Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

syarilh
post Aug 4 2007, 03:32 PM

24 posts

hi ,

i just got an offer from shell.. i from a GLC company and all is stable and recently i got promoted to a manager position. shell offered me a consultant position and the pay is 70% higher than my current pay. should i make a move to shell? i heard about this outsourcing thingy and frankly i am sceptical of it. i have asked their HR about this and all they say is this toutsourcing hing is not finalised yet
syarilh
post Aug 5 2007, 11:54 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Aug 5 2007, 12:22 AM)
all in all...if u think u r reputable and marketable....
u shdn't need to worry of outsourcing then....
who knows the supplier in the future will want ur talent and move to their own one.....
ppl is profit-making....sure keep good one...if u r good...sure stay....if not....sure ppl "pang" u go la....
dinozilla,

are you working in SITI? how is the work-life there? is it stressful?
syarilh
post Aug 6 2007, 08:44 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Aug 5 2007, 05:58 PM)
yayaya....in SITI.....
depends ur scope.....
some would be always stressful (read back some replies here tongue.gif)
some would be more relax....but sometimes very stress....
also this would depends on one's stress management la.....

i m in EPM, work pressure expected to be higher with the NG project running tense and tense now...
i think everywhere in SITI going to be the same....all hav to gear up for the new GI soon.....

u r manager....ppl mgmt shd b ur concern i guess....
so meeting deadline, resource managing, meeting*n kali shd b urs....lol...
don worry ......jz get the attitude right, all shd b managable and balanced.... biggrin.gif
i think there is a misunderstanding here. i actually received an offer of a position of consultancy (design) in SITI. The managerial position
is offered at my current place. so there's my dilemma. If i accept the offer from SITI , I forfeit the managerial position but i gained more salary .If i accept the managerial position at my workplace then i have the title, but my salary is not high as in SITI. sad.gif
syarilh
post Aug 6 2007, 04:15 PM

24 posts

dilemma ...dilemma ...help meeeeee
syarilh
post Aug 6 2007, 08:34 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 6 2007, 05:35 PM)
if i were u i would take SITI ..... the only thing holding u back is your belief on Shell outsourcing right ?
yes DarReNz, you are really smart hehehee...actually im worried on the outsourcing thingy , let's say if i accept and i join SITI,then
if the outsourcing happens before i am confirmed, then i'm afraid i will be out of job. In addition to that, will SITI be relocated to another location (overseas) once it is outsourced?
syarilh
post Aug 7 2007, 07:36 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 7 2007, 01:59 AM)
Only the Shell HR can answer your questions properly but what I have heard is any permanent employee will be compensated with 2 years salary if you're let go during the outsourcing. Also I doubt that they will relocate SITI anywhere within the 1st year of outsourcing, far too many changes at the same time.
so there is a possibility of dismissal due to redundancy then, as you have mentioned on that compensation thingy. well i have spoken to HR on some issues about outsourcing,but like any other companies HR , i don't think they will disclose "everything" you need to know..hehee
syarilh
post Aug 8 2007, 10:25 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Aug 7 2007, 01:35 PM)
everywhere in malaysia oso looking cert la....
not jz them look down diploma....
following malaysia current trend...i worry someday ppl will look down dgree oso lo...
however, i think that although SITI offers a lot of opportunity in training and work-flexi hours. All that may not be carried over
to the vendor once the outsourcing is complete. unsure.gif

syarilh
post Aug 8 2007, 03:48 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Aug 8 2007, 11:03 AM)
of coz those won carry over.....
Shell is giving unlimited medical benefit....
not all can giv rite.....
dats y they tell the staffs.....
will get a more or less the same.....
u might lost something somewhere...(e.g. unlimited medical -> limited medical)
but u might replace with others...(e.g. additional supp pay may b...)
but first of all make sure u remain as competitive as u r la....
vendor won keep insufficient ppl wit them rite..... wink.gif
some GLC do give unlimited medical benefits. does SITI have a union? i mean those working there
should fight for better or equal benefits. to me exchanging medical benefits for a better pay doesn't make sense since
medical benefits is subjective. consider you have to go for operation for a sum of 30k and there is a limit to your medical benefits.. is a 30% increase in the pay seems good deal to cover that problem? what is logical ,for instance is exchanging transport allowance for loan benefits.

syarilh
post Aug 9 2007, 06:50 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 8 2007, 10:45 PM)
The previous limit was RM200k per person per year for medical benefits. I'd be happy if they matched that and gave me a bigger paycheck. biggrin.gif

Giving up transport allowance for loan benefits (if that's what you mean) doesn't make any sense if you actually calculate the cash equivalent. Even if you took the full loan allowance at BLR + 0.5%,  you're getting barely 70% of the cash equivalent. On top of that, you get your allowance immediately but you can only start doing the loan after a certain period of time with the company. Problem is, a whole lot of people out there seem to think that the loan benefits are a good thing. Weird I tell you...
ok thanks man..what is the average increment and bonus in SITI? it should be around the same as in petronas on an average of 3months. am i right? well actually u lose some if the allowance is changed to loan benefits, but then all the other shell divisions has loan benefits instead of the allowance. hmm.gif
syarilh
post Aug 14 2007, 07:34 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(Casanova @ Aug 13 2007, 10:38 PM)
Hi All,

Is it possible that a normal engineer in SITI is JG6?
From what I know:
JG7 = normal engineer
JG6 = tech lead / senior ops engineer
JG5 = team leam

If big team, then tech-lead becomes JG5 and team-lead becomes JG4.

However, I have a friend working in SITI, he is boasting that he is JG5 / 6 while he is a normal engineer only. So, my other friend checked his position in SITI and confirmed he is only a normal engineer.

Can a normal engineer (not senior nor tech-lead) becomes JG6?

Or

Can a normal engineer who is JG7 have the salary of JG6?
i heard that it depends on the division that you are in. some people are in JG5 but not team lead..some people are in JG5 and are team lead..im not from siti...maybe other people can give some insights..but what i heard is you have to move positions in order to upgrade..which means you cannot do the same job and gain grades..unless there is a vacancy in your superior post..correct me if im wrong
syarilh
post Aug 17 2007, 07:33 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Aug 14 2007, 12:12 PM)
for JG there is alot of here and there to difference between each other...
exp: normal SITI helpdesk is JG8, but global team normal helpdesk will start from JG7 as they are global team...

normal engineers also can start from JG6, if they under 3rd lvl / developer team as well, there is alot of unfainess also as in other region same position but getting higher JG...

JG to alot make a diff as a JG will have a min pay and that value is alot...
is there any possiblity that shell it will be relocated once it is outsourced? i heard that they are just renting the building in Cyberjaya

Added on August 23, 2007, 7:40 am
QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 7 2007, 08:08 AM)
Yes, the possibility of redundancy is there, but it's minimal. The idea is to minimize the changes during the transition so that there is as little disruption to business as possible. Also I do have to admit that the overall HR there is very much *unlike* any other company, they actually do tell you everything they know. biggrin.gif Sorry, I can't disclose a whole lot more on a public forum biggrin.gif Good luck in your decision making.
thanks a lot...actually i just rejected the offer ...after doing some serious thinking ..i decided that it's very uncertain about my career path
and future if shell were to be outsourced...i heard that benefits will be the same for 2 years and y ou will have to follow the outsourcing companies terms after that even if they decided to lay u off for other reasons..such as redundancy..well im quite sad because if i go to shell then the salary is almost doubled what i earned now...but job security is important too..

This post has been edited by syarilh: Aug 23 2007, 07:40 AM
syarilh
post Aug 29 2007, 02:43 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Aug 29 2007, 12:17 AM)
wat he mean is...
this is the real world.....
as Thomas Friedman said....a flat world.....
world is full of competition....u hav to get expose more to build up urself....
not sitting there, doing a same lame job forever til ur butt full of spidey web....
y shell outsource its IT?? not good performing???
no....Shell is competing its own IT infra wit top 25% of the IT companies....they fight to be better...if not the good one....
but still outsource....why? competition....
to hav their IT infra to keep up with pace....they probably think that this is not their core, hence it is much difficult for them to keep pace...
rather, handing over to an IT company which is capable, it can focus more on its core business, and let the IT co take care of the IT stuffs....
is it not secure after outsource??? of coz....if u r a lame lazy pig....
which company want to keep a staff who jz know how to sit for years, doing same old thing, no improvement in efficiency, skills, etc
not jz Shell, every MNC is transforming the way they play the game.....outsourcing, retrenchment, its happening everywhere.....
u don feel it much....not bcoz they r not around....is bcoz u r in a country that still talk a lot about protective policies....

in terms of learning chance and exposure, Shell does has its advantage
i m not sure yet too who is the vendor would be, but I believe Shell don hand over staff to a place where learning is not encouraged....
the only fact that never change is the world is changing everyday.....
if u wanna learn like our government, not changing the mindset, then u ll b weak like a sitting duck then...
no job is secure forever, so better stop dreaming...and push urself up for challenge....
well no doubt some of your points is true..which is we must be more competitive..but the way i see it..all company are the same in the sense
of maximising profits and minimising loss..which is any business models..outsourcing is a way of cutting cost..besides "fighting to be better"
i think the latter is just a HR talk and the way they tried to convince people that outsourcing is good.no doubt many companies perform better after
outsourcing while there are also failures..i think in a way we should be thankful that in our country there's not much job lay off as some of our european or american counterparts there.. there are cases where good employees even get retrenched ..and its not based on performance..how do i know this? you can just put search in yahoo or google for job layoffs for that particular company. chances are there are history of them doing job shedding exercise.. being competitive is one thing but being inhumane for laying off workers who is a breadwinner at home.. will have an impact on the socio-economy ...you can see that not many local companies do that as "employee is the biggest asset of the company"..that's my two cents worth.. besides if you look inside s*hell careers website ..there are many vacancies in the IT line..and why is that? i think this outsourcing thingyhas created some fears inside it's own employees

This post has been edited by syarilh: Aug 29 2007, 02:50 PM
syarilh
post Aug 29 2007, 09:56 PM

24 posts

ermm..just wanna ask..my friend got an offer from s**ell cyberjaya and he's unsure about who is going to confirm
after his probation..is it s**ell or any vendor company??
syarilh
post Sep 15 2007, 06:41 PM

24 posts

just curious..anyone in SITI can elaborate on the benefits offered by shell? i heard that medical claim is unlimited..is it true? hmm.gif
syarilh
post Sep 15 2007, 11:09 PM

24 posts

well..so different modules outsource to different companies..how cocky can that be? is it really true that SITI is going to be outsourced?
i heard that siti telecoms division might goes to BT..so many versions..
syarilh
post Sep 16 2007, 11:35 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 16 2007, 10:18 PM)
Haha I thought you rejected the offer biggrin.gif

Yes medical coverage is unlimited for all Shell permanent employees for everyone in your immediate family. No panel clinics whatsoever, but they do limit the hospitals to the big name hospitals only. Of course you pray to god that you never get to test that "unlimited" figure ever.... biggrin.gif

Also don't worry too much since outsourcing is 90% certain. If you go for an interview for a permanent position HR will tell you that figure.

You're missing out so much excitement in your life by not joining biggrin.gif

Added on September 16, 2007, 10:20 pm

vvv, there hasn't been an SRD since at least the beginning of 2007 if I recall correctly. I don't know why but I suspect one of the main reasons is the outsourcing...
well..just to give an example in cases of emergency..so i cant go to my hospital of choice? does shell has its own hospital's list?
i am just wondering whether i can obtain GL and go to a specialist clinic of my choice..please enligthen me..yes i haven't rejected the offer
hehehee

0.0207sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:18 PM