine condition. Repairs should be sufficient, as I had the same list of problems as you, other than the water pump. Senang cerita, one shot overhaul the engine (at most 2k) and it'll be as good as new.

Don't bother selling your car to 2nd hand dealers, they'll always lowball you. If you intend on selling, better to search for potential buyers on Mudah etc.
v1n0d
post Apr 20 2015, 11:54 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 17 2015, 05:41 PM)
It is good to remain stock. Reliability and durability are there for our rides. Only a/c sometimes in de afternoon, not enough power... lately is damn hot during a hot sunny day...  sweat.gif
I had the following changes made to improve the A/C quality:
1. Upgrade to high-speed radiator fan.
2. Install secondary fan that is directly linked to the A/C.

Pro - A/C is a lot cooler, especially when the car is at a standstill.
Con - Car sounds like a lorry from the outside due to the additional fan.

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 18 2015, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for advises.  So normally full overhaul engine cost around 2k only? I tot it will up to 4k.
Depends on where you get it done as well as what parts need to be replaced. If there's damage to the engine block itself, then costs may escalate.
v1n0d
post May 13 2015, 12:11 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(siewstl @ May 12 2015, 08:10 AM)
I am  facing engine running not smooth when on air cond , like engine want to die off together with vibration when on idle. But if off the aircond. engine no vibration and engine running smmothly.  I have changed the all 4 engine original mounting and also just service the car. I have also done the aircond service 1 month ago.
Kindly advise any possiblility to cause this vibration because I worry half way the engine die off. Thank you
Your air cond compressor is juddering. You can test this by switching the air cond on and off while looking at the compressor directly. If it shakes as it's switched on an off, it'll have to be replaced.
v1n0d
post May 21 2015, 10:11 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ May 20 2015, 06:01 PM)
can recomend what sytjenic oil to use for kcar? my car been run 150k now
perodua one seem no power after serviice
A couple of the sifus here are using LiquiMoly. Best person to ask would be jaesern.

This post has been edited by v1n0d: May 21 2015, 10:12 AM
v1n0d
post May 21 2015, 11:52 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ May 21 2015, 10:37 AM)
where to buy? how much?
how bout penzoil, idemitsu those? i saw those very cheap only rm5x something
Not sure about those. I've only tried the Perodua stock oil (5-30W), Petronas Synthium (10-40W), and Shell Helix (10-40W). Although the 5-30W feels lighter, the levels tend to run low when I travel outstation. Not too sure whether it's the oil to blame, but I'm looking to try the LiquiMoly myself for my next service.

If all you're looking at is cost and availability, those petrol station brands should do just fine I guess.
v1n0d
post May 21 2015, 12:13 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ May 21 2015, 12:08 PM)
how bout total brand? i agree use  5w30w is ok but when go highway cannt tahan
No experience with Total. Why not try the pinned engine oil thread?
v1n0d
post May 25 2015, 10:18 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ May 25 2015, 01:34 AM)
Piston rings a bit worn, or valve seal problem. But burning a little is ok as long as u top up once a while. Later only deal with piston n valve seal.
Hmm, possible. I'll have a look at it during my next service. Thanks!
v1n0d
post Jun 22 2015, 09:38 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(kucinganaz @ Jun 20 2015, 01:11 AM)
Hello guys
If buy used kenari with Daihatsu Move bodyparts , Do you need to change to standard bodyparts before can change ownership with JPJ/Puspakom ?.

Tq,
Not that I know of. As long as there's no illegal body modifications it should be all good.

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Jun 21 2015, 04:27 AM)
can i know where can i repair PERODUA KENARI  side mirror around kl area ?
thank for help .
Any accessory shop will do. Alternatively you can buy a used set off mudah.
v1n0d
post Jun 25 2015, 11:48 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Damian @ Jun 25 2015, 08:51 AM)
Anyone using SONY XPLOD? any review?
Using an old XPLOD HU with stock speakers. There are definitely better options out there. Try check out Pioneer.
v1n0d
post Jun 30 2015, 03:26 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Jun 29 2015, 08:51 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek your advise on to overhaul or engine swap  biggrin.gif

Last year just bought a kenari with 160k milleage on it... i somewhat overlook the engine part and only to came back to discover the engine had built up quite an amount of sludge in it.. when i pull out the dip stick.. the sludge is chunky and like kinda solid..  doh.gif did my regular oil change but the sludge remains inside.

with a bit of budget now, i'm not sure to go for a full overhaul or for an engine swap.. (most should have recommended a yrv engine swap.. damn poison! sweat.gif) However i do not know which choice is more practical and cost effective, as i would like to have this car running for at least another 5 more years.

Please advice  biggrin.gif

tqvm
Engine swap comes with many other costs - if you swap to a more powerful engine, you have to upgrade your suspension/brakes to match or it'll be dangerous. Add to that the fact that if your new engine is heavier than the existing one (YRV falls into this category I believe), your car's handling characteristic will change, making it have more of a nose-heavy feel.

Overhaul would be the cheaper option, but it depends on where you get it done as well as the quality of the job and/or parts used. Prices range from less than 1k all the way up to 5k so it really does depend on your budget.
v1n0d
post Jul 1 2015, 07:34 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Jul 1 2015, 12:12 AM)
thanks for the insight  smile.gif

i guess overhaul would be my option as like you say swapping engine would require a total reword on every aspect of the car and i'm doing it with a budget of more or less 2.5k inclusion of changing new engine mount.

in term of about 2k.. assuming engine mount would cost about 500 or so, would the internal parts that is subject to change include those major parts like piston, crankshaft, etc etc?

Not sure about that, sorry.
v1n0d
post Aug 21 2015, 09:05 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(gti_rs @ Aug 19 2015, 08:35 AM)
anybody done soundproof to kenari??may i know if want soundproof for 1 car??roof n dashboard area also...
Try ask howie from the ICE subforum.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0556sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:10 PM