Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

SKYjack
post Aug 25 2012, 10:08 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 14 2012, 02:15 PM)
Based on my personal experience so far, Naza Kia is not particular about warranty terms. Even if a part is not under warranty, they feel obliged to change. I think they are more concerned about negative feedback.
NASA does not have good reputation on customer support. If they are working hard to change that,it is good news!
SKYjack
post Mar 21 2013, 04:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Mar 21 2013, 04:13 PM)
No, this is not how the Speed limiter works. Once you set the speed limit, and if your car exceeds that speed limit, the indicator will blink, followed by a chime to warn you that you are over-speeding. It does not prevent your car from going faster than the speed limit, as this would be very dangerous. Imagine if you are overtaking on a car on a trunk road, and suddenly you have loss of power!  Hope this explains. Cheers
What is the difference of NU engine spec compared to Thetar 11.
SKYjack
post Apr 5 2013, 07:26 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vnair @ Apr 5 2013, 10:48 AM)
Have the following problems with my car
1) The steering wheel and gear stick of my car seems to be vibrating when idling.
2) the engine seems to sound and feel a little rough when accelerating hard. 3) I was overtaking last week and stepped on the accelerator hard but the engine just roared without surging forward (sounded like it went into neutral for a while). 
The SC cant seem to find out what the problem is. He asked me to send the car in for a couple of days for him to check it out.
Anyone face these problems before?
#2 is not a problem. K5's 2liter engine does struggle and roar upon hard acceleration.
SKYjack
post Apr 23 2013, 06:52 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Apr 19 2013, 12:09 PM)
Please to announce that the low interest rate by Hong Leong bank is now extended up to 9 years loan. However, the interest for 9 years loan is slightly higher at 1.99%. As for 3, 5 or 7 years loan, the interest rate remain at 1.88%

Feel free to PM me if any LYN forumer is interested to know more. Of course the other option of free 3 year maintenance is still valid for this month.

Cheers,
KS Loh
012-2359910
Any news if K5 would come with turbo diesel or turbo petrol in future?
SKYjack
post Aug 8 2013, 10:28 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 7 2013, 01:12 AM)
2nd hand Optima @rm118 on Mudah. Fuhh tempting
Can get a brand new 408t for that price. Optima is certainly a pretty face,but test drive the 408t and you'll realize how much better this car is! Engine and gearbox are smooth as silk,Optima's engine sounds harsh and crude!
SKYjack
post Aug 8 2013, 11:59 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 8 2013, 11:12 AM)
really ???

must really try out liao
I don't want to say much at this thread. Do test drive both cars. Come over to 408 thread and we can discuss at length.
SKYjack
post Aug 8 2013, 04:06 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 8 2013, 02:23 PM)
i see.. but im not into Peugeot.. no offence  notworthy.gif
No offence taken. As said, a lot of people go for looks and K5 is certainly very good looking car!
SKYjack
post Aug 8 2013, 04:26 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 8 2013, 04:17 PM)
yeah for picking up chicks
Hehehe.....don't know about that la,uncle ordi,but when it comes to cars,serious about handling and performance! tongue.gif
SKYjack
post Aug 8 2013, 08:21 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 8 2013, 06:37 PM)
Yes but only if you can tolerate the not so good looks of the 408 and if you have sufficient cash to maintain the Peugeot long term cuz it surely is more expensive.
Looks is in the eyes of the beholder. To me it is good looking. However I can't tolerate harsh,rough and crude engine.
SKYjack
post Aug 12 2013, 07:29 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Aug 12 2013, 02:43 PM)
hmm ... no offense ya, actually K5 engine sound is acceptable la, but in terms of handling, may be it still has rooms for improvement. Never tested 408t, so can't comment. But the look already turn me off.  yawn.gif

Since i am not a fast driver, city drive sometimes 100 - 120, occasionally will go up to 140 depending on traffic and also occasionally will swing from left to right (overtaking cars when meeting some stupid drivers who donno how to give way), i think acceptable for me la.  Btw, only when driving alone i will do that, and when i am doing that i turn my volume louder.  Other than my crystal clear music, i don hear anything else.  laugh.gif

I can understand your point. To some ppl looks more important than performance and handling.
SKYjack
post Jun 29 2014, 11:03 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Jun 27 2014, 09:59 AM)

The only complain i have for K5 and Sportage (facelift) would be why the hell NAZA KIA still don want to include the big screen for our HU!!!! Now my wife is looking for SUV and Sportage might be out of consideration due to this. Leaning towards 3008 now for a better engine performance, large screen, premium interior and lots of features ...
3008 is a very good choice. Test drive it and you will immediately feel the engine and chassis superiority.

Chassis and suspension are so well set up that although this is an SUV,there is virtually no body roll at fast corners. It rides like a sedan,not bouncy!

The engine is delightful,smooth and effortless,no strains upon hard acceleration. This 1.6 THP engine (EP6CDTM) is proving very reliable and won the 'Engine of the year' award for the 8th consecutive year in Europe.

This version of Prince engine 1st appeared on the 408. Check 408 forum,more that a 100 owners there,not a single complaint on the engine! Now 308,Citroen DS4 & DS5 share the same engine. Due to it reliability I would not be surprised all future Pugs with 1.6THP engine will be this one.

Please note,I am only saying how good the 3008 is,this does not mean the Sportage is bad. One has to test drive both vehicles and make his choice.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 30 2014, 11:18 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 30 2014, 05:15 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 30 2014, 03:45 PM)
Yes Peugeots always have the conti feel. Interior is also quite good and classy. I find the interior of the 508 the best in the D segment market. If only Peugeot could come up with more sporty cars rather than the sloping rear versions, i think they would do better in terms of sales. The upcoming Peugeot 508 is a real looker (from the front at least) but the rear still leaves a bit more to be desired.

As for the 3008, you gotta love the shape if you are serious about considering it. Its a love hate relationship. For me, i think the design is too old fashioned. It works in Europe as many of the SUV's there are of similar shapes but not in Asia. Asians prefer flashy and modern looking vehicles. Possibly among the many reasons why brands like Peugeot, Renault, etc didnt do well.

I think the shape of the 3008 makes one look a tad older like a housewife's car similar to the old Sylphy. But its fit for purpose, comes with good specs, good safety ratings and quite affordably priced. So if you dont mind the shape, then yea go for it. I wouldnt bring in the usual nonsense about resale value since its ever so boring.
French designs have always brought love hate relationship to Malaysians. It is true Malaysians go more by looks than technical innovations. However poor sales of Peugeot in Malaysia is mainly due to poor support and service by former franchise holders.

Naza is now at the helms. They appear much more serious than formers. A lot is being done to bring back this French marque! Lets hope, for those who are interested in innovations and beyond cosmetics, there is this choice.
SKYjack
post Oct 17 2014, 08:37 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Oct 17 2014, 01:39 AM)
thinking of lowering with spring, but afraid later go basement parking kena la.. sad.gif
Lower springs only look terror,but always problem for daily use!
SKYjack
post Dec 7 2014, 07:50 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(ahquan26 @ Dec 2 2014, 07:18 PM)
But engine not powerful enough sad.gif The turbo version is much more powerful
The car looks great,but the engine is very under powered and scary noise on hard acceleration!

Can't understand why KIA Malaysia won't bring their 1.7 turbo. RON 95 works well on other turbo engines! Malaysian fuel being poor quality is only a poor excuse!
SKYjack
post Dec 8 2014, 09:24 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Dec 8 2014, 01:09 AM)
Get a Peugeot then.. make sure it comes free with steering lock
Yup, finally got myself a Pug, such a wonderful engine,smooth effortless power delivery! Steering lock out of stock,got free baseball bat!

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 7 2014, 08:17 PM)
so get a bigger engine..
Prefer turbo engines,cos of good low end torque.

I now bought a 1.6turbo. This engine produces same power of a 2.5liter NA engine. But because max torque is available at 1400rpm, it is more lively to drive than a 2.5liter!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Dec 8 2014, 09:39 AM
SKYjack
post Dec 8 2014, 10:25 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Dec 8 2014, 10:07 AM)
Grats, you are in the wrong group then XD
Here's the link to your group Peugeot 408 Owner's Thread  tongue.gif
Hehehe.....I know, tks mate! I was just peeking and could not resist the engine underpowered discussion. But I guess if ppl are happy with it,then there is nothing more to say.

However,I don't mind saying if KIA brought the 1.7turbo on the K5, I will seriously consider!
SKYjack
post Oct 6 2015, 01:04 AM

367 posts

Buydirect,
It is all very well how good Kia cars are. Infact I agree all what you said, does exist.

But why is it for years & years you guys sell us Malaysians, sub standard products! None of that high technology engines & chassis are sold in Malaysia!!! If ppl are complaining about Optima's engine being rough & unrefined, cos it is exactly that. Not everyone can be taken for a ride with gadgets & a pretty face! Many are very interested in what's under the hood!

Please stop boasting about products that are intentionally made unavailable to Malaysia!!!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Oct 6 2015, 01:22 AM
SKYjack
post Oct 6 2015, 04:33 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(hengng @ Oct 6 2015, 04:00 PM)
Kia Optima K5 users are not very active here,  so bro. SKYjack, please post the same question you have at the given link below :

https://www.facebook.com/groups/myk5club/
Bro, KIA has better engines & chassis, but we Malaysians are denied these technology which I believe is at par with Contis. It is a policy matter, so only Company reps can answer this question.

No point in telling us about these technology only. He should answer why it not available to us!
SKYjack
post May 24 2017, 07:57 AM

367 posts

Buydirect, any news of launch of Stinger in Malaysia?
SKYjack
post May 24 2017, 08:21 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ May 24 2017, 08:02 AM)
Still prefer the 1st batch look
That true, but unfortunately it only looked good! This one has the power! KIA Stinger is the one that looks awesome with the power.

0.0629sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:25 AM